Table of Contents | Print This Page

3. Emergency Response and Mine Rescue

  • Issued: April 15, 2015
  • Content last reviewed: April 2015
  • See also: Addendum

Issue

New mining technologies and processes combined with the trend to deeper, expanded and more remote mines create challenges for emergency response and mine rescue systems. A key question is whether the current emergency preparedness and response system is adequate in light of increasing risks.

What We Heard

The mining sector takes great pride in Ontario’s mine rescue system, and is generally satisfied with the current way it is set up and operates. However, the Review heard from a number of people that it is important to evaluate the ability of the current mine rescue system to respond to hazards created by new technologies and mining methods and to launch effective rescue operations as mines in Ontario get deeper and distances from the shaft increase.

Analysis

The Review gathered information from a variety of sources including Coroner’s jury inquest recommendations, the Ham, Burkett and Stevenson Commissions/Inquiries, scans of regulatory requirements in other jurisdictions, public consultations and consultations with other jurisdictions. The Review held consultations with organized labour, management, the Ontario Mine Rescue Technical Advisory Committee and the Ontario Mine Rescue organizational staff. The Review compared Ontario’s requirements, standards and regulations for emergency preparedness and response with those of other jurisdictions. The Review also heard that, in recognition of the unique nature of emergency management and mine rescue, the need for separate and specific risk assessment requirements should be considered. A separate risk assessment requirement for emergencies and mine rescue would be in line with the practices of many other provinces.

Current Challenges to Emergency Preparedness and Mine Rescue

Rescue work is some of the most labour-intensive and dangerous in the mining sector and is often done in conditions that are “immediately dangerous to life or health”. As mines get deeper and move further from the shaft or when companies explore new sites and mines, they create greater safety risks for emergency responders, which must be taken into account in emergency planning.

As mines expand and get deeper, it becomes more challenging to get mine rescue responders to the location of the emergency quickly. Emergency plans must consider this. Specially designed and constructed team transport vehicles can be provided to mine rescue teams so they are able to get to the site of the emergency faster.

As depth increases, the environment becomes hotter and more humid due to increasing rock temperature. High temperatures and humidity can affect mine rescue team performance. Responders may need to work for shorter periods of time so planning has to take into account the potential need for shorter shifts.

Rescue teams rely on breathing apparatus and researchers/manufacturers recommend that four hours is the longest a responder should be allowed to remain under oxygen. Best practice by mine rescue organizations is to limit responders to two hours.

The establishment of underground mine rescue substations would create complexities associated with the storage, care and maintenance of breathing apparatus. This work must be conducted in a clean, air-conditioned and dust-free environment, which may be difficult to create underground. Underground mine rescue stations would also mean that companies would have to purchase additional mine rescue equipment. Emergency plans should consider the use of self-rescuers (i.e. individual breathing devices carried by miners) in addition to the strategic use and location of permanent and portable refuge stations.

When companies are involved in advanced exploration, there can be serious health and safety issues yet the companies are not currently required to have an emergency response plan for those sites – despite the fact that workers could encounter typical underground mining risks, including oxygen deficiency, mine gasses, falls of ground and inrush of water. The complexity of an emergency response plan for an exploration site will depend on a number of factors including geographic location of the mine/project, number of workers at the site, proximity to municipal emergency response organizations, proximity to neighbouring operations that have response capability and site-specific hazards. It is important that companies have emergency response plans that:

  • address typical underground risks
  • are based on a risk assessment, evaluated by the joint health and safety committee where applicable, tested regularly and adjusted to address new and emerging hazards
  • are reviewed and updated at least annually by the owner/employer and made available for review by Ministry of Labour inspectors.

Unlike other jurisdictions, Ontario does not currently require surface mines and mining plants to conduct regular formal risk assessments or establish, maintain and evaluate an emergency plan. Surface mines and mining plants often rely on municipalities to assist with response to an emergency situation. However, municipal fire services and emergency medical services (EMS) have limitations and need to be consulted before being imbedded as standard procedures within a site’s emergency response plan. To support mine and mining plant operators, it is essential for the mining sector to develop a guideline of critical elements (components) of a written emergency plan with clearly defined roles and responsibilities during an emergency. These plans need to be reviewed, audited and tested regularly to ensure compliance. Adjustments need to be made when changes within the workplace may affect response capability.

Fitness and Competence of Volunteer Emergency Responders

Mine rescues in Ontario are conducted by volunteer emergency responders who require a high level of fitness, support and knowledge.

General Fitness

Rescuers must be capable of performing arduous work under extreme conditions. Ontario Mine Rescue requires responders to have annual physical examinations and clinical testing to assess their fitness. However, the comprehensiveness of the exam may vary depending on the examining physician, who may not be aware of the intensity of work performed by these individuals.

To ensure responders are physically fit enough, some jurisdictions employ/use certain medical professionals who are responsible for overseeing medical examinations and clinical tests and who examine and release volunteers after a mission under oxygen. Many jurisdictions have stringent mine rescue fitness standards. For example, mine rescue organizations in the United Kingdom, German, Poland and the Czech Republic conduct monthly fitness testing. To ensure responders are fit, Ontario could consider specifying fitness requirements.

Acclimation

Heat and humidity are significant hazards to rescue responders. Arduous work significantly increases risk of heat-related illnesses, even at moderate ambient temperatures. Rescuers responding to emergencies under hot conditions must be acclimatized to be able to function effectively. Failure to do so can be a matter of life and death. For example, in 1998, six Polish rescuers lost their lives while responding to a routine situation and two American rescuers died of heat exhaustion at the Goldstrike decline in 2002. Since that time, all mine rescue organisations have adopted heat stress guidelines that limit underground mine rescue missions under heated conditions. Although Ontario Mine Rescue has adopted criteria for limiting the time (mission duration), volunteers are still exposed to high temperatures and humidity. This strategy alone may not be enough to ensure responders are acclimatized to their particular operation.

Critical Incident Stress

Responders may be involved in rescue and/or recovery operations. For responders involved in recovery operations, finding bodies is distressing. Volunteers should have immediate access to Critical Incident Stress management teams following an incident. Stress-related anxiety is normal but, if the emotions are not dealt with in a healthy effective fashion, they can lead to emotional turmoil and even harmful behaviour. Part of the risk assessment process should include identifying individuals who may be involved in recovery operations and establishing a plan to provide education, support and counselling.

Impact of New Technology

Technology affects how rescue teams respond to emergencies. Just as there are new technologies for mining, there are new technologies for mine rescue. The Technical Advisory Committee of Ontario Mine Rescue is responsible for investigating any new technology and making recommendations about which technologies should be adopted to improve the safety of members of rescue teams. Processes are in place to ensure that responders are trained in the use of any new technology.

Medical Skills

All Ontario mine rescue team members are required to have a minimum of standard first aid to assist with injured workers. Many have advanced first aid training.

Training Program/Skills Competency

Ontario Mine Rescue has several standardized competency-based mine rescue training programs including:

  1. Introductory Program
  2. Refresher (Regular) Training
  3. Advanced Mine Rescue Certification
  4. Management Program
  5. Technician Program
  6. Technician Refresher Training
  7. Supervisory Program

All Ontario Mine Rescue training programs come with leader guides and participant manuals and, where appropriate, competency checklists that are used to evaluate performance. The organization also maintains a comprehensive training database which tracks training received, competencies, oxygen time, experience in other jurisdictions and first aid certifications.

Training is normally delivered between September and May of each year. The current training schedule, which appears to be based on district and provincial mine rescue competitions (see below) rather than the needs of mine operators or responders, could result in long periods of time between regular and refresher training. The mine rescue training program would benefit from being evaluated to assess how best to deliver the knowledge components of the program as well as responders’ ability to maintain competency over time. Findings could be used to determine how often responders need refresher training.

Role of Mine Rescue Competitions

Ontario’s mine rescue competition is designed to simulate a complete incident response with numerous integrated tasks. A competition includes team preparation and team briefing, followed by solving a complex incident that will typically include triage, use of special equipment and firefighting. Although this exercise results in a very complete and thorough evaluation of a team’s ability to work through these tasks, it is not necessarily representative of what happens in an actual emergency situation.

In their competitions, most other jurisdictions establish separate tasks that are classified into knowledge, skill and endurance categories. Teams are required to complete several tasks and are evaluated against standards. A competition broken down into separate tasks would more accurately assess the competency of Ontario’s mine rescue workers in real life situations.

Recommendations

  • 3.1 The Ministry of Labour to require mining companies to conduct risk assessments to establish Emergency Response Plans for exploration sites, new mines, surface mines and mining plants.
  • 3.2 Workplace Safety North to revise the Mine Rescue Handbook to include guidelines for fitness of crew members, critical incident stress management and acclimatization of emergency responders.
  • 3.3 The Ministry of Labour to work with stakeholders to develop proposed recommendations regarding the responsibilities of mine rescue crew members and mine owners/employers, with respect to mine rescue operations.

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

3. Intervention d'urgence et sauvetage dans les mines

  • Diffusion : 15 avril 2015
  • Dernière mise à jour : avril 2015
  • Voir aussi : Addenda

Enjeu

Les nouvelles technologies et les nouveaux processus d'exploitation minière, de concert avec la tendance à exploiter des mines plus profondes, plus vastes et plus éloignées créent des problèmes pour les systèmes d'intervention d'urgence et de sauvetage dans les mines. Une question importante à se poser : Le système actuel de préparation aux situations d'urgence et d'intervention est-il adéquat compte tenu des risques croissants?

Ce que nous avons entendu

Le secteur minier est très fier du système de sauvetage minier de l'Ontario et est généralement satisfait à l'égard de la conception et du fonctionnement actuels de ce système. Toutefois, les responsables de l'Examen ont entendu d'un certain nombre de personnes qu'il est important d'évaluer la capacité du système de sauvetage miner actuel à intervenir dans le cas de dangers créés par les nouvelles technologies et méthodes d'exploitation minière et à lancer des opérations de sauvetage efficaces alors que les mines en Ontario deviennent de plus en plus profondes et que les distances à partir du puits augmentent.

Analyse

Les responsables de l'Examen ont recueilli des renseignements de plusieurs sources, notamment des recommandations des enquêtes du coroner et des commissions/enquêtes Ham, Burkett et Stevenson, des analyses des exigences réglementaires dans d'autres territoires de compétence, ainsi que des consultations menées auprès du public et auprès des autres territoires de compétence. Ils ont tenu des consultations auprès de syndicats, de membres de la direction, du comité consultatif technique sur le sauvetage minier de l'Ontario et du personnel organisationnel de Sauvetage minier de l'Ontario. L'Examen a comparé les exigences, les normes et les règlements de l'Ontario à l'égard de la préparation aux situations d'urgence et aux interventions avec ceux des autres territoires de compétence. Les responsables de l'Examen ont également entendu que, pour tenir compte de la nature unique de la gestion des situations d'urgence et du sauvetage minier, il faudrait envisager d'adopter des exigences en matière d'évaluation des risques distinctes et propres au secteur. Une exigence distincte en matière d'évaluation des risques pour les situations d'urgence et le sauvetage minier correspondrait aux pratiques de nombreuses autres provinces.

Défis actuels en matière de préparation aux situations d'urgence et de sauvetage dans les mines

Le sauvetage est le travail le plus difficile et le plus dangereux du secteur minier et il est souvent effectué dans des conditions qui « posent un danger immédiat pour la vie ou la santé ». Parce que les mines deviennent de plus en plus profondes et que les distances à partir du puits augmentent ou que les sociétés explorent de nouveaux sites et mines, les intervenants d'urgence doivent faire face à des risques de plus en plus importants, ce dont il faut tenir compte dans la planification des interventions en cas de situations d'urgence.

Alors que les mines deviennent de plus en plus vastes et profondes, il devient plus difficile pour les intervenants d'urgence de se rendre rapidement sur les lieux de l'urgence. Les plans d'intervention en cas d'urgence doivent tenir compte de ce délai potentiel. Des véhicules spécialement conçus et construits pour le transport des équipes peuvent être fournis aux équipes de sauvetage minier pour qu'elles puissent se rendre au lieu de l'urgence plus rapidement.

À des profondeurs accrues, le milieu devient plus chaud et plus humide en raison de la température plus élevée de la roche. Les températures et l'humidité élevées peuvent avoir une incidence sur le rendement de l'équipe de sauvetage minier. Les intervenants pourraient avoir besoin de travailler pendant des périodes plus courtes. La planification doit donc tenir compte de la nécessité potentielle de quarts plus courts.

Les équipes de sauvetage travaillent avec des appareils respiratoires et, selon les recommandations des chercheurs/fabricants, un intervenant ne peut demeurer que quatre heures sous oxygène. Une pratique exemplaire des organismes de sauvetage minier est de limiter les intervenants à deux heures.

La création de sous-stations de sauvetage minier souterraines entraînerait des complexités associées à l'entreposage et à l'entretien des appareils respiratoires. L'entretien des appareils doit se faire dans un milieu propre, climatisé et exempt de poussière, ce qui pourrait être difficile sous la terre. Des sous-stations de sauvetage minier souterraines signifieraient également que les sociétés devraient acheter du matériel de sauvetage minier additionnel. Les plans d'intervention en cas d'urgence devraient prévoir l'utilisation d'appareils autosauveteurs (c.-à-d. des respirateurs portés par les mineurs) en plus de l'utilisation et de l'entreposage stratégique de stations de refuges permanentes.

Lorsque les sociétés effectuent de l'exploration avancée, il peut y avoir des questions de santé et de sécurité graves, mais les sociétés ne sont pas actuellement obligées de mettre en place un plan d'intervention en cas d'urgence pour ces sites – malgré le fait que les travailleurs peuvent faire face aux risques habituellement présents dans les mines souterraines, notamment la faible teneur en oxygène, les gaz souterrains, les chutes de terre et les coups d'eau. La complexité d'un plan d'intervention en cas d'urgence pour un site d'exploration dépendra de certains facteurs, notamment l'emplacement géographique de la mine / du projet, le nombre de travailleurs sur le site, la proximité des organismes d'intervention en cas d'urgence municipaux, la proximité des opérations avoisinantes qui sont dotées d'une capacité d'intervention et des dangers propres au site. Il est important que les sociétés mettent en place des plans d'intervention en cas d'urgence qui :

  • traitent des risques souterrains habituels;
  • sont fondés sur une évaluation du risque, évalués par le comité mixte de santé et de sécurité, le cas échéant, mis à l'essai régulièrement et rajustés pour prévoir les dangers nouveaux et émergents;
  • sont examinés et mis à jour au moins tous les ans par le propriétaire / employeur et mis à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail à des fins d'examen.

Contrairement aux autres territoires de compétence, l'Ontario n'oblige pas les mines à ciel ouvert et les installations minières à mener des évaluations des risques officielles ou d'établir, de tenir à jour et d'évaluer un plan d'intervention en cas d'urgence. Les mines à ciel ouvert et les installations minières dépendent souvent des municipalités pour aider dans une intervention en cas de situation d'urgence. Toutefois, les services d'incendie municipaux et les services médicaux d'urgence (SMU) ont des capacités limitées et il faut les consulter avant de les intégrer aux procédures normalisées d'un plan d'intervention en cas d'urgence d'un site. Afin d'appuyer les exploitants des mines et des installations minières, il est essentiel que le secteur minier mette sur pied des lignes directrices sur les éléments critiques (composants) d'un plan d'intervention en cas d'urgence écrit dans lequel sont clairement définis des rôles et des responsabilités dans une situation d'urgence. Ces plans doivent être révisés, vérifiés et mis à l'essai régulièrement afin d'en assurer la conformité. Les plans doivent être modifiés lorsque des changements dans le lieu de travail peuvent avoir une incidence sur la capacité d'intervention.

Aptitudes physiques et compétences des intervenants d'urgence bénévoles

Les sauvetages miniers en Ontario sont effectués par des intervenants d'urgence bénévoles qui doivent posséder d'importantes aptitudes physiques et des connaissances et qui doivent obtenir un appui élevé.

État de santé général

Les secouristes doivent être capables d'effectuer du travail ardu dans des conditions extrêmes. Sauvetage minier Ontario exige que les intervenants subissent un examen physique et des tests cliniques tous les ans pour évaluer leur état de santé. Toutefois, l'exhaustivité de cet examen peut varier selon le médecin qui pourrait ne pas être au courant de l'intensité du travail accompli par ces personnes.

Pour s'assurer que l'état de santé des intervenants est adéquat pour le travail, certains territoires de compétence font appel à des professionnels de la santé qui sont responsables de superviser les examens médicaux et les tests cliniques et qui examinent les bénévoles après une mission sous oxygène et confirment leur état de santé. De nombreux territoires de compétence ont des normes d'aptitudes physiques rigoureuses pour le sauvetage minier. Par exemple, les organismes responsables du sauvetage minier au Royaume-Uni, en Allemagne, en Pologne et en République tchèque mènent des tests de conditionnement physique tous les mois. Pour s'assurer de la condition physique adéquate des intervenants, l'Ontario pourrait envisager d'établir des exigences concernant les aptitudes physiques.

Acclimatation

La chaleur et l'humidité posent un important danger aux intervenants d'urgence. Le travail ardu augmente de façon importante le risque de maladies dues à la chaleur, même à des températures ambiantes modérées. Les secouristes qui interviennent dans les situations d'urgence où la chaleur est un facteur doivent s'acclimater pour pouvoir travailler efficacement. L'acclimatation peut devenir une question de vie ou de mort. Par exemple, en 1998, six secouristes polonais ont perdu la vie alors qu'ils faisaient une intervention de routine et, en 2002, deux secouristes américains sont morts d'épuisement par la chaleur à la descenderie de la mine Goldstrike. Depuis, tous les organismes de sauvetage minier ont adopté des directives concernant le stress thermique qui limitent les missions de sauvetage dans les mines souterraines dans des conditions de chaleur intense. Même si Sauvetage minier Ontario a adopté une limite quant à la durée d'une mission, les bénévoles sont quand même exposés à des températures et à une humidité très élevées. Cette stratégie pourrait à elle seule ne pas être suffisante pour s'assurer que les intervenants sont acclimatés à leur mission.

Stress en cas d'incident critique

Les intervenants peuvent participer à des opérations de sauvetage et (ou) des opérations de récupération. Pour les intervenants qui prennent part aux opérations de récupération, trouver des corps peut causer un stress. Les bénévoles devraient avoir accès à des équipes de gestion du stress en cas d'incident critique immédiatement après un incident. L'anxiété causée par le stress est normale, mais si les émotions ne sont pas exprimées d'une façon saine et efficace, elles peuvent être troublantes et même entraîner un comportement néfaste. Le processus d'évaluation des risques devrait comprendre l'identification des personnes qui pourraient participer aux opérations de récupération et l'élaboration d'un plan visant à fournir de l'information, du soutien et du counseling.

Incidence des nouvelles technologies

La technologie a une incidence sur la manière dont les équipes de sauvetage mènent leurs interventions d'urgence. Comme pour l'exploitation minière, de nouvelles technologies font leur apparition en matière de sauvetage minier. Le comité consultatif technique de Sauvetage minier Ontario est responsable d'examiner les nouvelles technologies et de formuler des recommandations à l'égard de l'adoption des technologies qui amélioreraient la sécurité des membres des équipes de sauvetage. Des processus sont en place afin de s'assurer que les intervenants suivent une formation sur l'utilisation d'une nouvelle technologie.

Compétences médicales

Tous les membres des équipes de sauvetage minier en Ontario doivent posséder au minimum des compétences de secourisme général en vue d'aider les travailleurs blessés. Beaucoup d'entre eux ont suivi une formation de secourisme avancée.

Programme de formation / compétences

Sauvetage minier Ontario offre plusieurs programmes de sauvetage minier normalisés fondés sur les compétences.

  1. Programme de base
  2. Perfectionnement (régulier)
  3. Certification en sauvetage minier – niveau avancé
  4. Programme de gestion
  5. Programme de technicien
  6. Perfectionnement (technicien)
  7. Programme de supervision

Tous les programmes de formation offerts par Sauvetage minier Ontario fournissent un guide à l'intention de l'animateur et un manuel du participant et, au besoin, des listes de vérification des compétences qui sont utilisées pour évaluer le rendement. L'organisme tient également à jour une base de données complète sur la formation qui fait état de la formation suivie, des compétences, du temps sous oxygène, de l'expérience dans d'autres territoires de compétence et des certifications en secourisme.

La formation est habituellement offerte de septembre à mai chaque année. Le calendrier de formation actuel, qui semble fondé sur les compétitions de sauvetage minier des districts et provinces (voir ci-dessous), plutôt que sur les besoins des exploitants de mines ou des intervenants, pourrait laisser écouler de longues périodes entre la formation régulière et le perfectionnement. Le programme de formation en sauvetage minier bénéficierait d'une évaluation visant à établir la meilleure façon d'offrir les connaissances et de maintenir les compétences des intervenants au fil du temps. Les résultats de l'évaluation pourraient déterminer les intervalles auxquels les intervenants devraient suivre une formation de perfectionnement.

Rôle des compétitions de sauvetage minier

Les compétitions de sauvetage minier en Ontario sont conçues pour simuler une intervention d'urgence complète qui comprend de multiples tâches intégrées. Une compétition inclut la préparation de l'équipe et la séance d'information de l'équipe qui sont suivies d'un incident complexe comprenant habituellement un triage, l'utilisation de matériel spécialisé et la lutte contre un incendie. Bien que cet exercice permette une évaluation complète et détaillée de l'aptitude d'une équipe à exécuter ces tâches, il ne représente pas nécessairement la réalité d'une vraie situation d'urgence.

Dans leurs compétitions, la plupart des autres territoires de compétence établissent des tâches distinctes qui sont classées dans les catégories de connaissances, de compétences et d'endurance. Les équipes doivent exécuter plusieurs tâches et sont évaluées en fonction des normes. Une compétition au cours de laquelle il faut exécuter différentes tâches permettrait d'évaluer avec plus d'exactitude les compétences nécessaires aux intervenants d'urgence de l'Ontario dans les vraies situations d'urgence.

Recommandations

  • 3.1 Le ministère du Travail obligera les sociétés à effectuer des évaluations des risques en vue de l'élaboration de plans d'intervention en cas d'urgence pour les sites d'exploration, les nouvelles mines, les mines à ciel ouvert et les installations minières.
  • 3.2 Sécurité au travail dans le Nord révisera le Mine Rescue Handbook afin d'inclure des lignes directrices sur la condition physique des membres de l'équipe de sauvetage, la gestion du stress en cas d'incident critique et l'acclimatation des intervenants d'urgence.
  • 3.3 Le ministère du Travail formulera, de pair avec les parties intéressées, des recommandations à l'égard des responsabilités des membres des équipes de sauvetage minier et des propriétaires/employeurs des mines dans le cadre des opérations de sauvetage minier.

précédent | suivant