Table of Contents | Print This Page

Appendix G – Mining Sector Coroner’s Jury Recommendations Analysis

  • Issued: April 15, 2015
  • Content last reviewed: April 2015
  • See also: Final Report

Report on Coroner Jury Reports Analysis for Mining Sector

Purpose

This report provides an overview of the preliminary analysis of Coroners Jury Reports (CJRs) in the mining sector.

Context

The Office of the Chief Coroner (OCC) for Ontario is responsible for death investigations and inquests in Ontario to ensure that no fatalities are overlooked, concealed, or ignored.

Deaths that occur as a result of an accident in the course of employment at construction sites, mining plants and mines are subject to mandatory inquests. According to Section 10 (5) of the Coroners Act:

Notice of death resulting from accident at or in construction project, mining plant or mine

  • (5) Where a worker dies as a result of an accident occurring in the course of the worker’s employment at or in a construction project, mining plant or mine, including a pit or quarry, the person in charge of such project, mining plant or mine shall immediately give notice of the death to a coroner and the coroner shall hold an inquest upon the body. R.S.O. 1990, c. C.37, s. 10 (5); 2009, c. 15, s. 6 (5).

The process for assessing risks in underground mining was launched in the spring of 2014, and the workshop drawing the SMEs together was held in June, 2014. The purpose of this process was to identify and assess the risk events (including the “latent” risks) within a system so as to discern the components of an event and permit study of their structures and dynamics until it is determined what it will take to unravel or “sabotage” the event. Malcolm Sparrow stresses on a government’s need to be vigilant, so they can spot emerging threats early, pick up on precursors and warning signs, use their imaginations to work out what could happen, and to do these things even before much harm is done. Nimbleness, flexibility to organize quickly and appropriately around each emerging risk, rather than being locked into patterns of practice constructed around the risks of a preceding decade, being adeptat creating new approaches when existing methods turn out to be irrelevant or insufficient to suppress a risk, is being a true risk-based regulator.

The CJRs provide a synopsis of the events leading to the fatality and outline recommendations by the Jury to prevent future incidents.

Scope of Review

In March 2014, the Data Management and Performance Metrics Unit gained access to inquest reports received by the Ministry of Labour to analyse the incidents description and Coroner Jury’s recommendation (CJRs) to the MOL, for findings that could support prevention-related initiatives.

The qualitative analysis of the CJRs included inquests that took place between 1996 and 2009. There was a total of 36 inquests in the mining sector, representing 18% of all CJRs received by the MOL in 13 years. The following discussion is specific to this subset of CJRs.

To ensure inter-rater reliability, once all CJRs were coded, the two coders met to review all the inquests for the coding of the ‘primary cause of fatal incident’. Where there were discrepancies between coders, the language used in the inquest determined the primary cause of fatal incident.

There was a total of 37 fatalities among the 36 inquests: one inquest included two fatalities. The analysis highlights trends related to these fatalities by worker characteristics and other incident characteristic factors.

Overall Findings

  • Most victims were workers 25 to 54 years old.
  • Almost 60% of fatal incidents in mining sector were caused by being struck by equipment, crushes and being pinned.
  • When the accident time was mentioned, over half occurred in the afternoon hours: from noon to 5 pm.
  • The most critical day of the week for fatal accidents was in the middle of the week: Wednesday (27%), followed by the beginning and the end of week: Mondays and Fridays (19% each).
  • When weather was mentioned as a contributing factor for the fatality, the cold was the primary weather condition identified but weather was only mentioned in four inquest reports.
  • The majority of the inquest recommendations were related to the OHSA and its regulations (61%), followed by communications (11%), and training related (10%).

Detailed Findings

  1. Demographics

    All fatalities in Mining sector involved males. From an age perspective, the majority of fatalities involved workers between 25 to 54 years old (86%).

    Table 6 – Percentage of fatalities versus percentage of average Ontario employment (1996-2009), Victim’s Age n=37[19]
    Young (<25)Middle Aged (25-54)Older (>=55)
    14% versus 15%86% versus 74%0% versus 11%
  2. Cause of Fatal Incident

    The top three primary causes of death were: 1) struck by equipment (24%), 2) crushed (18%), and 3) pinned (18%). Fatalities from crushes included being crushed by equipment (e.g., trailer, loader) and by materials (e.g., stone, rock). All the falls were falls from heights, and included falls from ladders, in ore passes or in holes. The category of “Other” includes: asphyxiation, swept by, and unknown.

    Table 7 – Primary Cause of Fatal Incident (n=37)
    Primary Cause of DeathPercentage
    Struck By24%
    Crushed18%
    Pinned18%
    Buried15%
    Fall9%
    Other9%
    Run Over3%
    Burns3%
    Blunt Force1%
  3. Workplace Context

    By far most fatalities involved workers (91%), followed by supervisors (9%). Most fatal incidents occurred while working (73%). For 27% of the incidents the information was insufficient to determine what was being done at the time of the incident.

    The majority of incidents occurred while victims worked with others on the same work site (69%), while 31% of victims were alone in the workplace at the time of incident.

  4. Incident’s Timing

    Most fatal incidents occurred during the afternoon (noon to 5 pm) at 53%, followed by the night (10 pm to 4:59 am) at 27%, morning (5 am to 11:59 am) at 20%, and evening (6-10 pm) at 0%.

    The majority of fatal incidents occurred on Wednesdays (27%), followed by Mondays and Fridays (19%), Tuesdays and Thursdays (11%), Saturdays (8%) and Sundays (5%). Most fatal incidents occurred during the working week (86%) comparing with the weekend (14%).

    The months with the highest rate of fatal incidents in the mining sector were April (19%) and August (19%).

    Table 8 – Fatal Incidents by Month (n=37)
    MonthPercentage
    January3%
    February3%
    March5%
    April19%
    May8%
    June8%
    July11%
    August19%
    September3%
    October8%
    November11%
    December3%
  5. Weather

    Although there were few mentions of the weather in the inquest reports, there were four reports (or 11% of all mining CJRs) which specifically mentioned the weather as a contributing factor to the fatal incident. The cold (50%, n=2) was the primary weather condition mentioned to contribute to the incident.

  6. Location

    As expected, the majority of fatalities in the mining sector occurred in the MOL’s Northern Region (68%). The Western Region was next (19%), followed by Eastern Region (8%) and Central Region (5%).

  7. Recommendations

    Each inquest included one set of recommendations which apply to the fatal incident included in that inquest. A total of 249 recommendations were directed to the MOL, equaling 24% of all recommendations made in 36 mining sector inquests. On average, each inquest in the mining sector had 7 recommendations, with a range from 0 to 22 recommendations.

    The majority (61%) of the recommendations were related to the OHSA and its regulations.

    Of the total recommendations related to OHSA:

    • 63 recommendations were related to the OHSA (42%)
    • 55 recommendations were related to the Mining Regulations (36%)
    • 29 recommendations were related to both OHSA and Mining Regulations (19%)
    • 5 recommendations were related to the Construction Projects Regulations (3%).

    The second most common theme among the recommendations was related to communication and collaboration (11% or 28 recommendations). These recommendations pertained to communication and cooperation between the Ministry and workplaces, as well as collaboration between the Ministry and various agencies and workplaces.

    Recommendations for training enhancement and certification (10% or 25 recommendations) were also frequently mentioned. These recommendations covered issues such as additional workplace training, new training frequencies and lengths of training, different types of training, additional training requirements and proof of certification.

[ 19 ] Employment data source: Statistics Canada, CANSIM Table 282-0002

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Annexe G – Analyse des recommandations du jury du coroner sur le secteur minier

  • Diffusion : 15 avril 2015
  • Dernière mise à jour : mai 2015
  • Voir aussi: Rapport final

Rapport sur l’analyse des rapports du jury du coroner sur le secteur minier

Objet

Ce rapport donne un aperçu de l’analyse préliminaire des rapports du jury du coroner sur le secteur minier.

Contexte

Le Bureau du coroner en chef (BCC) de l’Ontario est responsable des investigations et des enquêtes sur les décès en Ontario pour veiller à ce qu’aucun décès ne soit négligé, dissimulé ou ignoré.

Les décès qui surviennent à la suite d’un accident du travail dans des chantiers de construction, des installations minières et des mines font l’objet d’enquêtes du coroner obligatoires. En vertu du paragraphe 10 (5) de la Loi sur les coroners :

Avis de décès résultant d’un accident sur un chantier de construction, dans une mine ou une installation minière

  • (5) Si un travailleur décède par suite d’un accident survenu au cours de son emploi sur un chantier de construction, dans une installation minière ou dans une mine, y compris un puits d’extraction ou une carrière, la personne responsable des lieux donne immédiatement avis du décès à un coroner, qui tient une enquête sur la cause du décès. L.R.O. 1990, chap. C.37, par. 10 (5); 2009, chap. 15, par. 6 (5).

Les rapports du jury du coroner donnent un résumé des incidents menant à des décès et énoncent les recommandations faites par le jury afin de prévenir de futurs incidents.

Portée de l’examen

En mars 2014, l’Unité de la gestion des données et des mesures de performance a obtenu l’accès aux rapports d’enquête reçus par le ministère du Travail afin d’analyser les descriptions des incidents et les recommandations du jury du coroner et de formuler des constatations qui pourraient contribuer à mettre sur pied des initiatives de prévention.

L’analyse qualitative des recommandations du jury du coroner comprenait les enquêtes qui ont eu lieu de 1996 à 2009. Il y a eu un total de 36 enquêtes dans le secteur minier, représentant 18 % de toutes les recommandations du jury du coroner reçues par le ministère du Travail en 13 ans. La discussion suivante porte sur ce sous-ensemble de recommandations du jury du coroner en particulier.

Pour assurer la fiabilité interévaluateurs, une fois que toutes les recommandations du jury du coroner ont été notées, les évaluateurs se sont rencontrés pour étudier toutes les enquêtes et établir la « principale cause de l’incident mortel ». Lorsque leurs évaluations étaient différentes, les évaluateurs étudiaient le libellé utilisé dans le cadre de l’enquête afin de déterminer la principale cause de l’incident mortel.

On comptait un total de 37 décès parmi les 36 enquêtes : une enquête portait sur deux décès. L’analyse met en évidence les tendances entourant ces décès selon les caractéristiques des travailleurs et d’autres facteurs propres à l’incident.

Constatations générales

  • La plupart des victimes étaient des travailleurs âgés de 25 à 54 ans.
  • Les causes de décès dans près de 60 % des incidents mortels dans le secteur minier étaient les suivantes : être heurté par du matériel, être écrasé et être coincé.
  • Dans les cas où l’heure de l’accident était mentionnée, plus de la moitié des incidents ont eu lieu en après-midi, c.-à-d. de midi à 17 h.
  • Les accidents mortels ont plus souvent eu lieu le mercredi (27 %), puis le lundi et le vendredi (19 % respectivement).
  • Dans les cas où les conditions météorologiques étaient mentionnées comme un facteur contribuant au décès, le froid était la principale condition météorologique nommée. Par contre, les conditions météorologiques n’ont été mentionnées que dans quatre rapports d’enquête.
  • La majorité des recommandations découlant des enquêtes portaient sur la LSST et les règlements y afférents (61 %), puis sur la communication (11 %) et la formation (10 %).

Constatations détaillées

  1. Données démographiques

    Toutes les victimes décédées dans le cadre d’accidents du secteur minier étaient des hommes. Du point de vue de l’âge, la majorité des victimes étaient âgées de 25 à 54 ans (86 %).

    Tableau 6 – Pourcentage de décès par rapport au taux d’emploi moyen en Ontario 1996-2009) par catégorie d’âge, n = 37[19]
    Jeune (< 25)Âge moyen (25 à 54)Âgé (>= 55)
    14 % c. 15 %86 % c. 74 %0 % c. 11 %
  2. Cause de l’incident mortel

    Les trois principales causes des décès étaient les suivantes : 1) être heurté par du matériel (24 %), 2) être écrasé (18 %) et 3) être coincé (18 %). Les décès causés par le fait d’être écrasé comprenaient être écrasé par du matériel (p. ex., remorque, chargeur) et par des matériaux (p. ex., pierres, roches). Toutes les chutes étaient des chutes à partir de structures en hauteur et comprenaient les chutes des échelles, dans les cheminées à minerai et dans des trous. La catégorie « Autre » comprend : asphyxie, emporté et inconnu.

    Tableau 7 – Principale cause des incidents mortels (n = 37)
    Principale cause du décèsPourcentage
    Heurté24%
    Écrasé18%
    Coincé18%
    Enseveli15%
    Chute9%
    Autre9%
    Renversé par un véhicule3%
    Brûlures3%
    Traumatisme contondant1%
  3. Contexte du lieu de travail

    De loin, les victimes des décès sont plus fréquemment des travailleurs (91 %), puis des superviseurs (9 %). La plupart des incidents ont lieu pendant le travail (73 %). Pour 27% des incidents, il n’y avait pas suffisamment de renseignements pour déterminer dans quelles circonstances l’incident est survenu.

    La majorité des incidents ont eu lieu alors que les victimes travaillaient avec d’autres personnes sur le même lieu de travail (69 %), tandis que 31 % des victimes étaient seules sur le lieu de travail au moment de l’incident.

  4. Heure des incidents

    La plupart des incidents mortels surviennent pendant l’après-midi (de midi à 17 h) (53 %), puis la nuit (22 h à 4 h 59) (27 %), le matin (5 h à 11 h 59) (20 %) et le soir (18 h à 22 h) (0 %).

    La plupart des incidents mortels surviennent le mercredi (27 %), puis le lundi et le vendredi (19 %), le mardi et le jeudi (11 %), le samedi (8 %) et le dimanche (5 %). La plupart des incidents mortels surviennent pendant la semaine de travail (86 %) comparativement à la fin de semaine (14 %).

    Les mois ayant les taux les plus élevés d’incidents mortels dans le secteur minier sont avril (19 %) et août (19 %).

    Tableau 8 – Incidents mortels par mois (n = 37)
    MoisPourcentage
    Janvier3%
    Février3%
    Mars5%
    Avril19%
    Mai8%
    Juin8%
    Juillet11%
    Août19%
    Septembre3%
    Octobre8%
    Novembre11%
    Décembre3%
  5. Conditions météorologiques

    Bien que peu de rapports d’enquête aient mentionné les conditions météorologiques, quatre rapports (ou 11 % de toutes les recommandations du jury du coroner) ont mentionné les conditions météorologiques comme étant un facteur ayant contribué à l’incident mortel. Le froid (50 %, n = 2) était la principale condition météorologique mentionnée comme contribuant à un incident.

  6. Emplacement

    Sans surprise, la majorité des décès dans le secteur minier ont eu lieu dans la région du Nord du ministère du Travail (68 %). Ensuite, les régions où les décès ont le plus fréquemment eu lieu sont la région de l’Ouest (19 %), la région de l’Est (8 %), puis la région du Centre (5 %).

  7. Recommandations

    Chaque rapport comprenait un ensemble de recommandations qui découlaient de l’incident mortel sur lequel portait l’enquête. Un total de 249 recommandations ont été faites au ministère du Travail, soit 24 % de toutes les recommandations faites dans le cadre des 36 enquêtes dans le secteur minier. En moyenne, chaque enquête portant sur un incident survenu dans le secteur minier comportait sept recommandations. Le nombre de recommandations par enquête variait de 0 à 22.

    La majorité (61 %) des recommandations portaient sur la LSST et les règlements y afférents.

    Sur le total des recommandations portant sur la LSST :

    • 63 recommandations portaient sur la LSST (42 %);
    • 55 recommandations portaient sur le règlement sur les mines et les installations minières (36 %);
    • 29 recommandations portaient sur la LSST et le règlement sur les mines et les installations minières (19 %);
    • cinq recommandations portaient sur les règlements relatifs aux chantiers de construction (3 %).

    Le deuxième sujet le plus souvent abordé dans les recommandations était la communication et la collaboration (11 % ou 28 recommandations). Ces recommandations abordaient la communication et la collaboration entre le ministère et les lieux de travail, ainsi qu’entre le ministère et les divers organismes et lieux de travail.

    L’amélioration de la formation et la certification étaient aussi fréquemment mentionnées dans les recommandations (10 % ou 25 recommandations). Ces recommandations attiraient l’attention sur des questions comme une formation additionnelle dans le lieu de travail, de nouvelles fréquence et durée de formation, différents types de formation, des exigences additionnelles en matière de formation et une preuve de certification.

précédent | suivant