Table of Contents | Print This Page

Appendix F - Underground Mining Sector Level Risk Assessment

  • Issued: April 15, 2015
  • Content last reviewed: April 2015
  • See also: Final Report

Introduction

The Ministry of Labour (MOL) launched the risk assessment initiative in effort to gain better insight into the risks facing workers, sector by sector, in Ontario workplaces. The purpose of the initiative is to provide better information about risks to employers and their representatives, workers and their representatives, and to MOL and Health and Safety Association (HSAs) staff, so that they can work together to mitigate those risks and reduce the incidence of injury, illness and death in Ontario workplaces.

Risk assessment is, of course, widely established across Ontario’s mining sector. Individual firms, worker unions and joint health and safety committees routinely evaluate risks in an effort to prevent injuries and illnesses. While risk assessment is not new, what is new is the application of a consistent, rigorous methodology to assess risk across a sector of the economy like the underground mining sector.

The methodology draws from the fields of decision science and risk management to gain insight into key risks in a sector, focusing on the highest risks. Once those risks have been identified, the next step is for the partners in prevention – employers, workers, and ministry and HSA staff – to work together to mitigate those risks.

The methodology uses system-wide intelligence and a balanced mix of peer-recognized subject matter experts (SMEs). Risk identification requires the extraction and application of collective wisdom. To that end, the risk assessment process brings together those employer and worker representatives who are recognized as experts by their peers in order to identify the leading risks in the sector – the events (situations, conditions or factors) that could lead to injury or illness.

The process for assessing risks in underground mining was launched in the spring of 2014, and the workshop drawing the SMEs together was held in June, 2014. The purpose of this process was to identify and assess the risk events (including the “latent” risks) within a system so as to discern the components of an event and permit study of their structures and dynamics until it is determined what it will take to unravel or “sabotage” the event. Malcolm Sparrow stresses on a government’s need to be vigilant, so they can spot emerging threats early, pick up on precursors and warning signs, use their imaginations to work out what could happen, and to do these things even before much harm is done. Nimbleness, flexibility to organize quickly and appropriately around each emerging risk, rather than being locked into patterns of practice constructed around the risks of a preceding decade, being adeptat creating new approaches when existing methods turn out to be irrelevant or insufficient to suppress a risk, is being a true risk-based regulator.

Risk Assessment Process

The ministry’s risk assessment approach involves a systematic process of identifying and estimating the level of risk across the sector under review, taking into account both the probability and the severity of exposure to an event or harm. The process draws different expert stakeholders – employers, workers, academics, enforcement and HSA staff – together in a systematic and structured environment to identify, discuss, and analyze the varied perspectives and angles that may define a particular risk. This workshop is not just about the risk assessment experiences of a particular organization or a company, but rather a horizontal view of the sector that includes organizations having advanced or not-so-advanced risk management systems. In other words, risk assessment is being conducted at the level of the sector as a whole, that is, at the level of the system. In addition, the process recognizes that there is no one-size fits all approach to risk assessment.

Many mining firms are, of course, sophisticated practitioners of risk assessment and management in the context of their own operations. However, risk assessment using a systems (holistic) view of the underground mining sector as a whole in Ontario has not been done before. The Chief Prevention Officer and the mining advisory group recognized the need for such an analysis that would allow all stakeholders to have a common focus on the priorities for the underground mining sector.

The risk assessment process undertaken for the mining sector was based on the best available evidence and professional judgment of the participants. An important goal of the process was to maximize objectivity to the greatest extent possible; the risk assessment was conducted independently from risk management, and it was not subject to external expectations of what a potential risk management outcome should be.

The core of the risk assessment process in the underground mining sector was to use the collective wisdom across the sector in a process to focus the industry, workers and their representatives, HSAs, and the regulator on the highest risks to mining health and safety.

When undertaking a risk assessment, participants considered where and when additional information was required and sought the appropriate sources for it. However, these activities required additional time and resources and could not be justified in many cases. Considerations were based on informed and professional judgment and information came from a variety of sources. Collaboration with industry and subject‐matter experts was often a source of information. In addition to front-line personnel, partners such as Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care, Health and Safety Associations, academia, worker groups, Workplace Safety & Insurance Board, and other subject-matter experts had valuable information. This collaboration lent varied and critical perspectives that were respected and addressed through a systematic and structured risk assessment process.

Where there was a lack of information, or an event or harm that did not lend itself to established scientific assessment methods (e.g. impact of new technology), evaluators used professional judgment, available evidence and reports to assess the risks to the health and safety of workers.

Risk Assessment Methodology

The first step was to identify peer-recognized subject matter experts (SMEs) who would be assembled in a workshop to identify and prioritize the risks facing workers in underground mining. The participants were system partners drawn from the underground mining industry, from unions, the ministry and Workplace Safety North. The identification of the participants involved extensive consultation across the sector to ensure that highly respected SMEs could participate with the broad support of key interests in the mining sector.

The second step was pre-workshop planning, which began with an in-depth orientation on the risk assessment project. Each of the selected SMEs was then requested to identify situations or conditions (events) that could lead to injury or illness with appropriate evidence for each event and current controls where they exist. A template for this exercise was provided to the SMEs.

The lists from the SMEs were collected and amalgamated into one list and then sent back to them for a final review days before the workshop date. It should be noted that the final list reflected verbatim what each of the SMEs submitted; only clear duplications were eliminated.

The final template itemized 263 events. The events were then organized into 29 categories of event, in order to increase the usefulness of the results for purposes of later analysis.

An all-day workshop was scheduled for the analysis and prioritization of each identified event on the amalgamated list. This involved a discussion about each identified event on the list, after which the participants voted on the likelihood of the event occurring and the consequence of the event were it to occur. It was agreed that, although all participants were encouraged to engage fully in the discussion of each event, only the representatives from mining industry employers and workers would vote. MOL and WSN participants did not vote.

To ensure the best possible results, participants agreed that the workshop meeting must be face-to-face. The participants were expected to engage in robust discussion in respect of each item on the list before the voting.

The workshop process was open, transparent, and collaborative. All opinions were heard and debated. The transparency of the process provided assurance to participants that they would have ample opportunity to present relevant information and that their views would be respected. As a result, the discussion generated a deeper objective understanding of the event and allowed for all perspectives to be heard. It is important to note that comments were not attributed to any individual or organization.

At the end of the discussion of each of the identified events, each participant cast a vote, on a scale of 1 – 5, on the “likelihood of the identified event occurring” and then on the “severity of the consequence if that event were to occur”. When voting on an event, the participants were instructed to consider the state of the controls that are currently in place. Each vote had the effect of locking in the participants’ ranking of each of the events. The result is a relative ranking of all of the 263 events that the participants were asked to assess.

Assessing levels of risk required judgement. This means that, in addition to any available data, the SMEs brought their considerable experience, knowledge, and sometimes their intuition to bear on the assessment of the likelihood of the event occurring and the severity of consequence that the event would have if it were to occur. The measurement occurred on a Likert scale of 1 to 5. A different scale, 1 to 10, or even 1 to 20, other any other such scale could have been used, but the result would be the same so long as the participants doing the measurement have a frame of reference based on the definitions of each unit of the scale provided. In the end, the scales used are a systematic measurement of a person’s judgement based on his/her subject matter expertise, which provides a foundation for any scientific investigation.

The workshop was facilitated by the ministry’s Corporate Risk Officer, Dr. Sujoy Dey, a certified risk management professional with training in systems thinking and decision science. On completion of the voting, the Risk Officer assembled the results into a ranked list of the identified events and then created a heat map that reflected the spread of the risks across the underground mining sector.

The results of the risk assessment exercise were immediately sent to the workshop SME participants for validation.

Results of the Underground Mining Risk Assessment Workshop

For the underground mining sector, the expert group identified a total 263 events. A heat map was developed provides a snapshot of the key risks facing a sector, arrayed in accordance with the priority ranking assigned to the risks in the workshop.

The results of the risk assessment can be organized in several ways. Different ways of portraying the results, for example looking at the ranking by workers as compared to the ranking by employers, can be used to help determine where there is an opportunity for employers to improve the communication of controls in place.

In analyzing the results, there was a significant degree of convergence among the participating voters in ranking the risks. It is fair to conclude, as such, that the top ten list provides a compelling set of priorities for the underground mining sector. This gives decision-makers a way to collectively move forward towards defining control actions through a systematic risk mitigation process.

The results of the risk assessment process provide a sound foundation for a more detailed analysis of the highest risks in the sector. For example, a structured root-cause analysis of the highest risks is a great start towards a complete analysis of causal factors for the identified adverse event. A risk has nowhere to go but down, when control strategies suppress it from all known angles and perspectives, thereby breaking the trajectory of accident causation. No one organization or an individual can provide all the perspectives that are essential for a true understanding of a risk. As the system has come together to identify and analyze the risks, the system should come together again to mitigate the same set of risks.

The top 10 risk events listed by category and specific situation or condition that could result in injury or illness were:

  1. Ground Control – Rock bursts underground.
  2. Mobile Equipment – Large vehicle and pedestrian or small vehicle interaction is common and lethal.
  3. Ground Control – Loose rock at the face continues to kill and injure workers underground.
  4. Ground Control – Existing underground mines in Ontario are becoming deeper and incurring higher extraction ratios. These situations can result in various forms of ground instability.
  5. Ground Control – High faces not scaled and secured to protect workers
  6. Mobile Equipment – The mobile equipment employed in many underground mines is getting bigger. Bigger equipment can often result in poorer operator visibility (i.e. more and larger blind spots). This can result in collisions with other vehicles or contact with pedestrians.
  7. Occupational Illness – Exposure to hazardous substances (dusts, materials, metals), gases/ fumes, biological materials or forms, Physical Hazards (vibration, noise, heat/cold stress, light.).
  8. Fatigue – Working shiftwork resulting in disrupted sleeping patterns.
  9. Ground Control – Fall of ground while installing ground support.
  10. Training – Supervisors in some mines in Ontario lack the proper experience and training. Inexperienced and improperly trained supervisors pose a threat to themselves and their direct-report workers.

References:

  1. Daryl Raymond Smith, David Frazier, L W Reithmaier, and James C Miller (2001). Controlling Pilot Error. McGraw-Hill Professional. p. 10. ISBN 0071373187.
  2. Jo. H. Wilson, Andrew Symon, Josephine Williams, and John Tingle (2002). Clinical Risk Management in Midwifery: the right to a perfect baby? Elsevier Health Sciences. pp. 4–6. ISBN 0750628510.
  3. Tim Amos and Peter Snowden (2005). "Risk management". In Adrian J. B. James, Tim Kendall, and Adrian Worrall. Clinical Governance in Mental Health and Learning Disability Services: A Practical Guide. Gaskell. p. 176. ISBN 1904671128.
  4. Malcolm K. Sparrow (2008). The Character of Harms: Operational Challenges in Control, Cambridge University Press, Cambridge, England; New York, USA.

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Annexe F – Évaluation des risques du secteur minier souterrain

  • Diffusion : 15 avril 2015
  • Dernière mise à jour : mai 2015
  • Voir aussi: Rapport final

Introduction

Le ministère du Travail (MTR) a lancé l’initiative d’évaluation des risques afin d’être mieux informé des risques auxquels sont confrontés les travailleurs de secteurs précis, dans les lieux de travail en Ontario. L’objectif de l’initiative est de fournir de meilleurs renseignements sur les risques aux employeurs, aux travailleurs et à leurs représentants respectifs, ainsi qu’au personnel du ministère du Travail et des associations de santé et de sécurité, de sorte qu’ils puissent collaborer pour atténuer ces risques et réduire l’incidence des blessures, des maladies et des décès dans les lieux de travail de l’Ontario.

Bien sûr, l’évaluation des risques est largement établie dans l’ensemble du secteur minier ontarien. Les entreprises individuelles, les syndicats de travailleurs et les comités mixtes sur la santé et la sécurité évaluent régulièrement les risques afin de réduire les blessures et les maladies. Bien que l’évaluation des risques existe depuis un certain temps, l’application d’une méthodologie rigoureuse uniforme permettant d’évaluer les risques dans l’ensemble d’un secteur économique comme le secteur minier souterrain est récente.

Cette méthodologie est issue des domaines de la science décisionnelle et de la gestion des risques et permet de mieux connaître les principaux risques associés à un secteur et de se concentrer sur les plus importants. Une fois ces risques cernés, l’étape suivante concerne les partenaires de la prévention – les employeurs, les travailleurs et le personnel du ministère et des associations de santé et de sécurité – qui doivent travailler ensemble à la réduction de ces risques.

La méthodologie fait appel aux renseignements contenus dans l’ensemble du système et à une combinaison équilibrée d’experts en la matière reconnus par leurs pairs. Afin de cerner les risques, il faut avoir recours à la sagesse collective. À cette fin, le processus d’évaluation des risques réunit des représentants des employeurs et des travailleurs reconnus comme des experts par leurs pairs afin de cerner les principaux risques de ce secteur, soit les événements (situations, conditions ou facteurs) qui pourraient entraîner une blessure ou une maladie.

Le processus d’évaluation des risques dans les mines souterraines a été lancé au printemps 2014 et l’atelier réunissant les experts en la matière a eu lieu en juin 2014. L’objectif de ce processus était de cerner les événements à risque et de les évaluer (y compris les risques « latents ») au sein d’un système, de manière à discerner les composants d’un événement et de permettre l’étude de leurs structures et de leur dynamique jusqu’à ce que l’on puisse déterminer ce qu’il faut pour changer ou « saboter » l’événement. Malcolm Sparrow insiste sur le besoin de vigilance du gouvernement pour que ce dernier puisse détecter les menaces émergentes rapidement, saisir les signes précurseurs et les avertissements, utiliser son imagination pour déterminer ce qui pourrait se produire, et faire tout cela avant même que survienne tout préjudice. L’agilité, la souplesse de s’organiser rapidement et de manière appropriée à l’égard de chaque risque émergent plutôt que d’être coincé dans des modèles de pratiques élaborés autour des risques d’une décennie antérieure, ainsi que le fait de vouloir créer de nouvelles démarches quand les méthodes actuelles s’avèrent non pertinentes ou insuffisantes pour supprimer un risque, caractérisent une véritable autorité de réglementation fondée sur le risque.

Processus d’évaluation des risques

La démarche d’évaluation des risques du ministère intègre un processus systématique d’identification et d’évaluation du niveau de risque dans l’ensemble du secteur faisant l’objet de l’examen, ainsi que la prise en compte de la probabilité et de la gravité de l’exposition à un événement ou à un préjudice. Le processus réunit différents intervenants experts – des employeurs, des travailleurs, des universitaires, du personnel responsable de l’application de la loi et des associations de santé et de sécurité – dans un milieu systématique et structuré, afin de déterminer les divers points de vue et perspectives pouvant définir un risque particulier, d’en discuter et de les analyser. Cet atelier ne porte pas uniquement sur les expériences en évaluation des risques d’un organisme ou d’une entreprise en particulier; il s’agit plutôt d’une vision horizontale du secteur qui comprend des organismes possédant des systèmes de gestion des risques évolués ou moins évolués. En d’autres termes, l’évaluation des risques est effectuée au niveau de l’ensemble du secteur, c’est-à-dire au niveau du système. De plus, le processus reconnaît qu’il n’existe pas de démarche universelle en matière d’évaluation des risques.

Un grand nombre de sociétés minières sont, bien sûr, des praticiennes chevronnées de l’évaluation et de la gestion des risques dans le contexte de leurs propres activités. Cependant, l’évaluation des risques à l’aide d’une vision systémique (holistique) du secteur minier souterrain de l’Ontario n’a jamais été effectuée. Le directeur général de la prévention et le groupe consultatif du secteur minier ont reconnu le besoin d’une telle analyse qui permettrait à l’ensemble des intervenants d’avoir un objectif commun sur les priorités du secteur minier souterrain.

Le processus d’évaluation des risques entrepris pour le secteur minier était fondé sur les meilleures données probantes disponibles et le jugement professionnel des participants. L’un des importants objectifs du processus consistait à maximiser l’objectivité dans la plus grande mesure possible. L’évaluation des risques a donc été effectuée indépendamment de la gestion des risques et ne faisait pas l’objet d’attentes externes quant à ce que devrait être le résultat potentiel de la gestion des risques.

L’essentiel du processus d’évaluation des risques dans le secteur minier souterrain consistait à utiliser la sagesse collective de l’ensemble du secteur dans le cadre d’un processus permettant à l’industrie, aux travailleurs et à leurs représentants, aux associations de santé et de sécurité et à l’organisme de réglementation de se concentrer sur les risques les plus élevés en matière de santé et de sécurité dans l’industrie minière.

Lorsqu’ils entreprenaient une évaluation des risques, les participants tenaient compte des lacunes en matière de renseignements et cherchaient les sources appropriées pour les obtenir. Toutefois, ces activités requéraient du temps et des ressources additionnelles et, dans de nombreux cas, ne pouvaient être justifiées. Les considérations étaient fondées sur un jugement éclairé et professionnel, et les renseignements provenaient de diverses sources. Une collaboration avec l’industrie et des experts en la matière représentait souvent une source de renseignements. Outre le personnel de première ligne, des partenaires comme le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée, les associations de santé et de sécurité, le milieu universitaire, des groupes de travailleurs, la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail ainsi que d’autres experts en la matière possédaient de précieux renseignements. Cette collaboration donnait accès à des perspectives variées et critiques qui ont été respectées et examinées dans le cadre d’un processus d’évaluation des risques systématique et structuré.

Lorsqu’il manquait des renseignements ou qu’un événement ou un préjudice ne s’était pas prêté à des méthodes d’évaluation scientifique établies (p. ex., incidence de la nouvelle technologie), les évaluateurs ont eu recours au jugement professionnel, aux données probantes et aux rapports disponibles afin d’évaluer les risques pour la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs.

Méthodologie d’évaluation des risques

La première étape consistait à trouver des experts en la matière reconnus par leurs pairs qui se réuniraient dans le cadre d’un atelier afin de cerner les risques auxquels sont confrontés les travailleurs du secteur minier souterrain et de les classer par priorité. Les participants étaient des partenaires du système oeuvrant au sein du secteur minier souterrain, de syndicats, du ministère et de Sécurité au travail dans le Nord. L’identification des participants a nécessité une importante consultation dans l’ensemble du secteur afin de veiller à ce que des experts en la matière hautement reconnus puissent participer, avec l’important soutien de parties intéressées clés du secteur minier.

La deuxième étape était la planification préalable à l’atelier, qui a commencé par une orientation détaillée du projet d’évaluation des risques. On a ensuite demandé à chacun des experts en la matière retenus de cerner des situations ou des circonstances (événements) qui pourraient conduire à une blessure ou à une maladie, ainsi que les données probantes pertinentes pour chaque événement et les mesures de contrôle actuelles, le cas échéant. On a fourni aux experts en la matière un modèle afin de réaliser cet exercice.

Les listes des experts ont été recueillies et regroupées en une seule, qui leur a été retournée pour un dernier examen avant la date de l’atelier. Il est important de noter que la liste définitive contenait la transcription de ce que chaque expert avait soumis; seules les répétitions évidentes ont été éliminées.

Le modèle définitif comprenait une liste de 263 événements. Ceux-ci ont ensuite été classés en 29 catégories afin d’améliorer l’utilité des résultats aux fins d’une analyse ultérieure.

Afin d’obtenir les meilleurs résultats, les participants ont convenu que la réunion en atelier devait se faire en personne. Les participants devaient s’engager dans des discussions musclées à l’égard de chaque élément de la liste avant le vote.

Le processus de l’atelier était ouvert et transparent, et s’est déroulé dans une ambiance de collaboration. Toutes les opinions ont été formulées et ont fait l’objet d’un débat. La transparence du processus donnait aux participants l’assurance qu’ils auraient amplement l’occasion de présenter des renseignements pertinents et que leurs opinions seraient respectées. Par conséquent, la discussion a généré une meilleure compréhension objective de l’événement et a permis d’entendre tous les points de vue. Il est important de noter que les commentaires n’étaient attribués ni à une personne ni à un organisme.

À la fin de la discussion traitant de chacun des événements cernés, chaque participant votait, sur une échelle de 1 à 5, sur la « probabilité que l’événement cerné survienne », puis sur la « gravité des conséquences si cet événement devait survenir ». Au moment de voter au sujet d’un événement, les participants devaient tenir compte des mesures de contrôle actuellement en place. Chaque vote avait l’effet de « verrouiller » le classement des participants pour chacun des événements. Le résultat est un classement relatif de l’ensemble des 263 événements qu’on a demandé aux participants d’évaluer.

L’évaluation des niveaux de risque nécessitait un certain jugement. Cela signifie qu’en plus de toutes les données disponibles, les experts en la matière utilisaient leur vaste expérience, leurs connaissances et, parfois, leur intuition, afin d’évaluer la probabilité qu’un événement se produise et la gravité de ses conséquences dans un tel cas. La mesure était effectuée sur l’échelle de Likert, qui va de 1 à 5. Une échelle différente allant de 1 à 10, voire de 1 à 20, ou toute autre échelle aurait pu être utilisée, mais le résultat serait le même, dans la mesure où les participants disposent d’un cadre de référence fondé sur les définitions de chaque unité de l’échelle fournie. En fin de compte, les échelles utilisées constituent une mesure systématique du jugement d’une personne fondé sur son expertise en la matière et qui fournit un fondement à toute enquête scientifique.

L’atelier était animé par le directeur de la gestion des risques ministériels, M. Sujoy Dey, Ph. D., un professionnel de la gestion des risques possédant une formation en conception des systèmes et en science décisionnelle. Une fois le vote terminé, le directeur de la gestion des risques a dressé une liste de classement des événements cernés et a ensuite créé une carte des zones de chaleur représentant l’étendue des risques dans l’ensemble du secteur minier souterrain.

Les résultats de l’exercice d’évaluation des risques étaient immédiatement envoyés aux experts en la matière participant à l’atelier à des fins de validation.

Résultats de l’atelier d’évaluation des risques du secteur minier souterrain

Pour le secteur minier souterrain, le groupe d’experts a cerné un total de 263 événements. Une carte des zones de chaleur élaborée afin de fournir un aperçu des principaux risques auxquels le secteur est confronté présentait le classement des priorités attribuées aux risques pendant l’atelier.

Les résultats de l’évaluation des risques peuvent être classés de différentes manières. On peut avoir recours à différentes manières d’illustrer les résultats, par exemple, en examinant le classement des travailleurs et en le comparant à celui des employeurs, afin de déterminer si les employeurs ont la possibilité de mieux informer les travailleurs à l’égard des mesures de contrôle en place.

En analysant les résultats, on a remarqué un important niveau de convergence parmi les participants au moment de classer les risques. Il est juste de conclure, en ce sens, que les dix premiers éléments de la liste fournissent un ensemble incontournable de priorités pour le secteur minier souterrain. Cela procure aux décideurs une manière de progresser collectivement vers la définition de mesures de contrôle grâce à un processus systématique de réduction des risques.

Les résultats du processus d’évaluation des risques fournissent un fondement solide à une analyse plus détaillée des risques les plus élevés pour un secteur donné. Par exemple, une analyse structurée des causes fondamentales des risques les plus élevés est un excellent point de départ vers une analyse complète des facteurs causals de l’événement indésirable cerné. Un risque n’a d’autre choix que de diminuer lorsque des stratégies de contrôle le suppriment de tous les angles et de toutes perspectives connus, ce qui interrompt la trajectoire de la cause des accidents. Aucun organisme ni aucune personne ne peut donner la totalité des points de vue essentiels pour vraiment comprendre un risque. Tout comme le système s’est regroupé afin de cerner et d’analyser les risques, il devrait le faire afin de réduire le même ensemble de risques.

Dix principaux risques classés par catégorie et situation ou circonstance précise qui pourrait entraîner une blessure ou une maladie :

  1. Contrôle des pressions de terrains – Les coups de toit souterrains
  2. Équipement mobile – L’interaction entre un gros véhicule et un piéton ou un petit véhicule est courante et fatale.
  3. Contrôle des pressions de terrains – La roche désagrégée au front de taille continue de tuer et de blesser des travailleurs de fond.
  4. Contrôle des pressions de terrains – Les mines souterraines existantes en Ontario sont de plus en plus profondes et occasionnent des taux d’exploitation plus élevés. Ces situations peuvent entraîner diverses formes d’instabilité du sol.
  5. Contrôle des pressions de terrains – Des fronts de taille élevés qui n’ont pas été purgés ni sécurisés pour protéger les travailleurs.
  6. Équipement mobile – L’équipement mobile qu’utilisent de nombreuses mines souterraines est de plus en plus gros. Un équipement plus volumineux réduit souvent la visibilité du conducteur (c.-à-d. des angles morts plus grands et plus nombreux). Cette situation peut provoquer des collisions avec d’autres véhicules ou le contact avec des piétons.
  7. Maladies professionnelles – L’exposition à des substances dangereuses (poussières, matériaux, métaux), des gaz/émanations, des matières biologiques, des dangers physiques (vibrations, bruits, stress lié à la chaleur et au froid, lumière).
  8. Fatigue – Le travail par quarts qui occasionne des troubles du sommeil.
  9. Contrôle des pressions de terrains – L’éboulement pendant l’installation d’éléments de soutènement du sol.
  10. Formation – Les superviseurs dans certaines mines ontariennes ne possèdent ni l’expérience ni la formation adéquates. Les superviseurs inexpérimentés et mal formés constituent une menace pour eux-mêmes et pour les travailleurs qui relèvent directement d’eux.

Bibliographie

  1. SMITH, Daryl Raymond, David FRAZIER, L. W. REITHMAIER et James C. MILLER. Controlling Pilot Error, McGraw-Hill Professional, 1981, p. 10, ISBN 0071373187.
  2. WILSON, Jo. H., Andrew SYMON, Josephine WILLIAMS et John TINGLE. Clinical Risk Management in Midwifery: the right to a perfect baby?, Elsevier Health Sciences, 2002, pp. 4 à 6, ISBN 0750628510.
  3. AMOS, Tim et Peter SNOWDEN. Risk management, dans JAMES, Adrian J. B., Tim KENDALL et Adrian WORRALL. Clinical Governance in Mental Health and Learning Disability Services: A Practical Guide, Gaskell, p. 176, ISBN 1904671128.
  4. SPARROW, Malcolm K. The Character of Harms: Operational Challenges in Control, Cambridge University Press, Cambridge, Angleterre; New York, É.-U., 2008.

précédent | suivant