Table of Contents |  Print This Page

Audit Validation | Synopsis From: The Internal Responsibility System In Ontario Mines

  • Revised: September 2009
  • Content last reviewed: June 2009
  • Final Report: The Trial Audit & Recommendations
  • Revised: Steering Committee 23 October 2000 (September 2000; 31 July 2000)
  • Ian M. Plummer, Peter W. Strahlendorf, Michael G. Holliday

To validate the audit tool, we compared responses to groups of questions with the safety record of the mine. The safety statistic we primarily used of this comparison was total medical injury (TMI) frequency. [ 1 ]. In order to make the comparison meaningful, we needed to calculate frequencies over a reasonably long period. Because the safety statistics of one of the six mines only started in 1997, we used the period 1997 to April 2000.

Complete analysis of the vast amount of data collected from the six mines visited in the trial audit would have taken many months more than the time and resources available to this project. Accordingly, in the validation, we chose to concentrate on two facets of the data contained in the questionnaires. One involved a question that probed what respondents believed the IRS should be, and the other looked at groups of questions that have a bearing on various aspects of actual IRS performance.

Individual Perception of the IRS

The first question (Question 1a) on every questionnaire was a multiple-choice question and consisted of 13 separate statements. It asked respondents about what they thought the IRS should be, and was administered to all levels in the responsibility system. Because the same question was asked of everybody, the responses give a very good overview of the current understanding of the IRS at the mines--see Table C.

Table C: Summary of Answers to Question 1a as Percentages
Note: "n=" represents the number of respondents for each position
Multiple choice answers a) to k) Wkr
n=
151
FLS
n=
34
MM
n=
19
Mgr
n=
8
Exec
n=
10
Dir
n=
4
JHSC
n=
26
HSC
n=
7
Insp
n=
8
Avg.
n=
267
a) everyone (from the rockface to the Boardroom) looks after health and safety as part of doing their job; 88 91 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 92
b) the workers are the only ones to look after their own and co-worker safety; 11 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 13 7
c) the supervisors and managers co-operate with the workers to head off and solve problems; 71 94 95 100 80 100 96 100 100 81
d)we all work together to make things better by reducing or eliminating the health and safety risks; 81 97 95 100 100 100 96 100 88 88
e) the Health and Safety Committee is directly responsible to make the workplace safe; 24 15 11 13 20 50 19 0 25 21
f) the Company President has some responsibility for the worker’s health and safety; 67 79 79 100 100 100 81 86 78 75
g)the supervisor only makes sure the workers follow the rulses and procedures 9 3 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 6
h) if the worker cannot fix the problem, the supervisor will help find the answer; 77 91 79 100 80 100 88 86 75 82
i) if the worker cannot fix the problem, the only way out is to refuse to work; 11 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 7
j) the Health and Safety Coordinator finds the problems and tells the workers to fix them; 11 6 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 7
k) the Health and Safety Committee are resources; 66 79 79 100 100 100 92 100 88 75
l) the Health and Safety Committee help resolve issues when other ways fail; 68 76 89 50 40 25 77 57 88 70
m) we go beyond fixing problems and try to improve the health and safety in the work processes." 66 79 84 100 90 100 88 100 88 75
"SCORE" 60 80 85 91 82 81 85 91 82 70%

The overall understanding of the IRS at the mines involved in the trial audit, using the scoring scheme in the footnote below, [ 2 ] stood at 70 percent. In general, understanding improves as one moves up the line of direct responsibility within the mine site. Mine workers, as a group, show the lowest level of understanding and mine managers show the highest; understanding decreased somewhat at the corporate level. The health and safety component (JHSC members and health and safety co-ordinators) also showed high levels of understanding. Similar distributions in understanding were also seen when the mines were looked at on an individual basis.

The success of this multiple-choice question in giving a "snapshot" of the level of understanding of the IRS at a mine site became apparent to us early in the trial audit visits. And, because of this, we took the opportunity to combine the multiple-choice question with a supplementary question asking the respondents for an assessment of how the IRS was actually working at their workplace. In this question, respondents were asked to say whether they "strongly disagreed", somewhat disagreed", somewhat agreed", or "strongly agreed" with the following statement: "Given my answer to the Question 1a, I believe the IRS is working effectively in my workplace". [ 3 ] This supplementary question (Question 1b) was used at four of the six mines.

Working on the assumption that individual respondents' assessments of the IRS in their workplaces (i.e., Question 1b) are of greater validity the higher they scored on the understanding part of the question (i.e., Question 1a), we multiplied each individual's score for 1b by their score for 1a. The resulting product is a measure of the effectiveness of the mine's IRS according to that individual. We looked at the effectiveness of the mine's IRS , as judged by mine-workers' responses to Questions 1a and 1b (mine workers were the only group that really contained enough responses to make a comparison valid), and compared them with that mine's safety record. The result of this comparison is shown in Figure A. There is a remarkably good relationship between the effectiveness of a mine's IRS (as measured by worker responses to Questions 1a and 1b) and its safety performance-the higher the score to the Q1a*Q1b combination, the lower the TMI frequency for the mine is likely to be. [ 4 ]

Figure A: The Relationship Between a Mine's Safety Performance and the Effectiveness of Its IRS (as measured by workers' responses to Questions 1a and 1b)

A good relationship between the effectiveness of a mine's IRS (as measured by worker responses to Questions 1a and 1b) and its safety performance is represented in the graph-the higher the score to the Q1a*Q1b combination, the lower the TMI frequency for the mine is likely to be.

Figure B: The Relationship Between a Mine's Safety Performance and Its Average IRS Performance Score

A good correlation between the scores 
for the nine indicators, taken as a whole, and the safety records of the six mines is represented in the graph-the 
higher the score, the lower the TMI frequency.

IRS Performance Indicators

Many of the questions were designed to probe the flow of information and responsibility up and down, and within, the responsibility chain. To investigate relationships with safety statistics, we chose the clusters of questions dealing with indicators of IRS performance. These clusters dealt with the nine indicators of IRS performance shown below and involved all levels of the responsibility system.

  • Beliefs [34] [ 5 ]
  • Responsibility [4]
  • Accountability [8]
  • H&S concerns & responses [16]
  • Initiatives & responses [26]
  • IRS issues & responses [45]
  • Demonstrating leadership [39]
  • Work planning [8]
  • Information flow [6]

To make the comparison with safety records, we arbitrarily took the average of the "scores" of all nine indicators (individual questions were scored in a similar way to those described in the Section above). The result, for the six mines, is shown in Figure B. There is good correlation between the scores for the nine indicators, taken as a whole, and the safety records of the six mines-the higher the score, the lower the TMI frequency.

[ 1: We also looked at lost-time injury (LTI) frequency. But, because LTIs are of considerably smaller magnitude than TMIs, correlations with questionnaire responses were not as obvious. ]

[ 2: SCORE: Each individual's understanding of the IRS was scored by assigning 12.5% to each of a, c, d, f, h, k, l, and m and -20% to each of b, e, g, i, and j, and adding the result. Thus respondents would score 100% if they ticked a, c, d, f, h, k, l, and m, but no others, and 0% if they ticked all 13 alternatives or if they ticked none at all (-100% would be achieved if b, e, g, i, and j, but no others were ticked). In cases where there were negative scores, we assigned 0%. ]

[ 3: SCORE: We assigned 0% to "strongly disagree". 33% to "somewhat disagree", 67% to "somewhat agree", and 100% to "strongly agree". ]

[ 4: The least-squares linear-regression line shown in Figure A, is significant (as measured by the Student's t test) at the 1% level (p = <0.01)-in other words, such a line would be likely to occur by chance only one time out of a hundred. ]

[ 5: The figures in brackets indicate the number of questions in each suite. ]

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Validation de la vérification

  • Rapport final : Vérification et recommandations
  • Révision : 1 septembre 2000 et le Comité directeur le 23 octobre 2000 [ Diffusion : 31 juillet 2000 ] Ian M. Plummer, Peter W. Strahlendorf, Michael G. Holliday
  • Dernière mise à jour : juin 2009

Dans le but de valider l'outil de vérification, nous avons comparé les réponses à certains groupes de questions avec le dossier de sécurité de l'exploitation. Aux fins de cette comparaison, nous avons utilisé pour principale statistique la fréquence des incidents nécessitant des soins médicaux (ISM). [ 1 ] Dans le but de rendre cette comparaison significative, il nous fallait calculer les fréquences sur une période suffisamment longue. Comme les statistiques de sécurité de l'une des quatre exploitations ne remontaient qu'à 1997, nous avons utilisé la période de 1997 à 2000.

L'analyse complète de la grande quantité de données recueillies auprès des six exploitations visitées dans le cadre de la vérification d'essai aurait nécessité beaucoup plus de temps que nos ressources nous le permettaient. En conséquence, nous avons choisi de nous concentrer sur deux des aspects des données contenues dans les questionnaires. L'un d'eux a trait à une question qui demande aux répondants d'indiquer ce que le SRI devrait être, et l'autre à des groupes de questions portant sur divers aspects du rendement réel du SRI.

Perception individuelle du SRI

La première question (Question 1a) de tous les questionnaires était fermée (à choix multiple) et contenait 13 énoncés distincts. Elle demandait aux répondants de tous les paliers du système de responsabilité ce qu'ils croyaient que le SRI devrait être. Puisque la même question était posée à tout le monde, les réponses donnent un bon aperçu du degré de compréhension actuelle du SRI dans les exploitations - (consulter le Tableau C).

La méthode de notation décrite à la note ci-dessous [ 2 ] a permis d'établir que la compréhension globale du SRI se situait à 70 p. 100. En règle générale, la compréhension s'améliore lorsque l'on gravit la chaîne de responsabilité directe de l'exploitation. Les travailleurs, pris collectivement, présentent le niveau de compréhension le plus faible, alors que les directeurs de mine présentent le plus élevé; la compréhension a fléchi quelque peu au palier des dirigeants d'entreprise. Dans le groupe du personnel de santé et sécurité (membres du CMSST et coordonnateurs de la santé et de la sécurité), on a également montré une excellente compréhension. On peut également observer des répartitions similaires sur le plan de la compréhension en examinant les mines individuellement.

L'aptitude de cette question fermée à donner un « instantané » de la compréhension du SRI dans une exploitation nous est apparue dès le début des visites de la vérification d'essai. C'est pour cette raison que nous avons saisi l'occasion de la combiner à une question supplémentaire demandant aux répondants d'évaluer la façon dont le SRI fonctionnait réellement à leur lieu de travail. Cette question enjoignait les répondants à indiquer s'ils étaient « pas d'accord », « peu d'accord », « assez d'accord » ou « très d'accord » avec l'énoncé suivant : « Compte tenu de ma réponse à la question 1a, je crois que le SRI fonctionne efficacement dans mon lieu de travail ». [ 3 ] Nous nous sommes servis de cette question supplémentaire (question 1b) dans quatre des six exploitations.

Tableau C : Résumé des réponses à la question 1a sous forme de pourcentages
Nota : « n= » représente le nombre de répondants pour chaque position.
Je crois que le Système de responsabilité interne (SRI) devrait souligner que : Trav.
n=
151
Cont.
n=
34
C.int n=
19
DM
n=
8
Dirig
n=
10
Ad m.
n=
4
CMSST
n=
26
CCS
n=
7
Insp.
n=
8
Moy.
n=
267
a) tous les employés (de la paroi rocheuse à la salle du Conseil) doivent porter attention à la santé et la sécurité en tant qu'éléments essentiels de leurs tâches; 88 91 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 92
b) les travailleurs sont les seuls à assurer leur sécurité et celle de leurs collègues; 11 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 13 7
c) les contremaîtres et les cadres supérieurs coopèrent avec les travailleurs pour prévenir et résoudre les problèmes; 71 94 95 100 80 100 96 100 100 81
d) nous travaillons tous ensemble pour améliorer le milieu de travail en réduisant ou en éliminant les risques relatifs à la santé et à la sécurité; 81 97 95 100 100 100 96 100 88 88
e) le Comité de santé et de sécurité est directement responsable de la sécurité en milieu de travail; 24 15 11 13 20 50 19 0 25 21
f) le président de l'entreprise a une certaine responsabilité à l'égard de la santé et de la sécurité des travailleurs; 67 79 79 100 100 100 81 86 78 75
g) le contremaître ne fait que s'assurer que les travailleurs suivent les consignes et les méthodes; 9 3 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 6
h) si le travailleur est incapable de régler le problème, le contremaître l'aidera à trouver la solution; 77 91 79 100 80 100 88 86 75 82
i) si le travailleur est incapable de régler le problème, la seule issue consiste à refuser de travailler; 11 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 7
j) le coordonnateur de la santé et de la sécurité trouve les problèmes et demande aux travailleurs de les corriger; 11 6 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 7
k) le Comité de santé et de sécurité constitue une ressource; 66 79 79 100 100 100 92 100 88 75
l) le Comité de santé et de sécurité aide à résoudre des problèmes lorsque les autres moyens échouent; » 68 76 89 50 40 25 77 57 88 70
m) nous allons au-delà de la correction des problèmes et tentons d'améliorer la santé et la sécurité dans les activités d'exploitation. 66 79 84 100 90 100 88 100 88 75
"NOTATION" 60 80 85 91 82 81 85 91 82 70%

En partant de l'hypothèse que la validité de l'évaluation des répondants concernant le SRI dans leur lieu de travail (soit la question 1b) augmente proportionnellement à leur compréhension du système (soit la question 1a), nous avons multiplié pour chaque répondant la note obtenue à 1b par la note obtenue à 1a. Le produit représente l'évaluation de l'efficacité du SRI de l'exploitation selon cette personne. Nous avons examiné l'efficacité du SRI de l'exploitation d'après les réponses des travailleurs miniers aux questions 1a et 1b (les travailleurs miniers constituaient le seul groupe dont le nombre de réponses était suffisant pour faire une comparaison valide), et nous les avons comparées au dossier de sécurité de l'exploitation. Les résultats de cette comparaison sont présentés à la Figure A. Il existe une corrélation remarquablement étroite entre l'efficacité du SRI d'une exploitation (évaluée d'après les réponses des travailleurs aux questions 1a et 1b) et son dossier de sécurité-en principe, la fréquence des ISM est inversement proportionnelle à la note obtenue pour les questions 1a et 1b combinées. [ 4 ]

Figure A : Rendement en matière de sécurité d'une exploitation minière par rapport à l'efficacité de son SRI (selon les réponses des travailleurs aux questions 1a et 1b)

Corrélation entre l'efficacité du SRI d'une exploitation (évaluée d'après les réponses des travailleurs aux questions 1a et 1b) et son dossier de sécurité - en principe, la fréquence des ISM est inversement proportionnelle à la note obtenue pour les questions 1a et 1b combinées.

Figure B : Rendement en matière de sécurité d'une exploitation minière et par rapport à la note « moyenne » relative au rendement de son SRI .

Corrélation entre les notes associées aux neuf indicateurs, dans leur
ensemble, et les statistiques de sécurité des six exploitations minières : plus la note était élevée, plus la fréquence des ISM était basse.

Indicateurs de rendement du SRI

Bon nombre des questions ont été conçues pour examiner la circulation de l'information et la responsabilité en amont et en aval et à l'intérieur de la chaîne de responsabilité. Pour examiner les relations avec les statistiques de sécurité, nous avons choisi les grappes de questions traitant des indicateurs de rendement du SRI . Ces grappes avaient trait aux neufs indicateurs de rendement du SRI indiqués ci-dessous et touchaient tous les paliers de la chaîne de responsabilité.

  • Perceptions [34] [ 5 ]
  • Responsabilité [4]
  • Obligation de rendre compte [8]
  • Préoccupations et réponses relatives à la santé et à la sécurité [16]
  • Initiatives et réponses [26]
  • Problèmes et réponses relatifs au SRI [45]
  • Démonstration de leadership [39]
  • Planification du travail [8]
  • Circulation de l'information [6]

Pour comparer le rendement du SRI avec le dossier de sécurité des exploitations, nous avons procédé arbitrairement en calculant la moyenne des « notes » des neuf indicateurs (les questions individuelles étaient notées d'une façon semblable à celles décrites dans la section précédente). Le résultat obtenu pour les six exploitations est indiqué à la figure B. Il existe une bonne corrélation entre les notes associées aux neuf indicateurs, dans leur ensemble, et les statistiques de sécurité des six exploitations minières : plus la note était élevée, plus la fréquence des ISM était basse.

[ 1 ] Nous avons également examiné la fréquence des incidents comportant des heures de travail perdues (HTP), mais puisque ceux-ci ont une portée considérablement moins grande que les ISM, la corrélation avec les réponses aux questionnaires n'était pas aussi évidente.

[ 2 ] NOTATION : Nous avons noté la compréhension de chaque répondant en attribuant 12,5 p. 100 à chacun des énoncés a, c, d, f, h, k, l et m et -20 p. 100 à chacun des énoncés b, e, g, i et j, puis nous avons calculé le résultat. Ainsi, les répondants ont obtenu une note de 100 p. 100 s'ils avaient coché a, c, d, f, h, k, l et m, mais aucun autre énoncé, et de 0 p. 100 s'ils avaient coché les 13 énoncés ou aucun d'entre eux (les répondants auraient obtenu une note de -100 p. 100 s'ils avaient coché b, e, g, i et j, mais aucun autre énoncé). Dans les cas où les résultats étaient négatifs, nous avons attribué 0 p. 100.

[ 3 ] NOTATION : Nous avons attribué 0 p. 100 à « pas d'accord », 33 p. 100 à « peu d'accord », 67 p. 100 à « assez d'accord » et 100 p. 100 à « très d'accord ».

[ 4 ] À la Figure A, la droite de régression des moindres carrés est significative (selon le test de Student) au niveau de 1 p. 100 (p = <0,01). Autrement dit, une telle droite pourrait se produire au hasard seulement une fois sur cent.

[ 5 ] Les nombres indiqués entre crochets représentent le nombre de questions composant chaque ensemble.

précédent | suivant