Table of Contents | Print This Page

The Internal Responsibility System (IRS)

  • Revised: September 2009
  • Content last reviewed: June 2009
  • Final Report: The Trial Audit & Recommendations
  • Revised: Steering Committee 23 October 2000 (September 2000; 31 July 2000)
  • Ian M. Plummer, Peter W. Strahlendorf, Michael G. Holliday

With the assistance of the IRS Steering Committee we produced a description of the Internal Responsibility System. The roles and responsibilities of the contributors to the IRS , as well as a number of processes important for a successful IRS , are all set out in this description. The model of the IRS we developed is consistent with previous descriptions in the Ham and Burkett Reports. The questionnaires administered in the trial audit and our interpretation of the responses were based on the description.

Description of the IRS

The IRS is a system, within an organization, where everyone has direct responsibility for health and safety as an essential part of his or her job. It does not matter who or where the person is in the organization, they achieve health and safety in a way that suits the kind of work they do. Each person takes initiative on health and safety issues and works to solve problems and make improvements on an on-going basis. They do this both singly and co-operatively with others. It is one of the personal responsibilities of a company President to ensure that the entire system of direct responsibility for health and safety within a company is established, promoted and improved over time. Successful implementation of the IRS should result in progressively longer intervals between accidents or work-related illnesses.

In addition to those with direct responsibility, a number of people and agencies have contributive responsibility for health and safety. Within any organization, the Joint Health and Safety Committee (JHSC) has a key contributive part:

  • in health and safety in general, and
  • in making the IRS work well.

The organization's health and safety staff [ 1 ] also play a contributive role.

Assisting the IRS from outside the organization are the Safe Workplace Associations (e.g. MASHA), the Ministry of Labour (MOL), Unions [ 2 ] and others. The MOL may exercise direct authority to resolve health and safety problems in the workplace, principally through its inspectors issuing orders. Listed in Table A are the direct and contributive components.

Keys to a Successful IRS

  1. Everyone must have a sincere wish to prevent accidents and illnesses;
  2. Everyone must accept that accidents and illnesses have causes that can be eliminated or greatly reduced;
  3. Everyone must accept that risk can be continually reduced, so that the time between accidents and illnesses get longer and longer;
  4. Everyone must accept that health and safety is an essential part of doing his or her work (health and safety is not an extra, it is part of doing the job);
  5. Every person must have a clear understanding of what he/she is responsible for; what he/she can do to change matters; and when things must be done;
  6. Every person must be regularly asked to explain what they have done to ensure health and safety on the job and in the workplace;
  7. Everyone must have a clear understanding of their own skill, ability and limitations, and should have the capacity to carry out their responsibilities;
  8. Everyone must attempt to avoid conflict when trying to reduce risk;
  9. As an individual, each person must go beyond just complying with health and safety rules and standards, and strive to improve work processes to reduce risk;
  10. When an individual cannot reduce risk by him/herself, then they must cooperate with others to go beyond just complying with health and safety rules and standards, and strive to improve work processes to reduce risk;
  11. Everyone must understand the IRS process, believe in it, and take steps to make it effective at all levels in the organization; and
  12. No one should be fearful of reprisals when using IRS processes.

[ 1 ] These include the Health and Safety Co-ordinator; Hygienist; and Nurse, etc. ]

[ 2 ] The members of the Union, and their representatives who are employees of the employer are "internal" to the employer's organization. The Union will also have health and safety resources located "external" to the employer's organization.

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Le Système de responsabilité interne (SRI)

  • Rapport final : Vérification et recommandations
  • Révision : 1 septembre 2000 et le Comité directeur le 23 octobre 2000 [ Diffusion : 31 juillet 2000 ] Ian M. Plummer, Peter W. Strahlendorf, Michael G. Holliday
  • Dernière mise à jour : juin 2009

Avec l'aide du Comité directeur du SRI, nous avons mis au point une description du Système de responsabilité interne, qui explique également le rôle et les responsabilités des personnes assurant un soutien au SRI, ainsi qu'un certain nombre d'éléments importants pour la réussite d'un SRI. Le modèle de SRIélaboré est conforme aux descriptions antérieures contenues dans les rapports de Ham and Burkett. Les questionnaires utilisés dans le cadre de la vérification et notre interprétation des réponses étaient fondés sur cette description.

Description du SRI

Le SRI est un système dans lequel chaque membre d'une organisation est directement responsable de la santé et de la sécurité, cela étant un élément essentiel de ses tâches. Peu importe le poste qu'il occupe au sein de l'organisation, il assure la santé et la sécurité d'une manière qui convient à son type de travail. Chaque personne fait preuve d'initiative en matière de santé et de sécurité, travaille à la solution des problèmes et apporte continuellement des améliorations. Cela se fait de façon individuelle ou en collaboration avec d'autres. Une des responsabilités personnelles du président d'une entreprise consiste à s'assurer que tout son système de responsabilité directe en matière de santé et de sécurité est établi, favorisé et amélioré au fil du temps. Une mise en oeuvre réussie du SRI devrait permettre d'allonger progressivement les intervalles entre les accidents ou les maladies professionnelles.

Outre ceux ayant une responsabilité directe, un certain nombre de personnes et d'organismes ont une responsabilité de soutien en matière de santé et de sécurité. Dans toute organisation, le Comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (CMSST) joue un tel rôle :

  • à l'égard de la santé et de la sécurité [ 1 ] en général;
  • pour le bon fonctionnement du SRI .
  • Le personnel de santé et de sécurité de l'organisation joue également un rôle de soutien.

Ceux qui participent au fonctionnement du SRI de l'extérieur de l'organisation sont les associations pour la sécurité au travail (p. ex. la MASHA), le ministère du Travail, les syndicats [ 2 ] et les autres. Le ministère du Travail peut exercer une autorité directe pour résoudre des problèmes de santé et de sécurité en milieu de travail, principalement par l'intermédiaire des ordonnances émises par ses inspecteurs. Le tableau A présente les intervenants qui jouent un rôle direct ou un rôle de soutien.

Éléments clés de la réussite d'un SRI

  1. Chacun doit souhaiter sincèrement la prévention des accidents et des maladies.
  2. Chacun doit accepter que les accidents et les maladies ont des causes et que celles-ci peuvent être éliminées en tout ou en grande partie.
  3. Chacun doit accepter qu'il est possible de réduire constamment les risques de manière que l'intervalle entre les accidents et les maladies s'allonge continuellement.
  4. Chacun doit accepter que la santé et la sécurité constituent une partie essentielle de son travail. (La santé et la sécurité ne sont pas des éléments supplémentaires; elles font partie du travail.)
  5. Chacune doit bien comprendre de quoi il est responsable, ce qu'il peut faire pour changer les choses et quand agir.
  6. Chacun doit se voir demander régulièrement d'expliquer ce qu'il a fait pour assurer la santé et la sécurité au travail.
  7. Chacun doit bien comprendre ses compétences et ses limites et doit être en mesure de remplir ses obligations.
  8. Chacun doit tenter d'éviter un conflit lorsqu'il essaie de réduire un risque.
  9. Personne ne doit se contenter uniquement de respecter les consignes et les normes de santé et de sécurité; il faut s'efforcer d'améliorer les méthodes de travail pour réduire les risques.
  10. Lorsqu'on est incapable de réduire soi-même les risques, il faut coopérer avec d'autres pour aller au-delà du simple respect des consignes et des normes de santé et de sécurité et s'efforcer d'améliorer les méthodes de travail.
  11. Tous doivent comprendre le SRI , y croire et prendre les mesures qui s'imposent pour le rendre efficace à tous les paliers de l'organisation.
  12. Personne ne doit craindre de représailles pour avoir utilisé les mécanismes du SRI .

[ 1 ] Cela comprend le coordonnateur de la santé et de la sécurité, l'hygiéniste, l'infirmière, etc.

[ 2 ] Les membres du syndicat et leurs représentants qui font partie du personnel de l'employeur appartiennent à l'organisation interne de ce dernier. Le syndicat dispose également, en matière de santé et de sécurité, de ressources externes à l'organisation.

précédent | suivant