Table of Contents | Print This Page

Synopsis From: The Internal Responsibility System In Ontario Mines

  • Final Report: The Trial Audit & Recommendations
  • Revised: Steering Committee 23 October 2000 (September 2000; 31 July 2000)
  • Ian M. Plummer, Peter W. Strahlendorf, Michael G. Holliday
  • Content last reviewed: June 2009

This is the third and final report of a study on the Internal Responsibility System (IRS) in Ontario underground mines. 1 ] Our main aim has been to develop an audit tool through which the health of the Internal Responsibility System in a mine can be assessed. This report describes the validated audit tool, as a result of its being tested in a trial audit on six mines, and contains suggestions for further improvement of the tool and for its administration by others.

The study has been conducted with the oversight of the IRS Steering Committee consisting of government, industry and labour representatives. This committee selected the six mines at which to test the trial audit tool-four hardrock mines (two gold mines and two base-metal mines) and two soft-rock mines: 2 ]

  • Falconbridge Ltd., Kidd Creek Mine, Timmins
  • Inco Ltd., Creighton Mine, Copper Cliff
  • Georgia Pacific Corp., Caledonia Mine, Caledonia
  • Sifto Canada Inc., Goderich Mine, Goderich
  • Placer Dome Canada Ltd., Musselwhite Mine, Thunder Bay
  • Teck-Corona Operating Corp., David Bell Mine, Marathon

These mines were not a random sample of Ontario underground mines but were chosen so as to provide a broad range of both mine types and health and safety performance. In addition, the Steering Committee selected two mining-contractor operations to which the audit tool was to be administered, with the primary purpose of investigating the IRS interface between mine and contractor employees. The visits took place from the end of February to the beginning of April 2000.

1 ] The two earlier reports were: I.M. Plummer, P.W. Strahlendorf, and M.G. Holliday, THE INTERNAL RESPONSIBILITY SYSTEM IN ONTARIO MINES-Interim Report #1: Description of the IRS (delivered to the IRS Steering Committee, 30 November 1999); and, I.M. Plummer, P.W. Strahlendorf, and M.G. Holliday, THE INTERNAL RESPONSIBILITY SYSTEM IN ONTARIO MINES-Interim Report #2: The Pilot Audit (delivered to the IRS Steering Committee, 7 February 2000). ]

2 ] An earlier version of the audit tool was tested at two mines (also selected by the IRS Steering Committee)-Craig Mine, Onaping; Campbell Mine, Red Lake-in the pilot phase of the project. The experience gained led to modifications in the questionnaires that were then administered in the trial audit.]

 

Previous | Next

• Rapport final : Vérification et recommandations
  • Révision : 1 septembre 2000 et le Comité directeur le 23 octobre 2000 [ Diffusion : 31 juillet 2000 ] Ian M. Plummer, Peter W. Strahlendorf, Michael G. Holliday
  • Dernière mise à jour : juin 2009

Voici le troisième et dernier rapport d'une étude portant sur le Système de responsabilité interne (SRI) dans les mines souterraines ontariennes. [ 1 ] Notre principal objectif consistait à élaborer un outil de vérification permettant d'évaluer l'état de ce système. Le présent rapport, qui décrit celui qui a été retenu au terme d'une vérification d'essai dans six exploitations, propose des moyens de l'améliorer et contient des conseils pour ceux qui voudraient l'utiliser.

L'étude a été menée sous la surveillance du Comité directeur du SRI, qui était composé de représentants du gouvernement, de l'industrie et de syndicats. Ce comité a choisi les six exploitations où l'outil de vérification a été mis à l'essai, à savoir quatre mines en roche dure (deux mines d'or et deux mines de métaux communs) et deux mines en roche tendre : [ 2 ]

  • Falconbridge Ltd., Kidd Creek Mine, Timmins
  • Inco Ltd., Creighton Mine, Copper Cliff
  • Georgia Pacific Corp., Caledonia Mine, Caledonia
  • Sifto Canada Inc., Goderich Mine, Goderich
  • Placer Dome Canada Ltd., Musselwhite Mine, Thunder Bay
  • Teck-Corona Operating Corp., David Bell Mine, Marathon

Ces exploitations n'ont pas été choisies au hasard parmi les mines souterraines ontariennes, mais plutôt afin de réunir un large éventail de mines des deux types et de rendements en matière de santé et de sécurité. En outre, le Comité directeur a sélectionné deux sociétés minières et y a utilisé l'outil de vérification dans le but principal d'examiner le lien entre les employés de la mine et ceux des entreprises au plan du SRI. Les visites se sont échelonnées de la fin de février au début d'avril 2000.

[ 1 ] Les deux rapports antérieurs étaient les suivants : I.M. Plummer, P.W. Strahlendorf et M.G. Holliday, THE INTERNAL RESPONSIBILITY SYSTEM IN ONTARIO MINES - Interim Report #1: Description of the IRS (remis au Comité directeur du SRI le 30 novembre 1999) et I.M. Plummer, P.W. Strahlendorf et M.G. Holliday, THE INTERNAL RESPONSIBILITY SYSTEM IN ONTARIO MINES-Interim Report #2: The Pilot Audit (remis au Comité directeur le 7 février 2000).

[ 2 ] Au cours de la phase pilote du projet, une version antérieure de l'outil de vérification a été mise à l'essai dans deux exploitations (également choisies par le Comité directeur du SRI), à savoir la mine Craig, située à Onaping, et la mine Campbell de Red Lake. L'expérience ainsi acquise a permis d'apporter des modifications aux questionnaires utilisés dans le cadre de la vérification.

précédent | suivant