Live Safe! Work Smart!

eNewsletter for Ontario Teachers • May 2017

It’s Your Job Video Contest – and the winners are…

The 2016-17 student video contest was a great success, receiving more than 140 entries from across the province. That is nearly double the number received last year (75)!

This year’s theme, “Start the Conversation!”, provided students an opportunity to showcase how to communicate with their peers – at school, at work, or any other setting –  about the importance of working safely on the job. Students delivered videos that were original and creative, conveying impactful messages to raise awareness about workplace safety. Well done, students!  

The Ministry of Labour (MOL) would like to thank the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB) for matching the contest prize money for the third year in a row.

Ontario Winners

1st Place ($2,000 for the team and $2,000 for the school):
Speak Out!!
By Laila Aggag and Nicole Nseir
École secondaire Gaétan-Gervais, Oakville

2nd Place ($1,500 the student and $1,500 for the school):
Silent about Safety
By Anthony Gertzos, Jacob Marshall, Nathan Fielder and Emily Dunseith
Pine Ridge Secondary School, Pickering

3rd Place ($1,000 for the student and $1,000 for the school):
Speak Up, Act Now, Stay Safe!
By Nicolas Pienczak
Iona Catholic Secondary School, Mississauga

Ontario’s first place video will also move on to the Canadian finals, where it will compete against winners from other provinces and territories for a chance to win an additional $2,000. Like the provincial contest, the winners’ school will also receive a matching prize.

And don’t forget that the national contest includes a “Fan Favourite” category with the winner awarded $1,000. Please vote for your Fan Favourite from April 28 – May 4, 2017 by visiting the Young Workers Zone.

MOL congratulates all of the students and their sponsors who participated in this year’s contest! Please watch and share the videos in your school or workplace by visiting the video contest home page.

Health and Safety in the Kindergarten to Grade 12 Ontario Curriculum

The Ministry of Labour and the Ministry of Education have partnered to produce a resource guide that identifies learning expectations and opportunities on personal safety, safe behaviours and practices in the current K-12 English and French curricula. The resource guide is called Health and Safety in the Ontario Curriculum: Scope and Sequence of Expectations and shows that a strong foundation for health and safety learning, knowledge and skills exists in Ontario’s schools.

Please visit the Ministry of Education’s website to read the complete resource guides for Grades 1-8 and the Kindergarten Program, and Grades 9-12!

2015-16 Annual Report Available Now!

In 2015, of the young workers (aged 15 – 24) employed in Ontario, 26,432 were injured on the job and 5 never made it home.  

The Ministry of Labour has released the Occupational Health and Safety in Ontario: 2015-16 Annual Report, which highlights accomplishments of the occupational health and safety system in advancing the Healthy and Safe Ontario Workplaces integrated strategy. The Report contains a “Protect Young Worker” section, providing key information and describing activities that improve the health and safety of younger workers in Ontario.

  • A Ministry of Labour province-wide inspection blitz to 2,704 workplaces that focused on protecting young workers.
  • The Workplace Safety and Insurance Board’s #PracticeSafeWork photo contest.
  • 2015 data on young worker injuries, illnesses and fatalities.
  • The Workplace Safety and Insurance Board sponsored Skills Ontario Health and Safety Challenge.
  • The Ministry of Labour’s “It’s Your Job” student video contest.
  • The Live Safe! Work Smart! website and teacher resources.
  • Public Services Health and Safety Association’s Experiential Learning Health and Safety Placement Checklist.

Illegal Deductions from Wages Animated Video

In Ontario, employers cannot make deductions from an employee's wages except in specific circumstances. To help employees understand their pay and rights under the Employment Standards Act, 2000 (ESA), the Ministry of Labour has an animated video entitled Illegal Deductions from Wages. Watch the video to see what deductions are not allowed in situations like shoplifting, cash shortage, accidental damage, "dine and dash," and gasoline theft.

The only three types of deductions that can be made from an employee’s wages are statutory deductions, deductions authorized by a court order and deductions authorized by the employee in writing (subject to certain restrictions and conditions).

Illegal Deductions from Wages is available in English, French and eight (8) other languages on YouTube. The video is listed among other useful videos on the Ministry of Labour’s video gallery.

Travailleur avisé, travailleur en santé!

Bulletin électronique pour les enseignants et enseignantes de l’Ontario • mai 2017

Concours de vidéos C’est votre travail : le nom des gagnants dévoilé

Le concours de vidéos étudiantes 2016-2017 a été un franc succès avec plus de 140 participations dans l’ensemble de la province. C’est presque le double par rapport aux 75 participations reçues l’an dernier!

Le thème de cette année, Engagez la conversation, a donné aux élèves l’occasion de présenter des façons de communiquer avec leurs pairs – à l’école, au travail ou dans tout autre milieu – pour souligner l’importance de la sécurité au travail. Les élèves ont présenté des vidéos pleines d’originalité et d’imagination à travers lesquelles ils ont transmis des messages percutants pour mieux sensibiliser à la sécurité au travail. Bravo aux élèves!

Le ministère du Travail (MTO) tient à remercier la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail (CSPAAT) pour avoir fourn,i pour la troisième année consécutive, une somme équivalente au prix offert dans le cadre du concours.

Gagnants de l'Ontario

1re place (2 000 $ pour l’équipe et 2 000 $ pour l’école) :
« Speak Out!! »
Par Laila Aggag et Nicole Nseir
École secondaire Gaétan-Gervais, Oakville

2e place (1 500 $ pour l’élève et 1 500 $ pour l’école) :
« Silent about Safety »
Par Anthony Gertzos, Jacob Marshall, Nathan Fielder et Emily Dunseith
Pine Ridge Secondary School, Pickering

3e place (1 000 $ pour l’élève et 1 000 $ pour l’école) :
« Speak Up, Act Now, Stay Safe! »
Par Nicolas Pienczak
Iona Catholic Secondary School, Mississauga

La vidéo qui a remporté la première place en Ontario aura aussi une place dans la finale canadienne, où elle fera concurrence aux gagnants d’autres provinces et territoires pour la chance de gagner 2 000 $ de plus. Comme dans le cadre du concours provincial, l’école du gagnant recevra un prix qui équivaut à ce montant.

N’oubliez pas que le concours national comprend une catégorie « Vidéo favorite du public » et que le gagnant recevra 1 000 $. Votez pour votre vidéo favorite, du 28 avril au 4 mai 2017, en visitant La zone des jeunes travailleurs.

Le MTO félicite tous les élèves et leurs parrains qui ont participé au concours cette année! Visionnez les vidéos et partagez les dans votre école ou votre lieu de travail en visitant la page d’accueil du concours de vidéos.

La santé et la sécurité dans le curriculum de l’Ontario, de la maternelle à la 12e année

Le ministère du Travail et le ministère de l’Éducation se sont associés pour produire une ressource qui identifie les attentes et les possibilités en matière d’apprentissage sur la sécurité personnelle, les comportements et les pratiques sécuritaires dans les curriculums français et anglais, de la maternelle à la 12e année. Cette ressource s’intitule Santé et sécurité dans le curriculum de l’Ontario : Portée et enchaînement des attentes et contenus d’apprentissage et montre que les écoles de l’Ontario disposent d’une solide base pour l’apprentissage et la connaissance de la santé et de la sécurité, ainsi que l’acquisition de compétences en la matière.

Visitez le site Web du ministère de l’Éducation pour lire les ressources complètes concernant le programme de la 1re à la 8e année et le programme de la maternelle et du jardin d'enfants, ainsi que le programme de la 9e à la 12e année!

Rapport annuel 2015 – 2016 maintenant disponible!

En 2015, 26 432 jeunes travailleurs (âgés de 15 à 24 ans) employés en Ontario ont été blessés au travail et cinq ne sont jamais rentrés à la maison.

Le ministère du Travail a diffusé Santé et sécurité au travail en Ontario : Rapport annuel 2015-2016, qui présente le travail accompli par le système de santé et de sécurité au travail pour l’avancement de la stratégie intégrée de lieux de travail sains et sécuritaires en Ontario. Ce rapport contient une section intitulée « Protéger les jeunes travailleurs », qui contient des renseignements précieux et décrit les activités qui améliorent la santé et la sécurité des jeunes travailleurs en Ontario.

  • Une campagne d’inspections éclair provinciale, organisée par le ministère du Travail, qui visait 2 704 lieux de travail et ciblait la protection des jeunes travailleurs.
  • Le concours de photo de la CSPAAT #Travaillersansdanger.
  • Les données de 2015 sur les blessures, les maladies et les décès chez les jeunes travailleurs.
  • Le « Défi santé et sécurité » de Compétences Ontario, parrainé par la CSPAAT.
  • C’est votre travail, concours de vidéos organisé par le ministère du Travail.
  • Le site Web et les ressources pédagogiques Travailleur avisé, travailleur en santé!
  • Le document Experiential Learning Health and Safety Placement Checklist de la Public Services Health and Safety Association.

Vidéo animée concernant les retenues illégales sur le salaire

En Ontario, les employeurs ne peuvent pas faire de retenues sur le salaire d’un employé, sauf dans des circonstances particulières. Pour aider les employés à comprendre la paie et leurs droits en vertu de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi (LNE), le ministère du Travail a préparé une vidéo animée intitulée Retenues illégales sur le salaire. Visionnez cette vidéo et voyez quelles retenues ne sont pas autorisées dans les situations comme le vol à l’étalage, le manque d’argent dans le fonds de caisse, les dommages accidentels, les clients qui quittent le restaurant sans payer et le vol d’essence.

Les trois seuls types de retenues qui peuvent être effectuées sur le salaire d’un employé sont les retenues légales, les retenues autorisées par ordre d’un tribunal et les retenues autorisées par écrit par l’employé (sous réserve de certaines restrictions et conditions).

La vidéo Retenues illégales sur le salaire est disponible en français, en anglais et en huit autres langues sur YouTube. La vidéo figure parmi d’autres vidéos utiles dans la vidéothèque du ministère du Travail.