Live Safe! Work Smart!

eNewsletter for Ontario Teachers • June 2016

Live Safe! Work Smart! Resources now available on Publications Ontario

The Ministry of Labour has made it easier and faster to access the Live Safe! Work Smart! resources. For your convenience, Live Safe! Work Smart! resources are now available free of charge through Publications Ontario.

Please visit Publications Ontario to create an account and order your resources online. Search “Live Safe! Work Smart!” to select the resources you need. These will be shipped directly to the address you provide.

While you are there, you may wish to explore the many other resources available from Publications Ontario.

Ontario Wins Second Place in National It’s Your Job Video Contest

The It’s Your Job video contest encourages high school students from across the country to create an original video that showcases the importance of working safely on the job.

In April, first place winners from each province and territory were entered to compete in the national It’s Your Job competition. The ten video entries from across Canada were evaluated by a panel of judges: Shirley Hickman, Executive Director of Threads of Life; Jim Hopkins, President of the Canadian Society of Safety Engineering; and Gareth Jones, Acting President and CEO of the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS).

Canada’s top winners

1st Place ($2,000 for the student and $2,000 for the school):
Safe Work 2016” by Sarah Mohammed and Rain Cahigas
Daniel McIntyre Collegiate Institute, Winnipeg, Manitoba

2nd Place ($1,500 for the student and $1,500 for the school):
Breakdown” by Raagavi Ramenthiran, Jaclyn Chiu, Jessica Gu and Morgan McKay
Markville Secondary School, Markham, Ontario

3rd Place ($1,000 for each team and $1,000 for their school):
Workplace Safety – It’s Your Job” by Shannen Garibay and Maria Himbeault
Clavet Composite School, Clavet, Saskatchewan

The national competition also gave the public a chance to select their Fan Favourite video by voting online via CCOHS' Young Workers Zone and Facebook page. A total of 69,358 votes were cast between April 23 and April 29, 2016. This year’s favourite video, winning an additional $1,000, is:

“Workplace Safety – It’s Your Job” by Shannen Garibay and Maria Himbeault
Clavet Composite School Clavet, Saskatchewan

Thank you to all students who submitted videos and congratulations to our winners!

Don’t forget to watch, share, and show the videos in your school or workplace. Visit Ontario.ca/VideoContest to see Ontario’s winners!

Preparing Students for Summer Jobs

As we reach the end of the school year, a number of young workers will begin their summer jobs, many for the first time. The best way to help prepare young workers is to educate them on their employment and health and safety rights and responsibilities.

What Young Workers Should Know

The Ministry of Labour offers resources prepared to help employees and employers understand some of the minimum rights and obligations established under the Employment Standards Act, 2000 (ESA) and regulations:

For more information, please visit the Young Workers page on the Ministry of Labour website.

New Video: Know Your Rights

The Ministry of Labour has launched a new educational video entitled Know Your Rights. The video provides viewers with an overview of core employment standards and is designed to help employees and employers understand their rights and obligations under the Employment Standards Act, 2000.

Know Your Rights is available on Youtube and listed among the other useful videos on the Ministry of Labour video gallery.

New Rules Regarding Tips and Gratuities in the Workplace

On June 10, 2016, new rules around the handling of tips and other gratuities in the workplace came into force.

Examples of tips and other gratuities include: money given to an employee by a customer for a service in the form of cash, credit card or other electronic payment, or gratuity charges that customers are required to pay for service.

  • Employers are allowed to withhold their employees’ tips and other gratuities if they are required by law, court order, or if they’re redistributing the tips amongst staff as part of a tip pool.
  • Employers are also allowed a share of the tip pool if they are owners or part-owners of the business and spend most of their time doing the same work as the employees who earn tips, or employees in other businesses that would normally get tips.
  • Deductions from tips for things like spillage, breakage, losses or damage, etc. are not allowed.

To help protect their rights, students should track the tips they receive and how much they pay into tip pools.

For more information or to access the Ministry of Labour’s Tips and Other Gratuities Guideline and FAQ, please visit Ontario.ca/tipsandgratuities.

Keep Young Workers Safe at Work

Ontario’s Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) gives workers rights. It sets out roles and responsibilities for employers, supervisors and workers so they can work together to make workplaces safer.

The Occupational Health and Safety Awareness and Training regulation requires an employer to conduct health and safety awareness training for every worker and supervisor under the OHSA for provincially regulated workplaces.

An Ontario employer, who is covered by the OHSA, has a range of legal obligations including the obligation to:

  • take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances for the protection of a worker [section 25(2)(h)];
  • ensure that the equipment, materials and protective devices provided by the employer are maintained in good condition [section 25(1)(b)];
  • instruct, inform and supervise workers to protect their health and safety [section 25(2)(a)];
  • acquaint a worker, or a person in authority over a worker, with any hazard in the work and in the handling, storage, use, disposal and transport of any article, device, equipment, or biological, chemical or physical agent [section 25(2)(d)];

By law, workers have the right to:

  • Know about hazards in your workplace and how to protect your health and safety.
  • Participate in resolving workplace health and safety concerns.
  • Refuse unsafe work.

Workers must:

  • Work safely. Use the equipment that you are required to use, and use it properly. Keep protection devices in place. Wear your safety gear.
  • Report hazards (and violations of workplace health and safety law) right away to your supervisor or employer.

Visit the Young Workers page on the Ministry of Labour website for additional information and tips for staying safe at work!

Blitz Results

Employment Standards Internships Blitz

Some employees are at greater risk than others of not receiving their employment standards entitlements. They may also lack the ability and/or resources to understand their rights under the Employment Standards Act, 2000 (ESA).

From September 1 to December 31, 2015, Ministry of Labour employment standards officers conducted a blitz focusing on interns at workplaces across the province with a focus on the Greater Toronto Area. The goal of the blitz was to educate employers and promote compliance with the ESA in sectors that often employ young workers who have an increased exposure to precarious working conditions that fall outside the traditional employment relationship.

For more information, visit the internships blitz results page.

Travailleur avisé, travailleur en santé!

Bulletin électronique pour les enseignants et enseignantes de l’Ontario • juin 2016

Travailleur avisé, travailleur en santé! Ressources désormais accessibles sur Publications Ontario

Le ministère du Travail a rendu l’accès aux bulletins Travailleur avisé, travailleur en santé! plus facile et plus rapide. Pour votre commodité, ces ressources sont désormais accessibles gratuitement par l’entremise de Publications Ontario.

Veuillez vous rendre à Publications Ontario afin de créer un compte et de commander vos documents en ligne. Cherchez « Travailleur avisé, travailleur en santé! » afin de sélectionner les ressources dont vous avez besoin. Elles seront envoyées directement à l’adresse que vous aurez fournie.

Pendant que vous y êtes, prenez le temps d’explorer les nombreuses autres ressources accessibles par l’entremise de Publications Ontario.

L’Ontario se classe deuxième au concours national de vidéos C’est votre travail

Le concours de vidéos C’est votre travail encourage les élèves du secondaire de partout au pays à créer une vidéo originale qui illustre l’importance de la sécurité au travail.

En avril, les gagnants de chaque province et territoire ont participé à l’édition nationale du concours C’est votre travail. Les dix vidéos participantes de l’ensemble du Canada étaient évaluées par un jury composé de Shirley Hickman, directrice générale de l’organisme Fil de vie, de Jim Hopkins, président de la Société canadienne de la santé et de la sécurité au travail; et de Gareth Jones, président-directeur général du Centre canadien d’hygiène et de sécurité au travail (CCHST).

Les grands gagnants à l’échelle canadienne

1er prix (2 000 $ pour l’élève et 2 000 $ pour l’école) :
« Safe Work 2016 » de Sarah Mohammed et Rain Cahigas
Daniel McIntyre Collegiate Institute, Winnipeg, Manitoba

2e prix (1 500 $ pour l’élève et 1 500 $ pour l’école) :
« Breakdown » (la dépression nerveuse) de Raagavi Ramenthiran, Jaclyn Chiu, Jessica Gu et Morgan McKay
Markville Secondary School, Markham, Ontario

3e prix (1 000 $ pour chaque équipe et 1 000 $ pour leur école) :
« Workplace Safety – It’s Your Job » de Shannen Garibay et Maria Himbeault
Clavet Composite School, Clavet, Saskatchewan

Le concours national a aussi permis au public de voter en ligne pour le choix du public par l’entremise de la Zone des jeunes travailleurs et de la page Facebook du CCHST. Un total de 69 358 votes ont été enregistrés entre le 23 et le 29 avril 2016. Cette année, la vidéo choisie par le public, gagnante d’un prix additionnel de 1 000 $ est:

« Workplace Safety – It’s Your Job » de Shannen Garibay et Maria Himbeault
Clavet Composite School Clavet, Saskatchewan

Nous remercions tous les élèves qui ont présenté une vidéo et nous félicitons nos gagnants!

N’oubliez pas de regarder, partager et montrer les vidéos à votre école ou travail! Rendez-vous sur Ontario.ca/concoursvideo pour visionner les vidéos des gagnants de l’Ontario!

Préparer les étudiants aux emplois d’été

Alors que se profile la fin de l’année scolaire, un certain nombre de jeunes travailleurs commenceront leur emploi d’été, dans le cas de plusieurs pour la première fois. La meilleure façon d’aider à préparer les jeunes travailleurs est de les former sur leurs droits et responsabilités en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail.

Ce que les jeunes travailleurs devraient savoir

Le ministère du Travail offre des ressources conçues pour aider les employés et les employeurs à comprendre certains des droits et obligations minimums établis aux termes de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi (LNE) et de ses règlements. En voici quelques-unes :

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter la page Jeunes travailleurs du site Web du ministère du Travail.

Nouvelle vidéo sur les droits au travail

Le ministère du Travail a lancé une nouvelle vidéo éducative intitulée Know Your Rights (en anglais seulement). La vidéo donne un aperçu des principales normes de travail et vise à aider les employés et les employeurs à comprendre leurs droits et obligations aux termes de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi.

Il est possible de la visionner sur YouTube et elle fait également partie des autres vidéos utiles dans la galerie de vidéos du ministère du Travail.

Nouvelles règles concernant les pourboires et autres gratifications au travail

Le 10 juin 2016, de nouvelles règles pour la marche à suivre concernant les pourboires et les autres gratifications dans les lieux de travail sont entrées en vigueur.

Voici des exemples de pourboires et d’autres gratifications : somme d’argent donné à un employé par un client pour un service sous la forme d’argent comptant, de paiement par carte de crédit ou autre moyen électronique, ou des gratifications que les clients doivent payer pour un service.

  • Les employeurs peuvent retenir les pourboires et gratifications de leurs employés s’ils sont tenus de le faire par la loi ou une ordonnance judiciaire, ou s’ils répartissent les pourboires entre les employés selon la méthode de la mise en commun des pourboires.
  • Les employeurs peuvent aussi percevoir une partie de la mise en comme des pourboires s’ils sont propriétaires ou copropriétaires de l’entreprise et qu’ils passent la plupart de leur temps à effectuer le même travail que les employés qui reçoivent des pourboires ou que les employés d’autres entreprises qui reçoivent normalement des pourboires.
  • Les retenues sur les pourboires pour couvrir des frais occasionnés par des choses renversées, brisées, perdues, endommagées, etc. sont interdites.

Afin de protéger leurs droits, les étudiants devraient vérifier les pourboires qu’ils reçoivent et les sommes qu’ils versent dans la cagnotte commune.

Pour de plus amples renseignements ou pour consulter les lignes directrices et la foire aux questions du ministère du Travail relatives aux pourboires et aux gratifications, rendez-vous à ontario.ca/pourboiresetgratifications.

Garantir la sécurité des jeunes travailleurs au travail

La Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) de l’Ontario accorde des droits aux travailleurs. Elle prévoit les rôles et les responsabilités des employeurs, superviseurs et travailleurs, afin qu’ils puissent travailler ensemble à rendre les lieux de travail plus sécuritaires.

Le Règlement sur la sensibilisation à la santé et la sécurité au travail et formation exige qu’un employeur offre une formation à la santé et la sécurité à chaque travailleur et superviseur aux termes de la LSST pour les lieux de travail régis par la province.

Un employeur de l’Ontario couvert par la LSST a une gamme d’obligations légales à respecter, dont les suivantes :

  • prendre toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection du travailleur [alinéa 25(2) h)];
  • s’assurer que le matériel, les matériaux et les dispositifs de protection qu’il fournit sont maintenus en bon état [alinéa 25(1) b)];
  • fournir au travailleur les renseignements, les directives et la surveillance nécessaires à la protection de sa santé et de sa sécurité [alinéa 25 (2) a)];
  • informer le travailleur, ou la personne qui exerce son autorité sur celui-ci, des risques que comportent le travail et la manipulation, l’entreposage, l’utilisation, l’élimination et le transport de tout objet, appareil, matériel ou agent biologique, chimique ou physique [alinéa 25(2) d)].

En vertu de la loi, les travailleurs possèdent les droits suivants :

  • Connaître les dangers sur leur lieu de travail et la manière de protéger leur santé et leur sécurité.
  • Participer à la résolution des préoccupations en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail.
  • Refuser d’effectuer un travail dangereux.

Les travailleurs doivent :

  • Travailler de manière sécuritaire. Utiliser l’équipement qu’ils doivent utiliser et de la manière adéquate. Conserver les dispositifs de protection en place. Porter leur équipement de sécurité.
  • Signaler les dangers (et les violations à la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail) immédiatement à leur superviseur ou employeur.

Consultez la page Jeunes travailleurs du site Web du ministère du Travail pour des renseignements supplémentaires et des conseils pour rester hors de danger au travail!

Résultats des inspections éclair

Résultats des inspections éclairs sur les normes d’emploi visant les stages

Certains employés sont plus à risque de ne pas recevoir les avantages auxquels ils ont droit en vertu des normes d’emploi. Ils peuvent aussi ne pas avoir la capacité et (ou) les ressources nécessaires pour comprendre leurs droits découlant de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi (LNE).

Du 1er septembre au 31 décembre 2015, les agents des normes d’emploi du ministère du Travail ont mené une campagne éclair axée sur les stages dans les lieux de travail partout dans la province, en particulier dans la région du grand Toronto. L’objectif de la campagne éclairé visait à informer les employeurs et à promouvoir la conformité à la LNE dans des secteurs qui emploient souvent de jeunes travailleurs particulièrement exposés à des conditions de travail précaires qui ne correspondent pas avec la notion classique de relation de travail.

Pour en savoir plus, rendez-vous à notre page de résultats de la campagne d’inspections éclair.