Live Safe! Work Smart!

eNewsletter for Ontario Teachers • February 2017

Reminder: It’s Your Job submissions due March 3!

Submissions for the It’s Your Job student video contest will be accepted until March 3, 2017 at 11:59 p.m. EST.

It’s Your Job challenges Ontario’s secondary school students to create an original video no longer than two minutes in length that can be used in social media to show the importance of working safely on the job.

Prior to entering videos to the contest, please make sure submission packages include the following:

  • Completed and signed contest entry form
  • Working Vimeo URL that takes the contest judges directly to the video
  • Teacher sponsor/representative information and signature
  • Consent of parent or guardian if student(s) is under 18 years of age
  • Transcripts of all video spoken text

The first, second and third place teams will be awarded cash prizes - up to $2,000! In addition, each winning school will receive a prize equal to the total prize awarded to the winning video team from that school.

Please note that late entries will not be accepted. Visit the It's Your Job webpage to learn more and e-mail videocontest@ontario.ca if you have questions.

New: online safety resources for teachers

Science Teachers’ Association of Ontario (STAO)’s Safety Mindedness Teacher Training Resource is an interactive online training program that trains teachers on common safety-related issues that may arise in typical Science (Grades 9–12) and Science and Technology (Grades K–8) programs. In addition, the training program emphasizes to teachers the importance of creating a culture of safety mindedness in their classrooms.

Ontario Council for Technological Education (OCTE) has also developed a suite of safety resources for teachers. OCTE’s safety resources are subject-specific (e.g., resources are available for Construction Technology, Green Industries, Hairstyling and Aesthetics and more!) and will be of particular interest to secondary school teachers delivering the Grades 9-10 and 11-12 Technological Education curriculums.

Employment standards for students: Know Your Rights video

The Ministry of Labour has an educational video entitled Know Your Rights. The video provides viewers with an overview of core employment standards under the Employment Standards Act, 2000 (ESA). The ministry encourages educational institutions to use the video as a resource to help students understand their rights under the ESA. There are additional Employment Standards resources on the ministry’s website.

Know Your Rights is available on YouTube and listed among other useful videos on the Ministry of Labour’s video gallery.

Travailleur avisé, travailleur en santé!

Bulletin électronique pour les enseignants et enseignantes de l’Ontario • février 2017

Rappel : les vidéos du Concours de vidéos C’est votre travail sont dues le 3 mars!

Les vidéos du Concours C’est votre travail seront acceptées jusqu’au 3 mars 2017, à 23 h 59 (HNE).

Le concours de vidéos C’est votre travail invite les élèves des écoles secondaires de l’Ontario à réaliser une vidéo originale d’une durée maximale de deux minutes, que les médias sociaux pourront diffuser, afin de montrer à quel point la sécurité est importante au travail.

Avant de soumettre des vidéos au concours, veuillez vous assurer que votre dossier contient ce qui suit :

  • Le formulaire de participation dûment rempli et signé;
  • Une adresse URL Vimeo qui conduira les juges du concours directement à la vidéo;
  • Les coordonnées et la signature de l’enseignant ou du représentant scolaire qui parraine le(s) candidat(s);
  • Le consentement du père ou de la mère, ou du tuteur, de l’élève ou des élèves qui ont moins de 18 ans;
  • La transcription du texte parlé de la vidéo.

Les équipes qui remportent la première, deuxième et troisième place recevront des prix en argent – jusqu’à 2 000 $! En outre, chaque école gagnante recevra un prix équivalent au prix total décerné à l’équipe gagnante de cette école.

Veuillez noter qu’aucune soumission tardive ne sera acceptée. Visitez la page Web C’est votre travail pour de plus amples renseignements et envoyez un courriel à videocontest@ontario.ca si vous avez des questions.

Nouveau : ressource en ligne sur la sécurité à l’attention des enseignants

L’Association des professeurs de sciences de l’Ontario (APSO) a mis au point une ressource en matière de sécurité intitulée Safety Mindedness Teacher Training Resource (en anglais seulement). Il s’agit d’un programme de formation interactif en ligne qui sensibilise les enseignants à des questions communes de sécurité qui pourraient surgir dans le cadre de programmes habituels de sciences (9e – 12e année) et de sciences et technologie (jardin d’enfants – 8e année). Par ailleurs, le programme de formation met l’accent sur l’importance de créer une culture de sécurité dans la salle de classe.

L’Ontario Council for Technological Education (OCTE) a aussi préparé une série de ressources en matière de sécurité à l’attention des enseignants. Ces ressources sont axées sur des sujets précis (p. ex., la technologie de la construction, les industries écologiques, la coiffure et l’esthétique!). Ces ressources intéresseront particulièrement les enseignants du secondaire qui enseignent les programmes d’éducation technologique des 9e et 10e années et des 11e et 12e années.

Normes d’emploi pour élèves : vidéo Les droits au travail

Le ministère du Travail a préparé une vidéo éducative intitulée Les droits au travail. Cette vidéo présente un aperçu des normes d’emploi de base en vertu de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi. Le ministère encourage les établissements d’enseignement à utiliser cette vidéo comme ressource pour aider les élèves à comprendre leurs droits en vertu de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi. Le site Web du ministère contient d’autres ressources utiles sur les normes d’emploi.

La vidéo Les droits au travail peut être visionnée sur YouTube. Elle est également affichée parmi d’autres vidéos utiles dans la galerie de vidéos du ministère du Travail.