Live Safe! Work Smart!

eNewsletter for Ontario Teachers • April 2016

It's Your Job video contest... the results are in!

This year’s video contest was a huge success, receiving more than 70 entries! Almost twice as much from last year! This year’s theme, “Speak Up! Speak Out”, may have been the driving force. It created a platform for students to speak out on how to talk to co-workers about workplace safety without fear or embarrassment, or provide a message to employers on how to make it comfortable for youth to ask them questions about workplace safety. We would like to thank the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB) who matched the prize money for the second year in a row. Thanks to the WSIB, the winners and their schools received up to $2,000!

The results from this year’s contest show that these talented students are passionate and dedicated about workplace safety. This is clearly evident through the amount of time and effort that was put into making these videos a great success!

Ontario Winners

The following videos were chosen to move on to the Canadian finals, where they will compete against other provincial winners for a chance to win up to an additional $2,000!

First Place ($2,000 for the team, and $2,000 for the school)
"Breakdown" by Raagavi Ramenthiran, Jaclyn Chiu, Jessica Gu and Morgan McKay
Markville Secondary School, Markham

Second Place ($1,500 for the team, and $1,500 for the school)
“Stand Your Ground” by Christoforos Pietrobon
St. Pius X High School, Ottawa

Third Place ($1,000 for the team, and $1,000 for the school)
“When You Gamble With Safety You Bet Your Life” by Ryan Murray
Holy Cross Catholic Secondary School, Kingston

Top videos from across Canada will also compete for a chance to win an additional $1,000 for Fan Favourite. Don’t forget to vote for yours by April 29th! Visit CCOHS’s Young Worker Zone for details.

Congratulations to all of the students who participated in this year’s contest!

Don’t forget to see, share, and show the videos in your school or workplace. Visit Ontario.ca/videocontest to see more!

Province increasing minimum wage on October 1, 2016

Last month, the government announced increases to Ontario’s minimum wage rates that will come into effect October 1, 2016. The student minimum wage will go up from $10.55 per hour to $10.70 per hour. This rate applies to students under 18 years old who work 28 hours a week or less when school is in session, or who work during a school break or summer holiday.

Students who work more than 28 hours a week while school is in session are entitled to the general minimum wage rate which is currently $11.25 per hour but will increase to $11.40 per hour as of October 1, 2016.

For more information on minimum wage including the current and upcoming rates, please visit Ontario.ca/minimumwage.

Coming soon: new rules regarding tips and gratuities

Starting June 10, 2016, new rules around the handling of tips and other gratuities in the workplace will come into force. Examples of tips and other gratuities include: money given to an employee by a customer for a service in the form of cash, credit card or other electronic payment, or gratuity charges that customers are required to pay for service.

  • Employers will be allowed to withhold their employees’ tips and other gratuities if they are required by law, court order, or if they’re redistributing the tips amongst staff as part of a tip pool.
  • Employers will also be allowed a share of the tip pool if they are owners or part-owners of the business and spend most of their time doing the same work as the employees who earn tips, or employees in other businesses that would normally get tips.
  • Deductions from tips will not be allowed for things like spillage, breakage, etc.

To help protect their rights, students should track the tips they receive and how much they pay into tip pools.

Travailleur avisé, travailleur en santé!

Bulletin électronique pour les enseignants et enseignantes de l’Ontario • avril 2016

Le concours de vidéos C'est votre travail … Les résultats sont annoncés!

Le concours de vidéos de cette année a été un franc succès, recevant plus de 70 vidéos! Presque deux fois plus que l’année passée! Le thème de cette année « Parlons-en franchement! » a peut-être été spécialement motivant. Il a créé une plateforme qui a permis aux élèves de proposer des manières de parler à des collègues de la sécurité au travail sans gêne ou crainte, ou de dire aux employeurs comment encourager les jeunes à poser des questions sur la sécurité au travail. Nous aimerions remercier la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail (CSPAAT) qui, pour la deuxième année consécutive, a versé un montant égal au nôtre pour le prix des gagnants. Grâce à la CSPAAT, les gagnants et leurs écoles ont reçu jusqu’à 2 000 $!

Les résultats du concours de cette année démontrent que ces élèves talentueux sont passionnés par le sujet de la sécurité au travail, comme en témoignent le temps et les efforts qu’ils ont consacrés à ces vidéos remarquables!

Gagnants de l'Ontario

Les vidéos suivantes ont été choisies pour concourir dans les finales au niveau national, où elles seront en lice contre d’autres gagnants provinciaux pour gagner un prix additionnel de 2 000 $!

1ère place (2 000 $ pour l’équipe et 2 000 $ pour l’école)
« Breakdown » de Raagavi Ramenthiran, Jaclyn Chiu, Jessica Gu et Morgan McKay
Markville Secondary School, Markham

2e place (1 500 $ pour l’élève et 1 500 $ pour l’école)
« Stand Your Ground » de Christoforos Pietrobon
St. Pius X High School, Ottawa

3e place (1 000 $ pour l’élève et 1 000 $ pour l’école)
« When You Gamble With Safety You Bet Your Life » de Ryan Murray
Holy Cross Catholic Secondary School, Kingston

Les meilleures vidéos de tout le Canada pourront ensuite gagner un autre prix additionnel de 1 000 $ comme vidéo préférée des admirateurs. N’oubliez pas de voter pour votre vidéo avant le 29 avril! Visitez la Zone des jeunes travailleurs du CCHST pour plus de renseignements.

Félicitations à tous les élèves qui ont participé au concours de cette année!

N’oubliez pas de visionner, communiquer et présenter les vidéos dans votre école ou votre lieu de travail. Visitez Ontario.ca/concoursvideo pour plus de renseignements!

La province augmente le salaire minimum le 1er octobre 2016

Le mois dernier, le gouvernement a annoncé des augmentations des taux de salaire minimum de l’Ontario, qui entreront en vigueur le 1er octobre 2016. Le salaire minimum des étudiants passera de 10,55 $ l’heure à 10,70 $ l’heure. Ce taux s’applique aux élèves de moins de 18 ans qui travaillent 28 heures ou moins par semaine pendant l’année scolaire ou qui travaillent pendant des vacances scolaires ou pendant les vacances d’été.

Les étudiants qui travaillent plus de 28 heures par semaine pendant l’année scolaire ont droit au taux de salaire minimum général, qui est actuellement de 11,25 $ l’heure. Ce taux passera à 11,40 $ l’heure le 1er octobre 2016.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le salaire minimum, dont les taux actuels et futurs, visitez Ontario.ca/salaireminimum.

BIENTÔT : de nouvelles règles sur les pourboires et gratifications

Le 10 juin 2016, de nouvelles règles sur les pourboires et gratifications au travail entreront en vigueur. Exemples de pourboires et gratifications : montants versés volontairement par les clients pour un service sous la forme d’espèces, par carte de crédit ou un autre moyen électronique, ou des gratifications que les clients doivent payer pour un service.

  • Les employeurs pourront retenir les pourboires et gratifications de leurs employés s’ils sont tenus de le faire par la loi ou une ordonnance judiciaire, ou s’ils répartissent les pourboires entre les employés selon la méthode de la mise en commun des pourboires.
  • Les employeurs pourront aussi percevoir une partie de la mise en comme des pourboires s’ils sont propriétaires ou copropriétaires de l’entreprise et qu’ils passent la plupart de leur temps à effectuer le même travail que les employés qui reçoivent des pourboires ou que les employés d’autres entreprises qui reçoivent normalement des pourboires.
  • Il ne sera pas autorisé d’effectuer des retenues sur les pourboires comme sanction, par exemple en cas de déversement, de casse, etc.

Pour protéger leurs droits, les étudiants devraient vérifier combien de pourboires ils reçoivent et combien ils versent dans la cagnotte commune.

Liens

Site Web Travailleur avisé, travailleur en santé! : ressources pour les enseignants

Site Jeunes travailleurs du ministère du Travail

Anciens numéros du bulletin

Envoyez vos idées d'articles par courriel à : Marie.Faminial@ontario.ca