Print This Page

Pyrotechnic Special Effects
Safety Guideline for the Live Performance Industry in Ontario

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Theatrical pyrotechnics are governed by the Explosives Regulatory Division of Natural Resources Canada.

These guidelines have been adapted from the Ontario Film and Television Industry Section 21 Guidelines, the National Fire Protection Association Code 1126 (Standard for the Use of Pyrotechnics), the California Film Industry Fire/Life Safety Handbook and the Alberta Section of Canadian Institute of Theatre Technology, Pyro Standards.

Any person who assumes the responsibility for pyrotechnics must have a clear understanding and working knowledge of the guidelines of the NFPA Code 1126 and of the requirements of the Explosives Regulatory Division of Natural Resources Canada.

Definitions

Pyrotechnic special effect
An effect where a chemical mixture is used to produce visible or audible effects by combustion, deflagration or detonation.
Pyrotechnician
The person who is responsible for pyrotechnic safety, who controls, initiates, or otherwise creates special effects, and who is responsible for the storing, setting up and removing of pyrotechnic materials for the production.
Blocking
The process by which the director moves the performers around the stage. A person (generally the stage manager) notes these movements in the prompt script in order to track all of the performers' movements during the show.
Deflagration
A rapid chemical reaction in which the output of heat is sufficient to enable the reaction to proceed and be accelerated without input of heat from another source. The effect of deflagration under confinement is an explosion.
Detonation
An extremely rapid chemical reaction in which the pressure generated is sufficient to cause the formation of a shock wave, which acts to cause the reaction to proceed. The effect of detonation without confinement is an explosion.
Dry run
A rehearsal to demonstrate an effect to all performers, crew and anyone else involved.

General Guidelines

  1. No child performer should be exposed to pyrotechnical effects unless written permission is received from a parent or guardian prior to rehearsal/performance.
  2. "No Smoking" and "Explosive" signs shall be posted where pyrotechnics are stored and handled.
  3. Handling, storage and preparation of pyrotechnic materials shall be in compliance with federal, provincial and local codes, and be within the manufacturer's guidelines.
  4. No smoking shall be allowed where pyrotechnical devices are used.

    NOTE: Smoking may be allowed in performance as blocked in rehearsal and if approved by the pyrotechnician and the authority having jurisdiction.

  5. The transporting of pyrotechnical devices and materials shall be done in compliance with all applicable federal, provincial and local laws. Class 7.2.5 Explosives are covered under the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Act.
  6. Sufficient number of the appropriate fire extinguishers shall be located within a reasonable distance of all pyrotechnic materials being loaded, prepared for firing and fired. The number shall be determined by the authority having jurisdiction.

Performance Guidelines

  1. Whenever pyrotechnic special effects are to be used in a production, a pyrotechnician should be employed before the first rehearsal.
  2. The pyrotechnician should ensure that the authority having jurisdiction (generally the fire department or a Natural Resources Canada, Explosives Regulatory Division representative) has been notified of the use of pyrotechnics for the production.
  3. Before the rehearsal/performance, all personnel involved with the production should be notified that pyro effects are to be employed. This notice should also appear in writing on the daily call sheet for rehearsals where pyrotechnics are used. The nature of the effects should be specified in the daily call sheet.
  4. Before involving performers for the first time,
    • a dry run of the effects must take place on site to demonstrate timing, spacing and safety parameters;
    • safety equipment and safety precautions such as fire extinguishers, warning and communication systems should be in place;
    • the intended action, possible deviations and the authority to abort should be made clear;
    • all performers and support personnel should be warned of exposure to a hazard when performing or otherwise carrying out their responsibilities in the vicinity of a pyrotechnic special effect;
    • the dry run should take place in an environment as free of distractions as possible.
  5. Before any pyrotechnical sequence is performed for the first time, a technical rehearsal should be called.
  6. In addition to the normal blocking notes kept by the stage manager, blocking for the pyrotechnical effects should be put in writing by the pyrotechnician and distributed to all involved departments and individuals.
  7. The pyrotechnician should have the final authority to abort any effect.
  8. The pyrotechnician should be in attendance whenever a pyrotechnical effect is executed in rehearsal or performance.
  9. The stage manager or pyrotechnician should make clear to everyone involved in the production the location of exits and escape routes. The escape must provide unobstructed passage to the exterior of the building, structure or workspace.
  10. Whenever possible, only those performers and crew necessary for the success of the effect should be in close proximity to the effect. Other performers should remain at a safe distance (to be determined by the pyrotechnician).
  11. Immediately before any performance the pyrotechnician should make a final check of wiring, position, hookups and pyrotechnic devices to ensure that all are in proper working order. Adequate time should be allowed for this check.
  12. The pyrotechnician should have an unimpeded view of the effect. Where this is not possible, an assistant, who is in direct communication with the pyrotechnician and has an unimpeded view of the effect, should be assigned. The assistant should be familiar with the effect and the conditions that would qualify for aborting it.
  13. Immediately after each performance the pyrotechnician should verify that all pyrotechnic devices have fired. Any unfired pyrotechnic materials or devices should either be fired or disposed of in accordance with the manufacturer's instructions.
  14. If, at any time, substantial changes become necessary for the success of the pyrotechnical effect, a meeting should be called by the pyrotechnician to confirm everyone's understanding of and agreement to the change(s). All changes (location, quantity, spacing) should be noted on the blocking plan and distributed to all involved departments and individuals.
  15. The pyrotechnician may have one or more designated assistants who take on the responsibilities during the pyrotechnician's absence. The pyrotechnician should ensure that the assistant(s) has the proper knowledge and training in order to comply with the pyrotechnician's scope of work. In the event of the pyrotechnician's departure from the production, the responsibilities of the pyrotechnician will transfer to an assistant.

NOTE:

Examples of assistants are stage manager, assistant electrician or anyone who demonstrates the knowledge required of the pyrotechnician as defined.

More Information

Call toll-free

Call 1-877-202-0008 anytime to report critical injuries, fatalities or work refusals. For general inquiries about workplace health and safety and to report potentially unsafe work conditions, call 8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m., Monday to Friday. In an emergency, always call 911 immediately.

Publications

1. Alberta Section, CITT, Pyro Standards

Canadian Institute for Theatre Technology (CITT)
2500 University Drive NW
Calgary, Alberta T2N 1N4

2. Federal Regulations for Explosives Class 7.2.5

Natural Resources Canada
Explosives Regulatory Division
1431 Merivale Road
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G1
Tel.: (613) 948-5200
Fax: (613) 948-5195

3. Filming in California (replaces the Film Industry Fire/Life Safety Handbook)

California State Fire Marshal
PO Box 944246
Sacramento, California 94244-2460 USA
Tel: (916) 445-8200

4. National Fire Protection Association Code 1126 (Standard for the Use of Pyrotechnics)

Annex BookStore
105 Donly Drive South, PO Box 530
Simcoe, ON N3Y 4N5
Tel: 1-877-267-3473
Fax: 1-877-624-1940
E-mail: bookstore@annexweb.com

Fire Safety Canada
100 Strowger Blvd
Brockville, ON K6V 5W7
Tel: 1-866-379-6668
E-mail: peter.townshend@firesafetycouncil.com

Organizations and Associations

Natural Resources Canada
(Contact: Dave McCulloch)
Explosives Regulatory Division
1431 Merivale Road
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G1

Fire Prevention Department
(Contact: Chief Ted Scovel)
New City Hall
100 Queen Street West
Toronto, Ontario
M5H 2N2

Acknowledgements

The Ontario Advisory Committee for Health and Safety in Live Performance is made up of professionals in live performance from across the province – large and small, commercial and not-for-profit, service organizations and professional associations. We have had input from individual experts both national and international. The Advisory Committee and the Ministry of Labour would like to thank the following people for their help in making this guideline possible.

* Indicates a main committee member at the time the sub-committee was active.

  • Syme Jago*
  • Myles Patterson, PPA, Canada
  • David Pier, MP Associates, CA
  • Mark Rice, Stage FX
  • Eric Tucker, PPA, St. Louis
  • Dave McCulloch, Federal Dept. of Natural Resources
  • Ted Scovel, Chief, Toronto Fire Department
  • Larry Wheatley Sergeant, ETF Bomb Squad, Toronto Police Dept.

ISBN 978-1-4435-9713-5 (HTML)

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer cette page

Effets spéciaux pyrotechniques
Directive de sécurité pour l'industrie du spectacle de scène en Ontario

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Les pièces pyrotechniques de scène de classe 7.2.5 sont régies par la Division de la réglementation des explosifs de Ressources naturelles Canada.

Les présentes directives sont une adaptation de l'article 21 des Lignes directrices sur la sécurité dans l'industrie du cinéma et de la télévision de l'Ontario, du Code 1126 de l'Association nationale pour la protection des incendies (ANPI) [ en anglais seulement ] — normes d'utilisation de pièces pyrotechniques, du Film Industry Fire/Life Safety Handbook utilisé en Californie et de la section de l'Alberta du Canadian Institute of Theatre Technology [ en anglais seulement ] — normes sur les pièces pyrotechniques.

Toute personne responsable d'effets pyrotechniques doit avoir une bonne connaissance théorique et pratique des directives du Code 1126 de l'ANPI et de la Division de la réglementation des explosifs de Ressources naturelles Canada.

Définitions

Blocage
Processus qui régit le déplacement des actrices et des acteurs sur la scène selon les directives de la metteuse ou du metteur en scène. Une personne (en général, la régisseure ou le régisseur) note ces déplacements dans le texte de réplique afin de suivre tous les mouvements des actrices et des acteurs pendant le spectacle.
Déflagration
Combustion vive d'un corps qui produit un effet de choc résultant de l'échauffement d'un mélange chimique. L'effet produit par une déflagration dans un espace clos entraîne une explosion.
Détonation
Réaction chimique soudaine et violente avec une grande vitesse de décomposition qui, sous pression, suffit à causer une onde explosive, laquelle déclenche une réaction. L'effet de détonation sans confinement entraîne une explosion.
Effet spécial pyrotechnique
Technique où un mélange chimique est utilisé pour produire des effets visuels ou audibles par combustion, déflagration ou détonation.
Exercice de démonstration
Démonstration d'un effet à toutes les actrices et à tous les acteurs, à l'équipe de mise en scène et à toute autre personne concernée.
Pyrotechnicienne ou pyrotechnicien
Personne responsable de la sécurité en matière de pyrotechnie qui supervise, amorce ou crée les effets spéciaux et qui est responsable de l'entreposage, du montage et de l'enlèvement des pièces pyrotechniques utilisées aux fins de la représentation.

Directives générales

  1. Aucun enfant ne devrait être exposé à des effets pyrotechniques à moins qu'il ait la permission écrite de ses parents ou de sa tutrice ou de son tuteur avant la répétition ou le spectacle.
  2. Il faudrait afficher des écriteaux «Défense de fumer» et «Danger : explosifs» dans les lieux où les pièces pyrotechniques sont entreposées et manipulées.
  3. La manutention, l'entreposage et la préparation des dispositifs pyrotechniques devraient être conformes aux règlements provinciaux, fédéraux et municipaux, et être conformes aux directives du fabricant.
  4. Il devrait être interdit de fumer dans les lieux où des dispositifs pyrotechniques sont utilisés.

    REMARQUE : Il peut être permis de fumer pendant une scène si cela est indiqué dans le texte de mise en scène et est autorisé par la pyrotechnicienne ou le pyrotechnicien et les autorités compétentes.
  5. Le transport des dispositifs et des pièces pyrotechniques devrait se conformer aux règlements provinciaux, fédéraux et municipaux applicables. Les explosifs de classe 7.2.5 relèvent de la Loi sur le transport des matières dangereuses.
  6. Il devrait y avoir un nombre suffisant d'extincteurs d'incendie appropriés à une distance raisonnable de l'endroit où l'on charge les pièces pyrotechniques et où l'on prépare leur allumage ou leur mise à feu. Le nombre d'extincteurs devrait être fixé par les autorités compétentes.

Directives concernant le spectacle

  1. Lorsqu'on utilise des effets spéciaux pyrotechniques dans un spectacle, il faudrait embaucher une pyrotechnicienne ou un pyrotechnicien avant la première répétition.
  2. La pyrotechnicienne ou le pyrotechnicien devrait s'assurer que les autorités compétentes (généralement le service des pompiers ou une représentante ou un représentant de la Division de la réglementation des explosifs de Ressources naturelles Canada) ont été informées que des effets pyrotechniques seront utilisés dans le spectacle.
  3. Avant la répétition ou le spectacle, toutes les personnes concernées devraient être informées que des effets pyrotechniques seront utilisés. Un avis écrit à cet égard devrait aussi figurer sur la feuille de route quotidienne des répétitions. Il faudrait également y préciser la nature des effets prévus.
  4. Avant que les actrices et les acteurs ne s'exécutent pour la première fois :
    • Il faudrait procéder à un exercice de démonstration de l'effet sur le lieu du spectacle pour montrer le temps qu'il prend, l'espace qu'il occupe et les exigences de sécurité qu'il entraîne;
    • Il faudrait mettre en place les mesures et le matériel de sécurité nécessaires comme les extincteurs d'incendie et les systèmes d'avertissement et de communication.
    • Il faudrait décrire clairement l'action envisagée et ses variantes possibles, et donner le nom de la personne qui a le pouvoir de tout arrêter;
    • Il faudrait avertir toutes les actrices et tous les acteurs ainsi que le personnel de soutien des risques d'exposition pendant le spectacle et des responsabilités qui leur reviennent lorsqu'elles et ils se trouvent à proximité d'un effet spécial pyrotechnique;
    • L'exercice de démonstration devrait avoir lieu dans un environnement où les distractions sont réduites au minimum.
  5. Avant d'exécuter pour la première fois une scène avec des effets pyrotechniques, il faudrait procéder à une répétition technique.
  6. Outre les notes de blocage normales de la régisseure ou du régisseur, la pyrotechnicienne ou le pyrotechnicien devrait noter par écrit les blocages relatifs aux effets spéciaux pyrotechniques et distribuer une copie de ces notes à toutes les personnes et à tous les services concernés.
  7. La pyrotechnicienne ou le pyrotechnicien devrait avoir le pouvoir final d'arrêter tout effet spécial.
  8. La pyrotechnicienne ou le pyrotechnicien devrait être présent lorsqu'un effet pyrotechnique est utilisé en cours de répétition ou de spectacle.
  9. La régisseure ou le régisseur, ou la pyrotechnicienne ou le pyrotechnicien devrait indiquer clairement à toutes les personnes concernées par la scène où se trouvent les sorties et les voies d'évacuation. Les voies d'évacuation devraient offrir un passage dégagé vers l'extérieur du bâtiment, de la structure ou du lieu de travail.
  10. Dans toute la mesure du possible, seuls les acteurs et les actrices et les personnes dont la présence est nécessaire pour la réussite de la scène devraient rester à proximité de l'effet pyrotechnique. Les autres actrices et acteurs devraient se tenir à une distance sécuritaire (à déterminer par la pyrotechnicienne ou le pyrotechnicien).
  11. Immédiatement avant le spectacle, la pyrotechnicienne ou le pyrotechnicien devrait vérifier pour la dernière fois l'installation et la position des fils, le réseau électrique et les dispositifs pyrotechniques pour s'assurer que tout est en bon état de fonctionnement. Il faudrait allouer le temps nécessaire à cette vérification.
  12. La pyrotechnicienne ou le pyrotechnicien devrait pouvoir observer l'effet directement. Si cela n'est pas possible, il faudrait désigner une assistante ou un assistant qui peut observer l'effet directement et reste en communication constante avec la pyrotechnicienne ou le pyrotechnicien. Cette personne devrait connaître l'effet et les conditions qui justifient son interruption.
  13. Immédiatement après chaque spectacle, la pyrotechnicienne ou le pyrotechnicien devrait vérifier que tous les dispositifs pyrotechniques ont bien fonctionné. Toute pièce ou tout dispositif pyrotechnique qui n'est pas tiré devrait être éliminé conformément aux directives du fabricant.
  14. Si, à un moment donné, il devient nécessaire d'apporter des modifications considérables à un effet pyrotechnique pour assurer le succès de la scène, la pyrotechnicienne ou le pyrotechnicien devrait convoquer une réunion pour s'assurer que toutes les personnes concernées comprennent bien les changements et en conviennent. Toutes les modifications concernant le lieu, la quantité et l'espace devraient être notées par écrit dans le plan de blocage et distribuées à toutes les personnes et à tous les services concernés.
  15. En cas d'absence, la pyrotechnicienne ou le pyrotechnicien peut charger un ou une ou plusieurs assistantes et assistants d'assumer ses responsabilités. Elle ou il devrait s'assurer que l'assistante ou l'assistant possède les connaissances et la formation nécessaires pour couvrir dans sa totalité le travail de la pyrotechnicienne ou du pyrotechnicien. Si la pyrotechnicienne ou le pyrotechnicien devait quitter la production, ses responsabilités reviendraient à l'assistante ou à l'assistant.

REMARQUE :

L'assistante ou l'assistant peut être la régisseure ou le régisseur, l'aide électricien ou électricienne ou toute personne qui possède les connaissances définies comme étant exigées de la pyrotechnicienne ou du pyrotechnicien.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Appelez sans frais, n'importe quand

Composez n'importe quand le 1 877 202-0008 pour signaler des incidents en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail. Pour des renseignements de nature générale sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, composez ce numéro du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h 30 à 17 h. Dans le cas d'une situation d'urgence, il faut toujours composer immédiatement le 911.

Publications

1. Section de l'Alberta, CITT, Pyro Standards

Canadian Institute for Theatre Technology (CITT)
2500 University Drive NW
Calgary (Alberta)
T2N 1N4

2. Règlement fédéral sur les explosifs, classe 7.2.5

Ressources naturelles Canada
Division de la réglementation des explosifs
1431, rue Merivale
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G1
Tél. : (613) 948-5200
Téléc. : (613) 948-5195

3. Filming in California

California State Fire Marshall
PO Box 944246
Sacramento, California 94244-2460 USA
Tél. : (916) 445-8200

4. Association nationale pour la protection contre les incendies, Code 1126 (Normes d'utilisation de pièces pyrotechniques)

Annex BookStore
105 Donly Drive South, CP 530
Simcoe (Ontario) N3Y 4N5
Tél. : 1 877-267-3473
Téléc. : 1 877-624-1940
Courriel : bookstore@annexweb.com

Fire Safety Canada
100 Strowger Blvd
Brockville (Ontario) K6V 5W7
Tél. : 1 866-379-6668
Courriel : peter.townshend@firesafetycouncil.com

Organismes et associations

Ressources naturelles Canada
Division de la réglementation des explosifs
(Personne-ressource : Dave McCulloch)
1431, rue Merivale
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G1

Service de prévention des incendies
(Personne-ressource : Ted Scovel, chef de service d’incendie)
New City Hall
100, rue Queen ouest
Toronto (Ontario)
M5H 2N2

Remerciements

Le Comité consultatif sur la santé et la sécurité dans l’industrie du spectacle de scène en Ontario est composé de professionnelles et de professionnels de l’industrie du spectacle de scène en provenance de toutes les parties de la province - associations professionnelles, commerciales et à but non lucratif et organismes du secteur des services, grands et petits. Nous avons pu bénéficier de la contribution d’expertes et d’experts à l’échelle nationale et internationale. Le comité consultatif et le ministère du Travail tiennent à exprimer leurs remerciements à toutes les personnes qui suivent et qui ont collaboré à l’élaboration de la présente directive :

* Indique le nom d’une personne qui était membre du comité principal au moment où le sous-comité était en activité.

  • Syme Jago*
  • Myles Patterson, PPA, Canada
  • David Pier, MP Associates, CA
  • Mark Rice, Stage FX
  • Eric Tucker, PPA, St. Louis
  • Dave McCullock, Ministère fédéral de l’Énergie, des Mines et des Ressources
  • Ted Scovel, Chef, service des pompiers de Toronto
  • Larry Wheatley, Sergent, escouade antibombe, service de police de Toronto

ISBN 978-1-4435-9715-9 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4435-9716-6 (Version PDF)

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.