Print This Page

Orchestra Pits
Safety Guideline for the Live Performance Industry in Ontario

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

The orchestra pit, by its very nature, is the equivalent of a large, open stage trap and is a constant risk to the safety of stage performers, musicians and stage personnel. Any guideline for pit safety should begin with the reminder that all theatre workers should be responsible for each others' safety--particularly directors when blocking their actors in a production, and stage performers when handling properties and loose items on stage out of sight of the pit musicians. Common sense should prevail at all times in the pit.

Definitions

Contractor
(Personnel Manager) The person responsible for hiring the orchestra musicians.
Leader
(Music Director, Conductor) The person responsible for the musical performance of the orchestra.
Orchestra Pit
An area immediately downstage of the lip of the stage and sometimes partially beneath the stage, separated from the audience by a pit well and rail, and in which musicians' heads are below the surface of the stage when the musicians are seated for performance.
Alternative Orchestra Area
Any area other than the orchestra pit in which musicians are seated for performance.

General Guidelines

  1. The contractor or leader should be responsible for making a pit plan available to the person in charge of the pit in sufficient time for the set-up and maintenance of the pit.
  2. In cases where it is architecturally impossible to install an orchestra pit cover and where an alternative orchestra area is used, all due care should be taken by the management of the venue to protect the members of the orchestra.

Pit Covers

  1. The management of a venue that has an orchestra pit should be responsible for providing a pit safety cover to prevent accidental falls by personnel into the pit, and to catch material which, when accidentally dropped from the stage, could cause injury.
  2. When the pit is occupied, the pit safety cover should be in place. At all other times the pit cover should be in place or a warning barrier should be placed at waist level, sufficiently upstage of the pit to prevent people from falling in.
  3. An orchestra pit safety cover should:
    • be able to support the weight of a human body falling from the stage or any raised performance area;
    • be flameproof;
    • not interfere with the proper ventilation of the orchestra pit;
    • allow adequate line of sight between conductor and musicians and between conductor and performers;
    • conform to the shape of the pit opening. As the size and shape of each orchestra pit is different, a safety pit cover requires custom fabrication and installation. If a given production uses scenic elements that extend into the pit area, the pit cover may need to be re-configured or replaced.
  4. The pit safety cover should extend across the entire width of the pit and a sufficient distance over the orchestra pit from the lip of the stage to prevent accidental falls by personnel into the pit and to catch material which, when accidentally dropped from the stage, could cause injury.
  5. The shape and size of the opening in the pit cover for the conductor should allow the conductor to conduct without impediment while not unduly compromising the safety of the musicians.
  6. The pit cover should be an acoustically transparent flameproof net or grid. The net should be of a size and strength appropriate for the impact it may sustain during the production.
  7. A flameproof theatrical gauze or scrim may be stretched over the orchestra pit cover to prevent smaller lightweight objects from falling into the pit. Care should be taken to allow proper ventilation of the orchestra pit if a gauze is used.

Risers/Chair Rails on Risers

  1. Each riser on which seated musicians are required to play should be provided with chair rails of sufficient strength and height to prevent chairs or music stands from sliding off the edge of the riser.
  2. The edges of all risers should be adequately marked.
  3. Access points to the risers should be adequately marked.

Sound Levels

  1. In the section on sound levels, the General Guidelines set forth recommended limits of impulse and steady state sound pressure levels, above which hearing conservation programs should be implemented. The Sound Level Reduction Guidelines outline several strategies which used singly, or in combination, are likely to provide a significant reduction in sound pressure levels received at the ear of the affected worker.

    It is recommended that where workers and management are jointly engaged in efforts to reduce the effect of possible short- and long-term auditory damage to musicians performing in orchestra pits, reference be made to the Sound Levels Guidelines contained in the Safety Guidelines. It is hoped that these guidelines will help to obtain an acceptable sound environment without interfering with the artistic integrity of the production.

Lighting

  1. Adequate lighting should be provided both before and after performance to allow safe movement in and out of the pit.
  2. Music stand lighting sufficient to prevent eye strain should be provided during the performance.
  3. All music stand light levels and changes to levels, including dimming, blackouts and restoration, should be set and rehearsed before the first performance.

Wiring on Floor

Electrical Wiring:

  1. A pit plan showing seating, risers and stand placement should be given to the person responsible for the pit set-up in sufficient time to allow the pit to be wired safely with enough circuits for all the stands and other electrical requirements before the first rehearsal.
  2. Adequate power should be provided for all stand lighting and any other electrical requirements.
  3. If changes to the pit plan are required, sufficient notice should be given to the person responsible for the pit set-up.
  4. All cables in the pit should be of adequate length and be taped down after the set-up is complete. No cable should be stretched to reach the plug-in box.
  5. Re-plugging in the pit should be done only by a competent person.
  6. All cables should be positioned so as not to impede the normal traffic patterns in the pit.

Audio Wiring:

  1. Placement of microphones should allow for adequate room for instrument performance and should not impede the traffic patterns in the pit.
  2. The placement of cables should follow the same recommendations as those for electrical wiring, and should be done only by competent persons.

Housekeeping/Floor Hazards/Fire Hazards

  1. Management should be responsible for general cleaning of the pit on a regular basis.
  2. Each pit musician should be responsible for the removal of all personal items and garbage daily.
  3. Instruments and cases should not be left where they interfere with safe access to and cleaning of the pit.
  4. Garbage receptacles should be reasonably accessible to each pit area.
  5. Open containers of water for reeds or beverages are a potential electrical hazard. Only covered containers should be brought into the pit.
  6. The pit should be vacated during any major re-organization of the pit set-up.
  7. At least two all-purpose fire extinguishers should be strategically placed in the orchestra pit.
  8. All ceiling obstruction (sprinkler heads, light fixtures, pit cameras) should be protected and well-marked.
  9. Personnel in the pit should be protected from any pyrotechnical debris.

Ventilation and Air Conditioning

  1. An orchestra pit is a workplace that, in accordance with section 127 of Regulation 851 (“Industrial Establishments”), R.R.O. 1990, “shall be adequately ventilated by either natural or mechanical means such that the atmosphere does not endanger the health and safety of workers”.
  2. The ventilation in an orchestra pit, in accordance with section 128 of that regulation, shall:
    • replace the air exhausted;
    • be free from contamination with any hazardous dust, vapour, smoke, fume, mist or gas;
    • not blow settled dust into the pit;
    • not interfere with any exhaust system;
    • not cause any undue drafts;
    • prevent the return of exhausted air containing contaminants.
  3. An orchestra pit is a workplace that, in accordance with section 129, shall be maintained at a “temperature suitable for the type of work performed”, and shall be at a temperature “not less than 18° Celsius”.

Performance Space/Ergonomic Factors

  1. Lack of sufficient space in which to play an instrument may cause repetitive motion strain or injury. A pit plan that gives adequate performance space for each musician should be provided by the contractor. Any problems with the pit set-up should be communicated to the contractor or the leader.
  2. Proper seating for each performing musician should be provided in the form of a well-maintained chair of medium to low height with a flat back and a level seat.

More Information

Call toll-free

Call 1-877-202-0008 anytime to report critical injuries, fatalities or work refusals. For general inquiries about workplace health and safety and to report potentially unsafe work conditions, call 8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m., Monday to Friday. In an emergency, always call 911 immediately.

Acknowledgements

The Ontario Advisory Committee for Health and Safety in Live Performance is made up of professionals in live performance from across the province – large and small, commercial and not-for-profit, service organizations and professional associations. We have had input from individual experts both national and international. The Advisory Committee and the Ministry of Labour would like to thank the following people for their help in making this guideline possible.

* Indicates a main committee member at the time the sub-committee was active.

  • Ron Dorman*
  • Cathryn Gregor, Canadian Opera Company
  • Chuck Homewood*
  • Peter Lamb, LivEnt
  • Allan Macmillan*
  • Stephen Mosher, Toronto Musicians’ Association
  • Sharon Poitras*
  • Nigel Romeril, National Ballet Company

ISBN 978-1-4435-9705-0 (HTML)

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer cette page

Fosses d'orchestre
Directive de sécurité pour l'industrie du spectacle de scène en Ontario

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

La fosse d'orchestre, de par sa nature même, est une sorte de vaste piège ouvert sur la scène et représente un risque constant pour la sécurité des actrices et des acteurs, des musiciennes et des musiciens et du personnel de scène. Dans toute directive concernant la sécurité associée à la fosse d'orchestre, il faudrait commencer par rappeler que toutes les travailleuses et tous les travailleurs associés au spectacle sont responsables de la sécurité de tous et de chacun--particulièrement les metteuses et les metteurs en scène qui effectuent les blocages et les actrices et les acteurs qui manipulent des pièces de décor et des articles lâches sur scène, hors de la vue des musiciennes et des musiciens dans la fosse d'orchestre. Dans la fosse d'orchestre, le bon sens devrait prévaloir en tout temps.

Définitions

Autres lieux réservés à l'orchestre
Tout lieu autre que la fosse d'orchestre où les musiciennes et les musiciens sont assis pour exécuter la musique du spectacle.
Fosse d'orchestre
Lieu situé immédiatement en contrebas de l'avant-scène, et parfois partiellement sous la scène, et séparée de l'auditoire par un puits et une main courante, où les musiciennes et les musiciens ont la tête sous la surface de la scène lorsqu'elles et ils sont assis pour jouer.
Maîtresse ou maître de concert (Directrice ou directeur musical, chef d'orchestre)
La personne responsable de l'exécution musicale de l'orchestre.
Régisseure ou régisseur (Directrice ou directeur du personnel)
La personne responsable de l'embauche des musiciennes et des musiciens de l'orchestre.

Directives générales

  1. La régisseure ou le régisseur, ou la maîtresse ou le maître de concert devrait proposer un plan de fosse d'orchestre à la personne en charge de la fosse dans les délais nécessaires pour organiser cette dernière et la maintenir en bon état.
  2. Dans les cas où il est architecturalement impossible de couvrir la fosse d'orchestre, ou si on utilise un autre lieu pour l'orchestre, la direction devrait prendre toutes les précautions nécessaires pour protéger les membres de l'orchestre.

Couvertures de sécurité

  1. Les responsables des lieux de présentation de spectacles avec fosse d'orchestre devraient installer une couverture de sécurité au-dessus de la fosse pour prévenir les chutes accidentelles du personnel dans la fosse et retenir tout matériau qui, s'il tombe accidentellement de la scène, risque de provoquer des blessures.
  2. La couverture de sécurité devrait être en place lorsque la fosse est occupée. En tout autre temps, il faudrait laisser la couverture en place ou installer une barrière d'avertissement, à hauteur de taille d'homme, à une distance suffisante de la fosse pour empêcher toute personne d'y tomber.
  3. Une couverture de sécurité de fosse devrait :
    • pouvoir supporter le poids d'un corps humain qui tombe de la scène ou de tout lieu surélevé utilisé pour la représentation;
    • être ininflammable;
    • ne pas gêner la ventilation de la fosse d'orchestre;
    • assurer un champ de vision adéquat entre la ou le chef d'orchestre et les musiciennes et les musiciens, et la ou le chef d'orchestre et les actrices et les acteurs;
    • se conformer à la forme de l'ouverture de la fosse. Comme chaque fosse d'orchestre a une taille et une forme différentes, les couvertures de sécurité doivent être fabriquées et installées sur mesure. Si une représentation requiert l'utilisation d'éléments de décor qui se prolongent au-dessus de la fosse, il peut être nécessaire de redessiner la couverture d'orchestre ou de la remplacer.
  4. La couverture de sécurité devrait couvrir toute la largeur de la fosse ainsi qu'une distance suffisante au-delà du bord de la scène et au-dessus de la fosse pour éviter les chutes accidentelles du personnel dans la fosse et pour capturer tout article qui, s'il tombe accidentellement de la scène, risque de provoquer des blessures.
  5. La taille et la forme de l'ouverture pratiquée dans la couverture de sécurité pour la ou le chef d'orchestre devrait lui permettre de diriger librement les musiciennes et les musiciens sans toutefois compromettre inutilement leur sécurité.
  6. La couverture d'orchestre devrait être une grille ou un filet ininflammable et acoustiquement transparent. Elle devrait avoir la taille et la force nécessaires pour supporter l'impact qu'elle risque de subir pendant la production.
  7. On peut étendre un canevas ou une toile théâtrale ininflammable au-dessus de la couverture de la fosse d'orchestre pour empêcher les objets légers plus petits de tomber dans la fosse. Si on utilise une toile, il faudrait veiller à ce qu'elle ne gêne pas la ventilation de la fosse d'orchestre.

Plates-formes et rebords de protection

  1. Chaque plate-forme sur laquelle les musiciennes et les musiciens sont assis pour jouer devrait être dotée de rebords de protection dont la hauteur et la résistance sont suffisantes pour empêcher les chaises ou les pupitres à musique de glisser de la plate-forme.
  2. Les rebords de toutes les plates-formes devraient être marqués comme il se doit.
  3. Les points d'accès aux plates-formes devraient être marqués comme il se doit.

Niveaux sonores

  1. Dans la section sur les niveaux sonores, les directives générales fixent les limites des niveaux sonores--impulsions et sons continus--au-dessus desquels il faudrait adopter des mesures de protection de l'ouïe. Les directives sur la réduction des niveaux sonores proposent différentes stratégies qui, utilisées séparément ou conjointement, permettent de réduire considérablement les niveaux sonores auxquels les travailleuses et les travailleurs sont exposés.

    On recommande que les travailleuses et les travailleurs et la direction qui déploient des efforts conjoints pour réduire les dommages auditifs possibles, à court et à long terme, des musiciennes et des musiciens qui jouent dans les fosses d'orchestre, se reportent aux directives sur les niveaux sonores qui figurent dans les Directives sur la sécurité. On espère que ces directives permettront de créer un environnement sonore acceptable sans toutefois compromettre l'intégrité artistique de la représentation.

Éclairage

  1. L'éclairage devrait être suffisant, avant et pendant la représentation, pour permettre aux personnes concernées d'entrer et de sortir de la fosse sans danger.
  2. Les pupitres à musique devraient être suffisamment éclairés pour éviter toute fatigue oculaire pendant l'exécution.
  3. Tous les niveaux de lumière des pupitres à musique ainsi que les changements de niveau, notamment la réduction d'intensité lumineuse, l'extinction des lumières et leur restauration, devraient être indiqués et répétés avant la première représentation.

Installation de fils au sol

Installation électrique :

  1. Avant la première représentation, il faudrait remettre un plan de la fosse d'orchestre indiquant le placement des sièges, des plates-formes et des pupitres à la personne responsable de l'organisation de la fosse, et cela dans des délais convenables pour lui permettre de procéder sans danger à l'installation électrique de la fosse, avec suffisamment de circuits pour tous les pupitres et autres exigences électriques.
  2. L'alimentation électrique devrait être suffisante pour assurer l'éclairage de tous les pupitres et satisfaire à toute autre exigence électrique.
  3. S'il faut apporter des changements à la fosse d'orchestre, il faudrait en informer, dans des délais raisonnables, la personne responsable de l'organisation de la fosse.
  4. Tous les fils électriques utilisés dans la fosse devraient être de longueur adéquate et être fixés au sol une fois l'organisation terminée. Il ne faudrait jamais avoir besoin de tendre un fil pour atteindre la boîte de connexion.
  5. Toute reconnexion électrique dans la fosse devrait être faite par une personne compétente.
  6. Tous les fils électriques devraient être placés de façon à ne pas empêcher les allées et venues normales dans la fosse d'orchestre.

Filerie du son :

  1. Les microphones devraient être placés de façon à ne pas gêner le maniement des instruments et les allées et venues dans la fosse d'orchestre.
  2. Les recommandations pour l'installation des fils acoustiques devraient être les mêmes que pour les fils électriques, et l'installation ne devrait être faite que par des personnes compétentes.

Entretien, risques associés au sol et risques d'incendie

  1. La direction devrait assurer régulièrement le nettoyage général de la fosse d'orchestre.
  2. Chaque musicienne ou musicien qui joue dans la fosse devrait en retirer quotidiennement tous ses objets et détritus personnels.
  3. Il ne faudrait pas laisser les instruments et leurs étuis dans des endroits où ils risquent de gêner l'accès sans danger à la fosse d'orchestre et son nettoyage.
  4. Des poubelles devraient être placées à des endroits raisonnablement accessibles aux personnes qui se trouvent dans la fosse d'orchestre.
  5. Les contenants d'eau ouverts utilisés pour boire ou humecter les anches représentent un risque électrique. Il ne faudrait apporter dans la fosse que des contenants couverts.
  6. Il faudrait vider la fosse d'orchestre avant de procéder à toute réorganisation majeure.
  7. Il faudrait placer au moins deux extincteurs d'incendie universels dans des endroits stratégiques de la fosse d'orchestre.
  8. Toute obstruction du plafond (têtes d'extincteur, dispositifs d'éclairage, caméras utilisés dans la fosse d'orchestre) devrait être protégée et clairement marquée.
  9. Il faudrait protéger le personnel qui se trouve dans la fosse contre tout débris pyrotechnique.

Ventilation et climatisation

  1. Une fosse d'orchestre est un lieu de travail qui, aux termes de l'article 127 du Règlement 851 (« Établissements industriels »), R.R.O. 1990, «est ventilé de façon adéquate par des moyens soit naturels, soit mécaniques, de façon que l'atmosphère ne mette pas en danger la santé et la sécurité des travailleuses et des travailleurs».
  2. La ventilation d'une fosse d'orchestre, conformément à l'article 128 de ce règlement :
    • remplace l'air évacué;
    • permet d'éviter toute contamination avec des poussières, des vapeurs, de la fumée, des émanations, de la buée ou des gaz dangereux;
    • ne souffle pas de dépôts de poussière dans la fosse;
    • ne gêne pas le système d'échappement;
    • ne cause pas de courants d'air inutiles;
    • évite le retour de l'air évacué contenant des contaminants.
  3. La fosse d'orchestre est un lieu de travail qui, aux termes de l'article 129, est maintenu à une « température convenable pour le type de travail effectué » et à une « température non inférieure à 18 °C ».

Espace d'exécution/facteurs ergonomiques

  1. Le fait de manquer d'espace pour jouer d'un instrument peut provoquer une pathologie gestuelle articulaire chez les musiciennes et les musiciens. La régisseure ou le régisseur devrait fournir un plan de fosse qui prévoit un espace suffisant pour chaque exécutante et exécutant. Il faudrait informer la régisseure ou le régisseur ou la maîtresse ou le maître de concert de tout problème associé à l'organisation de la fosse d'orchestre.
  2. Chaque exécutante et exécutant devrait disposer d'un siège adéquat, c'est-à-dire d'une chaise en bon état, de taille moyenne ou basse, avec un dossier droit et un siège plat.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Appelez sans frais, n'importe quand

Composez n'importe quand le 1 877 202-0008 pour signaler des incidents en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail. Pour des renseignements de nature générale sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, composez ce numéro du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h 30 à 17 h. Dans le cas d'une situation d'urgence, il faut toujours composer immédiatement le 911.

Remerciements

Le Comité consultatif sur la santé et la sécurité dans l’industrie du spectacle de scène en Ontario est composé de professionnelles et de professionnels de l’industrie du spectacle de scène en provenance de toutes les parties de la province - associations professionnelles, commerciales et à but non lucratif et organismes du secteur des services, grands et petits. Nous avons pu bénéficier de la contribution d’expertes et d’experts à l’échelle nationale et internationale. Le comité consultatif et le ministère du Travail tiennent à exprimer leurs remerciements à toutes les personnes qui suivent et qui ont collaboré à l’élaboration de la présente directive :

* Indique le nom d’une personne qui était membre du comité principal au moment où le sous-comité était en activité.

  • Ron Dorman*
  • Cathryn Gregor, Compagnie d’opéra canadienne
  • Chuck Homewood*
  • Peter Lamb, LivEnt
  • Allan MacMillan*
  • Stephen Mosher, Toronto Musicians’ Association
  • Sharon Poitras*
  • Nigel Romeril, Ballet national du Canada

ISBN 978-1-4435-9707-4 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4435-9708-1 (Version PDF)

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.