Print This Page

Introduction to the Safety Guidelines for the Live Performance Industry in Ontario

  • Issued: August 2005
  • Revised: February 5, 2016
  • Content last reviewed: February 2016
  • See also: Performance Industry

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

About the Guidelines

The Safety Guidelines for the Live Performance Industry in Ontario (the Guidelines) grew out of a need to address health and safety problems that are unique to our business.

The Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) sets out the rights and duties of all parties in the workplace. It establishes procedures for dealing with workplace hazards and it provides for enforcement of the law where compliance has not been achieved voluntarily by workplace parties. Each employer/engager, supervisor and worker needs to be familiar with the provisions of the OHSA and the regulations that apply to live performance work environments. All of these workplace parties have responsibilities under the OHSA and the regulations. It is important to note that the OHSA definition of “worker” includes self-employed independent contractors.

In the context of live performance workplaces, inspectors with the Ministry of Labour will apply the requirements of the OHSA and the relevant regulations made under the OHSA such as Regulation for Industrial Establishments, Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System (WHMIS) Regulation, and Regulation for Construction Projects. Ministry of Labour inspectors are provided a copy of these Guidelines, but it is important to remember that their responsibility is to apply and enforce the law and they are not bound by or obliged to apply the Guidelines.

Child performers are also covered by the Protecting Child Performers Act, 2015 (PCPA) and its regulations. The main purpose of the PCPA is to promote the best interests, protection and well-being of child performers. The PCPA sets out certain minimum requirements for employing or contracting for the services of child performers in Ontario, including but not limited to requirements regarding the following:

  • Disclosure of information about role and other matters
  • Travel
  • Minimum ages
  • Parental accompaniment
  • Chaperones
  • Child performers’ co-ordinator
  • Child attendants
  • Requirement for clean criminal record
  • Training
  • Right to refuse work
  • Healthy food

For more information please see the Child Performers Guideline.

All provincially-regulated employers in Ontario are required to ensure that workers and supervisors have completed a basic occupational health and safety awareness training program that meets the requirements (such as content and recordkeeping) set out in O. Reg. 297/13 (Occupational Health and Safety Awareness and Training) under the OHSA. Online training programs are available from the Ministry of Labour. Employers/engagers can use their own training programs as long as it satisfies the requirements of the regulation.

The definition of worker under Ontario’s OHSA has been expanded to extend coverage of the OHSA to unpaid co-op students, certain other learners and trainees participating in a work placement in Ontario.

Specifically, the new definition of worker now includes:

  • Unpaid secondary school students who are participating in a work experience program, authorized by the school board that operates the school in which the students are enrolled,
  • Other unpaid learners participating in a program approved by a post-secondary institution, and,
  • Any unpaid trainees who are not employees for the purposes of the Employment Standards Act, 2000 (ESA) because they meet certain conditions.

Volunteers who work for no monetary payment of any kind are not covered by this new definition of worker.

These Guidelines have been prepared by representatives of the industry on the Health and Safety Advisory Committee for Live Performance to assist employers/engagers, supervisors and working professionals in meeting the requirements under the OHSA and the relevant regulations made under the OHSA. The Committee was assisted by experts in the various skills, hazards and techniques mentioned throughout this document.

The Guidelines recommend realistic procedures to develop methods for identifying potential hazards in our work environments, in order to increase our productivity and to protect those working in the live performance industry. Safe procedures do not involve losing the appearance of risk that can be such a vital quality of onstage live performance. These Guidelines are intended to assist people involved in the industry and not replace the laws that are in place. To determine their legal workplace duties and rights, employers/engagers, supervisors and working professionals are urged to refer to the actual legislation. The Guidelines will be continually updated and augmented, to deal with the changes in the live performance field as they occur.

The Guidelines are for everyone in the live performance field. They aim to educate every live performance worker, in all disciplines, at all levels, in the value of hazard recognition and safe working practices. Education is the foundation of any health and safety program, with knowledgeable performers, support staff, and management working together. The more workers and management know, the more effectively they can identify specific needs and issues before those issues become problems.

Safe practice in a safe environment makes for an efficient operation. At all times we must be vigilant in identifying potential hazards by being aware of where we are, what we are doing, with what and to whom. Safety is cost effective in both human and economic terms.

Hazard Recognition, Assessment and Control

Live performance venues and production environments (shops) can be dangerous places. They contain a vast assortment of equipment, tools, chemicals, and people, which together create the play, musical, dance, or opera. Those same components can also create numerous hazards, some with the potential of causing permanent personal injury. Hazard recognition, assessment and control are key to reducing and eliminating real and potential hazards. Everything we do has potential hazards, and everyone we work with is a partner in hazard recognition or a potential victim in occurrences. These Health and Safety Guidelines help you avoid many occurrences and reduce the damage and injury from occurrences that do occur.

The facts:

  • Occurrences, damage and injury are caused.
  • Occurrences, damage and injury can be prevented if the causes are eliminated.
  • Causes can be eliminated if we investigate all occurrences and potential occurrences properly, and implement solutions.
  • Unless the causes are eliminated, the same occurrences will happen again.

Work Safely. Think Broadly.

Awareness must be constant. Together with our knowledge and skills, we must support and appreciate the less tangible human abilities like imagination and intuition in hazard recognition. Beyond the Act and beyond the Guidelines come good judgement, practical knowledge and common sense.

Speak up. Take Action.

Everyone working in live performance, on stages, and in shops must be involved in hazard recognition and control. We must not assume that hazards are other people's responsibility. We must all speak up and take action when we know or believe there are hazards in our workplace. We must also encourage others to speak up, and encourage and support them when they do. There should be no fear of retribution for speaking up about hazards. To be silent and take no action has potentially greater dangers.

Definitions

Hazard:
any circumstance, condition, or combination that poses the risk of an injury.
Occurrence:
any unplanned and unwanted event that may result in damage or injury.
Performance:
includes onstage, backstage, orchestra pit, fly gallery, trap rooms, quick change areas, dressing rooms, cross-over corridors, voms, entrances and booths.
Rehearsal Hall:
the area where the creation of onstage activities with performers, directors, stage managers, choreographers and others occurs.
Production Period:
the span of time from the point at which the production is conceived until the production is completed.
Production Area (shop):
any space where the creation of goods used in live performance occurs. This includes all shops for props, scenery, costumes, lighting, sound, wigs, make-up, special effects, etc.
Minor Injury:
can be treated with first aid.
Major Injury:
requires off-site medical treatment and can result in lost time, loss of limb(s) or permanent disability.
Critical Injury:
is defined in Regulation 834, and means an injury of a serious nature that,
  1. places life in jeopardy,
  2. produces unconsciousness,
  3. results in substantial loss of blood,
  4. involves the fracture of a leg or arm, but not a finger or toe,
  5. involves the amputation of a leg, arm, hand or foot, but not a finger or toe,
  6. consists of burns to a major portion of the body, or
  7. causes the loss of sight in an eye.
Standard Industry Practice:
describes the work that is done and the conditions under which workers normally carry out their occupation.
Workplace:
includes all areas involved in a live performance or rehearsal, and all areas of production used to create those products necessary for a live performance or rehearsal.

Some information to help you use these guidelines more effectively:

  1. Shall is used when referring to a practice that is law. Should is used when referring to a practice we recommend.
  2. For a definition of "competent" person, please refer to the Occupational Health and Safety Act.

General Information

  1. Where applicable, workers in a live performance workplace shall select a safety representative from within the group. If the workers are represented by a union, the union has a responsibility to select a health and safety representative. (See Sections 8 and 9 in the Occupational Health and Safety Act for further information.)
  2. Each workplace shall have a copy of the Act, the Regulations and the Safety Guidelines for Live Performance easily accessible for workers and management.
  3. All workplaces shall follow the first aid requirements made under the Workplace Safety and Insurance Act.
  4. Fire regulations and WHMIS requirements shall be strictly observed. Anyone performing activities or using materials covered by these regulations must ensure that personnel likely to be affected are fully informed of all hazards.

General Recommendations

  1. Where a permanent health and safety committee exists in a live performance location, any incoming group of workers should select a safety representative from within the group.
  2. All workplaces should have a health and safety notice board to warn all personnel of any hazardous procedure, to refer to the relevant health and safety guidelines, and to give the location of safety and first aid equipment. Where a call sheet is used, it should incorporate the day's health and safety information.
  3. Communication is essential. Before the rehearsal of any potentially hazardous sequence, there should be a meeting of all relevant personnel for a thorough briefing. If substantial changes become necessary later on, another meeting should be held for all personnel involved, to confirm everyone's understanding of and agreement to the changes.

More Information

Call toll-free

Call 1-877-202-0008 anytime to report critical injuries, fatalities or work refusals. For general inquiries about workplace health and safety and to report potentially unsafe work conditions, call 8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m., Monday to Friday. In an emergency, always call 911 immediately.

The Committee

We would like to thank the Section 21 Advisory Committee on Health and Safety in the Ontario Film and Television Industry for their pioneering work in developing safety procedures in the entertainment industry.

Members (as of February 2016)

  • Bonnie Armstrong
  • Neil Dennison
  • Michelle DiCesare
  • George Galanis
  • Doug Hook
  • Melynda Jurgenson
  • Mark Lavaway
  • Brandon Moore
  • Stephen Mosher
  • Miriam Newhouse
  • Glenn Pringle
  • Janet Sellery
  • Jasmine Spei
  • Jim Steele
  • Allan Teichman
  • Peter Urbanek
  • Don Brown (MOL Advisor)

Past Members

  • Katrina Baran
  • Lawrence Beevers
  • Jim Biros
  • Craig Blackley
  • Rick Boychuk
  • Alexis Buset
  • James Carnrite
  • Nan Carson
  • Brian Cumberland
  • Adrian Dav
  • Ron Dorman
  • Yvette Drumgold
  • Ron A. Epp
  • David Feheley
  • Jessica Fraser
  • Keith Freiter
  • Jane Gardner
  • Rob Gunn
  • Ivan Habel
  • Joe Henning
  • David Hoekstra
  • Chuck Homewood
  • Syme Jago
  • John Peter Jeffries
  • Tim Jennings
  • Ralph Kearney
  • Ron Kresky
  • Cheryl Landy
  • Douglas Lemcke
  • Kim Litchfield
  • James Livingstone
  • Andrea Lundy
  • Allan Macmillan
  • Mike Maskell
  • Trevor McAnuff
  • Doug McBoyle
  • Patricia McKinna
  • Peter McKinnon
  • Tom McLean
  • Bruce McMullan
  • Jack Minacs
  • Winston Morgan
  • Grace Nakatsu
  • Hugh Neilson
  • Lisa Petro
  • Amber Pennington-McCallum
  • Sharon Poitras
  • Chuck Renaud
  • Gie Roberts
  • Sandy Robinson
  • Jim Roe
  • Kevin Ryan
  • Paul Shaw
  • Julian Sleath
  • Victor Svenningson
  • Shirley Third
  • David R. Thornton
  • Moira Verwijk (Sec. 21 Film/TV)
  • John Watson
  • Martin Zwicker
  • Colin Wilson, MOL Advisor
  • Arupa Tesolin (formerly Linda Tesolin) MOL Advisor

The following companies and associations are/were represented on the committee

  • Associated Designers of Canada
  • Canada’s Wonderland
  • Canadian Actors’ Equity Association
  • Canadian Federation of Musicians
  • Community Cultural Impresarios
  • Canadian Institute for Theatre Technology
  • Canadian Opera Company
  • Canadian Union of Public Employees
  • International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees
  • Living Arts Centre – Mississauga
  • Maple Leaf Sports and Entertainment
  • Mirvish Productions
  • National Ballet School of Canada
  • Professional Association of Canadian Theatres
  • Shaw Festival
  • Sky Dome/Rogers Centre
  • Stratford Festival
  • Theatre Ontario
  • Toronto Theatre Alliance
  • Young People’s Theatre

Ongoing Sub-Committees

* Indicates a main committee member at the time the sub-committee was active.

Communications – Past

  • James Carnrite*
  • Jane Gardner*
  • John Watson*

Editorial – Current

  • Brandon Moore
  • Miriam Newhouse*
  • Peter Messaline, Writer/Actor

Editorial – Past

  • Katrina Baran*
  • Syme Jago*
  • John Peter Jeffries*
  • Sharon Poitras*

ISBN 978-1-4435-9697-8 (HTML)

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer cette page

Introduction aux directives de sécurité pour l'industrie du spectacle de scène en Ontario

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

À propos des directives

Les directives de sécurité pour l'industrie du spectacle de scène en Ontario (les directives) émanent de la nécessité de s'attaquer aux problèmes de santé et de sécurité uniques à notre industrie.

La Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) énonce les droits et les devoirs de toutes les parties du lieu de travail. Elle établit des procédures pour la gestion des dangers sur les lieux de travail et prévoit l'application de la loi en cas de défaut de conformité volontaire des parties du lieu de travail. Chaque employeur, recruteur, producteur, superviseur et travailleur doit bien connaître les dispositions de la LSST et des règlements applicables aux lieux de travail de l'industrie de la scène. Toutes ces parties du lieu de travail ont des responsabilités en vertu de la LSST et des règlements d'application. Il importe de noter que la définition que donne la LSST du travailleur comprend les personnes qui travaillent à leur compte.

Dans le contexte des lieux de travail de la scène, les inspecteurs du ministère du Travail appliqueront les exigences de la LSST et les règlements pertinents pris en application de la LSST tels que le règlement concernant les établissements industriels, le règlement concernant le Système d’information sur les matières dangereuses utilisées au travail (SIMDUT) ainsi que le règlement concernant les chantiers de construction (en anglais seulement). Les inspecteurs du ministère reçoivent également une copie de ces directives; il est toutefois important de se rappeler qu'ils sont tenus de respecter et de faire respecter la loi, mais qu'ils ne sont pas assujettis ni obligés de respecter ces directives.

La Loi de 2015 sur la protection des enfants artistes (LPEA) et ses règlements s'appliquent également aux enfants artistes. L'objet primordial de la LPEA est de promouvoir l'intérêt véritable de l'enfant artiste, sa protection et son bien-être. La LPEA définit certaines exigences minimales pour employer un enfant artiste ou retenir ses services à contrat en Ontario, notamment les exigences relatives aux éléments suivants :

  • la divulgation de renseignements sur le rôle et d'autres questions;
  • les déplacements;
  • les âges minimums;
  • l'accompagnement d'un parent;
  • les accompagnateurs;
  • le coordonnateur des enfants artistes;
  • les surveillants d'enfants;
  • l'exigence relative au dossier criminel vierge;
  • la formation;
  • le droit de refuser de travailler;
  • les aliments sains.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la ligne directrice concernant les enfants artistes.

Tous les employeurs assujettis à la réglementation provinciale en Ontario doivent veiller à ce que les travailleurs et les superviseurs aient terminé un programme de formation élémentaire de sensibilisation à la santé et à la sécurité au travail qui satisfait aux exigences (comme pour le contenu et la tenue de dossiers) énoncées dans le Règl. de l'Ont. 297/13 (Sensibilisation à la santé et à la sécurité au travail et formation) pris en application de la LSST. Des programmes de formation en ligne sont accessibles sur le site Web du ministère du Travail. Les employeurs et les recruteurs peuvent utiliser leurs propres programmes de formation pourvu qu'ils satisfassent aux exigences du règlement.

La définition du terme « travailleur » dans la LSST de l'Ontario a été modifiée afin d'inclure les étudiants en éducation coopérative, certains autres apprenants et les apprentis en stage de travail en Ontario, sans rémunération.

Plus précisément, la nouvelle définition du terme « travailleur » inclut désormais :

  • les élèves du secondaire qui participent sans rémunération à un programme d'initiation à la vie professionnelle autorisé par le conseil scolaire dont relève l'école à laquelle ils sont inscrits;
  • les autres apprenants qui participent sans rémunération à un programme approuvé par un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire;
  • les stagiaires sans rémunération qui ne sont pas employés au sens de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi (LNE) parce qu'ils remplissent certaines conditions.

Les bénévoles qui ne reçoivent aucun type de rémunération sous forme monétaire ne sont pas visés par cette nouvelle définition du terme « travailleur ».

Ces directives ont été préparées par des représentants de l'industrie siégeant au Comité consultatif de l'industrie du spectacle de scène afin d'aider les employeurs, les recruteurs, les producteurs, les superviseurs et les travailleurs professionnels à respecter les exigences en vertu de la LSST et les règlements pertinents pris en application de celle-ci. Des experts ont aidé le comité à élaborer les procédures touchant les multiples compétences, dangers et techniques évoqués dans ce document.

Les directives recommandent la mise en œuvre de procédures réalistes permettant de développer des méthodes d'identification des dangers potentiels présents dans nos lieux de travail afin d'accroître notre productivité et de protéger les personnes qui travaillent dans l'industrie du spectacle de scène. La mise en œuvre de procédures sécuritaires ne signifie pas qu'il faille supprimer l'illusion du risque qui constitue une caractéristique essentielle des spectacles de scène. Les présentes directives visent à aider les gens qui travaillent dans cette industrie et non à remplacer les lois en vigueur. Il est fortement recommandé aux employeurs, recruteurs, superviseurs et professionnels de l'industrie de consulter les lois en vigueur afin de connaître leurs droits et leurs devoirs sur les lieux de travail. Les directives seront mises à jour et étoffées régulièrement en vue de tenir compte des changements survenant dans l'industrie du spectacle de scène.

Elles s'adressent à toutes les personnes qui travaillent dans cette industrie. Elles visent à sensibiliser chaque travailleur de l'industrie du spectacle de scène à tous les niveaux, quel que soit son métier, et à lui faire comprendre l'importance de reconnaître les dangers et d'utiliser des pratiques de travail sécuritaires. Tout programme relatif à la santé et la sécurité repose sur l'éducation et sur la compétence des artistes, du personnel de soutien et des dirigeants qui doivent travailler ensemble. Plus les travailleurs et les membres de la direction sont informés, plus ils peuvent cerner efficacement les besoins et les difficultés particuliers avant que ceux-ci ne posent de réels problèmes.

Toute méthode efficace repose sur des pratiques et sur un environnement sécuritaires. Afin d'identifier les dangers potentiels, nous devons rester vigilants en tout temps en sachant où nous sommes, ce que nous faisons et avec quels outils, ainsi qu'en déterminant les personnes susceptibles d'être concernées. La sécurité est rentable, tant au niveau humain qu'au niveau économique.

Reconnaissance, évaluations et contrôle des dangers

Les lieux de production de spectacles de scène et leurs ateliers peuvent être dangereux. Ils renferment un assortiment très varié de matériel, d'outils, de produits chimiques et de personnes, qui ensemble créent la pièce, la comédie musicale, la danse ou l'opéra. Ces mêmes éléments du spectacle peuvent également causer de nombreux dangers, certains susceptibles de causer des lésions personnelles permanentes. La reconnaissance, l'évaluation et le contrôle des dangers sont essentiels pour réduire et éliminer les dangers réels et potentiels. Tout ce que nous faisons présente des dangers potentiels et toute personne avec laquelle nous travaillons est un partenaire de ces efforts de reconnaissance des dangers ou une victime potentielle d'un événement. Les Directives vous aident à éviter des événements et à réduire les dommages et les lésions résultant des événements.

Les faits :

  • Une cause se trouve à l'origine d'un événement, d'une lésion ou d'un dommage.
  • Nous pouvons éviter les événements, lésions ou dommages si nous éliminons leur cause.
  • Nous pouvons éliminer les causes si nous examinons adéquatement tous les événements et risques d'événements, et mettons en œuvre des solutions.
  • Tant que les causes ne seront pas éliminées, les mêmes événements se reproduiront.

Travaillez sans danger. Pensez à tout.

Il faut constamment être sur ses gardes. Avec l'aide de nos connaissances et de nos aptitudes, nous devons accorder de l'importance aux capacités humaines moins tangibles, telles que l'imagination et l'intuition dans la reconnaissance des dangers. Au-delà de la Loi et des Directives, ce sont les connaissances pratiques et le bon sens qui priment.

Exprimez-vous. Agissez.

Tous ceux qui travaillent dans le domaine du spectacle de scène, sur scène ou dans les ateliers, doivent s'efforcer de reconnaître, d'évaluer et de contrôler les dangers. Il ne faut pas présumer que les dangers relèvent de la responsabilité de quelqu'un d'autre. Nous devons tous nous exprimer et agir lorsque nous savons ou croyons que des dangers existent dans nos lieux de travail. Nous devons également encourager les autres à parler et soutenir leurs efforts. Il ne faut jamais taire l'existence d'un danger par peur des représailles. Garder le silence et ne pas agir peut avoir des conséquences encore plus graves.

Définitions

Danger :
circonstance, condition ou combinaison des deux qui posent un risque de lésion.
Événement :
événement non planifié et non désiré qui risque de causer un dommage ou une lésion.
Spectacle :
scène, arrière-scène, fosse d'orchestre, corridor de service, salles de trappe, loges de plateau, loges, passerelles, passages d'entrée et de sortie, entrées et cabines.
Salle de répétition :
endroit où a lieu la création des activités sur scène avec les acteurs, les directeurs, les régisseurs, les chorégraphes et toute autre personne participant au spectacle.
Période de production :
la période qui s'étend de la conception de la production à la date où la production est terminée.
Aire de production (atelier) :
endroit où sont créés les biens utilisés pour le spectacle de scène. Par exemple : les ateliers d'accessoires, de décor, de costumes, d'éclairage, de son, de perruques, de maquillage et de trucages.
Lésion mineure 
peut être traitée par l'administration des premiers soins.
Lésion grave :
exige un traitement médical à l'extérieur et peut résulter en un arrêt de travail, la perte d'un membre ou une invalidité permanente.
Blessure critique :
c'est défini dans le Règlement 834, et s'entend d'une blessure de nature grave qui, selon le cas :

  1. met la vie en danger,
  2. fait perdre connaissance,
  3. entraîne une perte importante de sang,
  4. comporte la fracture d'une jambe ou d'un bras, mais pas d'un doigt ni d'un orteil,
  5. comporte l'amputation d'une jambe, d'un bras, d'une main ou d'un pied, mais pas d'un doigt ni d'un orteil,
  6. comporte des brûlures sur une grande surface du corps
  7. provoque la perte de la vue dans un oeil.
Pratique standard de l'industrie :
décrit le travail qui est effectué et les conditions dans lesquelles les travailleurs exécutent habituellement leurs activités.
Lieu de travail :
comprend toutes les zones utilisées pour un spectacle de scène ou une répétition, et toutes les zones de production utilisées pour créer des produits nécessaires au spectacle de scène ou à la répétition.

Voici quelques précisions qui vous aideront à comprendre ces directives plus efficacement :

  1. Le présent est utilisé pour désigner une pratique qui a force de loi. Le conditionnel est utilisé pour désigner une pratique que nous recommandons.
  2. Pour une définition de « personne compétente », veuillez consulter la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail.

Renseignements généraux

  1. Lorsque la chose est possible, les travailleuses et les travailleurs qui participent à la réalisation d'un spectacle de scène choisissent dans leur rang une personne déléguée à la santé et à la sécurité. Si les travailleuses et les travailleurs sont représentés par un syndicat, c'est au syndicat de choisir une personne déléguée à la santé et à la sécurité. (Pour plus de précisions, consulter les articles 8 et 9 de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail.)
  2. Il faut mettre à la disposition des travailleuses et des travailleurs des exemplaires facilement accessibles de la Loi, des règlements et des Directives de sécurité pour l'industrie du spectacle de scène dans tous les lieux de travail.
  3. Il faut respecter les prescriptions de la Loi de 1997 sur la sécurité professionnelle et l'assurance contre les accidents du travail concernant les premiers soins dans tous les lieux de travail.
  4. Les règlements concernant la prévention des incendies et les exigences du SIMDUT sont respectés à la lettre. Toute personne qui se livre à des activités ou qui utilise des matières visées par ces règlements doit s'assurer que toutes les personnes employées qui courent des risques en sont clairement informées.

Recommandations générales

  1. S'il existe un comité permanent sur la santé et la sécurité sur les lieux du spectacle, tout nouveau groupe de travailleuses et de travailleurs devrait choisir dans ses rangs une personne déléguée à la sécurité au travail.
  2. Tous les lieux de travail devraient disposer d'un tableau d'affichage sur la santé et la sécurité à l'intention des personnes employées pour les informer de toutes les procédures dangereuses, indiquer les directives pertinentes en matière de santé et de sécurité et désigner les lieux où trouver l'équipement de sécurité et de premiers soins. Lorsqu'on utilise une feuille de route quotidienne, celle-ci devrait contenir les renseignements sur la santé et la sécurité pour la journée.
  3. La communication est essentielle. Avant la répétition d'une scène qui présente des risques, il faudrait réunir tout le personnel concerné pour lui donner tous les renseignements pertinents. Si, plus tard, il devient nécessaire d'apporter des changements importants à la scène, il faudrait convoquer une autre réunion de toutes les participantes et de tous les participants pour s'assurer que chaque membre du personnel comprend les changements et en convient.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Appelez sans frais, n'importe quand

Composez n'importe quand le 1 877 202-0008 pour signaler des blessures critiques, des décés ou des refus de travailler. Pour des renseignements de nature générale sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et par signaler des conditions de travait qui pourraient être dangereuses, composez ce numéro du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h 30 à 17 h. Dans le cas d'une situation d'urgence, il faut toujours composer immédiatement le 911.

Le comité

Nous tenons à remercier le Comité consultatif sur la santé et la sécurité de l’industrie du cinéma et de la télévision de l’Ontario, créé en vertu de l’article 21, qui a fait figure de pionnier dans l’élaboration des mesures de sécurité dans l’industrie du spectacle.

Membres actuels (à compter de février 2016)

  • Bonnie Armstrong
  • Neil Dennison
  • Michelle DiCesare
  • George Galanis
  • Doug Hook
  • Melynda Jurgenson
  • Mark Lavaway
  • Brandon Moore
  • Stephen Mosher
  • Miriam Newhouse
  • Glenn Pringle
  • Janet Sellery
  • Jasmine Spei
  • Jim Steele
  • Allan Teichman
  • Peter Urbanek
  • Don Brown (conseiller au ministère du Travail)

Anciens membres

  • Katrina Baran
  • Lawrence Beevers
  • Jim Biros
  • Craig Blackley
  • Rick Boychuk
  • Alexis Buset
  • James Carnrite
  • Nan Carson
  • Brian Cumberland
  • Adrian Dav
  • Ron Dorman
  • Yvette Drumgold
  • Ron A. Epp
  • David Feheley
  • Jessica Fraser
  • Keith Freiter
  • Jane Gardner
  • Rob Gunn
  • Ivan Habel
  • Joe Henning
  • David Hoekstra
  • Chuck Homewood
  • Syme Jago
  • John Peter Jeffries
  • Tim Jennings
  • Ralph Kearney
  • Ron Kresky
  • Cheryl Landy
  • Douglas Lemcke
  • Kim Litchfield
  • James Livingstone
  • Andrea Lundy
  • Allan Macmillan
  • Mike Maskell
  • Trevor McAnuff
  • Doug McBoyle
  • Patricia McKinna
  • Peter McKinnon
  • Tom McLean
  • Bruce McMullan
  • Jack Minacs
  • Winston Morgan
  • Grace Nakatsu
  • Hugh Neilson
  • Lisa Petro
  • Amber Pennington-McCallum
  • Sharon Poitras
  • Chuck Renaud
  • Gie Roberts
  • Sandy Robinson
  • Jim Roe
  • Kevin Ryan
  • Paul Shaw
  • Julian Sleath
  • Victor Svenningson
  • Shirley Third
  • David R. Thornton
  • Moira Verwijk (Article 21, cinéma/télé)
  • John Watson
  • Martin Zwicker
  • Colin Wilson, conseiller au ministère du Travail
  • Arupa Tesolin (autrefois Linda Tesolin), conseiller au ministère du Travail

Les entreprises et associations suivantes sont représentées :

  • Alliance internationale des employés de scène et de théâtre
  • Association des designers canadiens
  • Ballet national du Canada
  • Canadian Actors’ Equity Association
  • Canada’s Wonderland
  • Community Cultural Impresarios
  • Fédération canadienne des musiciens
  • Institut Canadien des Technologies Scénographiques
  • La Compagnie d’opéra canadienne
  • Living Arts Centre – Mississauga
  • Maple Leaf Sports and Entertainment
  • Productions Mirvish
  • Professional Association of Canadian Theatres
  • Shaw Festival
  • Sky Dome/Rogers Centre
  • Stratford Festival
  • Syndicat canadien de la fonction publique
  • Theatre Ontario
  • Toronto Theatre Alliance
  • Young People’s Theatre

Sous-comités actifs

* Indique le nom d’une personne qui était membre du comité principal au moment où le sous-comité était en activité.

Communications – anciens membres

  • James Carnrite*
  • Jane Gardner*
  • John Watson*

Éditorial – membres actuels

  • Brandon Moore
  • Miriam Newhouse*
  • Peter Messaline, écrivain/acteur

Éditorial – anciens membres

  • Katrina Baran*
  • Syme Jago*
  • John Peter Jeffries*
  • Sharon Poitras*

ISBN 978-1-4435-9699-2(HTML)

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.