Print Print This Page

Fog and Smoke
Safety Guideline for the Live Performance Industry in Ontario

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. FOR FURTHER INFORMATION PLEASE SEE FULL DISCLAIMER

Definitions

Both smoke and fog are suspensions of solid particles or liquid droplets in air. Each may be accompanied by one or more gases.

Smoke
For the purposes of this document the term smoke will refer to a suspension that rises, expanding indefinitely.
Fog
For the purposes of this document the term fog will refer to a suspension that falls, being heavier than air. This includes smoke that has been chilled.
MSDS
Supplier Material Safety Data Sheet that provides comprehensive information on a WHMIS controlled product, relating to its handling, storage, use and known health effects.

Regulatory Requirements for Chemicals

Regulation 833 entitled Control of Exposure to Biological or Chemical Agents and Workplace Hazardous Material Information System ( WHMIS) legislation apply to all the chemicals used for fog and smoke such as glycols, dry ice, liquid nitrogen etc. Regulation 833 prescribes limits for daily and weekly exposure of workers to biological or chemical agents. Exposure is to be controlled using engineering controls, work practices, hygiene facilities and practices and in certain situations personal protective equipment. WHMIS is designed to give employers and workers information about hazardous materials used in the workplace. Under WHMIS, there are three ways in which information on hazardous materials is to be provided:

  • labels on the container of hazardous materials;
  • material safety data sheets to supplement the label with detailed hazard and precautionary information; and
  • worker education

General Guidelines

  1. Dry ice and liquid nitrogen are commonly used and safe-handling procedures must be followed.
  2. Only fog/smoke products that have a Supplier Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) that meet WHMIS requirements should be used.
  3. Some products use proprietary formulas, concealing the identity and proportion of ingredients. Products whose MSDSs clearly identify the chemical ingredients with precautions in safe handling should be preferred.
  4. Fog/smoke products should be used exactly as the manufacturer directs and should not be adulterated or altered in any way such as by adding dyes, fragrances or additional chemicals. Coloured fog can be achieved with coloured light.
  5. Fog/smoke generating machines should be used and maintained in good condition as required by the Occupational Health and Safety Act.
  6. Fog/smoke generating machines or other sources should be located to minimize exposure to the concentrated smoke or fog as it is created.
  7. Fog/smoke outlets should be located well out of traffic areas. Residue can be tracked well beyond the area of use and may create a slipping hazard. See Regulation 851, Section 11(a) for Industrial Establishments.
  8. The theatre's regular first aid and emergency plan should include response to severe reactions to fog and smoke.
  9. Prior to workers' engagement for any production with fog/smoke effects, the workers should be told the type of chemical fog/smoke product that will be used. The MSDS on the fog/smoke shall be available to workers on request prior to engagement and workers shall be given instruction/training on safe handling and use of the chemicals.
  10. High-risk individuals should not be exposed to smoke and fog. This group includes, but is not limited to, children, people with severe lung problems and/or asthma, pregnant women and people with serious illnesses including AIDS.
  11. Respirators equipped with appropriate filter cartridges shall be used when circumstances warrant. Filter cartridges should be used according to manufacturers' recommendations and selected based on the chemical hazards present.
  12. Persons should not be assigned to tasks requiring use of respirators unless they are physically able to perform the work and use the equipment. Workers required to wear respirators who experience breathing difficulty while using respirators shall be referred to a physician for evaluation.
  13. Exposure to fog and smoke during strenuous physical activity should be minimized.
  14. Individuals who experience adverse reactions to fog and smoke exposure should be immediately removed to a well-ventilated area and the theatre's first aid or emergency providers should be notified.
  15. If an adverse reaction occurs, the occurrence should be investigated by the departmental supervisor, stage manager and/or shop steward.
  16. A written report of the findings should be made to the Joint Health and Safety Committee or Health and Safety Representative, and appropriate labour and management associations. The individual experiencing the reaction should be given a copy of this report.

Smoke

One of the most common methods of producing smoke is by passing a fluid under pressure through a heating unit, causing the fluid to vaporize. Only machines designed and manufactured for the generation of stage smoke should be used. The relationship between fluid composition and temperature settings and other internal features of the generating equipment is critical. Under-heating of a fluid may lead to a wet smoke that will leave a residue, and over-heating of the fluid may lead to fluid decomposition.

There are two main types of smoke fluids: Glycol-based products and Oil-based products, and two other, less satisfactory, ways of producing smoke: Fumed Inorganic Chemicals and Burned Organic Chemicals.

  1. Glycol-based Products often called "water based", although they contain more chemicals than water.
    1. Ensure that the generating machine is operating properly;
      • appropriate rate of compression,
      • correct temperature of heating coil.
      (See the effects of under-and over-heating referred to above.)
    2. These fluids should be in a secured container while in use.
    3. As these smokes condense and settle on surfaces, they leave a minute film of slippery liquid, especially in the immediate area of the smoke outlet. This may produce a hazard. See Regulation 851, Section 11(a) for Industrial Establishments.
    4. Propylene Glycol and Butylene Glycol are more commonly used than Monoethylene Glycol and Diethylene Glycol because they are less hazardous.
    5. Glycols are hygroscopic, meaning they absorb water out of the atmosphere. This may cause respiratory and eye irritation. People wearing contact lenses are especially vulnerable to eye irritation.
  2. Oil-based Products "Petroleum based" or organic (vegetable) products. These fluids are less appropriate fog/smoke products than glycol.
    1. Any oil in aerosolized form can be combustible--even explosive--at the wrong concentrations. Naked flame and sparks should not be permitted near oil-based smoke.
    2. Only 100% food grade organic oils, or highly refined clear mineral oils should be used. Identify any vegetable oils present since there are people who are allergic to certain vegetables.
    3. Avoid fluid containing "industrial grade" oils such as fuel oil, cutting oil and paraffin oils. These contain impurities that may cause adverse reactions.
    4. Like Glycol-based products, oil aerosols can cause extremely slippery surface conditions. See Regulation 851, Section 11(a) for Industrial Establishments.
    5. A Class B portable fire extinguisher shall be located near the location where the oil-based products are used as per section 123(1) of Regulation 851.
    6. All electrical equipment that may be affected by the combustible liquid while it is in aerosol or mist form shall meet the requirements of Part 18 of the Ontario Electrical Safety Code for a Class 1 hazardous location. The density of the aerosol or mist cloud will influence the determination as to whether the location is a Division 1 or Division 2 location.
    7. Smoke fluid containers and the equipment used to make the aerosol or mist shall be bonded together and to ground as per Section 22(4)(b) of Regulation 851.
  3. Fumed Inorganic Chemicals Chemicals that fume when heated, creating tiny airborne particles.
    1. The majority of smoke products of this type are chlorides, which are all respiratory irritants.
    2. Ammonium Chloride (Sal Ammoniac Powder) is considered the least irritating, although heavy exposure should be avoided.
    3. All other chlorides should not be used.
  4. Organic Materials Smoke can be produced by burning frankincense, rosin, charcoal, tobacco, paper, naphthalene, rubber, etc.
    1. Any burning materials will produce carbon dioxide, carbon monoxide, and a host of irritating and toxic gases, vapours, and fumes. Exposure should be limited.
    2. Smoke from pyrotechnic effects should be treated as burned organic material.
  5. NOTE: PYRO is regulated under Federal regulations. The Explosives Regulatory Division (ERD) of Natural Resources Canada is responsible for the administration of the Canada Explosives Act--an act that regulates matters related to explosives and pyrotechnics. ERD offers a Pyrotechnic Special Effects Course. This one-day course serves to promote the safe use of all pyrotechnics and special-purpose effects as used in entertainment and performing arts. For more information, contact:

    Natural Resources Canada
    Explosives Regulatory Division
    1431 Merivale Rd
    Ottawa ON K1A 0G1
    Attention: John Hendrick
    Senior Inspector of Explosives
    Tel: (613) 948-5175
    Fax: (613) 948-5195

  6. A/B Smoke Acid and base smoke.
    1. Highly irritating and toxic. Do not use.
    2. This smoke is produced when two different chemicals, commonly cyclohexylamine and acetic acid, interact. (This is not to be confused with A/B PYRO.)

Fog

There are two common ways of producing fog. One is by chilling smoke, in which case the SMOKE guidelines apply. The other method is by condensing the natural moisture in the air, using extremely cold materials such as dry ice (frozen carbon dioxide) or liquid nitrogen.

  1. Dry ice or any other chilling agent must be handled with caution. Directly exposing skin to dry ice or other chilling agents can cause severe frostbite.
  2. Caution should be exercised when breaking up dry ice. Personal protective equipment such as eye protection and gloves shall be used in the handling of dry ice.
  3. Dry ice and liquid nitrogen should be transported and stored in the container provided by the supplier or transferred to a suitable container. The container shall be clearly labelled and such labels shall remain plainly visible. The handling and transportation of all compressed gas cylinders shall meet WHMIS and TDC (Transportation of Dangerous Goods) requirements.
  4. Because carbon dioxide and nitrogen displace oxygen, adequate ventilation must be ensured in low-lying areas and confined spaces, including, but not limited to, orchestra pits, trap rooms and stairwells.

More Information

Call toll-free

Call 1-877-202-0008 anytime to report critical injuries, fatalities or work refusals. For general inquiries about workplace health and safety and to report potentially unsafe work conditions, call 8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m., Monday to Friday. In an emergency, always call 911 immediately.

Organizations and Associations

Natural Resources Canada
(Contact: Dave McCulloch)
Explosives Regulatory Division
1431 Merivale Road
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G1

Fire Prevention Department
(Contact: Chief Ted Scovel)
New City Hall
100 Queen Street West
Toronto, Ontario
M5H 2N2

Acknowledgements

The Ontario Advisory Committee for Health and Safety in Live Performance is made up of professionals in live performance from across the province – large and small, commercial and not-for-profit, service organizations and professional associations. We have had input from individual experts both national and international. The Advisory Committee and the Ministry of Labour would like to thank the following people for their help in making this guideline possible.

* Indicates a main committee member at the time the sub-committee was active.

  • Jim Biros*
  • Rick Boychuk*
  • Rob Gunn*
  • Peter McKinnon*
  • Steve Mosher*
  • Bob Nicholson
  • Shirley Third*

ISBN 978-1-4435-9737-1 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4435-9738-8 (PDF)

Imprimer cette page

Brouillard et fumée
Directives de sécurité pour l'industrie du spectacle de scène en Ontario

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Définitions

Le brouillard et la fumée sont des suspensions de particules solides ou de gouttes liquides dans l'air. Ils peuvent chacun s'accompagner d'un ou de plusieurs gaz.

Fumée :
aux fins du présent document, le mot fumée désigne une suspension qui s'élève et se propage indéfiniment.
Brouillard :
aux fins du présent document, le mot brouillard désigne une suspension qui tombe, plus lourde que l'air. Il peut s'agir de fumée qui a été refroidie.
FDSM :
feuille de données sur la sûreté des matériaux du fournisseur; la feuille fournit des renseignements complets sur un produit contrôlé du SIMDUT, en ce qui touche à sa manipulation, son stockage, son utilisation ou ses effets connus sur la santé.

Exigences réglementaires en matiere de produits chimiques

Le règlement 833 sur le contrôle de l'exposition aux agents biologiques ou chimiques et le règlement sur le Système d'information sur les matériaux dangereux utilisés au travail (SIMDUT) s'appliquent à tous les produits chimiques utilisés pour le brouillard et la fumée comme le glycol, la glace sèche, l'azote liquide, etc. Le règlement 833 prescrit les limites d'exposition quotidienne et hebdomadaire des travailleurs aux agents biologiques ou chimiques. L'exposition doit être contrôlée en utilisant les mesures d'ingénierie, les pratiques de travail, les centres et les pratiques d'hygiène personnelle et, dans certaines situations, un équipement de protection individuelle. Le SIMDUT est conçu de manière à donner aux employeurs et aux travailleurs l'information sur les matériaux dangereux utilisés au travail. En vertu du SIMDUT, il y a trois façons selon lesquelles l'information sur les matériaux dangereux doit être fournie :

  • étiquettes sur le contenant de matières dangereuses;
  • feuille de données sur la sûreté des matériaux pour compléter l'étiquette indiquant l'information détaillée sur le danger et les renseignements de précaution;
  • formation des travailleurs.

Directives générales

  1. La glace sèche ou l'azote liquide sont couramment utilisés et des procédures sur le maniement prudent de ces produits doivent être suivies.
  2. Seuls les produits de brouillard ou fumée pour lesquels existe une feuille de données sur la sûreté des matériaux (FDSM) remise par le fournisseur et qui répond aux exigences du SIMDUT devraient être utilisés.
  3. Certains produits contiennent des spécialités cachant l'identité et la proportion des ingrédients. Il faudrait préférer les produits dont la fiche d'information sur la sécurité du matériel détaille clairement les ingrédients chimiques et les mesures de précaution à prendre pour leur manipulation prudente.
  4. Les produits de brouillard ou fumée devraient être utilisés exactement comme le prescrit le fabricant. Il ne faut pas les modifier ni ajouter des colorants, des fragrances ou d'autres produits chimiques. Pour colorer le brouillard, il suffit d'utiliser une lumière de couleur.
  5. Les machines produisant du brouillard ou de la fumée devraient être utilisées et entretenues en bon état conformément aux instructions du fabricant et aux recommandations prévues dans la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail.
  6. Les machines produisant du brouillard ou de la fumée ou toute autre source de brouillard ou fumée devraient être placées de façon à minimiser l'exposition au brouillard ou à la fumée concentrés au fur et à mesure de leur émanation.
  7. Les exutoires de fumée ou de brouillard devraient être situés dans des endroits éloignés de la circulation. Des résidus peuvent être détectés bien au-delà de l'endroit où la fumée ou le brouillard a été utilisé et peuvent causer un risque de chute. Voir l'article 11 du règlement 851 relatif aux établissements industriels.
  8. Le plan d'urgence médicale et de premiers soins du théâtre devrait être mis à jour s'il ne contient pas encore une réponse aux réactions graves au brouillard ou à la fumée.
  9. Avant l'engagement d'un travailleur pour n'importe quelle production prévoyant des effets de brouillard ou fumée, la direction doit indiquer au travailleur le type de produits chimiques qui sera utilisé pour créer du brouillard ou de la fumée. La feuille de données sur la sûreté des matériaux relative au brouillard ou à la fumée doit être mise à la disposition du travailleur sur demande, avant l'engagement. En outre, le travailleur doit recevoir des instructions ou une formation sur la manipulation prudente et l'utilisation des produits chimiques.
  10. Les personnes à risques élevés ne devraient pas être exposées à la fumée et au brouillard. Il peut s'agir, notamment, d'enfants, de personnes souffrant de problèmes graves de poumons ou d'asthme, de femmes enceintes et de personnes souffrant de maladies graves liées au SIDA. Il faut également tenir compte du public qui peut également compter des personnes à risques élevés.
  11. Des respirateurs munis de cartouches à filtre appropriées devraient être utilisés au besoin. Les cartouches à filtre doivent être utilisées conformément aux recommandations du fabricant. En outre, elles doivent être choisies compte tenu des risques chimiques présentés.
  12. Les personnes qui ne sont pas physiquement capables d'effectuer le travail et d'utiliser l'équipement ne devraient pas être affectées à des tâches exigeant le port de respirateurs. Les travailleurs qui doivent porter des respirateurs et qui ont des difficultés à respirer pendant qu'ils portent le respirateur seront renvoyés à un médecin pour évaluation.
  13. L'exposition au brouillard ou à la fumée pendant une activité physique intense devrait être réduite au minimum.
  14. Les personnes qui ressentent des effets indésirables à l'exposition au brouillard ou à la fumée devraient immédiatement être transportées dans un endroit bien ventilé et les fournisseurs de premiers soins ou de soins en cas d'urgence du théâtre devraient être avertis.
  15. Si une réaction indésirable se produit, l'incident doit faire l'objet d'une enquête du superviseur du service, du régisseur ou du délégué syndical.
  16. Un rapport écrit contenant les conclusions de l'enquête devrait être communiqué au comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité ou à un délégué à la santé et à la sécurité, ainsi qu'aux associations patronales-syndicales concernées. La personne ayant subi les effets indésirables devrait également recevoir une copie de ce rapport.

Fumée

L'une des méthodes les plus couramment utilisées pour produire de la fumée est de faire passer un fluide sous pression par un élément chauffant, causant la vaporisation du fluide. Seules les machines conçues et fabriquées en vue de la production de fumée sur scène devraient être utilisées. La relation entre la composition du fluide et les températures utilisées et d'autres caractéristiques internes du matériel de production est très importante. Si l'on ne chauffe pas assez le fluide, de la fumée mouillée sera produite qui laissera des résidus. Si l'on chauffe trop le fluide, il risque de se décomposer.

Il existe deux types principaux de fluides à fumée : les produits à base de glycol et les produits à base d'huile. Il y a deux autres moyens, moins satisfaisants, de produire de la fumée : les produits chimiques inorganiques sublimés et les produits chimiques organiques brûlés.

  1. Produits à base de glycol : Souvent appelés « à l'eau », bien qu'ils contiennent plus de substances chimiques que d'eau.
    1. Il faut s'assurer que la machine produisant la fumée est en bon état de fonctionnement;
      • Taux de compression approprié,
      • Bonne température de l'élément chauffant.
      (Voir les effets du surchauffement ou du sous-chauffement ci-dessus.)
    2. Ces fluides devraient se trouver dans un contenant bien fermé pendant leur utilisation.
    3. Pendant que les fumées se condensent et se posent sur les surfaces, elles laissent une fine pellicule de liquide glissant, surtout dans les environs des exutoires de fumées. Cette pellicule de liquide peut constituer un danger. Voir le paragraphe 11 (a) du règlement 851 relatif aux établissements industriels.
    4. Le propylèneglycol et le butylène glycol sont plus souvent utilisés que le monoethylène glycol et le diéthylèneglycol car ils sont moins dangereux.
    5. Les glycols sont hygroscopiques, c'est-à-dire qu'ils absorbent l'humidité de l'air, ce qui peut causer des problèmes respiratoires et des irritations des yeux. Les personnes qui portent des lentilles de contact risquent spécialement de souffrir d'irritation aux yeux.
  2. Produits à base d'huile : Produits à base de pétrole ou organiques (légumes). Ces produits sont moins efficaces pour produire du brouillard ou de la fumée que le glycol.
    1. Toute huile en aérosol peut être combustible et même explosive, si elle est utilisée dans une concentration inadéquate. Il ne faudrait pas permettre la présence de flammes ou d'étincelles nues près d'une fumée à base d'huile.
    2. Il ne faudrait utiliser que des huiles organiques à 100 % considérées comme alimentaires ou de l'huile minérale claire hautement raffinée. Il faut préciser les huiles végétales présentes, car certaines personnes sont allergiques à quelques légumes.
    3. Il convient d'éviter les fluides contenant des huiles considérées comme industrielles, telles que du mazout, de l'huile de coupe et de l'huile de paraffine. Ces dernières contiennent des impuretés qui peuvent causer des réactions indésirables.
    4. Comme les produits à base de glycol, les huiles en aérosol peuvent causer des conditions de surface extrêmement glissantes. Voir le paragraphe 11 (a) du règlement 851 relatif aux établissements industriels.
    5. Un extincteur d'incendie portatif de catégorie B doit être placé près de l'endroit où sont utilisés les produits à base d'huile, conformément au paragraphe 123 (1) du règlement 851.
    6. L'équipement électrique qui est susceptible de subir les effets du liquide combustible lorsqu'il est sous forme d'aérosol ou de brouillard doit se conformer aux exigences de la partie 18 du code ontarien de l'électricité (Ontario Electrical Safety Code) pour un emplacement dangereux de catégorie 1. La densité de l'aérosol ou du brouillard aura une incidence sur la détermination de l'emplacement, à savoir s'il s'agit d'un emplacement de la division 1 ou de la division 2.
    7. Les contenants de fumée liquide et l'équipement utilisé pour faire l'aérosol ou du brouillard seront entreposés ensemble par terre, conformément à l'alinéa 22 (4) b) du règlement 851.
  3. Substances chimiques sublimées : Substances chimiques qui fument quand elles sont chauffées, créant de minuscules particules aéroportées.
    1. La majorité des produits de fumée de ce genre sont des chlorures, qui sont tous des irritants respiratoires.
    2. Le chlorure d'ammonium (poudre de sel ammoniac) est considéré comme le moins irritant, bien qu'il faille éviter une trop grande exposition.
    3. Tous les autres chlorures ne devraient pas être utilisés.
  4. Matériaux organiques : De la fumée peut être produite en brûlant notamment de l'huile d'oliban, de la colophane, du charbon, du tabac, du papier, de la naphtaline ou du caoutchouc.
    1. Les matériaux brûlés produisent du dyoxide de carbone, du monoxyde de carbone et des vapeurs, fumées et gaz irritants et toxiques. L'exposition à ces substances devrait être limitée.
    2. La fumée provenant d'effets pyrotechniques devrait être considérée comme une substance organique brûlée.

    REMARQUE : tous les effets pyrotechniques sont couverts par les règlements fédéraux. La Division de la réglementation des explosifs (DRE) de Ressources naturelles Canada est responsable de l'administration de la Loi sur les explosifs (Canada) qui régit les affaires relatives aux explosifs et à la pyrotechnie. La DRE offre un cours sur les effets pyrotechniques spéciaux. Ce cours d'une journée sert à promouvoir l'utilisation sécuritaire de toutes les pièces pyrotechniques et à effets spéciaux comme ils sont utilisés dans les divertissements et les spectacles. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

    Ressources naturelles Canada
    Division de la réglementation des explosifs
    1431 Merivale Rd
    Ottawa ON K1A 0G1
    À l'attention de John Hendrick
    Inspecteur principal des explosifs
    Téléphone : (613) 948-5175
    Télécopieur : (613) 948-5195
  5. Fumée A/B : Fumée acide et de base.
    1. Très irritante et toxique. À ne pas utiliser.
    2. Cette fumée s'obtient lorsque deux produits chimiques différents, généralement la cyclohexylamine et l'acide acétique, interagissent. (Il ne faut pas confondre la fumée A/B avec les effets pyrotechniques A/B.)

BROUILLARD

Il y a deux moyens courants de produire du brouillard : l'un en refroidissant la fumée, auquel cas les directives sur la FUMÉE s'appliquent, et l'autre en condensant l'humidité naturelle de l'air, en utilisant des matériaux extrêmement froids, tels que de la glace sèche (dyoxide de carbone gelé) ou de l'azote liquide.

  1. Il faut manipuler avec prudence la glace sèche ou tout autre agent refroidissant. Exposer directement la peau à de la glace sèche ou à un autre agent refroidissant peut causer des gelures graves.
  2. Il faut faire preuve de prudence en cassant la glace sèche. Un équipement de protection individuelle, tel qu'une protection pour les yeux ou des gants, devrait être utilisé pendant la manipulation de glace sèche.
  3. La glace sèche et l'azote liquide devraient être transportés et conservés dans un contenant fourni par le fournisseur ou transférés à un contenant approprié. Le contenant devrait porter clairement une étiquette, qui devrait rester visible. La manutention et le transport de toutes les bouteilles à gaz comprimé doivent répondre aux exigences du SIMDUT et des procédures relatives au transport des matières dangereuses.
  4. Comme le dioxyde de carbone et l'azote déplacent l'oxygène, une ventilation adéquate devrait être assurée dans des endroits en dépression et dans des espaces clos, y compris les fosses d'orchestre, les salles de trappes et les escaliers.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Appelez sans frais, n'importe quand

Composez n'importe quand le 1 877 202-0008 pour signaler des incidents en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail. Pour des renseignements de nature générale sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, composez ce numéro du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h 30 à 17 h. Dans le cas d'une situation d'urgence, il faut toujours composer immédiatement le 911.

Organismes et associations

Ressources naturelles Canada
Division de la réglementation des explosifs
(Personne-ressource : Dave McCulloch)
1431, rue Merivale
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G1

Service de prévention des incendies
(Personne-ressource : Ted Scovel, chef de service d’incendie)
New City Hall
100, rue Queen ouest
Toronto (Ontario)
M5H 2N2

Remerciements

Le Comité consultatif sur la santé et la sécurité dans l’industrie du spectacle de scène en Ontario est composé de professionnelles et de professionnels de l’industrie du spectacle de scène en provenance de toutes les parties de la province - associations professionnelles, commerciales et à but non lucratif et organismes du secteur des services, grands et petits. Nous avons pu bénéficier de la contribution d’expertes et d’experts à l’échelle nationale et internationale. Le comité consultatif et le ministère du Travail tiennent à exprimer leurs remerciements à toutes les personnes qui suivent et qui ont collaboré à l’élaboration de la présente directive :

* Indique le nom d’une personne qui était membre du comité principal au moment où le sous-comité était en activité.

  • Jim Biros*
  • Rick Boychuk*
  • Rob Gunn*
  • Peter McKinnon*
  • Steve Mosher*
  • Bob Nicholson
  • Shirley Third*

ISBN 978-1-4435-9739-5 (HTML)

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.