Table of Contents | Print Print This Page

Appendix B: Training and Other Requirements

Section 22.3 of the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) provides that the Minister of Labour shall appoint a Chief Prevention Officer (CPO) to establish requirements for certification of persons for the purposes of the OHSA and to certify persons under section 7.6 who meet those requirements.

Specifically, pursuant to section 7.6 of the OHSA, the CPO has the authority to establish training and other requirements a joint health and safety committee member shall fulfill in order to become a certified member, and to certify a committee member who fulfils those requirements.

On April 1, 2012, the CPO established the standards set out in the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB) document entitled “Certification Standards for Joint Health and Safety Committees, May 1996” updated January 2007 ("1996 JHSC Certification Training Standards") as the training requirements that committee members must meet in order to become certified. These standards continue to be in effect until February 29, 2016.

Committee members who have successfully completed Part One and Part Two training under the 1996 JHSC Certification Standards prior to March 1, 2016 will be considered for certification by the CPO pursuant to the training and other requirements established by the CPO on April 1, 2012. Members who have not yet been certified by the CPO under the 1996 JHSC Certification Training Standards, but who have successfully completed Part One and Part Two training under the 1996 JHSC Certification Standards prior to March 1, 2016, may submit confirmation of their successful completion of Part One and Part Two training to the CPO until April 30, 2016 to be certified pursuant to the training and other requirements established by the CPO on April 1, 2012. After April 30, 2016, committee members may not submit evidence of successful completion of training under the 1996 JHSC Certification Standards in order to become certified by the CPO.

Committee members who have been deemed to be certified by the CPO or certified by the CPO under the 1996 JHSC Certification Standards will maintain their certifications after March 1, 2016.

In accordance with the authority set out in section 7.6 of the OHSA, and effective March 1, 2016, the CPO is establishing the following training and other requirements a committee member must fulfill in order to become a certified member.

As of March 1, 2016, the CPO may certify committee members who fulfill the training and other requirements set out in either Part A or Part B:

A. General training and other requirements for committee members seeking certification

The committee member must meet the requirements set out in paragraphs A1-3:

  1. Complete a JHSC Certification Part One Training Program that:
    1. is approved by the CPO under subsection 7.1(2) of the Act as meeting the Ministry of Labour Joint Health and Safety Committee Certification Program Standard, dated October 1, 2015; and
    2. is delivered by a training provider approved by the CPO under subsection 7.2(2) of the Act as meeting the Ministry of Labour Joint Health and Safety Committee Certification Provider Standard, dated October 1, 2015.
  2. Complete a JHSC Certification Part Two Training Program that:
    1. is approved by the CPO under subsection 7.1(2) of the Act as meeting the Ministry of Labour Joint Health and Safety Committee Certification Program Standard, dated October 1, 2015; and
    2. is delivered by a training provider approved by the CPO under subsection 7.2(2) of the Act as meeting the Ministry of Labour Joint Health and Safety Committee Certification Provider Standard, dated October 1, 2015; and
    3. provides training in a minimum of 6 hazards relevant to the committee member’s workplace; and
    4. subject to an extension that may be granted by the CPO in accordance with paragraph A4, is completed within 6 months of one of the following dates, as applicable:
      1. The date that the committee member completed a JHSC Certification Part One Training Program that met the requirements of paragraph A1; or
      2. The date that the committee member completed a JHSC Certification Refresher Training Program, that:
        1. met the requirements of paragraphs C1 i-ii; and,
        2. was delivered within 3 years of the committee member completing a JHSC Certification Part One Training Program that met the requirements of paragraph A1.
  3. Take Refresher Training in accordance with the requirements and timeframes set out in Part C to maintain their certification.
  4. The CPO may, within 6 months of the committee member’s completion of a JHSC Certification Part One Training Program, grant a one-time 6 month extension for the completion of a JHSC Certification Part Two Training Program.

B. Training and other requirements for committee members who have only completed Part One training under the 1996 JHSC Certification Training Standards prior to March 1, 2016.

Committee members who have successfully completed Part One training under the 1996 JHSC Certification Training Standards prior to March 1, 2016 may submit proof of successful completion of that training, and in addition, must meet the training and other requirements set out in paragraphs B1 -2:

  1. Complete a JHSC Certification Part Two Training Program that:
    1. is approved by the CPO under subsection 7.1(2) of the Act as meeting the Ministry of Labour Joint Health and Safety Committee Certification Program Standard, dated October 1, 2015; and
    2. is delivered by a training provider approved by the CPO under subsection 7.2(2) of the Act as meeting the Ministry of Labour Joint Health and Safety Committee Certification Provider Standard, dated October 1, 2015; and
    3. provides training in a minimum of 6 hazards relevant to the committee member’s workplace.
  2. Take Refresher Training in accordance with the requirements and timeframes set out in Part C to maintain their certification.

C. REFRESHER TRAINING REQUIREMENT FOR ALL COMMITTEE MEMBERS CERTIFIED UNDER THE TRAINING AND OTHER REQUIREMENTS ESTABLISHED BY THE CPO, effective March 1, 2016.

Committee members who have been certified by the CPO pursuant to the training and other requirements set out in Part A or B above, must take Refresher Training in accordance with the following requirements and timeframes to maintain their certification:

  1. Subject to paragraphs C2-5, a certified member must complete a JHSC Certification Refresher Training Program within three years of being certified by the CPO; and thereafter, within three years of the date of successfully completing a JHSC Certification Refresher Training Program, that is:
    1. approved by the CPO under subsection 7.1(2) of the Act as meeting the Ministry of Labour Joint Health and Safety Committee Certification Program Standard, dated October 1, 2015; and
    2. is delivered by a training provider approved by the CPO under subsection 7.2(2) of the Act as meeting the Ministry of Labour Joint Health and Safety Committee Certification Provider Standard, dated October 1, 2015.
  2. The member may apply for an exemption pursuant to paragraph C3 from the CPO, from the requirement to take JHSC Certification Refresher Training in accordance with paragraph C1, within 3 years of one of the following dates, as applicable:
    1. the date that the committee member became certified; or
    2. the date that the committee member last completed a JHSC Certification Refresher Training Program after becoming certified.
  3. The CPO may grant an exemption from JHSC Certification Refresher Training to a certified member:
    1. who has applied for the exemption in accordance with paragraph C2; and
    2. who has served as a committee member within 12 months of applying; and
    3. who has not previously been granted an exemption by the CPO for Refresher JHSC Certification Training.
  4. If an exemption is granted under paragraph C3, the certified member must complete a JHSC Certification Refresher Training Program that meets the requirements of paragraphs C1 i-ii within 6 years of one of the following dates, as applicable:
    1. the date that the committee member became certified; or
    2. the date that the committee member last completed a JHSC Certification Refresher Training Program after becoming certified.
  5. At the time the CPO denies a certified member an exemption, the CPO may allow the certified member to complete a JHSC Certification Refresher Training Program within a specified period.
  6. Failure to complete the JHSC Certification Refresher Training requirements within the timeframes specified in paragraphs C1, C4 and C5 will result in the member no longer being certified.

Previous

ISBN 978-1-4606-6730-9 (HTML)

Table des matières Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Annexe B : Exigences de formation et autres

L'article 22.3 de la LSST prévoit que le ministre du Travail nomme un directeur général de la prévention chargé d'établir les exigences d'agrément des personnes aux fins de la LSST et d'agréer celles qui satisfont à ces exigences en vertu de l'article 7.6.

Conformément à l'article 7.6 de la LSST, le directeur général de la prévention a plus particulièrement le pouvoir d'établir les exigences de formation et autres qu'un membre d'un comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (CMSST) doit respecter pour obtenir son agrément et d'agréer tout membre d'un comité qui respecte ces exigences.

Le 1er avril 2012, le directeur général de la prévention a établi les normes énoncées dans le document de la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail (CSPAAT) intitulé Normes d'agrément pour les Comités mixtes sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, mai 1996 (mises à jour en janvier 2007) [Normes du programme de formation à l'agrément des membres des CMSST de 1996] à titre d'exigences de formation que les membres des comités doivent respecter pour obtenir leur agrément. Ces normes demeureront en vigueur jusqu'au 29 février 2016.

Le directeur général de la prévention examinera la candidature à l'agrément des membres de comités qui ont réussi les parties 1 et 2 de la formation dispensée en vertu des Normes du programme de formation à l'agrément des membres des CMSST de 1996 avant le 1er mars 2016, aux termes des exigences de formation et autres qu'il a établies le 1er avril 2012. Les membres qui n'ont pas encore reçu l'agrément de la part du directeur général de la prévention aux termes des Normes du programme de formation à l'agrément des membres des CMSST de 1996, mais qui ont réussi les parties 1 et 2 de la formation aux termes desdites normes avant le 1er mars 2016, ont jusqu'au 30 avril 2016 pour lui présenter la preuve de la réussite des parties 1 et 2 de la formation pour obtenir l'agrément aux termes des exigences de formation et autres qu'il a établies le 1er avril 2012. Après le 30 avril 2016, les membres des comités ne pourront plus présenter la preuve de la réussite de la formation aux termes des Normes du programme de formation à l'agrément des membres des CMSST de 1996 afin d'obtenir l'agrément de la part du directeur général de la prévention.

Les membres des comités qui sont réputés avoir été agréés ou qui ont été agréés par le directeur général de la prévention aux termes des Normes du programme de formation à l'agrément des membres des CMSST de 1996 conserveront leur agrément après le 1er mars 2016.

Conformément au pouvoir énoncé à l'article 7.6 de la LSST et, à compter du 1er mars 2016, le directeur général de la prévention établit les exigences suivantes de formation et autres qu'un membre de comité doit respecter pour obtenir son agrément.

À compter du 1er mars 2016, le directeur général de la prévention pourra agréer les membres de comités qui répondent aux exigences de formation et autres énoncées dans la partie A ou la partie B ci dessous.

A. Exigences générales de formation et autres à l'intention des membres de comités qui demandent l'agrément

Le membre d'un comité doit satisfaire aux exigences énoncées aux sections A1 à A3.

  1. Suivre la première partie d'un programme de formation à l'agrément des membres des CMSST :
    1. approuvée par le directeur général de la prévention en vertu du paragraphe 7.1 (2) de la Loi comme étant conforme à la Norme du programme de formation à l’agrément des membres des comités mixtes de santé et de sécurité au travail du ministère du Travail, datée du 1er octobre 2015;
    2. offerte par un fournisseur de services de formation agréé par le directeur général de la prévention en vertu du paragraphe 7.1 (2) de la Loi comme étant conforme à la Norme à l’égard des fournisseurs du programme de formation à l’agrément des membres des comités mixtes sur la santé et la sécurité au travail du ministère du Travail, datée du 1er octobre 2015.
  2. Suivre la deuxième partie d'un programme de formation à l'agrément des membres des CMSST :
    1. approuvée par le directeur général de la prévention en vertu du paragraphe 7.1 (2) de la Loi comme étant conforme à la Norme du programme de formation à l’agrément des membres des comités mixtes de santé et de sécurité au travail du ministère du Travail, datée du 1er octobre 2015;
    2. offerte par un fournisseur de services de formation agréé par le directeur général de la prévention en vertu du paragraphe 7.1 (2) de la Loi comme étant conforme à la Norme à l’égard des fournisseurs du programme de formation à l’agrément des membres des comités mixtes sur la santé et la sécurité au travail du ministère du Travail, datée du 1er octobre 2015;
    3. offrant une formation concernant au moins six dangers liés au lieu de travail du membre du comité;
    4. sous réserve d'une prolongation pouvant être accordée par le directeur général de la prévention conformément à la section A4, se terminant dans les six mois suivant l'une des dates ci-dessous, selon le cas :
      1. date à laquelle le membre du comité a terminé la première partie d'un programme de formation à l'agrément des membres des CMSST conforme aux exigences de la section A1;
      2. date à laquelle le membre du comité a terminé un programme de formation de perfectionnement à l'agrément des membres des CMSST :
        1. qui répondait aux exigences des alinéas C1 i et ii,
        2. qui a été offert dans les trois ans après la fin de la première partie d'un programme de formation à l'agrément des membres des CMSST conforme aux exigences de la section A1.
  3. Suivre une formation de perfectionnement conformément aux exigences et aux délais énoncés dans la partie C afin de conserver son agrément.
  4. Le directeur général de la prévention peut, dans les six mois qui suivent la fin de la première partie d'un programme de formation à l'agrément des membres des CMSST, accorder une prolongation unique de six mois pour permettre au membre de suivre la deuxième partie du programme.

B. Exigences de formation et autres à l'intention des membres de comités qui ont uniquement suivi la première partie de la formation aux termes des Normes du programme de formation à l'agrément des membres des CMSST de 1996 avant le 1er mars 2016.

Les membres de comités qui ont réussi la première partie de la formation aux termes des Normes du programme de formation à l'agrément des membres des CMSST de 1996 avant le 1er mars 2016 peuvent présenter une preuve de la réussite de cette formation et doivent en outre satisfaire aux exigences de formation et autres énoncées aux sections B1 et 2.

  1. Suivre la deuxième partie d'un programme de formation à l'agrément des membres des CMSST :
    1. approuvée par le directeur général de la prévention en vertu du paragraphe 7.1 (2) de la Loi comme étant conforme à la Norme du programme de formation à l’agrément des membres des comités mixtes de santé et de sécurité au travail du ministère du Travail, datée du 1er octobre 2015;
    2. offerte par un fournisseur de services de formation agréé par le directeur général de la prévention en vertu du paragraphe 7.1 (2) de la Loi comme étant conforme à la Norme à l’égard des fournisseurs du programme de formation à l’agrément des membres des comités mixtes sur la santé et la sécurité au travail du ministère du Travail, datée du 1er octobre 2015;
    3. offrant une formation concernant au moins six dangers liés au lieu de travail du membre du comité.
  2. Suivre une formation de perfectionnement conformément aux exigences et aux délais énoncés dans la partie C afin de conserver son agrément.

C. EXIGENCE DE FORMATION DE PERFECTIONNEMENT À L'INTENTION DE TOUS LES MEMBRES DE COMITÉS AGRÉÉS EN VERTU DES EXIGENCES DE FORMATION ET AUTRES ÉTABLIES PAR LE DIRECTEUR GÉNÉRAL DE LA PRÉVENTION, en vigueur le 1er mars 2016

Les membres des comités agréés par le directeur général de la prévention en vertu des exigences de formation et autres énoncées aux parties A ou B ci-dessus doivent suivre une formation de perfectionnement conformément aux exigences et aux délais suivants pour conserver leur agrément.

  1. Sous réserve des sections C2 à 5, un membre agréé doit suivre un programme de formation de perfectionnement à l'agrément des membres des CMSST dans les trois ans qui suivent son agrément par le directeur général de la prévention, puis dans les trois ans qui suivent la date à laquelle il a terminé un programme de formation de perfectionnement à l'agrément des membres des CMSST :
    1. approuvé par le directeur général de la prévention en vertu du paragraphe 7.1 (2) de la Loi comme étant conforme à la Norme du programme de formation à l’agrément des membres des comités mixtes de santé et de sécurité au travail du ministère du Travail, datée du 1er octobre 2015;
    2. offert par un fournisseur de services de formation agréé par le directeur général de la prévention en vertu du paragraphe 7.1 (2) de la Loi comme étant conforme à la Norme à l’égard des fournisseurs du programme de formation à l’agrément des membres des comités mixtes sur la santé et la sécurité au travail du ministère du Travail, datée du 1er octobre 2015.
  2. En vertu de la section C3, le membre peut demander au directeur général de la prévention à être dispensé de l'obligation de suivre la formation de perfectionnement à l'agrément des membres des CMSST, conformément à la section C1, dans les trois ans suivant l'une des dates ci dessous, selon le cas :
    1. date d'agrément du membre du comité;
    2. date à laquelle le membre du comité a suivi pour la dernière fois un programme de formation de perfectionnement à l'agrément des membres des CMSST après avoir été agréé.
  3. Le directeur général de la prévention peut dispenser un membre agréé de l'obligation de suivre la formation de perfectionnement à l'agrément des membres des CMSST :
    1. lorsque le membre a présenté une demande de dispense conformément à la section C2;
    2. lorsque le membre a siégé à un comité dans les 12 mois suivant la présentation de sa demande;
    3. lorsque le membre n'a jamais obtenu de dispense de la part du directeur général de la prévention concernant la formation de perfectionnement à l'agrément des membres des CMSST.
  4. En cas de dispense accordée aux termes de la section C3, le membre agréé doit suivre une formation de perfectionnement à l'agrément des membres des CMSST qui satisfait aux exigences énoncées aux alinéas C1 i et ii dans les six ans suivant l'une des dates ci-dessous, selon le cas :
    1. date d'agrément du membre du comité;
    2. date à laquelle le membre du comité a suivi pour la dernière fois un programme de formation de perfectionnement à l'agrément des membres des CMSST après avoir été agréé.
  5. Au moment où le directeur général de la prévention refuse une dispense à un membre agréé, il peut permettre à ce dernier de suivre un programme de formation de perfectionnement à l'agrément des membres des CMSST dans un délai précis.
  6. Le non-respect des exigences relatives à la formation de perfectionnement à l'agrément des membres des CMSST dans le délai indiqué aux sections C1, C4 et C5 entraînera la perte de l'agrément du membre.

précédent

978-1-4606-6732-3 (HTML)