Table of Contents | Print This Page

Glossary of Terms

  • Issued: April 20, 2012
  • Content last reviewed: April 2012

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

For the purposes of this guidance document, the meanings of the following terms are described below:

“Agreement” – means a signed and dated statement or letter that the workplace parties agree to a multi-workplace joint health and safety committee that is submitted to the Regional Director as part of a request for an order under subsection 9(3.1) of the OHSA.

“Designated Worker” – a worker who does not have managerial functions or duties and who is not a member of the multi-workplace JHSC, but has been designated by the worker members of the JHSC as provided under subsection 9(3.2) of the OHSA to conduct workplace inspections and assist in the investigation of a work refusal.

“Employer” – in this guidance material the reference to the employer would include to either the “employer” or either the “constructor” as defined by OHSA.

“Minister’s Order” – is a written order of the Minister, issued under subsection 9(3.1) of the OHSA, permitting an employer or constructor to establish and maintain one joint health and safety committee for more than one workplace or parts thereof and which may provide for the composition, practice and procedure of any committee so established.

“Multi-workplace employer” – is a constructor or employer as defined by the OHSA, who carries on business at more than one workplace.

“Supporting information” – refers to additional information the employer/constructor should submit as required by the Regional Director for consideration under subsection 9(5) of the OHSA.

“Terms of Reference” – means a written document which outlines the proposed structure, composition and function of the multi-workplace JHSC that is co-signed by the workplace parties for the purposes of submission to the Regional Director as part of a request for a Minister’s order under subsection 9(3.1) of the OHSA.

“Workplace parties” – refers to the constructor or employer and worker representative(s) including any trade union(s) representing workers

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4435-9394-6 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4435-9393-9 (PRINT)

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

• Diffusion : 19 avril 2012
  • Dernière mise à jour : avril 2012

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent au présent document.

« Entente » : déclaration ou lettre signée et datée attestant que les parties d’un lieu de travail sont d’accord pour la création d’un CMSS dans des lieux de travail multiples et demandent au directeur régional de prendre un arrêté conformément au paragraphe 9(3.1) de la LSST.

« Travailleur désigné » : travailleur que les représentants des travailleurs au sein du CMSS ont désigné pour inspecter le lieu de travail aux termes du paragraphe 9 (3.2) de la LSST et pour aider à faire enquête relativement à un refus de travailler. Ce travailleur n’exerce pas de fonctions ou de responsabilités de direction et n’est pas membre du CMSS.

« Employeur » : s’entend aussi bien de l’« employeur » que du « constructeur » (au sens attribué à ces termes dans la LSST).

« Arrêté du ministre » : arrêté pris par écrit par le ministre en vertu du paragraphe 9(3.1) de la LSST. Cet arrêté autorise un constructeur ou un employeur à créer et à faire fonctionner un CMSS pour plusieurs lieux de travail ou parties de lieux de travail. L’arrêté peut préciser la composition du comité ainsi que ses règles de pratique et de procédure.

« Employeur dans plusieurs lieux de travail » : constructeur ou employeur au sens de la LSST, qui dirige ou exploite plus d’un lieu de travail.

« Renseignements complémentaires » : renseignements supplémentaires que l’employeur ou le constructeur doit fournir au directeur régional et dont celui-ci doit tenir compte en vertu du paragraphe 9(5) de la LSST.

« Cadre de référence » : document écrit dans lequel sont décrits la structure proposée, la composition et le rôle du CMSS mis en place dans des lieux de travail multiples. Ce document est signé par les parties d’un lieu de travail qui demandent à un directeur régional de prendre un arrêté conformément au paragraphe 9(3.1) de la LSST.

« Parties du lieu de travail » : constructeur ou employeur et porte-parole des travailleurs, y compris le ou les syndicats qui pourraient représenter les travailleurs.

précédent | suivant

ISBN 978-1-4435-9397-7 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4435-9396-0 (Version imprimé)

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.