Table of Contents | Print This Page

Appendix B: Questions and Answers for School Boards and Schools

  • Issued: April 20, 2012
  • Content last reviewed: April 2012

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Note: Ontario Regulation 857 (Teachers) under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) extends the application of the OHSA to teachers, with certain modifications and/or exemptions.

1. Is a Minister’s order under subsection 9(3.1) of the OHSA required if a school board wishes to establish a multi-workplace JHSC for its entire teaching staff?

While a school board may request an order under subsection 9(3.1) permitting a multi-workplace JHSC for teachers only, this is not required. Paragraph 2 of section 3 of Regulation 857 provides that an employer of teachers (i.e., a board) that establishes and maintains one joint health and safety committee (JHSC) for all of its teachers is deemed to have complied with subsection 9(2) of the Act – which means that the board does not require the Minister’s approval under 9(3.1) to establish a multi-workplace JHSC with respect to all its teachers. However, it would be a good practice to ensure that written agreed to terms of reference and/or policies and procedures are in place to ensure that the multi-workplace JHSC functions properly and the Act is being complied with.

However, should the school board wish to establish a multi-workplace JHSC with respect to all workers (i.e., including non-teaching staff) at all of its workplaces, then a Minister’s order would be required. A Terms of Reference agreed to by the workplace parties would have to be submitted with the request to the Regional Director. Where there are concerns relating to the functioning of a multi-workplace JHSC, the subsection 9(3.1) order may be rescinded or otherwise amended by the Minister of her delegate. Other options may also be available. Inspectors should consult with their RPC/Manager and Regional Director.

2. Can a school board establish one multi-workplace JHSC with respect to both its elementary and secondary school teachers under Regulation 857?

Paragraph 2 of section 3 of Regulation 857 refers to the establishment and maintenance of a JHSC for all the employer’s (i.e., the board’s) teachers. As such, a JHSC established under Regulation 857 must include both elementary and secondary teachers employed by the board.

3. Does the Ministry of Labour require a Terms of Reference document for teacher multi-workplace JHSCs?

Terms of Reference are not specifically required where a board establishes a multi-workplace JHSC for all its teachers under Regulation 857. However, it would be a good practice to ensure that written agreed to terms of reference and/or policies and procedures are in place to ensure that the multi-workplace JHSC functions properly and the Act is being complied with.

4. Can non-teaching staff be a part of the teacher multi-workplace JHSC established under the Teachers Regulation?

No, since paragraph 2 of section 3 of Regulation 857 (Teachers) only applies in respect of a JHSC for all teachers, not all workers employed by a school board.

MOL approval is needed when school boards wish to establish a multi-workplace JHSCs representing both non-teaching and teaching staff.

If a board wishes to establish a multi-workplace JHSC that includes both teachers and non-teaching staff, a Minister’s Order under subsection 9(3.1) of the OHSA is required with a written terms of reference agreed to by all interested parties representing both management and workers. Where there are concerns relating to the functioning of a multi-workplace JHSC, the subsection 9(3.1) order may be rescinded or otherwise amended by the Minister of her delegate. Other options may also be available. Inspectors should consult with their RPC/Manager and Regional Director.

5. Is a minister’s order under subsection 9(3.1) of the OHSA required if a school board wishes to establish a multi-workplace JHSC for its non-teaching staff (e.g., janitors, administrative assistants)?

Yes, a Minister’s order under subsection 9(3.1) of the OHSA would be required for a school board to establish a multi-workplace JHSC with respect to non-teaching staff only. Paragraph 2 of section 3 of Regulation 857 (Teachers) does not apply to non-teachers at schools.

6. Does a school board have to have a multi-workplace JHSC?

No. A school board can comply with the requirements of the OHSA by ensuring that a JHSC is established and maintained at each of its workplaces where required by subsection 9(2) (i.e., generally at a workplace with 20 or more regularly employed workers -including teaching and non-teaching staff).

7. If there is a separate multi-workplace JHSC set up for teaching staff under Regulation 857, who is counted at each workplace for the purpose of forming a JHSC under section 9 or the OHSA?

If a school board has a JHSC in place for all of its teachers under Regulation 857, when determining whether an additional JHSC is required at an individual school or workplace at that board for non-teaching staff, the teaching staff are not to be counted.

8. How does paragraph 2 of section 3 of Regulation 857 (Teachers) permitting a school board to maintain one JHSC for all of its teaching staff impact on the requirements of section 9 of the OHSA which sets out requirements regarding workplace inspections by the JHSC?

A school board’s decision to have just one JHSC for all of its teachers does not have the effect of converting all of the schools and other workplaces of the Board into a single workplace for the purposes of regular workplace inspections.

Subsections 9(26) and (27) of the OHSA require that workplaces be inspected by a worker member of the JHSC, at least in part, once a month. In other words, even where a board has a permitted Multi-workplace JHSC, each school or other workplace (or part of it if subsection 9(27) applies) would still be required to be inspected monthly. In situations where a multi-workplace JHSC has been established under a Minister’s order under subsection 9(3.1), that order may provide that the worker members of the JHSC may designate a worker who doesn’t have to be a member of a Committee to conduct the monthly workplace inspections.

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4435-9394-6 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4435-9393-9 (PRINT)

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Annexe B : Questions concernant les conseils scolaires et les écoles en particulier

  • Diffusion : 19 avril 2012
  • Dernière mise à jour : avril 2012

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Remarque : Le Règlement de l'Ontario 857 (enseignants) pris en application de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) étend l’application de la LSST aux enseignants, sous réserve de certaines modifications et exemptions.

1. Les conseils scolaires doivent-ils obtenir un arrêté conformément au paragraphe 9(3.1) de la LSST pour mettre sur pied un CMSS affecté à tout leur personnel enseignant?

Les conseils scolaires peuvent demander à ce qu’un arrêté autorisant la formation d’un comité pour tout leur personnel enseignant seulement soit pris conformément au paragraphe 9(3.1), mais ils n’en ont pas l'obligation. Selon le paragraphe 3(2) du Règlement 857, l’employeur d’enseignants (c.-à-d., un conseil scolaire) qui crée et maintient un CMSS pour tous ses enseignants est réputé s’être conformé au paragraphe 9 (2) de la Loi, ce qui signifie que, aux termes du paragraphe 9(3.1), le conseil scolaire n’a pas besoin d’obtenir l’autorisation du ministre pour mettre sur pied un tel comité pour tous ses enseignants. Toutefois, il serait bon de s’assurer qu’un cadre de référence, des politiques et des procédures approuvés par écrit sont en place afin de veiller à ce que le comité exerce ses fonctions convenablement et que la Loi soit respectée.

Par ailleurs, le conseil scolaire qui souhaite mettre sur pied un seul CMSS pour tout son personnel (c.-à-d., y compris son personnel non enseignant) et tous ses lieux de travail doit obtenir un arrêté du ministre. Les conseils qui optent pour un tel comité devront joindre à leur demande envoyée au directeur régional un cadre de référence approuvé par les parties du lieu de travail. Lorsque des préoccupations sont soulevées concernant la façon dont un CMSS dans des lieux de travail multiples joue son rôle, le ministre ou son délégué peut révoquer un arrêté pris en application du paragraphe 9(3.1), ou le modifier. D’autres options sont également offertes. Les inspecteurs devraient consulter leur coordonnateur régional de programme, leur chef ou leur directeur régional.

2. Conformément au Règlement 857, un conseil scolaire peut-il mettre en place un CMSS dans des lieux de travail multiples à la fois pour ses enseignants du primaire et ses enseignants du secondaire?

Le paragraphe 3(2) du Règlement 857 vise la création et le maintien d’un CMSS pour tous les enseignants de l’employeur (c.-à-d., le conseil scolaire). Par conséquent, un tel comité créé aux termes du Règlement 857 doit comprendre à la fois les enseignants du primaire et du secondaire employés par le conseil scolaire.

3. Le ministre du Travail exige-t-il un cadre de référence pour les CMSS mis en place pour des enseignants dans des lieux de travail multiples?

Les conseils scolaires qui mettent en place un tel comité pour tous leurs enseignants en vertu du Règlement 857 ne sont pas expressément tenus d’avoir un cadre de référence. Toutefois, il serait bon de s’assurer qu’un cadre de référence, des politiques et des procédures approuvés par écrit sont en place afin de veiller à ce que le comité exerce ses fonctions convenablement et que la Loi soit respectée.

4. Conformément au Règlement 857, le personnel non enseignant peut-il faire partie d’un CMSS mis sur pied pour des enseignements?

La réponse est non puisque le paragraphe 3(2) du Règlement 857 (enseignants) s’applique uniquement à un CMSS institué pour les enseignants et non pour tous les travailleurs employés par un conseil scolaire.

L’autorisation du MTR est nécessaire lorsqu'un conseil scolaire souhaite mettre sur pied un CMSS représentant à la fois son personnel enseignant et son personnel non enseignant.

Un conseil scolaire qui veut mettre sur pied un CMSS comprenant à la fois du personnel enseignant et non enseignant doit obtenir un arrêté du ministre pris en vertu du paragraphe 9(3.1) de la LSST. De plus, il doit faire approuver son cadre de référence écrit par toutes les parties intéressées qui représentent la direction et les travailleurs. Lorsque des préoccupations sont soulevées concernant la façon dont un CMSS dans des lieux de travail multiples joue son rôle, le ministre ou son délégué peut révoquer un arrêté pris en application du paragraphe 9(3.1), ou le modifier. D’autres options sont également offertes. Les inspecteurs devraient consulter leur coordonnateur régional de programme, leur chef ou leur directeur régional.

5. Les conseils scolaires doivent-ils obtenir un arrêté conformément au paragraphe 9(3.1) de la LSST pour mettre sur pied un CMSS pour leur personnel non enseignant (p. ex., concierges, assistants administratifs)?

Oui, les conseils scolaires qui souhaitent mettre sur pied un CMSS pour leur personnel non enseignant uniquement doivent obtenir un arrêté pris conformément au paragraphe 9(3.1) de la LSST. Le paragraphe 3(2) du Règlement 857 (enseignants) ne s’applique pas au personnel non enseignant qui travaille dans les écoles.

6. Un conseil scolaire est-il tenu de mettre sur pied un CMSS dans des lieux de travail multiples?

Non. Un conseil scolaire peut être réputé se conformer aux exigences de la LSST s’il crée et maintient un CMSS à chacun de ses lieux de travail, dans les cas où l’exige le paragraphe 9(2) (c.-à-d., généralement dans un lieu de travail où sont employés régulièrement vingt travailleurs ou plus, y compris le personnel enseignant et le personnel non enseignant).

7. Dans le cas où un conseil scolaire met en place, en conformité avec le Règlement 857, un CMSS dans des lieux de travail multiples pour son personnel enseignant uniquement, de quelle façon compte-t-on le nombre de personnes à chaque lieu de travail aux fins de la formation d’un CMSS en vertu de l’article 9 de la LSST?

Il ne faut pas compter le personnel enseignant si un conseil scolaire a en place, conformément au Règlement 857, un CMSS pour tous ses enseignants et cherche à déterminer s'il faut créer pour son personnel non enseignant un comité distinct dans une école ou un lieu de travail en particulier.

8. Comment le paragraphe 3(2) du Règlement 857 (enseignants), lequel autorise les conseils scolaires à n’avoir qu’un seul CMSS pour tout leur personnel enseignant, a-t-il une incidence sur les inspections des lieux de travail requises conformément à l’article 9 de la LSST?

Si des conseils scolaires établissent un seul comité pour tout leur personnel enseignant, cela n’a pas pour effet de convertir toutes leurs écoles et tous leurs lieux de travail en un seul lieu de travail aux fins des inspections requises.

Conformément au paragraphe 9(26) et 9(27) de la LSST, les lieux de travail doivent être inspectés par un représentant des travailleurs, au moins en partie, une fois par mois. En d’autres mots, même si un conseil scolaire s’est vu autorisé à créer un CMSS dans des lieux de travail multiples, chaque école ou autre lieu de travail (ou une partie de celui-ci si le paragraphe 9(27) s’applique) doit être soumis à une inspection mensuelle. Dans les situations où la création d’un tel comité fait suite à un arrêté du ministre pris conformément au paragraphe 9(3.1), cet arrêté peut prévoir que les travailleurs membres du comité sont autorisés à désigner un travailleur n'étant pas membre du comité pour inspecter mensuellement les conditions matérielles du lieu de travail.

précédent | suivant

ISBN 978-1-4435-9397-7 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4435-9396-0 (Version imprimé)

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.