Table of Contents | Print This Page

Appendix A: Relevant Provisions of OHSA

  • Issued: April 20, 2012
  • Content last reviewed: April 2012

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Minister’s Order

9(3) Despite subsections (1) and (2), the Minister may, by order in writing, require a constructor or an employer to establish and maintain one or more joint health and safety committees for a workplace or a part thereof, and may, in such order, provide for the composition, practice and procedure of any committee so established.

9(3.1) Despite subsections (1) and (2), the Minister may, by order in writing, permit a constructor or an employer to establish and maintain one joint health and safety committee for more than one workplace or parts thereof, and may, in the order, provide for the composition, practice and procedure of any committee so established.

9(3.2) In an order under subsection (3.1), the Minister may,

  1. (a) provide that the members of a committee who represent workers may designate a worker at a workplace who is not a member of the committee to inspect the physical condition of the workplace under subsection 9(23) and to exercise a committee member’s rights and responsibilities under clause 43(4)(a) and subsections 43(7), (11) and (12); and
  2. (b) require the employer to provide training to the worker to enable the worker to adequately perform the tasks or exercise the rights and responsibilities delegated by the committee.

9(3.3) If a worker is designated under clause (3.2)(a), the following apply:

  • The designated worker shall comply with this section as if the worker were a committee member while exercising a committee member’s rights and responsibilities.
  • Subsections 9(35) and 43 (13), section 55, clauses 62(5)(a) and (b) and subsection 65(1) apply to the designated worker as if the worker were a committee member while the worker exercises a committee member’s rights and responsibilities.
  • The worker does not become a member of the committee as a result of the designation.

What Minister Shall Consider

9(5) In exercising the power conferred by subsection (3) or (3.1), the Minister shall consider,

  1. a) the nature of the work being done
  2. b) the request of a constructor, an employer, a group of the workers or the trade union or trade unions representing the workers in a workplace
  3. c) the frequency of illness or injury in the workplace or in the industry of which the constructor or employer is a part
  4. d) the existence of health and safety programs and procedures in the workplace and the effectiveness thereof, and
  5. e) such other matters as the Minister considers advisable.

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4435-9394-6 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4435-9393-9 (PRINT)

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Annexe A : Dispositions pertinentes de la LSST

  • Diffusion : 19 avril 2012
  • Dernière mise à jour : avril 2012

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Arrêté du ministre

9(3) Malgré les paragraphes (1) et (2), le ministre peut, par arrêté, enjoindre au constructeur ou à l’employeur de créer et de faire fonctionner un ou plusieurs comités mixtes sur la santé et la sécurité au travail pour l’ensemble ou une partie du lieu de travail. L’arrêté peut préciser la composition du comité ainsi que ses règles de pratique et de procédure.

9(3.1) Malgré les paragraphes (1) et (2), le ministre peut, par arrêté, autoriser le constructeur ou l’employeur à créer et à faire fonctionner un CMSS pour plusieurs lieux de travail ou parties de lieux de travail. L’arrêté peut préciser la composition du comité ainsi que ses règles de pratique et de procédure.

9(3.2) Dans un arrêté prévu au paragraphe (3.1), le ministre peut :

  1. a) prévoir que les membres du comité qui représentent les travailleurs peuvent désigner un travailleur d’un lieu de travail qui n’est pas membre du comité pour inspecter les conditions matérielles du lieu de travail aux termes du paragraphe 9 (23) et pour exercer les droits et assumer les responsabilités d’un membre du comité prévus à l’alinéa 43 (4) a) et aux paragraphes 43 (7), (11) et (12);
  2. b) exiger que l’employeur offre des cours de formation au travailleur pour que celui-ci puisse, de façon adéquate, s’acquitter des tâches ou exercer les droits et assumer les responsabilités que lui a délégués le comité.

9(3.) Si un travailleur est désigné en vertu de l’alinéa (3.2) a), les règles suivantes s’appliquent :

  1. Le travailleur désigné se conforme au présent article comme s’il était membre du comité pendant qu’il exerce les droits et assume les responsabilités d’un membre du comité.
  2. Les paragraphes 9 (35) et 43 (13), l’article 55, les alinéas 62 (5) a) et b) et le paragraphe 65 (1) s’appliquent au travailleur désigné comme s’il était membre du comité pendant qu’il exerce les droits et assume les responsabilités d’un membre du comité.
  3. Le travailleur ne devient pas membre du comité par suite de sa désignation.

Facteurs étudiés par le ministre

9(5) S’il prend l’arrêté visé au paragraphe (3) ou (3.1), le ministre tient compte de ce qui suit :

  1. a) la nature du travail exécuté;
  2. b) la demande du constructeur, de l’employeur, d’un groupe de travailleurs ou du ou des syndicats qui représentent les travailleurs dans le lieu de travail;
  3. c) la fréquence des cas de maladie ou de blessure dans le lieu de travail ou dans le type d’industrie dont fait partie le constructeur ou l’employeur;
  4. d) l’existence, dans le lieu de travail, de programmes et de pratiques ayant trait à la santé et à la sécurité, et de leur efficacité;
  5. e) tout autre point que le ministre juge opportun.

précédent | suivant

ISBN 978-1-4435-9397-7 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4435-9396-0 (Version imprimé)

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.