Print Print This Page

Joint Health and Safety Committee Administrative Framework

  • Issued: October 1, 2015
  • Content last reviewed: October 2015

Implementation Timelines

  • The Chief Prevention Officer (CPO) will establish new Joint Health and Safety Committee (JHSC) Certification Training Program and Provider Standards and new training and other requirements for a member to be certified on October 1, 2015 – to be effective March 1, 2016
  • Start date for acceptance of training provider applications by Ministry of Labour (MOL): October 1, 2015

Transition Period

  • The 1996 Certification Standards remain in effect until February 29, 2016
  • Training providers approved under the 1996 Standard can continue to provide JHSC training under the 1996 Standard until February 29, 2016
  • In order to deliver the new JHSC Certification Training as of March 1, 2016, all training providers (including existing approved providers and potential providers) are required to apply to MOL for approval under the new JHSC Certification Training Standards starting October 1, 2015
  • Certified JHSC members who completed both Part 1 and Part 2 training under the 1996 Standard prior to March 1, 2016 will continue to be certified and will not be required to complete any further training under the new JHSC Certification Standards, including the Refresher training
  • As of March 1, 2016, JHSC members who have completed only Part 1 training under the 1996 Standard will have to complete Part 2 training under the new Standards in order to be certified, and will be required to take Refresher training to maintain their certification
  • There will be a 2-month transition period from March 1, 2016 to April 30, 2016 for employers and training providers to submit their final 1996 JHSC Part 1 Learner tests and Part Two Workplace Hazard-Specific Training Confirmation forms to the MOL. After April 30, 2016 MOL will not accept submissions for certifications under the 1996 Certification Training Standard

Part 1 Training

  • Training is based on health and safety topics, including information on legislative requirements and the roles and responsibilities of workplace parties under the Occupational Health & Safety Act (OHSA)
  • Duration: at least 3 days or 19.5 hours

Part 2 Training

  • Training is based on the application of Recognize, Assess, Control and Evaluate (RACE) methodology
  • Employers will be required to select a training program that provides training in a minimum of 6 hazards that are relevant to the committee member’s workplace
  • Guidance material will be published to help employers select appropriate training
  • Duration: at least 2 days or 13 hours
  • Must be completed within 6 months of Part 1 training or obtain a one-time extension due to extenuating circumstances (see Exemptions and Extensions)

Refresher Training

  • Topics include an overview of both Part 1 and Part 2 training, updates to legislation and regulations, and learners share best practices based on their experience and workplace
  • Certified members trained under the new Standards will be required to take Refresher training every three years to maintain certification status, or may obtain a one-time exemption for an active JHSC member (see Exemptions and Extensions)
  • Duration: at least 1 day or 6.5 hours

Exemptions and Extensions

  • A one-time exemption to the three year Refresher training may be granted to a certified member who served as a committee member within the past twelve (12) months.
  • A one-time extension to the six-month time period between the completion of Part 1 and Part 2 training will be granted for a period of up to six (6) months due to extenuating circumstances (i.e., personal, operational or health reasons)
  • Training providers (including employers providing in-house training) will be able to apply for an exemption to the minimum class size of six (6) at the time of program application or through the training provider annual report

eLearning

  • Part 1 training programs can include up to one-third or 6.5 hours of eLearning (i.e., a wide set of applications and processes such as web-based learning and computer-based learning)
  • JHSC Part 2 and Refresher Training to be delivered through instructor-led mode of delivery (face-to-face or distance learning)

Evaluation

  • Part 1 certification training will include a standardized test that will be delivered and evaluated by approved training providers
  • Approved training providers will be responsible for developing, delivering and evaluating the final evaluation for Part 2 and Refresher training based on the learner evaluation criteria in the JHSC Training Program Standard

For a complete list of rules to become a certified member, please refer to the Training and Other Requirements document published by the CPO.

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Cadre administratif - Comités mixtes de santé et de sécurité au travail

  • Diffusion : octobre 2015
  • Dernière mise à jour : octobre 2015

Calendrier de mise en œuvre

  • Le directeur général de la prévention mettra en place le 1er octobre 2015 de nouvelles normes relatives au programme de formation à l’agrément des membres des comités mixtes de santé et de sécurité au travail (CMSST) et aux fournisseurs de ce programme ainsi que de nouvelles exigences de formation et autres pour l'agrément des membres, qui entreront en vigueur le 1er mars 2016.
  • Date du début de l'acceptation des demandes des fournisseurs de services de formation par le ministère du Travail (MTR) : 1er octobre 2015.

Période de transition

  • Les normes d'agrément de 1996 demeureront en vigueur jusqu'au 29 février 2016.
  • Les fournisseurs de formation agréés en vertu des normes de 1996 peuvent continuer d'offrir le programme de formation à l'agrément des membres des CMSST en vertu des normes de 1996 jusqu'au 29 février 2016.
  • Afin d'offrir la nouvelle formation à l'agrément des membres des CMSST à partir du 1er mars 2016, tous les fournisseurs de services de formation (y compris les fournisseurs actuellement agréés et les fournisseurs potentiels) sont tenus de présenter une demande d'agrément ou d'approbation au MTR en vertu de la nouvelle Norme du programme de formation à l'agrément des membres des CMSST à partir du 1er octobre 2015.
  • Les membres agréés des CMSST qui ont suivi les parties 1 et 2 de la formation en vertu des normes de 1996 avant le 1er mars 2016 conserveront leur agrément et ne seront pas tenus de suivre une formation supplémentaire en vertu de la nouvelle Norme du programme de formation à l'agrément des membres des CMSST, y compris la formation de perfectionnement.
  • À partir du 1er mars 2016, les membres des CMSST qui ont seulement suivi la partie 1 de la formation en vertu des normes de 1996 devront suivre la partie 2 de la formation en vertu de la nouvelle norme afin d'être agréés et ils seront tenus de suivre la formation de perfectionnement pour conserver leur agrément.
  • Il y aura, du 1er mars au 30 avril 2016, une période de transition de deux mois pour permettre aux employeurs et aux fournisseurs de services de formation de soumettre au MTR les tests finaux des membres des CMSST ayant suivi la partie 1 et les formulaires de confirmation de la formation sur les risques inhérents au lieu de travail. Après le 30 avril 2016, le MTR n'acceptera plus de demandes d'agrément en vertu des normes de formation à l'agrément de 1996.

Partie 1 de la formation

  • La formation porte sur des sujets liés à la santé et à la sécurité et comprend des renseignements sur les exigences législatives et les rôles et responsabilités des parties du lieu de travail en vertu de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST).
  • Durée : au moins 3 jours ou 19,5 heures

Partie 2 de la formation

  • La formation porte sur l'application de la méthodologie Reconnaître, Évaluer, Maîtriser et Déterminer (REMD).
  • Les employeurs seront tenus de choisir un programme de formation qui porte sur un minimum de six dangers liés au lieu de travail du membre du comité.
  • Des documents d'orientation seront publiés pour aider les employeurs à choisir une formation appropriée.
  • Durée : au moins 2 jours ou 13 heures
  • Elle doit être terminée dans les 6 mois qui suivent la partie 1 de la formation, à moins d'avoir obtenu une prolongation ponctuelle en raison de circonstances atténuantes (voir Exemptions et prolongations).

Formation de perfectionnement

  • Les sujets abordés comprennent un survol des parties 1 et 2 de la formation, les mises à jour des lois et des règlements et le partage de pratiques exemplaires entre les apprenants selon leur expérience et leur milieu de travail.
  • Les membres agréés formés en vertu de la nouvelle norme seront tenus de suivre un programme de perfectionnement tous les trois ans pour conserver leur agrément, à moins qu'un membre actif d'un CMSST obtienne une exemption ponctuelle (voir Exemptions et prolongations).
  • Durée :  au moins 1 jour ou 6,5 heures

Exemptions et prolongations

  • Une exemption ponctuelle en ce qui a trait à la formation de perfectionnement triennale peut être accordée à un membre agréé qui a siégé à un comité au cours des douze (12) derniers mois.
  • Une prolongation ponctuelle de la période de six mois entre l'achèvement de la partie 1 et le début de la partie 2 de la formation peut être accordée pour une période d'au plus six (6) mois en raison de circonstances atténuantes (c.-à-d. des raisons personnelles, opérationnelles ou de santé).
  • Les fournisseurs de services de formation (y compris les employeurs qui offrent une formation à l'interne) pourront demander une exemption quant à l'effectif minimum de six (6) participants au moment de la demande d'approbation du programme ou dans le rapport annuel du fournisseur de services de formation.

Apprentissage en ligne

  • La partie 1 des programmes de formation peut comprendre jusqu'à 6,5 heures (le tiers) d'apprentissage en ligne (c.-à-d. une vaste gamme d'applications et de processus tels que l'apprentissage sur le Web et l'apprentissage assisté par ordinateur).
  • La partie 2 et la formation de perfectionnement doivent être données par un instructeur (apprentissage en personne ou à distance).

Évaluation

  • La partie 1 de la formation à l'agrément comprendra un test normalisé qui sera administré et évalué par des fournisseurs de services de formation agréés.
  • Les fournisseurs de services de formation agréés seront responsables de l'élaboration, de l'administration et de l'évaluation des tests finaux de la partie 2 et de la formation de perfectionnement en fonction des critères d'évaluation de l'apprentissage énoncés dans la Norme du programme de formation des membres des CMSST.

Pour obtenir la liste complète des règles d'agrément des membres, veuillez consulter le document relatif aux exigences de formation et autres publié par le directeur général de la prévention.