Print this page

Vehicle Painting Process

  • Issued: October 5, 2016
  • Content last reviewed: October 2016

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Hazard summary

The application of rubberized coatings to the painted surface of vehicles and/or vehicle components (rims, spoiler) is a relatively new and emerging trend in the vehicle customization field. This coating is available in numerous colours and finishes including clear. The coating is used to protect the painted surface or to change the appearance of the vehicle. The coating is applied using an air gun or an aerosol can.

The use of this product is increasing in the vehicle customization field as it is a cost-effective alternative to traditional painting (minimal surface preparation when compared to traditional vehicle painting process). Another reason for the gaining popularity is that the rubberized coating can be easily removed by peeling off in sheets, much like removing an adhesive sticker.

While increasingly popular, the process of applying this rubberized coating may pose a hazard to workers as the product is a flammable liquid that may be ignited by heat, sparks, flames or static electricity that could be found in the workplace.

Hazard location

This product may be found at any workplace where automotive finishes are applied including automotive detailing, body shops, and service garages.

Precautions

An area of a workplace where flammable liquids are in use must be kept free of any source of ignition including heat, sparks, flame or static electricity.

In Regulation 851 (Industrial Establishments) under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA), “flammable liquid” is defined to mean a liquid having a flash point below 37.8° Celsius, and a vapour pressure below 275 kilopascals absolute at 37.8° Celsius [section 1]. The rubberized coating described above falls within the definition of flammable liquid.

Legal requirements

Regulation 851 (Industrial Establishments)

Under section 22 of Regulation 851:

  • (1) Subject to subsections (2), (3) and (4), where not required for immediate use, flammable liquids shall be,
  • (a) in sealed containers; and
  • (b) located,
    • (i) outdoors and remote from any means of egress,
    • (ii) in a building not used for any other purpose, or
    • (iii) in a room,
      • (A) separated from the rest of the building with partitions having,
        • 1. at least a one-hour fire-resistance rating, and
        • 2. self-closing doors, hinged to swing outwardly on their vertical axes,
      • (B) equipped with,
        • 1. a drain connected to a dry sump or holding tank, and
        • 2. liquid-tight seals between interior walls and floor and a liquid-tight ramped sill at any door opening, which is not in an exterior wall, and
      • (C) having natural ventilation to the outdoors by upper and lower exterior wall gravity louvres.
  • (2) Where not required for immediate use, flammable liquids,
    • (a) in opened containers; or
    • (b) having a flash point below 22.8° Celsius and a boiling point below 37.8° Celsius, shall,
    • (c) comply with the requirements of clause (1) (b);
    • (d) be stored in facilities having no potential source of ignition; and
    • (e) when located in a room, be located in a room equipped with,
      • (i) explosion venting to the outdoors, and
      • (ii) a spark resistant floor.
  • (3) A maximum of 235 litres of flammable liquids may be stored,
    • (a) in sealed containers of not more than twenty-three litre capacity each; or
    • (b) in a metal cabinet of double walled construction with a 3-point door latch and a liquid-tight door sill raised at least fifty millimetres above the floor.
  • (4) An area where flammable liquids are dispensed shall have,
    • (a) mechanical ventilation from floor level to the outdoors at the rate of eighteen cubic metres per hour per square metre of floor area; and
    • (b) containers and dispensing equipment bonded and grounded when flammable liquid is dispensed.

Under section 23 of Regulation 851:

  • A portable container used for dispensing flammable liquid in a work area shall be made of material suitable to provide for the safety of all workers and have,
    • (a) a spring-loaded cap; and
    • (b) a flame arrestor.

Under section 63 of Regulation 851:

  • A process that is likely to produce a gas, vapour, dust or fume, to such an extent as to be capable of forming an explosive mixture with air shall be carried out in an area which has provision for safe disposal by burning under controlled conditions or in an area which,
    • (a) is isolated from other operations;
    • (b) has a system of ventilation adequate to ensure that the gas, vapour, dust or fume does not reach a hazardous concentration;
    • (c) has no potential sources of ignition;
    • (d) has provision for explosion venting; and
    • (e) has, where applicable, baffles, chokes or dampers to reduce the effects of any explosion.

Under section 127 of Regulation 851:

  • An industrial establishment shall be adequately ventilated by either natural or mechanical means such that the atmosphere does not endanger the health and safety of workers [section 127].

Occupational Health and Safety Act

Relevant provisions under the OHSA include the following sections.

Under section 25 of the OHSA, the employer must:

  • take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances to protect workers [clause 25(2)(h)]
  • provide information, instruction and supervision to protect the health and safety of the worker [clause 25(2)(a)]
  • ensure the measures and procedures prescribed (i.e. required by the regulations) are carried out in the workplace [clause 25(1)(c)]
  • acquaint a worker or a person in authority over a worker with any hazard in the work and in the handling, storage, use, disposal and transport of any article, device, equipment or a biological, chemical or physical agent [clause 25 (2)(d)].

Under section 27 of the OHSA, the supervisor must:

  • ensure that a worker works in a manner and with the protective devices, measures and procedures required by the Act and its regulations [clause 27(1)(a)]
  • advise a worker of the existence of any potential or actual danger to the health or safety of the worker of which the supervisor is aware [clause 27(2)(a)]
  • take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances for the protection of a worker [clause 27(2)(c)].

Under section 28 of OHSA, a worker must:

  • work in compliance with the provisions of the Act and its regulations [clause 28(1)(a)].

Regulation 860 (Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System)

Under section 6 of Regulation 860 (Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System (WHMIS)):

  • (1) An employer shall ensure that a worker who works with or who may be exposed in the course of his or her work to a hazardous product received from a supplier is informed about all hazard information the employer receives from the supplier concerning the hazardous product and all further hazard information of which the employer is or ought to be aware concerning its use, storage and handling.

Under section 17 of Regulation 860:

  • (1) An employer who receives a hazardous product from a supplier for use, storage or handling at a workplace shall obtain a supplier safety data sheet for the hazardous product from the supplier unless the supplier is exempted under the Hazardous Products Regulations (Canada) from providing a safety data sheet for the hazardous product.

Note: Recent amendments to the OHSA and the WHMIS Regulation (Regulation 860) made under the OHSA adopt new, international standards that are part of the Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labelling of Chemicals (GHS).

The amendments to the OHSA and WHMIS Regulation affect various requirements governing labels and safety data sheets for hazardous workplace chemicals. Also affected are definitions, terminology and provisions that protect confidential business information related to hazardous workplace chemicals. The changes reflect amendments to the federal Hazardous Products Act and new Hazardous Products Regulations, which came into force February 11, 2015.

The new requirements in the OHSA and WHMIS Regulation came into effect July 1, 2016. To give workplace parties time to adjust to the new requirements, there will be a transition period to gradually phase out the old requirements.

  • Employers have until May 31, 2018 to continue to receive and use hazardous products with either the old WHMIS labels and safety data sheets or the new ones.
  • Employers have from June 1, 2018 to November 30, 2018 to bring any hazardous products still in the workplace with the old WHMIS labels and safety data sheets into compliance with the new requirements.
  • By December 1, 2018, the transition to the new WHMIS labels and safety data sheets must be complete. During the transition, employers must ensure workers are trained on both the old and new labels and safety data sheets for as long as both are present in the workplace.

For more information

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer cette page

Procédé d'application de peinture sur véhicules

  • Diffusion : 5 octobre 2016
  • Dernière mise à jour : octobre 2016

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Résumé du danger

L'application de revêtements caoutchoutés sur la surface peinte de véhicules et (ou) de composants de véhicules (jantes, déflecteurs) est une tendance relativement nouvelle dans le domaine de la personnalisation des voitures. Ce type de revêtement est offert en plusieurs couleurs et finis, notamment le fini transparent. Il est utilisé pour protéger la surface peinte du véhicule ou pour en modifier l'apparence. On l'applique au moyen d'un pistolet pneumatique ou d'un contenant aérosol.

Le recours à ce type de produit est de plus en plus courant dans le domaine de la personnalisation des véhicules, car il s'agit d'une solution de rechange peu coûteuse aux peintures traditionnelles (cela nécessite une préparation minimale de la surface par rapport à l'application d'une peinture traditionnelle pour véhicules). Une autre raison de la popularité croissante des revêtements caoutchoutés est qu'ils peuvent être facilement retirés en les décollant de la même manière qu'une pellicule adhésive.

Bien que ce procédé soit de plus en plus populaire, l'application d'un revêtement caoutchouté représente un risque pour les travailleurs, puisque le produit appliqué consiste en un liquide inflammable pouvant s'enflammer au contact de la chaleur, des étincelles, des flammes ou de l'électricité statique, susceptibles d'être présentes dans le milieu de travail.

Endroits présentant un danger

On peut trouver ce type de revêtement dans tous les milieux de travail où sont appliqués des produits de finition pour les voitures, notamment les ateliers d'esthétique automobile, les ateliers de carrosserie et les garages d'entretien automobile.

Précautions

Les zones du milieu de travail où des liquides inflammables sont utilisés doivent être exemptes de toute source d'inflammation, y compris de chaleur, d'étincelles, de flammes ou d'électricité statique.

Dans le cadre du Règlement 851 (Établissements industriels) pris en application de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST), « liquide inflammable » s'entend d'un liquide dont le point d'éclair est inférieur à 37,8 degrés Celsius et dont la pression absolue de vapeur est inférieure à 275 kilopascals à cette température [article 1]. Les revêtements caoutchoutés mentionnés ci-dessus correspondent à la définition d'un liquide inflammable.

Exigences juridiques

Règlement 851 (Établissements industriels)

En vertu de l'article 22 du Règlement 851 :

  • (1) Sous réserve des paragraphes (2), (3) et (4), les liquides inflammables dont on n'a pas besoin immédiatement satisfont aux conditions suivantes :
    • a) ils sont contenus dans des contenants scellés;
    • b) ils sont placés, selon le cas :
      • (i) à l'extérieur, à l'écart de tout moyen de sortie,
      • (ii) dans un bâtiment utilisé uniquement à cette fin,
      • (iii) dans une pièce qui réunit les conditions suivantes :
        • (A) elle est séparée du reste du bâtiment par des cloisons :
          • 1. d'une part, dont l'indice de résistance au feu est d'au moins une heure,
          • 2. d'autre part, équipées de portes pivotant vers l'extérieur suivant un axe vertical et se refermant d'elles-mêmes,
        • (B) elle est dotée :
          • 1. d'une part, d'un drain relié à un puisard sec ou à un réservoir,
          • 2. d'autre part, de joints étanches aux liquides entre les murs intérieurs et le plancher et d'un seuil incliné étanche aux liquides dans toutes les ouvertures de porte qui ne se trouvent pas dans un mur extérieur,
        • (C) elle est dotée d'une ventilation naturelle vers l'extérieur au moyen de registres à écoulement naturel placés en haut et en bas des murs extérieurs.
  • (2) Les liquides inflammables dont on n'a pas besoin immédiatement et qui :
    • a) soit se trouvent dans des contenants ouverts;
    • b) soit ont un point d'éclair inférieur à 22,8 degrés Celsius et un point d'ébullition inférieur à 37,8 degrés Celsius,
    • satisfont aux conditions suivantes :
    • c) ils sont conformes aux exigences de l'alinéa (1) b);
    • d) ils sont stockés à un endroit ne comportant aucune source d'inflammation potentielle;
    • e) s'ils sont placés dans une pièce, celle-ci est dotée :
      • (i) d'une part, d'un clapet d'explosion dirigé vers l'extérieur,
      • (ii) d'autre part, d'un plancher anti-étincelle.
  • (3) Il peut être stocké au maximum 235 litres de liquides inflammables :
    • a) soit dans des contenants scellés d'une capacité maximale de 23 litres;
    • b) soit dans un meuble métallique à double paroi, avec verrou à trois points d'ancrage et seuil de porte étanche aux liquides surélevé d'au moins 50 millimètres au-dessus du plancher.
  • (4) Les endroits où des liquides inflammables sont distribués satisfont aux conditions suivantes :
    • a) ils sont munis d'un système de ventilation mécanique qui, du niveau du plancher, débite vers l'extérieur 18 mètres cubes d'air à l'heure par mètre carré de plancher;
    • b) les contenants et le matériel de distribution sont reliés électriquement et mis à la terre pendant la distribution des liquides inflammables.

En vertu de l'article 23 du Règlement 851 :

  • Les contenants portatifs utilisés pour distribuer des liquides inflammables dans une zone de travail sont fabriqués avec un matériau convenable pour assurer la sécurité de tous les travailleurs et comportent les éléments suivants :
    • a) un bouchon à ressort;
    • b) un pare-flamme.

En vertu de l'article 63 du Règlement 851 :

  • Tout procédé susceptible de produire des gaz, des vapeurs, des poussières ou des fumées en quantité suffisante pour former un mélange explosif avec l'air est exécuté dans un endroit comportant un dispositif d'élimination contrôlée et sûre par combustion ou dans un endroit qui réunit les conditions suivantes :
    • a) il est isolé des autres opérations;
    • b) il comporte un système de ventilation adéquat pour faire en sorte que les gaz, les vapeurs, les poussières ou les fumées n'atteignent pas une concentration dangereuse;
    • c) il ne comporte aucune source potentielle d'inflammation;
    • d) il est muni d'un clapet d'explosion;
    • e) il comporte au besoin des chicanes, étrangleurs ou registres permettant de réduire les effets d'une explosion.

En vertu de l'article 127 du Règlement 851 :

  • Les établissements industriels sont adéquatement ventilés par des moyens mécaniques ou naturels de façon que l'atmosphère ne mette pas en danger la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs [article 127].

Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail

Les dispositions pertinentes de la LSST comprennent les articles ci-dessous.

En vertu de l'article 25 de la LSST, l'employeur :

  • prend toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection du travailleur (alinéa 25 [2] h]);
  • fournit au travailleur les renseignements, les directives et la surveillance nécessaires à la protection de sa santé et de sa sécurité (alinéa 25 [2] a]);
  • veille à ce que les mesures et les méthodes prescrites (c.-à-d. requises par la réglementation) soient observées dans le lieu de travail (alinéa 25 [1] c]);
  • informe le travailleur, ou la personne qui exerce son autorité sur celui-ci, des risques que comportent le travail et la manipulation, l'entreposage, l'utilisation, l'élimination et le transport de tout objet, appareil, matériel ou agent biologique, chimique ou physique (alinéa 25 [2] d]).

En vertu de l'article 27 de la LSST, le superviseur :

  • veille à ce que le travailleur travaille de la façon et en utilisant les appareils de protection qu'exigent la présente loi et les règlements et respecte les mesures à prendre et les méthodes à suivre qu'ils exigent (alinéa 27 [1] a]);
  • informe le travailleur de l'existence de tout danger éventuel ou réel dont il a connaissance et qui menace la santé ou la sécurité du travailleur (alinéa 27 [2] a]);
  • prend toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection du travailleur (alinéa 27 [2] c]).

En vertu de l'article 28 de la LSST, le travailleur :

  • travaille conformément aux dispositions de la présente loi et des règlements (alinéa 28 [1] a]).

Règlement 860 (Système d'information sur les matières dangereuses utilisées au travail)

En vertu de l'article 6 du Règlement 860 (Système d'information sur les matières dangereuses utilisées au travail [SIMDUT]) :

  • (1) L'employeur veille à ce que les travailleurs qui travaillent avec un produit dangereux reçu d'un fournisseur ou risquent d'y être exposés au cours de leur travail reçoivent tous les renseignements reçus par l'employeur du fournisseur relatifs aux dangers du produit dangereux et tout autre renseignement du même genre que détient ou devrait détenir l'employeur concernant l'utilisation, l'entreposage et la manipulation du produit dangereux.

En vertu de l'article 17 du Règlement 860 :

  • (1) L'employeur qui reçoit un produit dangereux d'un fournisseur pour l'utiliser, l'entreposer ou le manipuler dans un lieu de travail obtient du fournisseur une fiche de données de sécurité du fournisseur pour ce produit dangereux, sauf si le fournisseur est soustrait, aux termes du Règlement sur les produits dangereux (Canada), à l'obligation de fournir une fiche de données de sécurité pour le produit dangereux.

Remarque : Des modifications ont été apportées récemment à la LSST et au Règlement sur le SIMDUT (Règlement 860) adopté aux termes de la LSST afin d'adopter de nouvelles normes internationales qui font partie du Système général harmonisé de classification et d'étiquetage des produits chimiques (SGH).

Les modifications à la LSST et au Règlement sur le SIMDUT concernent différentes exigences régissant les étiquettes et les fiches de données de sécurité pour les produits chimiques dangereux utilisés au travail. Les définitions, la terminologie et les dispositions qui protègent les renseignements confidentiels reliés aux produits chimiques utilisés au travail sont également concernées par les modifications. Les modifications reflètent les celles apportées à la Loi sur les produits dangereux fédérale et au Règlement sur les produits dangereux qui sont entrés en vigueur le 11 février 2015.

Les nouvelles exigences contenues dans la LSST et le Règlement sur le SIMDUT sont entrées en vigueur le 1er juillet 2016. Afin de laisser aux parties des lieux de travail le temps de s'ajuster aux nouvelles exigences, il y aura une période de transition pour l'élimination progressive des anciennes exigences.

  • Jusqu'au 31 mai 2018, les employeurs peuvent continuer à recevoir et à utiliser des produits dangereux avec les anciennes étiquettes et fiches de données de sécurité du SIMDUT ou avec les nouvelles.
  • Les employeurs ont du 1er juin 2018 au 30 novembre 2018 pour rendre conformes aux nouvelles exigences tous les produits dangereux encore sur les lieux de travail avec les anciennes étiquettes et fiches de données de sécurité du SIMDUT.
  • La transition vers les nouvelles étiquettes et fiches de données de sécurité du SIMDUT doit être terminée d'ici le 1er décembre 2018.

Durant la période de transition, les employeurs doivent s'assurer que les travailleurs reçoivent une formation à la fois sur les anciennes et les nouvelles étiquettes et fiches de données de sécurité aussi longtemps que les deux catégories sont présentes sur les lieux de travail.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.