Print This Page

Telescopic handlers

  • Issued: January 18, 2016
  • Content last reviewed: January 2016

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

A telescopic handler or “telehandler” is mobile equipment similar in appearance to a power elevated work platform, a forklift or a mobile crane. It has a single telescopic boom that can extend forwards and upwards from the vehicle. Many are designed to accommodate several interchangeable attachments on the end of the boom, such as a work platform, forks or a winch.

Rotating telescoping handlers are versatile pieces of equipment and able to fulfill the functions of mobile cranes with similar capacity when they are on the “crane mode” carrying out hoisting tasks.

Whether the telescopic handler is used as a crane, power elevated platform or a forklift, its operator must be competent (Construction Projects Regulation, O. Reg. 213/91, s. 96(1)).

If the operator or employer cannot demonstrate that the operator is competent, the inspector may issue orders, including a “stop use order” until the employer provides a competent operator for the piece of equipment being used.

Background information and legal requirements

The Ministry of Labour enforces the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and its regulations, which set legal requirements for employers to ensure the protection of workers.

Employers have a duty under the Occupational Health and Safety Act, clause 25(1)(c) to ensure that the measures and procedures prescribed are carried out in the workplace. Clause 25(2)(a) requires the employer to provide information, instruction and supervision to a worker to protect the health or safety of the worker. Clause 25(2)(h) requires the employer to take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances for the protection of a worker.

  • With respect to cranes and similar hoisting devices, section 150 of the Construction Projects Regulation requires certification from the Ontario College of Trades or other training of equipment operators, depending on the rated load-carrying capacity of the equipment.
  • It is the employer’s responsibility to obtain information about the unit they want to use in the workplace, and ensure it complies with all the applicable regulatory requirements, for example:
    1. If the unit has been manufactured to an elevating work platform (EWP) standard or has been identified by the manufacturer’s literature as an EWP, it must be designed, manufactured, tested, inspected and used in compliance with section 144 of O. Reg. 213/91. The maintenance and use of the unit must also comply with sections 145-149 of O. Reg. 213/91.
    2. If the equipment has been designed and constructed to operate as a mobile crane or in a “crane mode,” its rated load-carrying capacity must be determined by the manufacturer or a professional engineer in accordance with the Canadian Standards Association Standard Z150-1974 Safety Code for Mobile Cranes, pursuant to clause 151(2)(a) of O. Reg. 213/91. Use of the equipment as a mobile crane must also comply with all other regulatory requirements in sections 150-156 of O. Reg. 213/91, including the operator’s training and certification requirements in section 150, if applicable.
    3. Telescopic handlers that have been designed and constructed to have a dual purpose, i.e. to operate as an EWP or as a crane, depending on the attachment and the chosen mode of operation, must meet all the regulatory requirements for both EWP and cranes. The operator must be trained in both usages and fulfil all applicable training and certification requirements.
    4. Telescopic handlers must be used in accordance with any operating manuals issued by the manufacturer (O. Reg. 213/91, s. 93(3)).
    5. A signaler must be assigned to assist the operator whenever the operator’s view of the intended path of travel is obstructed or if a person may be endangered by the equipment or its load (O. Reg. 213/91, s. 104(3)).

Please note that this list is not exhaustive and other regulatory requirements must be complied with depending on the work activity being undertaken.

Some applicable regulatory requirements of O. Reg. 213/91 (Construction Projects Regulation) under the OHSA (non exhaustive)

  • Equipment, general requirements: sections 93 to 116.
  • Elevating work platforms requirements: sections 143 to 149.
  • Cranes requirements: sections 150 to 156.
  • Vicinity of approach to overhead power lines: sections 187, 188 and 189.

Construction Program enforcement with respect to telescopic handlers

  • Inspectors may check the manufacturer’s operating manual for a telescopic handler to ensure that it is being used in accordance with the manual (s. 93(3) of O. Reg. 213/91)
  • Depending on the information outlined by the manufacturer, whether the equipment has been designed and built to a crane, elevating work platform, or forklift standard, or a combination thereof, the employer may be required to provide information demonstrating compliance with applicable regulatory requirements pertaining to the type of equipment:
    • Proof that the equipment’s rated load-carrying capacity has been determined by the manufacturer or a professional engineer in accordance with the applicable Canadian Standards Association Standard, when it has been designed and constructed to a mobile crane standard or to fulfill “crane mode” tasks;
    • Certification by a professional engineer that the equipment complies with the applicable National Standards of Canada standard set out in the Table to subsection 144(6) (O. Reg. 213/91, s. 144 (4)), when used as an elevating work platform or in this mode.
  • In those instances where the telescopic handler is versatile and may be used in various modes, such as EWP mode, crane mode, etc., necessary documentation pertaining to each mode of use must be available; the operator must also be competent to handle the various modes of usage, taking into account the maximum capacity that the equipment is capable of handling and the most stringent conditions of its usage.
  • Inspectors may issue an order based on the category or categories of equipment the telehandler is capable of fulfilling as per the manufacturer’s operating manual, should any regulatory requirement under any of the applicable categories not be fulfilled.
  • Inspectors may use their powers under clause 54(1)(f) of the OHSA to require the employer to provide a report by a professional engineer or the manufacturer confirming any detail necessary to ensure the safety of the operator or other persons on the project where the telescopic handler is being used.
  • Inspectors may also require that the workplace not be disturbed for a reasonable period of time for the purposes of carrying out their investigation (clause 54(1)(i) of the OHSA).

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer cette page

Chariots télescopiques

  • Diffusion : 18 janvier 2016
  • Dernière mise à jour : janvier 2016

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Un chariot télescopique ou un chariot élévateur à portée variable est un équipement mobile d'apparence similaire à une plate-forme de travail élévatrice motorisée, à un chariot élévateur à fourche ou à une grue mobile. Il est équipé d'une seule flèche télescopique pouvant s'allonger vers l'avant et vers le haut à partir du véhicule. De nombreux chariots télescopiques sont conçus pour être utilisés avec plusieurs attachements interchangeables à l'extrémité de la flèche, comme une plate-forme de travail, une fourche ou un treuil.

Les chariots télescopiques rotatifs sont des équipements polyvalents et capables de remplir les fonctions de grues mobiles avec des capacités similaires lorsqu'ils sont en « mode grue » pour effectuer des travaux de levage.

Peu importe que le chariot télescopique soit utilisé comme une grue, une plate-forme élévatrice motorisée ou un chariot élévateur à fourche, son conducteur doit être compétent (Règlement de l'Ontario 213/91 sur les chantiers de construction, par. 96 [1]) (en anglais seulement).

Si le conducteur ou l'employeur n'est pas en mesure de démontrer la compétence du conducteur, l'inspecteur peut donner des ordres, notamment un « ordre d'arrêt de l'utilisation » jusqu'à ce que l'employeur fournisse un conducteur compétent pour l'équipement utilisé.

Renseignements généraux et obligations juridiques

Le ministère du Travail applique la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) et ses règlements, qui déterminent les obligations juridiques que doivent respecter les employeurs afin d'assurer la protection des travailleurs.

Les employeurs ont le devoir, en vertu de l'alinéa 25 (1) c) de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, de veiller à ce que les mesures et les méthodes prescrites soient observées dans le lieu de travail. L’alinéa 25 (2) a) exige que l'employeur fournisse au travailleur les renseignements, les directives et la surveillance nécessaires à la protection de sa santé et de sa sécurité. L’alinéa 25 (2) h) exige que l’employeur prenne toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection du travailleur.

  • En vertu de l'article 150 du règlement sur les chantiers de construction, un conducteur de grues et d'engins de levage similaires doit détenir une accréditation de l'Ordre des métiers de l'Ontario ou une autre formation du conducteur d'équipement, selon la capacité nominale de l'équipement.
  • Il incombe à l'employeur d'obtenir les renseignements à propos de l'engin qu'il veut utiliser dans le lieu de travail et de s'assurer qu'il respecte toutes les exigences réglementaires applicables, notamment :
    1. Si l'engin a été fabriqué selon les normes d'une plate-forme de travail élévatrice ou a été identifié dans la documentation du fabricant comme une plate-forme de travail élévatrice, il doit être conçu, fabriqué, testé, inspecté et utilisé conformément à l'article 144 du Règlement de l’Ontario 213/91. L'équipement doit aussi être entretenu et utilisé conformément aux articles 145 à 149 du Règlement de l’Ontario 213/91.
    2. Si l'équipement a été conçu et fabriqué pour fonctionner comme une grue mobile ou en « mode grue », sa capacité nominale doit être déterminée par le fabricant ou par un ingénieur conformément à la norme Grues mobiles Z150-1974 de l'Association canadienne de normalisation, en vertu de l'alinéa 151 (2) a) du Règlement de l'Ontario 213/91. L'utilisation de l'équipement en tant que grue mobile doit également être conforme à toutes les autres exigences réglementaires des articles 150 à 156 du Règlement de l’Ontario 213/91, y compris celles qui concernent la formation du conducteur et les exigences en matière d'accréditation à l'article 150, le cas échéant.
    3. Les chariots télescopiques qui ont été conçus et fabriqués pour offrir deux fonctions, c.-à-d. fonctionner comme une plate-forme de travail élévatrice ou comme une grue, selon l'attachement et le mode de fonctionnement sélectionné, doivent respecter toutes les exigences réglementaires des plates-formes de travail élévatrices et des grues. Le conducteur doit être formé pour les deux utilisations et remplir l'ensemble des exigences de formation et d'accréditation.
    4. Les chariots télescopiques doivent être utilisés conformément aux manuels d'utilisation publiés par le fabricant (Règlement de l’Ontario 213/91, par. 93 [3]).
    5. Un signaleur doit être affecté à aider le conducteur lorsque sa vision de la voie de déplacement prévue est obstruée ou si une personne peut être mise en danger par l'équipement ou sa charge (Règlement de l’Ontario 213/91, par. 104 [3]).

Veuillez noter que la présente liste n'est pas exhaustive et qu'il existe d'autres exigences réglementaires auxquelles il faut se conformer en fonction des travaux effectués.

Voici certaines exigences réglementaires applicables du Règlement de l’Ontario 213/91 (Règlement sur les chantiers de construction) pris en application de la LSST (non exhaustif)

  • Exigences relatives à l'équipement, exigences générales : articles 93 à 116.
  • Exigences relatives aux plates-formes de travail élévatrices : articles 143 à 149.
  • Exigences relatives aux grues : articles 150 à 156.
  • Approche à proximité des lignes électriques aériennes : articles 187, 188 et 189.

Mise en application du Programme de santé et de sécurité dans la construction à l'égard des chariots télescopiques

  • Les inspecteurs peuvent consulter le manuel d'utilisation du fabricant d'un chariot télescopique pour assurer qu'il est utilisé conformément au manuel (par. 93 [3] du Règlement de l’Ontario 213/91).
  • Selon les renseignements indiqués par le fabricant, à savoir si l'équipement a été conçu et fabriqué en respectant les normes relatives aux grues, aux plates-formes de travail élévatrices ou aux chariots élévateurs à fourche, ou une combinaison de celles-ci, l'employeur pourrait devoir fournir des renseignements démontrant la conformité aux exigences réglementaires applicables relatives au type d'équipement :
    • preuve que la capacité nominale de l'équipement a été déterminée par le fabricant ou par un ingénieur en conformité à la norme applicable de l'Association canadienne de normalisation, lorsque l'équipement a été conçu et fabriqué selon les normes applicables aux grues mobiles ou pour remplir les fonctions du « mode grue »;
    • accréditation d'un ingénieur indiquant que l'équipement est conforme aux normes applicables des Normes nationales du Canada établies dans le tableau du paragraphe 144 (6) (Règlement de l’Ontario 213/91, par. 144 [4]), lorsqu'il est utilisé comme une plate-forme de travail élévatrice ou dans ce mode.
  • Dans les cas où le chariot télescopique est polyvalent et peut être utilisé selon divers modes, comme le mode plate-forme de travail élévatrice, le mode grue, etc., l'employeur doit posséder la documentation nécessaire relative à chaque mode d'utilisation. Le conducteur doit aussi posséder les compétences pour se servir des divers modes d'utilisation, en tenant compte de la capacité maximale de l'équipement et des conditions les plus rigoureuses de son fonctionnement.
  • Les inspecteurs peuvent donner un ordre en fonction de la catégorie ou des catégories d'équipement dans lesquelles peut être classé le chariot télescopique conformément au manuel d'utilisation du fabricant, dans le cas où toute exigence réglementaire en vertu d'une catégorie applicable ne serait pas respectée.
  • Les inspecteurs peuvent utiliser leurs pouvoirs en vertu de l'alinéa 54 (1) f) de la LSST pour exiger qu'un employeur fournisse un rapport d'un ingénieur ou du fabricant confirmant tout détail nécessaire pour assurer la sécurité du conducteur ou des autres personnes travaillant dans le chantier lorsque le chariot télescopique est utilisé.
  • Les inspecteurs peuvent aussi exiger que le lieu de travail ne soit pas dérangé pendant un délai raisonnable pour leur permettre de mener leur enquête (alinéa 54 (1) i) de la LSST).

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.