Print This Page

De-rating of mobile cranes capable of raising, lowering, or moving materials that weigh more than 16,000 lbs

  • Issued: January 18, 2016
  • Content last reviewed: January 2016

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

As mobile cranes age, they may reach a point where their useful life may be extended by making physical modifications to permanently reduce their lifting capacity. In this case the Ministry of Labour (MOL) will accept a crane’s de-rating subject to the conditions listed below.

However, the MOL will not accept de-rating of cranes for the purposes of using a less qualified operator, which does not involve physical alteration of the equipment or which involves changes that can be easily reversed when determining the weight that a crane is “capable of raising, lowering or moving” under section 150 of the Construction Projects Regulation (O. Reg. 213/91).

Construction Program enforcement with respect to mobile cranes de-rating

De-rating of a mobile crane must comply with the following regulatory requirements:

  1. The new rated load-carrying capacity must be accompanied by documentation provided by the manufacturer or by a professional engineer confirming that the de-rated capacity has been determined in accordance with CSA Standard Z150-1974, as required by subsection 151(2) of the Construction Projects Regulation.
  2. The original load-rating chart must be removed and a new chart corresponding to the reduced rated capacity must be developed and installed on the equipment, in accordance with subsection 151(3) of the Construction Projects Regulation.
  3. When determining the weight that the crane is “capable of raising, lowering or moving” for the purposes of enforcing section 150 of the Construction Projects Regulation, the MOL will consider the crane to be “capable” of lifting its original rated load-carrying capacity unless there has been physical alteration to the equipment so that the de-rated crane does not have an excessive capacity (after applying appropriate safety factors), in any configuration to lift a load over the de-rated capacity. This applies to both weight and reach.

NOTE: If the operator is capable of returning the crane to its original capacity, then the de-rating will not be accepted by the MOL for the purposes of determining the weight that the crane is “capable of raising, lowering or moving” under section 150.

Inspectors may issue an order under section 150 or other relevant sections of the Construction Projects Regulation to the workplace parties if there is a contravention concerning the qualifications of the crane operator or the unsafe operation of the crane.

Inspectors may use their power under clause 54(1)(f) of the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) to require the employer to confirm by way of a report by a professional engineer or crane manufacturer the actual load-carrying capacity of a crane for the purposes of enforcing subsection 151(2) of the Construction Projects Regulation and accordingly considering the new de-rated crane capacity.

Where requirements are issued under clause 54(1)(f) of the OHSA, a “stop use” requirement under clause 54(1)(i) should also be considered.

Under subsection 150(1) of the Construction Projects Regulation, the operator of a mobile crane capable of raising, lowering, or moving any material that weighs more than 16,000 lbs or a tower crane of any capacity must be certified by the Ontario College of Trades or be a registered apprentice in the relevant “Hoisting Engineer” trade. The Ontario College of Trades and Apprenticeship Act, 2009 requires that individuals engaging in the practice of a compulsory trade have the training and certification required to legally practice this trade in Ontario. The “Hoisting Engineer” trades (Hoisting Engineer – Mobile Crane Operator 1; Hoisting Engineer – Mobile Crane Operator 2; and Hoisting Engineer – Tower Crane Operator) are compulsory trades in Ontario which apply to operators of mobile cranes capable of raising, lowering, or moving materials that weigh more than 16,000 lbs and to operators of tower cranes, regardless of the tower crane’s capacity.

The Ministry of Labour enforces the Occupational Health and Safety Act and its regulations, which set legal requirements for employers to ensure the protection of workers.

Background information and legal requirements

Employers have a duty under the Occupational Health and Safety Act, clause 25(1)(c) to ensure that the measures and procedures prescribed are carried out in the workplace. This includes compliance with the training and certification of crane operators as required by section 150 of the Construction Projects Regulation. Clause 25(2)(a) requires the employer to provide information, instruction and supervision to a worker to protect the health or safety of the worker. Clause 25(2)(h) requires the employer to take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances for the protection of a worker.

  • Section 150 of O. Reg. 213/91 prohibits the operation of a mobile crane capable of raising, lowering or moving material that weighs more than 16,000 pounds, unless the operator holds a certificate of qualification issued under the Ontario College of Trades and Apprenticeship Act, 2009,that is not suspended, or the worker is an apprentice and is working pursuant to a training agreement registered under that act, that is not suspended, in the applicable “Hoisting Engineer” trade.
  • De-rating a mobile crane to a capacity less than 16,000 pounds would allow its operation by an operator who does not hold a certificate of qualification issued under the Ontario College of Trades and Apprenticeship Act, 2009. The operator also does not need to be an apprentice working pursuant to a training agreement registered under that act. Under subsection 150(2) of the Construction Projects Regulation, the operator would only need written proof of training indicating that he or she is trained in the safe operation of the crane with a capacity of less than 16,000 pounds, or be instructed and accompanied by a person who has that written proof of training.

Excerpts of some regulatory requirements under the OHSA

Section 150 of O. Reg. 213/91 states:

  • (1) Subject to subsection (2), no worker shall operate a crane or similar hoisting device unless the worker holds a certificate of qualification issued under the Ontario College of Trades and Apprenticeship Act, 2009, that is not suspended, or the worker is an apprentice and is working pursuant to a training agreement registered under that Act, that is not suspended, in the trade of,
    • (a) hoisting engineer — mobile crane operator 1, if the worker is operating a crane or similar hoisting device capable of raising, lowering or moving any material that weighs more than 30,000 pounds;
    • (b) hoisting engineer — mobile crane operator 1 or hoisting engineer — mobile crane operator 2, if the worker is operating a crane or similar hoisting device capable of raising, lowering or moving only material that weighs more than 16,000 pounds but no more than 30,000 pounds; or
    • (c) hoisting engineer — tower crane operator, if the worker is operating a tower crane.
  • (1.1) Subsection (1) does not apply when a worker is using excavation equipment to place pipes into a trench. O. Reg. 631/94, s. 3.
  • (2) No worker shall operate a crane or similar hoisting device, other than one described in subsection (1), unless,
    • (a) the worker has written proof of training indicating that he or she is trained in the safe operation of the crane or similar hoisting device; or
    • (b) the worker is being instructed in the operation of the crane or similar hoisting device and is accompanied by a person who meets the requirements of clause (a). O. Reg 213/91, s. 150 (2).
  • (3) A worker shall carry his or her proof of training while operating a crane or similar hoisting device. O. Reg. 213/91, s. 150 (3).

Subsection 151(2) of O. Reg 213/91 states:

  • (2) The manufacturer of a crane or similar hoisting device or a professional engineer shall determine its rated load-carrying capacity in accordance with,
    • (a) for a mobile crane, Canadian Standards Association Standard Z150-1974 Safety Code for Mobile Cranes; and
    • (b) for a tower crane, Canadian Standards Association Standard Z248-1976 Code for Tower Cranes. O. Reg 213/91, s. 151 (2).

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer cette page

Déclassement des grues mobiles pouvant lever, abaisser ou déplacer des charges de plus de 16 000 livres

  • Diffusion : 18 janvier 2016
  • Dernière mise à jour : janvier 2016

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

À mesure que les grues mobiles prennent de l’âge, elles peuvent atteindre un point où il est possible de prolonger leur durée de vie utile en apportant des modifications physiques en vue de réduire de manière permanente leur capacité de levage. Dans ce cas, le ministère du Travail (MTR) accepte le déclassement d’une grue, sous réserve des conditions indiquées ci-dessous.

Toutefois, le MTR n’accepte pas le déclassement des grues en vue de permettre leur utilisation par un conducteur moins qualifié, qui ne concerne pas de modifications physiques de l'équipement ou qui entraîne des modifications faciles à enlever, lorsqu’il détermine le poids qu’une grue est « capable de lever, d’abaisser ou de déplacer » en vertu de l’article 150 du règlement sur les chantiers de construction (en anglais seulement) (Règlement de l’Ontario 213/91).

Mise en application du Programme de santé et de sécurité dans la construction à l’égard du déclassement des grues mobiles

Le déclassement d’une grue mobile doit être conforme aux exigences réglementaires suivantes :

  1. La nouvelle capacité nominale doit être accompagnée de documents fournis par le fabricant ou par un ingénieur, qui confirment que la capacité après déclassement a été déterminée conformément à la norme Z150-1974 de la CSA, en vertu du paragraphe 151 (2) du règlement sur les chantiers de construction.
  2. Le tableau de capacité nominale original doit être enlevé et un nouveau tableau correspondant à la capacité nominale réduite doit être préparé et posé sur l'équipement, conformément au paragraphe 151 (3) du règlement sur les chantiers de construction.
  3. Quand il s’agit de déterminer le poids que la grue est « capable de lever, d’abaisser ou de déplacer » pour les besoins de l’application de l’article 150 du règlement sur les chantiers de construction, le MTR considère la grue comme étant « capable » de lever sa capacité nominale originale, sauf si des modifications physiques ont été apportées à l'équipement afin que la grue déclassée n’ait pas la capacité (après l’application de facteurs de sécurité appropriés), quelle que soit la configuration utilisée, de lever une charge dépassant la capacité déclassée. Ces exigences s’appliquent à la fois au poids et à la portée.

REMARQUE : Si le conducteur est en mesure de remettre la grue à sa capacité originale, le déclassement ne sera pas accepté par le MTR afin de déterminer le poids que la grue est « capable de lever, d’abaisser ou de déplacer » aux termes de l’article 150.

Les inspecteurs peuvent donner un ordre en vertu de l’article 150 ou d’autres articles pertinents du règlement sur les chantiers de construction s’il y a une infraction concernant les qualifications du conducteur de la grue ou si la grue est utilisée de manière non sécuritaire.

Les inspecteurs peuvent utiliser leurs pouvoirs en vertu de l’alinéa 54 (1) f) de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) pour exiger que l'employeur fournisse un rapport d'un ingénieur ou du fabricant de la grue qui confirme la capacité nominale réelle de la grue aux fins de l’application du paragraphe 151 (2) du règlement sur les chantiers de construction et, en conséquence, prendre en considération la nouvelle capacité déclassée.

Lorsque des exigences sont imposées en vertu de l’alinéa 54 (1) f) de la LSST, un « ordre d’arrêt de l’utilisation » en vertu de l’alinéa 54 (1) i) doit également être envisagé.

Aux termes du paragraphe 150 (1) du règlement sur les chantiers de construction, le conducteur d’une grue mobile capable de lever, d’abaisser ou de déplacer toute charge de plus de 16 000 livres ou une grue à tour, quelle que soit sa capacité, doit être accrédité par l’Ordre des métiers de l’Ontario ou être un apprenti visé par un contrat d'apprentissage enregistré du métier de « conducteur de grue » pertinent. La Loi de 2009 sur l’Ordre des métiers de l’Ontario et l’apprentissage prévoit que les personnes qui exercent un métier à accréditation obligatoire doivent avoir suivi la formation et détenir l’accréditation requises pour exercer légalement ce métier en Ontario. Les métiers de « conducteur de grue » (conducteur de grue mobile [catégorie 1], conducteur de grue mobile [catégorie 2] et conducteur de grue à tour) sont des métiers à accréditation obligatoire en Ontario et concernent les conducteurs de grue mobile capable de lever, d’abaisser ou de déplacer des charges de plus de 16 000 livres et les conducteurs de grue à tour, quelle que soit la capacité de celle-ci.

Le ministère du Travail applique la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et ses règlements, qui déterminent les obligations juridiques que doivent respecter les employeurs afin d'assurer la protection des travailleurs.

Renseignements généraux et obligations juridiques

Les employeurs ont le devoir, en vertu de l'alinéa 25 (1) c) de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, de veiller à ce que les mesures et les méthodes prescrites soient observées dans le lieu de travail, notamment la conformité aux exigences de formation et d’accréditation applicables aux conducteurs de grue conformément à l’article 150 du règlement sur les chantiers de construction. L’alinéa 25 (2) a) exige que l'employeur fournisse au travailleur les renseignements, les directives et la surveillance nécessaires à la protection de sa santé et de sa sécurité. L’alinéa 25 (2) h) exige que l’employeur prenne toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection du travailleur.

  • L’article 150 du Règlement de l’Ontario 213/91 interdit la conduite d’une grue mobile capable de lever, d’abaisser et de déplacer une charge de plus de 16 000 livres, sauf si le conducteur est titulaire d’un certificat de qualification professionnelle délivré en vertu de la Loi de 2009 sur l’Ordre des métiers de l’Ontario et l’apprentissage et que son certificat n’a pas été suspendu, ou à moins d’être un apprenti travaillant en vertu d’un contrat d’apprentissage enregistré en vertu de cette loi, que son certificat n’a pas été suspendu et que ce travailleur exerce le métier de « conducteur de grue ».
  • Un conducteur ne détenant pas de certificat de qualification professionnelle délivré en vertu de la Loi de 2009 sur l’Ordre des métiers de l’Ontario et l'apprentissage serait autorisé à conduire une grue mobile ayant été déclassée à une capacité de moins de 16 000 livres. Le conducteur n’aurait pas non plus à être un apprenti visé par un contrat d’apprentissage enregistré en vertu de cette loi. En vertu du paragraphe 150 (2) du règlement sur les chantiers de construction, le conducteur pourrait détenir seulement une preuve écrite de formation indiquant qu’il a reçu la formation voulue pour conduire en toute sécurité une grue d’une capacité inférieure à 16 000 livres ou être dirigé et accompagné par une personne qui détient une telle preuve écrite de formation.

Extraits de certaines exigences réglementaires en vertu de la LSST

L’article 150 du Règlement de l’Ontario 213/91 prévoit ce qui suit :

  • (1) Sous réserve du paragraphe 2, aucun travailleur ne doit conduire une grue ou un engin de levage similaire à moins d’être titulaire d’un certificat de qualification professionnelle délivré en vertu de la Loi de 2009 sur l’Ordre des métiers de l’Ontario et l’apprentissage et que son certificat n’a pas été suspendu, ou à moins d’être un apprenti travaillant en vertu d’un contrat d’apprentissage enregistré en vertu de cette loi, que son certificat n’a pas été suspendu et que ce travailleur exerce le métier de :
    • a) conducteur d’engins de levage, catégorie 1 : conducteur de grue mobile, si le travailleur conduit une grue ou un engin de levage similaire capable de lever, d’abaisser ou de déplacer toute charge de plus de 30 000 livres;
    • b) conducteur d’engins de levage, catégorie 1 : conducteur de grue mobile, ou conducteur d’engins de levage, catégorie 2 : conducteur de grue mobile, si le travailleur conduit une grue ou un engin de levage similaire capable de lever, d’abaisser ou de déplacer seulement des charges de plus de 16 000 livres, mais ne dépassant pas 30 000 livres;
    • c) conducteur de grue à tour, si le travailleur conduit une grue à tour.
  • (1.1) Le paragraphe (1) ne s'applique pas lorsqu’un travailleur utilise de l'équipement d’excavation pour disposer des canalisations dans une tranchée. Règl. de l’Ont.631/94, art. 3.
  • (2) Aucun travailleur ne doit conduire une grue ou un engin de levage similaire à moins de faire partie d’une des catégories décrites au paragraphe (1), sauf si,
    • a) celui-ci détient une preuve écrite de formation indiquant qu’il a reçu la formation voulue pour conduire en toute sécurité une grue ou un engin de levage similaire; ou
    • b) le travailleur est en cours de formation pour conduire une grue ou un engin de levage similaire et est accompagné par une personne qui répond aux exigences de l’alinéa a). Règl. de l’Ont. 213/91, par. 150 (2).
  • (3) Le travailleur doit avoir sur lui sa preuve de formation pendant qu’il conduit une grue ou un engin de levage similaire. Règl. de l’Ont. 213/91, par. 150 (3).

Le paragraphe 151 (2) du Règl. de l’Ont. 213/91 prévoit que :

  • (2) Le fabricant d’une grue ou d’un engin de levage similaire ou un ingénieur doit déterminer la capacité nominale conformément à ce qui suit :
    • a) dans le cas d’une grue mobile, la norme Grues mobiles Z150-1974 du code de sécurité de l’Association canadienne de normalisation; et
    • b) dans le cas d’une grue à tour, la norme Grues à tour Z248-1976 de l’Association canadienne de normalisation. Règl. de l’Ont. 213/91, par. 151 (2).

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.