Table of Contents | Print This Page

Schedule D: Sample Workplace Harassment Program

This workplace harassment program is a sample. Employers may want to modify their program to meet the needs of the workplace. The program must be developed in consultation with the joint health and safety committee and health and safety representative (if any).

[insert employer name] is committed to providing a work environment in which all workers are treated with respect and dignity. Workplace harassment will not be tolerated from any person in the workplace (including customers, clients, other employers, supervisors, workers, and members of the public, as applicable).

The workplace harassment program applies to all workers including managers, supervisors, temporary employees, students and subcontractors.

1. Workplace harassment

Workplace harassment means engaging in a course of vexatious comment or conduct against a worker in a workplace that is known or ought reasonably to be known to be unwelcome or workplace sexual harassment (employer may want to insert examples).

Workplace sexual harassment means:

  1. engaging in a course of vexatious com ment or conduct against a worker in a workplace because of sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression, where the course of comment or conduct is known or ought reasonably to be known to be unwelcome, or
  2. making a sexual solicitation or advance where the person making the solicitation or advance is in a position to confer, grant or deny a benefit or advancement to the worker and the person knows or ought reasonably to know that the solicitation or advance is unwelcome;

Reasonable action taken by the employer or supervisor relating to the management and direction of workers or the workplace is not workplace harassment (employer may want to insert examples e.g. scheduling, annual performance review).

2. Reporting workplace harassment

A. How to report workplace harassment

Workers can report incidents or complaints of workplace harassment verbally or in writing. When submitting a written complaint, please use the workplace harassment complaint form (see attached). When reporting verbally, the reporting contact, along with the worker complaining of harassment, will fill out the complaint form.

The report of the incident should include the following information:

  1. Name(s) of the worker who has allegedly experienced workplace harassment and contact information
  2. Name of the alleged harasser(s), position and contact information (if known)
  3. Names of the witness(es) (if any) or other person(s) with relevant information to provide about the incident (if any) and contact information (if known)
  4. Details of what happened including date(s), frequency and location(s) of the alleged incident(s)
    1. Any supporting documents the worker who complains of harassment may have in his/her possession that are relevant to the complaint.
    2. List any documents a witness, another person or the alleged harasser may have in their possession that are relevant to the complaint.

B. Who to report workplace harassment to

An incident or a complaint of workplace harassment should be reported as soon as possible after experiencing or witnessing an incident. This allows the incident to be investigated in a timely manner.

Report a workplace harassment incident or complaint to [name, position, and contact information]. If the worker’s supervisor or reporting contact is the person engaging in the workplace harassment, contact [position or name of alternate reporting contact and contact information]. If the employer (e.g. owner, senior executive, director) is the person engaging in the workplace harassment, contact [position or name of alternate reporting contact and contact information]. (Note: The person designated as the reporting contact should not be under the direct control of the alleged harasser.)

Human Resources [or designated person] shall be notified of the workplace harassment incident or complaint so that they can ensure an investigation is conducted that is appropriate in the circumstances. If the incident or complaint involves the owner, senior executive or [list positions as appropriate] , an external person qualified to conduct a workplace harassment investigation who has knowledge of the relevant workplace harassment laws will be retained to conduct the investigation.

All incidents or complaints of workplace harassment shall be kept confidential except to the extent necessary to protect workers, to investigate the complaint or incident, to take corrective action or otherwise as required by law.

3. Investigation

A. Commitment to investigate

[insert employer name] will ensure that an investigation appropriate in the circumstances is conducted when the employer, human resources, a manager or supervisor becomes aware of an incident of workplace harassment or receives a complaint of workplace harassment.

B. Who will investigate

[insert name, manager or department] will determine who will conduct the investigation into the incident or complaint of workplace harassment. If the allegations of workplace harassment involve [insert jobs, positions, levels or departments (e.g. senior leadership, president and above)], the employer will refer the investigation to an external investigator to conduct an impartial investigation.

C. Timing of the investigation

The investigation must be completed in a timely manner and generally within 90 days or less unless there are extenuating circumstances (i.e. illness, complex investigation) warranting a longer investigation.

D. Investigation process

The person conducting the investigation whether internal or external to the workplace will, at minimum, complete the following:

  1. The investigator must ensure the investigation is kept confidential and identifying information is not disclosed unless necessary to conduct the investigation. The investigator should remind the parties of this confidentiality obligation at the beginning of the investigation.
  2. The investigator must thoroughly interview the worker who allegedly experienced the workplace harassment and the alleged harasser(s), if the alleged harasser is a worker of the employer. If the alleged harasser is not a worker, the investigator should make reasonable efforts to interview the alleged harasser.
  3. The alleged harasser(s) must be given the opportunity to respond to the specific allegations raised by the worker. In some circumstances, the worker who allegedly experienced the workplace harassment should be given a reasonable opportunity to reply.
  4. The investigator must interview any relevant witnesses employed by the employer who may be identified by either the worker who allegedly experienced the workplace harassment, the alleged harasser(s) or as necessary to conduct a thorough investigation. The investigator must make reasonable efforts to interview any relevant witnesses who are not employed by the employer if there are any identified.
  5. The investigator must collect and review any relevant documents.
  6. The investigator must take appropriate notes and statements during interviews with the worker who allegedly experienced workplace harassment, the alleged harasser and any witnesses.
  7. The investigator must prepare a written report summarizing the steps taken during the investigation, the complaint, the allegations of the worker who allegedly experienced the workplace harassment, the response from the alleged harasser, the evidence of any witnesses, and the evidence gathered. The report must set out findings of fact and come to a conclusion about whether workplace harassment was found or not.

E. Results of the investigation

Within 10 days of the investigation being completed, the worker who allegedly experienced the workplace harassment and the alleged harasser, if he or she is a worker of the employer, will be informed in writing of the results of the investigation and any corrective action taken or that will be taken by the employer to address workplace harassment.

F. Confidentiality

Information about complaints and incidents shall be kept confidential to the extent possible. Information obtained about an incident or complaint of workplace harassment, including identifying information about any individuals involved, will not be disclosed unless disclosure is necessary to protect workers, to investigate the complaint or incident, to take corrective action or otherwise as required by law.

While the investigation is on-going, the worker who has allegedly experienced harassment, the alleged harasser(s) and any witnesses should not to discuss the incident or complaint or the investigation with each other or other workers or witnesses unless necessary to obtain advice about their rights. The investigator may discuss the investigation and disclose the incident or complaint-related information only as necessary to conduct the investigation.

All records of the investigation will be kept confidential.

G. Handling complaints

[The employer must set out any interim measures that may be taken after the complaint is received and during the investigation. The employer must also set out how they might deal with the complaint of harassment if harassment is found. This may include discipline up to and including termination.]

4. Record keeping

The employer (human resources or designated person) will keep records of the investigation including:

  1. a copy of the complaint or details about the incident;
  2. a record of the investigation including notes;
  3. a copy of the investigation report (if any);
  4. a summary of the results of the investigation that was provided to the worker who allegedly experienced the workplace harassment and the alleged harasser, if a worker of the employer;
  5. a copy of any corrective action taken to address the complaint or incident of workplace harassment.

All records of the investigation will be kept confidential. The investigation documents, including this report should not be disclosed unless necessary to investigate an incident or complaint of workplace harassment, take corrective action or otherwise as required by law.

Records will be kept for:

Date created:

Annual review date:

Workplace harassment complaint form

This is an example of a complaint form for workers to report an incident or a complaint of workplace harassment. It can be modified to meet the needs of workplace. Note: Whether the worker uses the complaint form or not, the employer is still obligated to ensure an investigation appropriate in the circumstances is conducted into an incident of workplace harassment.

Name and contact information of worker who has allegedly experienced workplace harassment (your name):

Name of alleged harasser(s) and contact information, if available:

Details of the complaint of workplace harassment

Please describe in as much detail as possible the bullying and harassment incident(s), including: (a) the names of the parties involved; (b) any witnesses to the incident(s); (c) the location, date and time of the incident(s); (d) details about the incident(s) (behaviour and/or words used); (e) any additional details. (Attach additional pages if required)

Relevant documents/evidence

Attach any supporting documents, such as emails, handwritten notes, or photographs. Physical evidence, such as vandalized personal belongings, can also be submitted. If you are not able to attach documents and they are relevant to your complaint, please list the documents below. If someone else has relevant documents, please note that below.

Signature:

Date:

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4606-8392-7 (HTML)

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Annexe D : Exemple d’un programme concernant le harcèlement au travail

Voici un exemple de programme concernant le harcèlement au travail qui peut être adapté par l’employeur en fonction des besoins propres à son lieu de travail. Le programme doit être élaboré en consultation avec le comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et le délégué à la santé et à la sécurité, s’il y a lieu.

[Nom de l’employeur] s’engage à offrir un environnement de travail où tous les travailleurs sont traités avec respect et dignité. Aucun harcèlement ne sera toléré de la part de qui que ce soit dans le lieu de travail (clients, employeurs, superviseurs, travailleurs ou membres du grand public, selon le cas).

Le programme concernant le harcèlement au travail s’applique à tous les travailleurs, dont les gestionnaires, les superviseurs, les employés temporaires, les étudiants et les sous-traitants.

1. Harcèlement au travail

Le harcèlement au travail s’entend du fait pour une personne d’adopter une ligne de conduite caractérisée par des remarques ou des gestes vexatoires contre un travailleur dans un lieu de travail lorsqu’elle sait ou devrait raisonnablement savoir que ces remarques ou ces gestes sont importuns ou du harcèlement sexuel au travail. (L’employeur peut ajouter des exemples.)

Le harcèlement sexuel au travail s’entend :

  1. du fait pour une personne d’adopter, pour des raisons fondées sur le sexe, l’orientation sexuelle, l’identité sexuelle ou l’expression de l’identité sexuelle, une ligne de conduite caractérisée par des remarques ou des gestes vexatoires contre un travailleur dans un lieu de travail lorsqu’elle sait ou devrait raisonnablement savoir que ces remarques ou ces gestes sont importuns;
  2. du fait pour une personne de faire des sollicitations ou des avances sexuelles alors qu’elle est en mesure d’accorder au travailleur ou de lui refuser un avantage ou une promotion et qu’elle sait ou devrait raisonnablement savoir que ces sollicitations ou ces avances sont importunes. Les mesures raisonnables prises par l’employeur ou le superviseur dans le cadre de la gestion et de la direction des travailleurs ou du lieu de travail ne constituent pas du harcèlement au travail. (L’employeur peut ajouter des exemples, tels que l’établissement de l’horaire et les évaluations annuelles du rendement.)

2. Signalement du harcèlement au travail

A. Comment signaler du harcèlement au travail

Les travailleurs peuvent signaler des incidents ou déposer des plaintes tant à l’oral qu’à l’écrit. Dans ce dernier cas, les travailleurs sont priés d’utiliser le formulaire de plainte de harcèlement au travail (ci-joint). Si le signalement est fait de vive voix par le travailleur, la personne désignée remplira avec lui le formulaire.

Le rapport d’incident doit comprendre les renseignements suivants :

  1. le nom et les coordonnées de la ou des personnes qui auraient fait l’objet de harcèlement au travail;
  2. le nom ainsi que le titre et les coordonnées (si connus) du ou des prétendus harceleurs;
  3. le nom du ou des témoins (le cas échéant) ou de toute autre personne pouvant fournir de l’information pertinente au sujet de l’incident ainsi que leurs coordonnées (si connues);
  4. des détails sur les prétendus incidents ainsi que leur fréquence et les dates et endroits où ils ont eu lieu;
    1. tout document à l’appui pertinent que possède la personne ayant déposé la plainte;
    2. une liste de tous les documents pertinents que pourraient posséder le ou les témoins, le ou les prétendus harceleurs ou toute autre personne.

B. À qui faut-il signaler le harcèlement au travail?

Les incidents de harcèlement au travail subis ou dont une personne est témoin doivent être signalés dès que possible pour qu’ils fassent l’objet d’une enquête rapide.

Signalez un incident ou transmettez une plainte à . Si c’est le superviseur ou la personne désignée qui s’est livré à du harcèlement, communiquez avec [nom ou titre de poste et coordonnées]. Si c’est l’employeur (p. ex., propriétaire, cadre supérieur, directeur) qui est le harceleur, communiquez avec [nom ou titre de poste et coordonnées]. (N.B. La personne désignée ne doit pas relever directement du prétendu harceleur.)

Le service des ressources humaines [ou la personne désignée] sera informé de l’incident ou de la plainte de harcèlement pour qu’il veille à ce que soit menée une enquête appropriée dans les circonstances. Si l’incident ou la plainte implique le propriétaire, un cadre supérieur ou [autres postes pertinents], une personne qualifiée pour mener une enquête qui ne provient pas de l’organisme et connaît la législation ayant trait au harcèlement au travail sera retenue pour mener l’enquête.

Tous les renseignements au sujet des incidents ou des plaintes de harcèlement au travail demeureront confidentiels, sauf si leur divulgation est nécessaire pour protéger les travailleurs, enquêter sur la plainte ou l’incident ou prendre des mesures correctives, ou encore si elle est exigée par la loi.

3. Enquête

A. Engagement à enquêter sur les incidents

[Nom de l’employeur] veillera à ce qu’une enquête appropriée dans les circonstances soit menée quand l’employeur, le service des ressources humaines, un gestionnaire ou un superviseur prend connaissance d’un incident de harcèlement au travail ou reçoit une plainte à ce sujet.

B. Personne chargée de l’enquête

Il incombe à [nom d’une personne, d’un gestionnaire ou d’un service] de déterminer qui sera chargé de l’enquête sur l’incident ou la plainte de harcèlement au travail. Si les allégations visent [titres de poste, niveaux de gestion ou services, p. ex., cadre supérieur, président et niveaux supérieurs], l’employeur confiera l’enquête à une personne externe pour en assurer l’impartialité.

C. Durée de l’enquête

L’enquête doit être bouclée rapidement : elle ne doit normalement pas excéder 90 jours, à moins de circonstances atténuantes qui pourraient justifier la prolongation de ce délai (p. ex., maladie, enquête complexe).

D. Procédure de l’enquête

La personne chargée de l’enquête, qu’elle provienne de l’organisme ou non, doit au minimum suivre les étapes suivantes :

  1. Elle doit assurer la confidentialité de l’enquête et des renseignements identificatoires, à moins que celle-ci n’empêche le déroulement de l’enquête. Elle doit rappeler cette obligation de confidentialité aux parties au début de l’enquête.
  2. Elle doit mener des entretiens exhaustifs avec la personne qui aurait fait l’objet de harcèlement au travail et le ou les prétendus harceleurs, si ces derniers sont des travailleurs de l’employeur. Le cas contraire, la personne chargée de l’enquête doit prendre des mesures raisonnables interroger le prétendu harceleur.
  3. Elle doit donner l’occasion au prétendu harceleur de répondre aux allégations qui pèsent sur lui. Dans certains cas, la personne qui aurait subi le harcèlement devrait se voir offrir une occasion raisonnable de répliquer.
  4. Elle doit avoir un entretien avec tout témoin pertinent employé par l’employeur et nommé par la personne qui aurait fait l’objet de harcèlement au travail ou par le ou les prétendus harceleurs, ou toute autre personne nécessaire pour mener une enquête exhaustive. La personne chargée de l’enquête doit prendre des mesures raisonnables pour interroger les éventuels témoins pertinents qui ne sont pas employés par l’employeur, si de tels témoins ont été nommés.
  5. Elle doit réunir et examiner tous les documents pertinents.
  6. Elle doit prendre des notes pertinentes et consigner les déclarations lors des entretiens avec la personne qui aurait fait l’objet de harcèlement, le ou les prétendus harceleurs et tout témoin.
  7. Elle doit préparer un rapport écrit dans lequel elle résume les mesures prises lors de l’enquête, la plainte, les allégations, la réponse du prétendu harceleur, les éventuels témoignages et les preuves réunies. Le rapport doit faire état des conclusions de fait et établir s’il y a eu harcèlement au travail.

E. Résultats de l’enquête

Dans les 10 jours suivant la conclusion de l’enquête, le travailleur qui aurait fait l’objet de harcèlement au travail et le prétendu harceleur, s’il s’agit d’un travailleur de l’employeur, sont informés par écrit des résultats de l’enquête et des mesures correctives qui ont été ou seront prises par l’employeur en réaction à l’incident.

F. Confidentialité

Les renseignements sur les plaintes et les incidents doivent être gardés confidentiels dans la mesure du possible. Les renseignements obtenus au sujet d’un incident ou une plainte de harcèlement au travail, y compris les renseignements identificatoires au sujet des particuliers impliqués, demeureront confidentiels, sauf si leur divulgation est nécessaire pour protéger les travailleurs, enquêter sur la plainte ou l’incident ou prendre des mesures correctives, ou encore si elle est exigée par la loi.

Pendant l’enquête, le travailleur qui aurait subi du harcèlement, le ou les prétendus harceleurs et les éventuels témoins ne doivent pas discuter de l’incident, de la plainte ou de l’enquête entre eux ou avec d’autres travailleurs ou témoins, sauf si cela leur est nécessaire pour obtenir des conseils sur leurs droits. La personne chargée de l’enquête peut uniquement discuter de l’enquête et révéler des renseignements relatifs à l’incident ou à la plainte pour les besoins de l’enquête.

Tous les documents ayant trait à l’enquête demeureront confidentiels.

G. Gestion des plaintes

[L’employeur doit indiquer les mesures provisoires qui pourraient être prises après réception de la plainte et pendant l’enquête et expliquer comment il gérera les plaintes de harcèlement fondées. Par exemple, il peut indiquer les mesures disciplinaires qui seront prises, lesquelles peuvent aller jusqu’au congédiement.]

4. Conservation des dossiers

L’employeur (le service des ressources humaines ou la personne désignée) conservera les dossiers des enquêtes, lesquels comprendront :

  1. une copie de la plainte ou des détails sur l’incident;
  2. les documents produits lors de l’enquête, y compris les notes;
  3. une copie du rapport d’enquête éventuel;
  4. un résumé des résultats de l’enquête fournis à la personne qui aurait fait l’objet de harcèlement et au prétendu harceleur, si ce dernier est un travailleur de l’employeur;
  5. une copie de toute mesure corrective appliquée à la suite de la plainte ou de l’incident de harcèlement au travail.

Tous les documents ayant trait à l’enquête demeureront confidentiels. En effet, les documents issus de l’enquête, y compris le rapport, doivent demeurer confidentiels, sauf si leur divulgation est nécessaire pour enquêter sur une plainte ou un incident de harcèlement au travail ou prendre des mesures correctives, ou encore si elle est exigée par la loi.

Les dossiers seront conservés pendant [une période d’au moins un an].

Date de création :

Date de révision annuelle :

Formulaire de plainte de harcèlement au travail

Voici un exemple de formulaire pouvant être mis à la disposition des travailleurs pour qu’ils puissent signaler un incident ou une plainte de harcèlement au travail. Il peut être adapté en fonction des besoins du lieu de travail. N.B. L’employeur doit veiller à ce que soit menée une enquête sur les incidents de harcèlement au travail qui est appropriée dans les circonstances, et ce, que les travailleurs utilisent ou non le formulaire de plainte.

Nom et coordonnées de la personne qui aurait fait l’objet de harcèlement au travail (votre nom)  :

Nom du ou des prétendus harceleurs et coordonnées si connues :

Détails sur l’incident ou les incidents de harcèlement au travail :

Veuillez décrire de façon aussi détaillée que possible les incidents d’intimidation ou de harcèlement : a) le nom des parties impliquées, b) le nom d’éventuels témoins, c) le lieu, la date et l’heure des incidents, d) des détails sur les incidents (comportements ou mots employés), e) tout détail additionnel pertinent.

Preuves et documents pertinents :

Joignez tout document pertinent à l’appui, tel que des courriels, des notes manuscrites ou des photographies. Des preuves physiques, telles que des biens personnels vandalisés, peuvent aussi être présentées. Si vous n’êtes pas en mesure de joindre certains documents pertinents, énumérez-les ci-dessous. Si quelqu’un d’autre a en main certains documents pertinents, mentionnez-le.

Signature :

Date :

précédent | suivant

ISBN 978-1-4606-8519-8 (HTML)