Table of Contents | Print This Page

Schedule A: Workplace Harassment Provisions under the Occupational Health and Safety Act

Definition

Section 1 (1):

“workplace harassment” means,

  • (a) engaging in a course of vexatious comment or conduct against a worker in a workplace that is known or ought reasonably to be known to be unwelcome, or
  • (b) workplace sexual harassment;

“workplace sexual harassment” means,

  • (a) engaging in a course of vexatious comment or conduct against a worker in a workplace because of sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression, where the course of comment or conduct is known or ought reasonably to be known to be unwelcome, or
  • (b) making a sexual solicitation or advance where the person making the solicitation or advance is in a position to confer, grant or deny a benefit or advancement to the worker and the person knows or ought reasonably to know that the solicitation or advance is unwelcome;

(4) A reasonable action taken by an employer or supervisor relating to the management and direction of workers or the workplace is not workplace harassment.

Policy

32.0.1 (1) An employer shall,

  • (b) prepare a policy with respect to workplace harassment; and
  • (c) review the policies as often as is necessary, but at least annually.

(2) The policies shall be in written form and shall be posted at a conspicuous place in the workplace.

(3) Subsection (2) does not apply if the number of workers regularly employed at the workplace is five or fewer, unless an inspector orders otherwise.

Program, harassment

32.0.6 (1) An employer shall, in consultation with the committee or a health and safety representative, if any, develop and maintain a written program to implement the policy with respect to workplace harassment required under clause 32.0.1 (1) (b).

  • (2) Without limiting the generality of subsection (1), the program shall,
    • (a) include measures and procedures for workers to report incidents of workplace harassment to the employer or supervisor;
    • (b) include measures and procedures for workers to report incidents of workplace harassment to a person other than the employer or supervisor, if the employer or supervisor is the alleged harasser;
    • (c) set out how incidents or complaints of workplace harassment will be investigated and dealt with;
    • (d) set out how information obtained about an incident or complaint of workplace harassment, including identifying information about any individuals involved, will not be disclosed unless the disclosure is necessary for the purposes of investigating or taking corrective action with respect to the incident or complaint, or is otherwise required by law;
    • (e) set out how a worker who has allegedly experienced workplace harassment and the alleged harasser, if he or she is a worker of the employer, will be informed of the results of the investigation and of any corrective action that has been taken or that will be taken as a result of the investigation; and
    • (f) include any prescribed elements.

Employer duties

32.0.7 (1) To protect a worker from workplace harassment, an employer shall ensure that,

  • (a) an investigation is conducted into incidents and complaints of workplace harassment that is appropriate in the circumstances;
  • (b) the worker who has allegedly experienced workplace harassment and the alleged harasser, if he or she is a worker of the employer, are informed in writing of the results of the investigation and of any corrective action that has been taken or that will be taken as a result of the investigation;
  • (c) the program developed under section 32.0.6 is reviewed as often as necessary, but at least annually, to ensure that it adequately implements the policy with respect to workplace harassment required under clause 32.0.1 (1) (b); and
  • (d) such other duties as may be prescribed are carried out.

Results of investigation not a report

(2) The results of an investigation under clause (1) (a), and any report created in the course of or for the purposes of the investigation, are not a report respecting occupational health and safety for the purposes of subsection 25 (2).

Information and instruction, harassment

32.0.8 An employer shall provide a worker with,

  • (a) information and instruction that is appropriate for the worker on the contents of the policy and program with respect to workplace harassment; and
  • (b) any other prescribed information.

Order for workplace harassment investigation

55.3 (1) An inspector may in writing order an employer to cause an investigation described in clause 32.0.7 (1) (a) to be conducted, at the expense of the employer, by an impartial person possessing such knowledge, experience or qualifications as are specified by the inspector and to obtain, at the expense of the employer, a written report by that person.

Report

(2) A report described in subsection (1) is not a report respecting occupational health and safety for the purposes of subsection 25 (2).

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4606-8392-7 (HTML)

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Annexe A : Dispositions sur le harcèlement au travail en vertu de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail

Définitions

Paragraphe 1 (1)

« harcèlement au travail » S’entend :

  • a) du fait pour une personne d’adopter une ligne de conduite caractérisée par des remarques ou des gestes vexatoires contre un travailleur dans un lieu de travail lorsqu’elle sait ou devrait raisonnablement savoir que ces remarques ou ces gestes sont importuns;
  • b) du harcèlement sexuel au travail.

« harcèlement sexuel au travail » S’entend :

  • a) du fait pour une personne d’adopter, pour des raisons fondées sur le sexe, l’orientation sexuelle, l’identité sexuelle ou l’expression de l’identité sexuelle, une ligne de conduite caractérisée par des remarques ou des gestes vexatoires contre un travailleur dans un lieu de travail lorsqu’elle sait ou devrait raisonnablement savoir que ces remarques ou ces gestes sont importuns;
  • b) du fait pour une personne de faire des sollicitations ou des avances sexuelles alors qu’elle est en mesure d’accorder au travailleur ou de lui refuser un avantage ou une promotion et qu’elle sait ou devrait raisonnablement savoir que ces sollicitations ou ces avances sont importunes.

(4) Les mesures raisonnables prises par l’employeur ou le superviseur dans le cadre de la gestion et de la direction des travailleurs ou du lieu de travail ne constituent pas du harcèlement au travail.

Politiques

  • 32.0.1 (1) L’employeur :
    • b) formule une politique concernant le harcèlement au travail;
    • c) examine les politiques aussi souvent que nécessaire, mais au moins une fois par année.
  • (2) Les politiques sont formulées par écrit et sont affichées dans un endroit bien en vue du lieu de travail.
  • (3) Le paragraphe (2) ne s’applique pas si le nombre de travailleurs employés régulièrement dans le lieu de travail est égal ou inférieur à cinq, sauf ordre contraire d’un inspecteur.

Programme : harcèlement

32.0.6 (1) L’employeur, en consultation avec le comité ou le délégué à la santé et à la sécurité, le cas échéant, élabore et maintient un programme écrit de mise en œuvre de la politique concernant le harcèlement au travail exigée à l’alinéa 32.0.1 (1) b).

(2) Sans préjudice de la portée générale du paragraphe (1), le programme :

  • a) inclut les mesures que les travailleurs doivent prendre et les méthodes qu’ils doivent suivre pour signaler les incidents de harcèlement au travail à l’employeur ou au superviseur;
  • b) inclut les mesures que les travailleurs doivent prendre et les méthodes qu’ils doivent suivre pour signaler les incidents de harcèlement au travail à une autre personne que l’employeur ou le superviseur s’il est le prétendu harceleur;
  • c) énonce la manière dont l’enquête sur les incidents ou les plaintes de harcèlement au travail se déroulera et les mesures qui seront prises pour y faire face;
  • d) énonce la manière dont les renseignements obtenus au sujet d’un incident ou une plainte de harcèlement au travail, y compris les renseignements identificatoires au sujet des particuliers impliqués, demeureront confidentiels, sauf si leur divulgation est nécessaire pour enquêter ou prendre des mesures correctives à l’égard de l’incident ou de la plainte, ou encore si elle est exigée par la loi;
  • e) énonce la manière dont le travailleur qui aurait fait l’objet de harcèlement au travail et le prétendu harceleur, s’il s’agit d’un travailleur de l’employeur, seront informés des résultats de l’enquête et des mesures correctives qui ont été ou seront prises à l’issue de l’enquête;
  • f) inclut les éléments prescrits.

Devoirs de l’employeur

32.0.7 (1) Pour protéger les travailleurs de tout harcèlement au travail, l’employeur doit veiller à ce qui suit :

  • a) l’enquête appropriée dans les circonstances est menée sur les incidents et les plaintes de harcèlement au travail;
  • b) le travailleur qui aurait fait l’objet de harcèlement au travail et le prétendu harceleur, s’il s’agit d’un travailleur de l’employeur, sont informés par écrit des résultats de l’enquête et des mesures correctives qui ont été ou seront prises à l’issue de l’enquête;
  • c) le programme élaboré en application de l’article 32.0.6 est examiné aussi souvent que nécessaire, mais au moins une fois par année, pour qu’il mette adéquatement en œuvre la politique concernant le harcèlement au travail exigée à l’alinéa 32.0.1 (1) b);
  • d) les autres devoirs prescrits sont accomplis.

Résultats d’enquête ne constituant pas des rapports

(2) Les résultats de l’enquête prévue à l’alinéa (1) a) et les rapports créés au cours ou pour les besoins de celle-ci ne constituent pas des rapports concernant la santé et la sécurité au travail pour l’application du paragraphe 25 (2).

Renseignements et directives : harcèlement

32.0.8 L’employeur fournit ce qui suit au travailleur :

  • a) des renseignements et des directives adaptés au travailleur sur le contenu de la politique et du programme concernant le harcèlement au travail;
  • b) les autres renseignements prescrits.

Ordre : enquête portant sur le harcèlement au travail

55.3 (1) Un inspecteur peut ordonner par écrit que l’employeur fasse faire, à ses frais, par une personne impartiale possédant les connaissances, l’expérience ou les qualités requises que précise l’inspecteur, l’enquête prévue à l’alinéa 32.0.7 (1) a) et que l’employeur obtienne, à ses frais, le rapport écrit de cette personne.

Rapport

(2) Le rapport prévu au paragraphe (1) ne constitue pas un rapport concernant la santé et la sécurité au travail pour l’application du paragraphe 25 (2).

précédent | suivant

ISBN 978-1-4606-8519-8 (HTML)