Workplace harassment can undermine a person’s dignity. It can prevent workers from doing their jobs effectively. Workplace harassment, left unchecked, has the potential to escalate into violent behaviour. All workers are entitled to a safe and healthy workplace.

One of the primary purposes of the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) is to promote a strong Internal Responsibility System (IRS). The IRS means that everyone in the workplace has a role to play in keeping workplaces safe and healthy. Workers in the workplace who see a health and safety problem such as a hazard or contravention of the OHSA in the workplace have a duty to report the situation to their employer or a supervisor. Employers and supervisors are, in turn, required to address those situations.

The employer, typically represented by senior management, has the greatest responsibilities with respect to health and safety in the workplace. The employer is responsible for ensuring that the IRS is established, promoted, and that it functions successfully. A strong IRS is an important element of a healthy and safe culture in a workplace.

This Code of Practice to address Workplace Harassment is designed to help employers meet their obligations with respect to the workplace harassment provisions under the OHSA.

How to use the Code of Practice

This Code of Practice to address Workplace Harassment (“Code of Practice”) is approved by the Minister of Labour under Part III.1 of the OHSA for use at all workplaces to which the OHSA applies. Compliance with the practices set out in this Code of Practice is one way in which employers can meet the legal requirements regarding workplace harassment specified under sections 32.0.1 (1)(b)(c), 32.0.1(2), 32.0.6(1) and (2), 32.0.7 and 32.0.8 (“Workplace Harassment Provisions”) of the OHSA. Determination about whether OHSA requirements have been met is made by Ministry of Labour health and safety inspectors.

This Code of Practice has four Parts. Employers may choose to adhere to one or all of the Parts of the Code of Practice. If an employer adheres with a Part of the Code of Practice, it must adhere with all of the Practice outlined under that Part to be deemed in compliance with the related workplace harassment provision. For example, if an employer adheres with Part II of the Code of Practice on the Workplace Harassment Program, it must follow the entire practice under Part II to be deemed in compliance with the workplace harassment program provisions in the OHSA referred to in Part II.

Failure to comply with all or part of the Code of Practice may not be a breach of the Workplace Harassment Provisions under the OHSA because, as noted above, the Code of Practice is just one way in which employers can meet the legal requirements regarding workplace harassment.

Each Part contains:

General Information – General information is for guidance only. The Practice section sets out how to comply with a provision of the Act.

Provision(s) – This refers to a legal requirement under the OHSA. The provisions of the OHSA are enforceable by Ministry of Labour health and safety inspectors.

Practice – A practice may be followed by an employer to comply with a specific Workplace Harassment Provision.

A template workplace harassment policy, workplace harassment program and investigation plan are also attached to this Code of Practice. These templates are provided as guidance material.

It is the responsibility of an employer to ensure compliance with the OHSA. If you need help in understanding specific obligations under the OHSA, you should seek legal advice.

For additional resources including the Ministry of Labour’s Guideline on Workplace Violence and Harassment: Understanding the Law, please refer to the Ministry of Labour web-site. If a worker requires more information about the worker’s rights under the OHSA, the worker may contact the Ministry of Labour’s Contact Centre at 1-877-202-0008.

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4606-8392-7 (HTML)

Le harcèlement au travail peut porter atteinte à la dignité d’une personne et empêcher les travailleurs de faire leur travail efficacement. Si rien n’est fait pour l’arrêter, il peut mener à des comportements violents. Tous les travailleurs ont droit à un lieu de travail sain et sécuritaire.

L’un des principaux objectifs de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travailLSST » ou « la Loi ») est de promouvoir l’adoption d’un solide Système de responsabilité interne (« SRI »). Dans le SRI, tout le monde a un rôle à jouer pour faire de son lieu de travail un endroit sain et sécuritaire. Les travailleurs qui sont témoins d’un problème de santé ou de sécurité au travail, comme un danger ou une violation de la LSST, ont le devoir de signaler la situation à leur employeur ou superviseur. En retour, ces derniers sont tenus de régler le problème.

L’employeur, généralement représenté par les cadres supérieurs, est le principal responsable de la santé et de la sécurité dans le lieu de travail. Il doit s’assurer que le SRI est en place, que son utilisation est encouragée et qu’il fonctionne. Un SRI solide est un élément clé d’un milieu de travail sain et sécuritaire.

Le présent code de pratique sur le harcèlement au travail a pour but d’aider les employeurs à remplir leurs obligations en ce qui a trait aux dispositions sur le harcèlement au travail de la LSST.

Comment se servir du Code

Le ministre du Travail approuve le présent code de pratique sur le harcèlement au travail (« Code de pratique » ou « Code ») en vertu de la partie III.1 de la LSST pour qu’il soit appliqué dans tous les lieux de travail régis par la Loi. Le respect des pratiques exposées dans le Code de pratique représente un moyen pour les employeurs de satisfaire aux exigences légales en matière de harcèlement au travail énoncées aux alinéas 32.0.1 (1) b) et c), aux paragraphes 32.0.1 (2), 32.0.6 (1) et (2), et aux articles 32.0.7 et 32.0.8 (« dispositions sur le harcèlement au travail ») de la LSST. Ce sont les inspecteurs de la santé et de la sécurité du ministère du Travail qui déterminent si les exigences de la LSST sont respectées ou non.

Le Code de pratique est divisé en quatre parties. L’employeur peut choisir d’adhérer à une seule ou aux quatre. S’il adhère à une partie du Code, il doit se conformer à tous les éléments énoncés dans ladite partie pour être considéré comme conforme aux dispositions relatives au harcèlement au travail. À titre d’exemple, si un employeur adhère à la partie II du Code, qui porte sur le programme concernant le harcèlement au travail, il devra suivre toutes les pratiques énoncées dans cette partie pour être réputé conforme aux dispositions de la LSST sur ledit programme mentionnées dans la partie II.

Notons toutefois que le non-respect d’une partie ou de l’ensemble du Code de pratique ne constitue pas nécessairement une infraction aux dispositions sur le harcèlement au travail de la LSST, car, comme il est mentionné plus haut, le Code n’est qu’un moyen par lequel les employeurs peuvent satisfaire aux exigences légales en matière de harcèlement au travail.

Chaque partie se décline de la façon suivante :

Renseignements généraux – Les renseignements généraux sont fournis à titre informatif seulement. Il faut se reporter à la section « Pratique » pour savoir comment se conformer aux dispositions de la Loi.

Dispositions – Les dispositions sont les exigences légales énoncées dans la LSST. Les inspecteurs de la santé et de la sécurité du ministère du Travail sont responsables d’assurer leur application.

Pratique – La pratique désigne les mesures que peut prendre l’employeur pour se conformer aux dispositions sur le harcèlement au travail.

En annexe, le lecteur trouvera un exemple de politique concernant le harcèlement au travail, de programme sur le sujet ainsi qu’un modèle de plan d’enquête. Ces ressources ne sont fournies qu’à titre d’exemple.

Il incombe à l’employeur de se conformer à la LSST. Si vous ne comprenez pas bien certaines obligations découlant de la LSST, demandez un avis juridique.

Vous trouverez d’autres ressources, comme le document La violence et le harcèlement au travail : comprendre la Loi, sur le site Web du ministère du Travail. Les travailleurs peuvent obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur leurs droits en vertu de la LSST en communiquant avec l’InfoCentre de santé au 1 877 202-0008.

précédent | suivant

ISBN 978-1-4606-8519-8 (HTML)