Table of Contents | Print This Page

Part IV: Providing Information and Instruction on a Workplace Harassment Policy and Program

General information

Providing information and instruction to workers on the employer’s workplace harassment policy and program, including how to report workplace harassment, is an important step to help protect workers.

The employer must provide information and instruction on what conduct is considered workplace harassment, including workplace sexual harassment. Providing training assists workers in knowing what conduct is unwelcome in the workplace.

Supervisors also need to receive specific instruction and information on how to recognize and handle a workplace harassment incident so that workplace harassment does not go unaddressed. Workplace harassment that is not addressed may escalate into workplace violence.

Documentation of the information and instruction provided to workers should be kept by the employer for at least one year.

Provision(s)

Occupational Health and Safety Act, s. 32.0.8

An employer shall provide a worker with,

  • (a) information and instruction that is appropriate for the worker on the contents of the policy and program with respect to workplace harassment;

Practice

To comply with this Part of the Code of Practice, an employer must provide all workers with information and instruction on the contents of the employer’s workplace harassment policy and program. Workers must be instructed on:

  • what conduct is considered workplace harassment, including workplace sexual harassment, and how to recognize it;
  • how and to whom to report an incident of workplace harassment;
  • how the employer will investigate and deal with an incident or complaint of workplace harassment; and
  • how the employer will report the results of the investigation to the worker who allegedly experienced workplace harassment and the alleged harasser, if the alleged harasser is a worker of the employer.

All workers, as defined by the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA), must be provided with information and instruction on the contents of the employer’s workplace harassment policy and program including, but not limited to, regular workers, new hires, contract, casual, temporary, part-time and student workers.

If there are substantial changes to the policy or program, the employer must ensure that workers are informed of the changes and instruction must be provided.

Workers must receive information and instruction in a manner and language that they would reasonably understand.

Supervisors and managers must be provided with additional information and instruction, on how to recognize workplace harassment and how to handle a complaint of workplace harassment.

Investigators whether a manager, supervisor, human resource representative or a person designated by the employer, must receive information and instruction on how to conduct an investigation appropriate in the circumstances, including not to disclose identifying information unless it is necessary to conduct the investigation, take corrective action or otherwise required by law.

Joint health and safety committee or health and safety representatives (if any) must receive information and instruction on the employer’s workplace harassment program including how to help a worker report an incident of workplace harassment and resources available to a worker who has allegedly experienced harassment.

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4606-8392-7 (HTML)

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Partie IV : Renseignements et directives sur la politique et le programme concernant le harcèlement au travail

Renseignements généraux

Il est important, pour protéger les travailleurs, que l’employeur fournisse des renseignements et des directives sur sa politique et son programme concernant le harcèlement au travail, notamment la procédure à suivre pour signaler des incidents.

L’employeur doit fournir des renseignements et des directives sur les comportements considérés comme du harcèlement au travail, y compris le harcèlement sexuel au travail. Ainsi, les travailleurs sauront quelles conduites sont jugées importunes dans le lieu de travail.

Les superviseurs doivent aussi recevoir des renseignements et des directives sur la façon de reconnaître et de gérer les incidents de harcèlement pour que le problème ne se poursuive pas.

Sinon, le harcèlement risque de se transformer en violence au travail.

L’employeur devrait conserver dans ses dossiers les renseignements et directives fournis aux travailleurs pendant au moins un an.

Dispositions

Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, article 32.0.8

L’employeur fournit ce qui suit au travailleur :

  • a) des renseignements et des directives adaptés au travailleur sur le contenu de la politique et du programme concernant le harcèlement au travail.

Pratique

Pour se conformer à la présente partie du Code de pratique, l’employeur doit donner des renseignements et des directives à tous les travailleurs sur le contenu de la politique et du programme concernant le harcèlement au travail, notamment sur :

  • les comportements qui sont considérés comme du harcèlement, y compris du harcèlement sexuel au travail, et comment les reconnaître.
  • la procédure et la personne avec qui communiquer pour signaler un incident de harcèlement au travail
  • la manière dont l’employeur enquêtera sur les incidents ou les plaintes de harcèlement au travail et dont il compte y faire face.
  • la façon dont l’employeur communiquera les résultats de l’enquête à la personne qui aurait fait l’objet de harcèlement au travail ainsi qu’au prétendu harceleur, si ce dernier est un travailleur de l’employeur.

Tous les travailleurs, selon la définition de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail – ce qui inclut les travailleurs permanents, les recrues, les travailleurs contractuels, occasionnels, temporaires et à temps partiel ainsi que les étudiants –, doivent recevoir des renseignements et des directives sur le contenu de la politique et du programme de l’employeur concernant le harcèlement au travail.

Si des modifications importantes ont été apportées à la politique ou au programme, l’employeur doit s’assurer que les travailleurs sont informés de ces changements et reçoivent des directives à ce sujet.

Les renseignements et les directives doivent être formulés et transmis de manière à être raisonnablement compris des travailleurs.

Les superviseurs et les gestionnaires doivent recevoir des renseignements et des directives additionnels pour qu’ils sachent reconnaître le harcèlement au travail et gérer une plainte de harcèlement.

La personne chargée de l’enquête – qu’il s’agisse d’un gestionnaire, d’un superviseur, d’un représentant des ressources humaines ou d’une autre personne désignée par l’employeur – doit recevoir des renseignements et des directives pour qu’elle sache comment mener une enquête appropriée dans les circonstances, notamment en ce qui concerne la non-divulgation de renseignements identificatoires, sauf si cette divulgation est nécessaire pour mener l’enquête, prendre des mesures correctives, ou encore si elle est exigée par la loi.

Le comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les délégués à la santé et à la sécurité (s’il en est) doivent recevoir des renseignements et des directives sur le programme de l’employeur concernant le harcèlement au travail, notamment sur les façons d’aider un travailleur à signaler un incident de harcèlement au travail et sur les ressources qui s’offrent aux travailleurs qui auraient fait l’objet de harcèlement.

précédent | suivant

ISBN 978-1-4606-8519-8 (HTML)