Table of Contents | Print This Page

Part III: Employer’s Duties Concerning Workplace Harassment

General information

To protect a worker from workplace harassment, it is important that an employer ensure that an investigation is conducted into incidents and complaints of workplace harassment. The investigation must be appropriate in the circumstances.

An employer must ensure an investigation is conducted into workplace harassment, whether a worker has formally or informally made a complaint or the employer is otherwise aware of an incident(s) (for example, if a supervisor witnessed it or learned about it from a third party).

The investigation must be objective. The person conducting the investigation, whether internal or external to the workplace, must not be directly involved in the incident or complaint, and must not be under the direct control of the alleged harasser. This person should have knowledge of how to conduct an investigation appropriate in the circumstances.

Some matters will not require a lengthy investigation (for example, where a bar patron is harassing staff or if there is a complaint that does not, on its face, pertain to workplace harassment). Other situations, such as those involving allegations of sexual harassment by a co-worker over a period of time, may be more complex. The parties to the complaint should be updated periodically on the status of the investigation.

An Investigation Template is attached to this Code of Practice as Schedule E.

Provision(s)

Occupational Health and Safety Act, s. 32.0.7 (1)(a), (b) and (c)

  • (1) To protect a worker from workplace harassment, an employer shall ensure that,
    • (a) an investigation is conducted into incidents and complaints of workplace harassment that is appropriate in the circumstances;
    • (b) the worker who has allegedly experienced workplace harassment and the alleged harasser, if he or she is a worker of the employer, are informed in writing of the results of the investigation and of any corrective action that has been taken or that will be taken as a result of the investigation;
    • (c) the program developed under section 32.0.6 is reviewed as often as necessary, but at least annually, to ensure that it adequately implements the policy with respect to workplace harassment required under clause 32.0.1 (1) (b);

Practice

To comply with this Part of the Code of Practice, the employer must follow all of the requirements listed below.

A. Appropriate investigation

An employer must ensure an investigation appropriate in the circumstances is conducted when:

  1. the employer or a supervisor becomes aware of an incident of workplace harassment by the worker who allegedly experienced it or another worker; or
  2. a complaint, whether in writing or verbal, of workplace harassment is made to the employer, supervisor or the employer’s designated person.

An investigation must be completed within 90 calendar days or less unless there are extenuating circumstances warranting a longer investigation (e.g. more than five witnesses, key witness unavailable due to illness).

The supervisor, manager or person conducting the investigation must not be the alleged harasser and must not be under the direct control of the alleged harasser. The person must be able to conduct an objective investigation. The supervisor, manager or designated person conducting the investigation on behalf of the employer must, at a minimum, complete the following seven steps to an investigation:

  1. The investigator must ensure the investigation is kept confidential and identifying information is not disclosed unless necessary to conduct the investigation or as required by law. The investigator must remind the worker who allegedly experienced workplace harassment, the alleged harasser(s) and any witnesses of any confidentiality requirements under the employer’s workplace harassment program.
  2. The investigator must thoroughly interview both the worker who has allegedly experienced workplace harassment and the alleged harasser(s), if the alleged harasser(s) is a worker of the employer. If the alleged harasser is not a worker of the employer, the investigator must make reasonable efforts to interview the alleged harasser, if the alleged harasser is known to the employer.
  3. The alleged harasser(s) must be given the opportunity to respond to the specific allegations raised by the worker. In some circumstances, the worker who has allegedly experienced workplace harassment should be given a reasonable opportunity to reply.
  4. The investigator must separately interview any relevant witnesses employed by the employer who may be identified by either the worker who has allegedly experienced workplace harassment, the alleged harasser(s) or as necessary to conduct a thorough investigation. The investigator must make reasonable efforts to interview any relevant witnesses who are not employed by the employer if there are any identified by either the worker who has allegedly experienced workplace harassment, the alleged harasser(s) or as necessary to conduct a thorough investigation.
  5. The investigator must collect and review any relevant documents.
  6. The investigator must take appropriate notes and statements during interviews with the worker who has allegedly experienced workplace harassment, the alleged harasser and any witnesses.
  7. The investigator must prepare a written report summarizing the steps taken during the investigation, the complaint, the allegations of the worker claiming harassment, the response from the alleged harasser, the evidence of any witnesses and the evidence gathered. The report must set out findings of fact and come to a conclusion about whether workplace harassment was found or not. The report must be provided to the employer, supervisor or designated person to take appropriate action.

B. Results of the investigation

The employer must ensure that the results of the investigation and any corrective action are provided to the worker who allegedly experienced workplace harassment and the alleged harasser, if they are a worker of the employer, in writing.

The results of the investigation are not the same as the investigation report. The results of the investigation are a summary of the findings of the investigation. The results must be communicated in writing within ten (10) calendar days of the investigation being concluded to the worker who has experienced the alleged harassment.

The employer must also ensure that any corrective action taken, if any (or to be taken) is communicated to the worker who allegedly experienced workplace harassment and the alleged harasser(s), if the alleged harasser is a worker of the employer. The amount of information provided about the corrective action will depend on the circumstances but must indicate what steps the employer has taken or will take to prevent a similar incident of workplace harassment if workplace harassment was found. The corrective action, if any, must be communicated in writing within ten (10) calendar days of the investigation being concluded.

C. Review the workplace harassment program

The employer must ensure its workplace harassment program is reviewed annually or when any gaps or deficiencies in its program are identified as a result of an investigation.

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4606-8392-7 (HTML)

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Partie III : Devoirs des employeurs à l’égard du harcèlement au travail

Renseignements généraux

Pour protéger ses travailleurs du harcèlement au travail, l’employeur doit voir à ce que les incidents et les plaintes de harcèlement fassent l’objet d’une enquête appropriée dans les circonstances.

Il est de la responsabilité de l’employeur de mener une enquête sur tout cas de harcèlement au travail, et ce, qu’il en soit mis au courant par une plainte (officielle ou non) ou par un autre moyen (p. ex., si un superviseur a été témoin d’un incident ou en a pris connaissance par une tierce personne).

L’enquête doit être objective. La personne chargée de l’enquête, qu’elle provienne de l’organisme ou non, ne doit en aucune manière être directement touchée par l’incident ou la plainte et ne doit pas relever directement du prétendu harceleur. Elle doit savoir comment mener une enquête appropriée dans les circonstances.

Si certains problèmes peuvent être réglés sans qu’une longue enquête soit nécessaire (p. ex., lorsque le client d’un bar harcèle des employés ou lorsqu’une plainte ne correspond pas, à première vue, à du harcèlement au travail), d’autres situations peuvent être plus complexes, notamment lorsqu’une personne allègue faire l’objet de harcèlement sexuel de la part d’un collègue depuis un certain temps. Les parties impliquées devraient être tenues au courant de l’avancée de l’enquête de manière périodique.

Le lecteur trouvera un modèle de plan d’enquête à l’annexe E du présent code.

Dispositions

Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, paragraphe 32.0.7 (1) a), b) et c)

  • (1) Pour protéger les travailleurs de tout harcèlement au travail, l’employeur doit veiller à ce qui suit :
    • a) l’enquête appropriée dans les circonstances est menée sur les incidents et les plaintes de harcèlement au travail;
    • b) le travailleur qui aurait fait l’objet de harcèlement au travail et le prétendu harceleur, s’il s’agit d’un travailleur de l’employeur, sont informés par écrit des résultats de l’enquête et des mesures correctives qui ont été ou seront prises à l’issue de l’enquête;
    • c) le programme élaboré en application de l’article 32.0.6 est examiné aussi souvent que nécessaire, mais au moins une fois par année, pour qu’il mette adéquatement en œuvre la politique concernant le harcèlement au travail exigée à l’alinéa 32.0.1 (1) b).

Pratique

Pour se conformer à la présente partie du Code de pratique, l’employeur doit satisfaire à toutes les exigences énumérées ci-dessous.

A. Enquête appropriée

L’employeur doit veiller à ce qu’une enquête appropriée dans les circonstances soit menée quand :

  1. lui ou un superviseur est mis au fait d’un incident de harcèlement au travail par le travailleur qui en aurait fait l’objet ou par un autre travailleur;
  2. une plainte de harcèlement au travail (orale ou écrite) est faite auprès de lui, d’un superviseur ou de la personne qu’il a désignée.

La durée de l’enquête ne doit pas excéder 90 jours civils, à moins de circonstances atténuantes qui pourraient justifier la prolongation de ce délai (p. ex., plus de cinq témoins, absence d’un témoin clé pour cause de maladie).

La personne (p. ex., superviseur ou gestionnaire) chargée de mener l’enquête ne doit pas être le prétendu harceleur ni relever directement de celui-ci et doit être en mesure de mener une enquête objective. La personne (p. ex., superviseur, gestionnaire ou personne désignée) chargée de mener l’enquête au nom de l’employeur doit au minimum suivre les sept étapes suivantes :

  1. Elle doit assurer la confidentialité de l’enquête et des renseignements identificatoires, à moins que celle-ci n’empêche le déroulement de l’enquête ou que la loi exige le contraire. La personne chargée de mener l’enquête doit rappeler au travailleur qui aurait fait l’objet de harcèlement, à tout prétendu harceleur et aux éventuels témoins leurs obligations en matière de confidentialité conformément au programme concernant le harcèlement au travail de l’employeur.
  2. Elle doit mener des entretiens exhaustifs avec le ou les prétendus harceleurs, si ce dernier ou ces derniers sont des travailleurs de l’employeur, et la personne qui aurait fait l’objet de harcèlement au travail. Si le ou les prétendus harceleurs ne sont pas des travailleurs de l’employeur, la personne chargée de mener l’enquête doit prendre des mesures raisonnables pour interroger celui-ci ou ceux-ci, s’ils sont connus de l’employeur.
  3. Elle doit donner l’occasion au prétendu harceleur de répondre aux allégations qui pèsent sur lui. Dans certains cas, la personne qui aurait subi le harcèlement devrait se voir offrir une occasion raisonnable de répliquer.
  4. Elle doit avoir un entretien individuel avec tout témoin pertinent employé par l’employeur et nommé par la personne qui aurait fait l’objet de harcèlement au travail ou par le ou les prétendus harceleurs, ou toute autre personne nécessaire pour mener une enquête exhaustive. La personne chargée de mener l’enquête doit prendre des mesures raisonnables pour interroger les éventuels témoins pertinents qui ne sont pas employés par l’employeur et ont été nommés par le travailleur qui aurait fait l’objet de harcèlement au travail ou par le ou les prétendus harceleurs, ou toute autre personne nécessaire pour mener une enquête exhaustive.
  5. Elle doit réunir et examiner tous les documents pertinents.
  6. Elle doit prendre des notes pertinentes et consigner les déclarations lors des entretiens avec la personne qui aurait fait l’objet de harcèlement, le ou les prétendus harceleurs et tout témoin.
  7. Elle doit préparer un rapport écrit dans lequel elle résume les mesures prises lors de l’enquête, la plainte, les allégations, la réponse du ou des prétendus harceleurs, les éventuels témoignages et les preuves réunies. Le rapport doit faire état des conclusions de fait et établir s’il y a eu harcèlement au travail. Le rapport doit ensuite être remis à l’employeur, au superviseur ou à la personne désignée, qui devra prendre les mesures appropriées.

B. Résultats de l’enquête

L’employeur doit veiller à ce que les résultats de l’enquête ainsi que toute mesure corrective soient communiqués à la personne qui aurait fait l’objet de harcèlement et au prétendu harceleur, si ceux-ci sont des travailleurs de l’employeur. À noter toutefois que nous n’entendons pas par là le rapport d’enquête; les résultats sont un résumé des conclusions de l’enquête.

Les résultats de l’enquête doivent être communiqués par écrit à la personne qui aurait subi du harcèlement dans les dix (10) jours civils suivant la conclusion de l’enquête.

L’employeur doit aussi veiller à ce que les mesures correctives qui seront ou ont été prises (le cas échéant) soient communiquées à la personne qui aurait subi du harcèlement ainsi qu’au prétendu harceleur, si ce dernier est un travailleur de l’employeur. La quantité d’information communiquée au sujet des mesures correctives dépendra des circonstances; l’important, c’est que soient précisées les mesures que l’employeur a prises ou compte prendre pour prévenir des incidents de harcèlement au travail semblables, si harcèlement il y a eu. Les éventuelles mesures correctives doivent être communiquées par écrit dans les dix (10) jours civils suivant la conclusion de l’enquête.

C. Examen du programme concernant le harcèlement au travail

L’employeur doit examiner le programme concernant le harcèlement au travail chaque année ou dès qu’une lacune y est relevée à la suite d’une enquête.

précédent | suivant

ISBN 978-1-4606-8519-8 (HTML)