Table of Contents | Print This Page

Part II: Workplace Harassment Program

General information

An employer must develop and maintain a written workplace harassment program to implement the workplace harassment policy under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA). If there is a joint health and safety committee or health and safety representative at the workplace as required under the OHSA, the employer must consult with the committee or representative about the program.

The OHSA requires that the workplace harassment program include information about how to report incidents of workplace harassment to the employer or supervisor and to a person other than the employer or supervisor, if the employer or supervisor is the alleged harasser. Employers may also want to encourage workers to report concerns if the worker witnesses another worker being harassed.

The person who receives a workplace harassment complaint should not be under the alleged harasser’s direct control. In a larger organization, the person who receives a complaint of workplace harassment may be a supervisor, human resource representative or the president so long as they are not the alleged harasser or under the direct control of the alleged harasser. The program requires an alternate person to be designated to receive a complaint or be notified of an incident if the employer or supervisor is the alleged harasser. A member of the board of directors, a consultant or another person may be considered to receive employer or supervisor related complaints of workplace harassment. Overall, it is important for workers to be able to report workplace harassment to a person who will objectively address the complaint.

The program should set out whether this person would only receive the complaint, or whether this person would be expected to carry out an investigation.

If workplace harassment is found to have occurred at the workplace, the employer may also want to set out in detail the ways in which it will address workplace harassment. Where the harassment arises from customers, clients, patients, or the public towards a worker, the employer could deal with the incident of workplace harassment by modifying its service (such as using the telephone or email as the primary means of contact), or even, in some cases, a refusal of service depending upon the circumstances.

Where the investigation finds that harassment arises from a worker, supervisor, or other person associated with the workplace, there can be consequences for the individual (such as apologies, education, counseling, shift changes, reprimands, suspension, job transfer, or termination) depending on the employer’s policy, the nature or severity of the behaviour and the circumstances. Actions may also be broader, especially where the investigation of an incident or complaint shows that workplace harassment is prevalent or commonplace. An example of action taken could be training for everyone in the workplace or in a department on what is unacceptable behaviour in the workplace.

The employer in the workplace harassment program may also want to address the role of other workplace parties. In a unionized workplace, the collective agreement may address the role of the union during an investigation.

It is also the employer’s duty to consult with the joint health and safety committee or the health and safety representative (if any) as the employer develops and maintains the workplace harassment program.

A template Workplace Harassment Program is attached to this Code of Practice as Schedule D.

Provision(s)

Occupational Health and Safety Act, s. 32.0.6 (1) and (2),

  • (1) An employer shall, in consultation with the committee or a health and safety representative, if any, develop and maintain a written program to implement the policy with respect to workplace harassment required under clause 32.0.1. (1) (b).
  • (2) Without limiting the generality of subsection (1), the program shall,
    • (a) include measures and procedures for workers to report incidents of workplace harassment to the employer or supervisor;
    • (b) include measures and procedures for workers to report incidents of workplace harassment to a person other than the employer or supervisor, if the employer or supervisor is the alleged harasser;
    • (c) set out how incidents or complaints of workplace harassment will be investigated and dealt with;
    • (d) set out how information obtained about an incident or complaint of workplace harassment, including identifying information about any individuals involved, will not be disclosed unless the disclosure is necessary for the purposes of investigating or taking corrective action with respect to the incident or complaint, or is otherwise required by law;
    • (e) set out how a worker who has allegedly experienced workplace harassment and the alleged harasser, if he or she is a worker of the employer, will be informed of the results of the investigation and of any corrective action that has been taken or that will be taken as a result of the investigation; and
    • (f) include any prescribed elements.

Practice

To comply with this Part of the Code of Practice, the Workplace Harassment Program must be in writing and include all components in the Practice below. It must be developed and maintained in consultation with the joint health and safety committee or health and safety representative (if one is present in the workplace).

The workplace harassment program must be in writing.

The workplace harassment program must include all of the following:

A. Reporting

  1. Measures and procedures for workers to report workplace harassment to the employer or supervisor, including specific individual(s) or position(s) so that it is clear to whom workers should report or file a complaint of workplace harassment.
  2. Measures and procedures for workers to report workplace harassment to a person other than the employer or supervisor, if the employer or supervisor is the alleged harasser, so that it is clear to whom workers should report incidents of workplace harassment.
    • If the alleged harasser is a supervisor, the designated person may be a human resources representative, a department responsible for handling workplace harassment complaints, a health and safety consultant or other person designated by the employer.
    • If the employer is the alleged harasser, the employer must designate a person who is not under the direct control of the alleged harasser.
  3. The report of the incident must include the following information:
    • Name(s) of the complainant(s) and contact information
    • Name of the alleged harasser(s), position and contact information (if known)
    • Names of the witness(es) (if any) or other person(s) with relevant information to provide about the incident (if any) and contact information (if known)
    • Details of what happened including date(s), frequency and location(s) of the alleged incident(s)
      • Any supporting documents the worker who complains of harassment may have in his/her possession that are relevant to the complaint
      • List any documents a witness, another person or the alleged harasser may have in their possession that are relevant to the complaint.

B. Investigation and handling of a complaint

The program must indicate:

  1. The employer will ensure that an investigation appropriate in the circumstances will be conducted into complaints or incidents of workplace harassment.
  2. How an incident or complaint of workplace harassment will be investigated and dealt with including any interim measures and corrective action(s) that may be taken while the complaint or incident is being investigated.
  3. How an incident or complaint will be kept confidential to the extent possible. Information obtained about an incident or complaint of workplace harassment, including identifying information about any individuals involved, will not be disclosed unless disclosure is necessary to protect workers, to investigate the complaint or incident, to take corrective action or otherwise as required by law.
  4. While the investigation is on-going, the worker who has allegedly experienced harassment, the alleged harasser(s) and any witnesses will be instructed not to discuss the complaint, incident or the investigation with other workers or witnesses unless necessary to obtain advice about their rights.
  5. A worker who has allegedly experienced harassment and the alleged harasser, if they are a worker of the employer, will be informed in writing of the results of the investigation and any corrective action that has been taken or that will be taken.
  6. When an external person will be retained to conduct a workplace harassment investigation (for example, but not limited to, when the alleged harasser is a president, owner, high-level management or senior executive).

C. Record keeping

  1. The program must indicate how the employer will keep records of all complaints or incidents of workplace harassment including:
    1. a copy of the complaint or details about the incident;
    2. a record of the investigation including notes;
    3. copy of witness statements, if taken;
    4. a copy of the investigation report, if any;
    5. a copy of the results of the investigation that were provided to the worker who reported workplace harassment and the alleged harasser; and
    6. a copy of any corrective action taken to address the complaint or incident of workplace harassment.
  2. The documents associated with a workplace harassment complaint, incident and/or investigation must not be disclosed unless necessary to investigate an incident or complaint of workplace harassment, take corrective action or otherwise as required by law.
  3. For the OHSA purposes, records must be kept for at least one year from the conclusion of the investigation.

Duty to consult with the joint health and safety committee or health and safety representative

The employer must develop and maintain the written workplace harassment program in consultation with the joint health and safety committee or health and safety representative (if any).

The consultation must provide an opportunity for the joint health and safety committee or health and safety representative (if any) to provide feedback, whether orally or in writing, on the program and the feedback must be considered by the employer.

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4606-8392-7 (HTML)

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Partie II: Programme concernant le harcèlement au travail

Renseignements généraux

L’employeur doit élaborer et maintenir un programme écrit concernant le harcèlement au travail pour mettre en œuvre la politique concernant le harcèlement au travail aux termes de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST). Dans un lieu de travail où il y a un comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité au travail ou un délégué à la santé et à la sécurité conformément à la LSST, il est du devoir de l’employeur de le consulter au sujet du programme.

La LSST exige que le programme indique comment signaler les incidents de harcèlement au travail à l’employeur ou au superviseur et à une autre personne si le prétendu harceleur est l’employeur ou le superviseur. Les employeurs peuvent aussi encourager les travailleurs à signaler les situations de harcèlement dont ils sont témoins.

La personne qui reçoit ces plaintes ne devrait pas relever directement du prétendu harceleur. Dans les grands organismes, il peut s’agir d’un superviseur, d’un représentant des ressources humaines ou du président, tant que ceux-ci ne sont pas le prétendu harceleur ou ne relèvent pas directement de lui. Le programme requiert qu’une autre personne soit désignée responsable de recevoir les plaintes ou les rapports d’incidents au cas où ce serait l’employeur ou le superviseur qui serait accusé de harcèlement. Une autre personne (p. ex., un membre du conseil d’administration ou un consultant) peut être désignée responsable de recevoir les plaintes de harcèlement au travail impliquant l’employeur ou un superviseur. L’important dans tout cela, c’est de désigner une personne qui traitera objectivement les plaintes de harcèlement.

Le programme doit établir si cette personne est seulement responsable de recevoir les plaintes, ou si elle a également la responsabilité de mener une enquête.

S’il s’avère qu’il y a eu harcèlement au travail, l’employeur peut aussi définir en détail les moyens qu’il emploiera pour résoudre les plaintes.

Si ce sont des clients, des patients ou le public en général qui ont harcelé un travailleur, l’employeur pourrait, par exemple, changer les modalités de service (faire du téléphone ou du courriel le principal moyen de communication), voire carrément refuser le service dans certains cas.

S’il ressort de l’enquête qu’un travailleur, un superviseur ou toute autre personne sur le lieu de travail s’est livré à du harcèlement, des conséquences peuvent être appliquées (p. ex., présentation d’excuses, formation, counseling, changement d’horaire, réprimandes, suspension, mutation, congédiement), en fonction de la politique de l’employeur, de la nature et de la gravité du comportement, et de la situation. Les mesures prises peuvent être plus globales dans les cas où l’enquête révèle que le harcèlement est répandu ou fréquent dans le lieu de travail, par exemple une formation obligatoire pour tous les employés de l’organisme ou d’un service particulier sur les comportements inacceptables au travail.

L’employeur peut aussi prévoir dans le programme les rôles des autres parties du lieu de travail. Dans les milieux de travail syndiqués, la convention collective peut indiquer le rôle que doit jouer le syndicat dans les enquêtes.

Il est aussi du devoir de l’employeur de consulter, le cas échéant, le comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité au travail ou le délégué à la santé et à la sécurité lorsqu’il élabore et maintient son programme concernant le harcèlement au travail.

Le lecteur trouvera un exemple de programme concernant le harcèlement au travail à l’annexe D du présent code de pratique.

Dispositions

Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, paragraphes 32.0.6 (1) et (2)

  • (1) L’employeur, en consultation avec le comité ou le délégué à la santé et à la sécurité, le cas échéant, élabore et maintient un programme écrit de mise en œuvre de la politique concernant le harcèlement au travail exigée à l’alinéa 32.0.1 (1) b).
  • (2) Sans préjudice de la portée générale du paragraphe (1), le programme :
    • a) inclut les mesures que les travailleurs doivent prendre et les méthodes qu’ils doivent suivre pour signaler les incidents de harcèlement au travail à l’employeur ou au superviseur;
    • b) inclut les mesures que les travailleurs doivent prendre et les méthodes qu’ils doivent suivre pour signaler les incidents de harcèlement au travail à une autre personne que l’employeur ou le superviseur s’il est le prétendu harceleur;
    • c) énonce la manière dont l’enquête sur les incidents ou les plaintes de harcèlement au travail se déroulera et les mesures qui seront prises pour y faire face;
    • d) énonce la manière dont les renseignements obtenus au sujet d’un incident ou une plainte de harcèlement au travail, y compris les renseignements identificatoires au sujet des particuliers impliqués, demeureront confidentiels, sauf si leur divulgation est nécessaire pour enquêter ou prendre des mesures correctives à l’égard de l’incident ou de la plainte, ou encore si elle est exigée par la loi;
    • e) énonce la manière dont le travailleur qui aurait fait l’objet de harcèlement au travail et le prétendu harceleur, s’il s’agit d’un travailleur de l’employeur, seront informés des résultats de l’enquête et des mesures correctives qui ont été ou seront prises à l’issue de l’enquête
    • f) inclut les éléments prescrits.

Pratique

Pour qu’il soit jugé conforme à la présente partie du Code de pratique, le programme concernant le harcèlement au travail doit être consigné par écrit et comprendre tous les éléments ci-dessous. Il doit aussi être élaboré et maintenu en consultation avec le comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité au travail ou un délégué à la santé et à la sécurité, s’il y en a un sur le lieu de travail.

Le programme concernant le harcèlement au travail doit être consigné par écrit.

Il doit comprendre tous les éléments suivants :

A. Signalement

  1. Les mesures que les travailleurs doivent prendre et les méthodes qu’ils doivent suivre pour signaler le harcèlement au travail à l’employeur ou au superviseur, y compris le nom ou le titre du poste de ces personnes pour que les travailleurs sachent précisément à qui ils doivent signaler le harcèlement ou remettre une plainte à ce sujet.
  2. Les mesures que les travailleurs doivent prendre et les méthodes qu’ils doivent suivre pour signaler le harcèlement au travail à une autre personne que l’employeur ou le superviseur, si ce dernier est le prétendu harceleur, afin que les travailleurs sachent précisément à qui ils doivent signaler les incidents.
    1. Si le prétendu harceleur est un superviseur, la personne désignée peut être un représentant des ressources humaines, le responsable de la gestion des plaintes de harcèlement, un consultant en matière de santé et de sécurité ou toute autre personne désignée par l’employeur.
    2. Dans l’éventualité où il serait le prétendu harceleur, l’employeur doit désigner une personne qui ne relève pas directement de lui.
  3. Le rapport d’incident doit comprendre les renseignements suivants :
    1. le nom et les coordonnées du ou des plaignants;
    2. le nom ainsi que le titre et les coordonnées (si connus) du ou des prétendus harceleurs;
    3. le nom du ou des témoins (le cas échéant) ou de toute autre personne pouvant fournir de l’information pertinente au sujet de l’incident ainsi que leurs coordonnées (si connues);
    4. des détails sur les prétendus incidents ainsi que leur fréquence et les dates et endroits où ils ont eu lieu;
      1. tout document à l’appui pertinent que possède la personne ayant déposé la plainte;
      2. une liste de tous les documents pertinents que pourraient posséder le ou les témoins, le ou les prétendus harceleurs ou toute autre personne.

B. Gestion des plaintes et enquête

Le programme doit préciser ce qui suit :

  1. L’employeur veillera à ce que les plaintes et les incidents de harcèlement au travail fassent l’objet d’une enquête appropriée dans les circonstances.
  2. La manière dont l’enquête sur les incidents ou les plaintes de harcèlement au travail se déroulera et les mesures qui seront prises pour régler le dossier, ce qui comprend toute mesure provisoire ou corrective prise pendant l’enquête.
  3. La manière dont sera protégée, dans la mesure du possible, la confidentialité de l’incident ou de la plainte. Les renseignements obtenus au sujet d’un incident ou d’une plainte de harcèlement au travail, y compris les renseignements identificatoires au sujet des personnes impliquées, demeureront confidentiels, sauf si leur divulgation est nécessaire pour protéger les travailleurs, enquêter sur la plainte ou l’incident ou prendre des mesures correctives, ou encore si elle est exigée par la loi.
  4. Pendant l’enquête, le travailleur qui aurait subi du harcèlement, le ou les prétendus harceleurs et les éventuels témoins se verront demander de ne pas discuter de la plainte, de l’incident ou de l’enquête avec d’autres travailleurs ou témoins, sauf si cela leur est nécessaire pour obtenir des conseils sur leurs droits.
  5. Le travailleur qui aurait fait l’objet de harcèlement et le prétendu harceleur, s’il s’agit de travailleurs de l’employeur, seront informés par écrit des résultats de l’enquête et des mesures correctives qui ont été ou seront prises.
  6. Les situations dans lesquelles une personne qui ne provient pas de l’organisme est retenue pour mener une enquête sur du harcèlement au travail (p. ex., si la personne accusée de harcèlement est le président, le propriétaire, un membre de la haute direction ou un cadre supérieur).

C. Conservation des dossiers

  1. Le programme doit préciser de quelle manière l’employeur compte conserver les dossiers des plaintes et des incidents de harcèlement au travail, lesquels comprendront :
    1. une copie de la plainte ou des détails sur l’incident;
    2. les documents produits lors de l’enquête, y compris les notes;
    3. une copie des déclarations des témoins, le cas échéant;
    4. une copie du rapport d’enquête, le cas échéant;
    5. une copie des résultats de l’enquête fournis à la personne qui a signalé le harcèlement et au prétendu harceleur;
    6. une copie de toute mesure corrective appliquée à la suite de la plainte ou de l’incident de harcèlement au travail.
  2. Les documents associés à une plainte ou à un incident de harcèlement au travail ou encore à l’enquête subséquente doivent demeurer confidentiels, sauf si leur divulgation est nécessaire pour enquêter sur l’incident ou la plainte ou prendre des mesures correctives à cet égard, ou encore si elle est exigée par la loi.
  3. Aux fins de la LSST, les dossiers doivent être conservés durant au moins un an après la conclusion de l’enquête.

Devoir de consulter le comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité au travail ou le délégué à la santé et à la sécurité

L’employeur doit rédiger et maintenir le programme concernant le harcèlement au travail de concert avec le comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité au travail ou le délégué à la santé et à la sécurité, s’il y en a un.

La consultation doit donner au comité ou au délégué éventuel la possibilité de donner son avis (oralement ou par écrit) sur le programme; l’employeur doit tenir compte des commentaires formulés.

précédent | suivant

ISBN 978-1-4606-8519-8 (HTML)