Table of Contents | Print This Page

Part 1: Workplace Harassment Policy

General information

A policy addressing workplace harassment promotes a working environment of dignity and respect and helps keep Ontario’s workplaces healthy and safe.

All workers should know what workplace harassment is and how to report it. Employers should encourage workers to report workplace harassment so that appropriate action can be taken to stop unwelcome conduct.

An employer is required to prepare a workplace harassment policy under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA). In addition to including the definition of workplace harassment as defined by the OHSA in its policy, an employer may include the following behaviours as examples of workplace harassment:

  • offensive or intimidating comments or jokes;
  • bullying or aggressive behaviour;
  • displaying or circulating offensive pictures or materials;
  • inappropriate staring;
  • workplace sexual harassment;
  • isolating or making fun of a worker because of gender identity.

Workplace sexual harassment includes unwelcome solicitation or advances from a manager, supervisor or another person who has the power to reward or punish the worker.

Employers may choose to prepare a separate policy regarding workplace harassment or they may combine it with a workplace violence policy [section 32.0.1(1)(a) of OHSA] or the occupational health and safety policy [section 25(2)(j) of OHSA]. An employer may also choose to combine its workplace harassment policy with an anti-discrimination and anti-harassment policy that addresses the protected grounds under Ontario’s Human Rights Code.

A template Workplace Harassment Policy is attached to this Code of Practice as Schedule C.

Provision(s)

Occupational Health and Safety Act, s. 32.0.1(1) and (2)

  • (1)(b) An employer shall prepare a policy with respect to workplace harassment; and
  • (c) review the policies as often as is necessary, but at least annually.
  • (2) The policies shall be in written form and shall be posted at a conspicuous place in the workplace.

Practice

To comply with this Part of the Code of Practice, all components contained in the Practice below must be met regardless of whether the employer combines policies or not.

An employer is required to prepare a policy with respect to workplace harassment.

The workplace harassment policy must be:

  1. Prepared in writing by the employer.
  2. Posted in a conspicuous place in the workplace where it would be likely to come to workers’ attention.
  3. Reviewed by the employer as often as necessary, but at least annually.
  4. Dated and signed by the highest level of management of the employer or at the workplace (e.g. President, CEO, Senior Human Resources Professional or uppermost member of management at the workplace).

The workplace harassment policy, at a minimum, must contain the following seven elements:

  1. A statement(s) demonstrating the employer’s commitment to addressing workplace harassment.
  2. The OHSA workplace harassment definition as set out below:

    “workplace harassment” means,

    • (a) engaging in a course of vexatious comment or conduct against a worker in a workplace that is known or ought reasonably to be known to be unwelcome, or
    • (b) workplace sexual harassment;
    “workplace sexual harassment” means,

    • (a) engaging in a course of vexatious comment or conduct against a worker in a workplace because of sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression, where the course of comment or conduct is known or ought reasonably to be known to be unwelcome, or
    • (b) making a sexual solicitation or advance where the person making the solicitation or advance is in a position to confer, grant or deny a benefit or advancement to the worker and the person knows or ought reasonably to know that the solicitation or advance is unwelcome;
    Subsection 1 (4) A reasonable action taken by an employer or supervisor relating to the management and direction of workers or the workplace is not workplace harassment.
  3. A statement indicating the policy applies to all workers and that it addresses workplace harassment from all sources such as customers, clients, employers, supervisors, workers and members of the public.
  4. A statement encouraging workers to report workplace harassment to the appropriate person.
  5. A statement the employer will investigate and deal with all complaints or incidents of workplace harassment in a fair and timely manner. The policy must specify that information about a complaint or incident will not be disclosed except to the extent necessary to protect workers, to investigate the complaint or incident, to take corrective action or as otherwise required by law.
  6. A statement that a worker is not to be penalized for reporting an incident or participating in a workplace harassment investigation. Penalizing a worker for exercising their rights under the OHSA is prohibited.
  7. Information about other resources for a worker to seek help to address workplace harassment (e.g. union representative, joint health and safety committee member or health and safety representative, Human Rights Legal Support Centre or employee assistance program, as appropriate).

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4606-8392-7 (HTML)

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Partie I : Politique concernant le harcèlement au travail

Renseignements généraux

Une politique sur le harcèlement au travail favorise la dignité, le respect, la santé et la sécurité dans les lieux de travail de l’Ontario.

Tous les travailleurs doivent savoir ce qu’est le harcèlement au travail et connaître la marche à suivre pour le signaler. Quant aux employeurs, ils doivent encourager leurs employés à signaler tout acte de harcèlement afin que des mesures soient prises pour mettre fin à ce comportement importun.

En vertu de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST), l’employeur est tenu de rédiger une politique sur le harcèlement au travail. Outre la définition du harcèlement au travail aux termes de la LSST, il peut y inclure les comportements suivants en tant qu’exemples de harcèlement au travail :

  • blagues ou commentaires offensants ou intimidants;
  • intimidation ou comportements agressifs;
  • affichage ou circulation d’images ou d’autres choses offensantes;
  • regard insistant inapproprié;
  • harcèlement sexuel;
  • isolement d’une personne ou railleries à son égard à cause de son identité de genre.

Le harcèlement sexuel au travail inclut toute sollicitation ou toutes avances importunes de la part d’un gestionnaire, d’un superviseur ou de toute autre personne qui a l’autorité de récompenser ou de punir un travailleur.

L’employeur peut décider d’établir une politique distincte concernant le harcèlement au travail ou encore de l’incorporer à sa politique concernant la violence au travail [alinéa 32.0.1 (1) a) de la LSST] ou à sa politique en matière de santé et sécurité au travail [alinéa 25 (2) j) de la LSST]. L’employeur peut aussi fusionner sa politique concernant le harcèlement au travail avec sa politique de lutte contre le harcèlement et la discrimination fondée sur les motifs illicites aux termes du Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario.

Le lecteur trouvera à l’annexe C du présent code de pratique un exemple de politique sur le harcèlement au travail.

Dispositions

Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, paragraphes 32.0.1 (1) et (2)

  • (1) L’employeur : b) formule une politique concernant le harcèlement au travail;
  • c) examine les politiques aussi souvent que nécessaire, mais au moins une fois par année.
  • (2) Les politiques sont formulées par écrit et sont affichées dans un endroit bien en vue du lieu de travail.

Pratique

Pour être conforme à la présente partie du Code de pratique, l’employeur doit satisfaire à toutes les conditions énoncées ci-dessous, et ce, qu’il greffe ou non sa politique à une autre.

L’employeur doit formuler une politique concernant le harcèlement au travail.

La politique doit être :

  1. rédigée par l’employeur;
  2. affichée dans un endroit bien en vue du lieu de travail où elle attirera l’attention des travailleurs;
  3. examinée aussi souvent que nécessaire par l’employeur, mais au moins une fois par année;
  4. datée et signée par la personne la plus haut placée de l’organisme employeur ou du lieu de travail (p. ex., président, directeur général, spécialiste en ressources humaines ou cadre supérieur).

La politique concernant le harcèlement au travail doit au minimum contenir les sept éléments suivants :

  1. Un engagement de l’employeur selon lequel il luttera contre le harcèlement au travail;
  2. La définition suivante que donne la LSST du harcèlement au travail :

    « harcèlement au travail » S’entend :
    • a) du fait pour une personne d’adopter une ligne de conduite caractérisée par des remarques ou des gestes vexatoires contre un travailleur dans un lieu de travail lorsqu’elle sait ou devrait raisonnablement savoir que ces remarques ou ces gestes sont importuns;
    • b) du harcèlement sexuel au travail.
    « harcèlement sexuel au travail » S’entend :
    • a) du fait pour une personne d’adopter, pour des raisons fondées sur le sexe, l’orientation sexuelle, l’identité sexuelle ou l’expression de l’identité sexuelle, une ligne de conduite caractérisée par des remarques ou des gestes vexatoires contre un travailleur dans un lieu de travail lorsqu’elle sait ou devrait raisonnablement savoir que ces remarques ou ces gestes sont importuns;
    • b) du fait pour une personne de faire des sollicitations ou des avances sexuelles alors qu’elle est en mesure d’accorder au travailleur ou de lui refuser un avantage ou une promotion et qu’elle sait ou devrait raisonnablement savoir que ces sollicitations ou ces avances sont importunes.
    1. (4) Les mesures raisonnables prises par l’employeur ou le superviseur dans le cadre de la gestion et de la direction des travailleurs ou du lieu de travail ne constituent pas du harcèlement au travail.
  3. Un énoncé indiquant que la politique s’applique à tous les travailleurs et qu’elle vise à éliminer le harcèlement au travail peu importe la source (clients, employeurs, superviseurs, travailleurs, membres du public);
  4. Un énoncé encourageant les travailleurs à signaler le harcèlement à la personne responsable;
  5. Un énoncé expliquant que l’employeur enquêtera rapidement et équitablement sur toute plainte ou tout incident de harcèlement au travail et prendra les mesures qui s’imposent. La politique doit préciser que les renseignements relatifs à une plainte ou à un incident demeureront confidentiels, sauf si leur divulgation est nécessaire pour protéger les travailleurs, mener l’enquête sur la plainte ou l’incident ou appliquer des mesures correctives, ou encore si elle est exigée par la loi;
  6. Un énoncé précisant qu’aucun travailleur ne sera puni pour avoir signalé un incident ou participé à une enquête. Il est interdit de punir un travailleur pour avoir exercé ses droits en vertu de la LSST;
  7. De l’information sur les autres ressources pertinentes auxquelles peuvent recourir les travailleurs (p. ex., représentant d’un syndicat, membre d’un comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, délégué à la santé et à la sécurité, Centre d’assistance juridique en matière de droits de la personne ou Programme d’aide aux employés, selon le cas).

précédent | suivant

ISBN 978-1-4606-8519-8 (HTML)