Print this page

Radon in the workplace

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Introduction

Workers may be exposed to elevated levels of radon gas in indoor environments. Due to dilution in outdoor environments, the amount of radon gas is very small and does not pose a health risk.

Radon gas, also known chemically as radon 222, is a naturally occurring radioactive material (NORM) that is produced during a decay process from the radioactive element uranium, which can be found globally in soil, bedrock, and mineral deposits.

Radon gas is odourless, tasteless, and colourless (invisible). It emits ionizing radiation in the form of alpha particles. Alpha particles are a hazard when taken internally, by inhalation of the radon gas, inhalation of dust with alpha particles attached, or ingestion of dust with alpha particles attached.

Health effects

The health hazard associated with the inhalation of radon gas is an increased chance of developing lung cancer.

Hazard location

Radon can accumulate to high concentrations indoors in confined or poorly ventilated spaces, as well as in confined subterranean spaces. Radon levels are generally highest in basements and crawl spaces because radon is heavier than air. In addition, these areas are often nearest to the radon source and are usually poorly ventilated.

Industries and workplaces that are prone to radon production and therefore to worker exposure include: underground mines and tunneling/underground workings, as well as petroleum production, water treatment, fertilizer manufacturing, fish hatcheries and metal recycling facilities.

Hazard classification

Workplaces can be classified based on their average annual concentration of radon. Measurements should be made to estimate the average annual radon gas concentrations in radon-prone workplaces.

Program classifications for radon and NORM
Average annual concentration of radon [Bq/m3] [1] NORM program classification [2]
800 – 3,000 Radiation Protection Management
200 – 800 NORM Management
Background – less than 200 Unrestricted

[1] Bq stands for Becquerel, which is the derived Système International (SI) unit of radioactivity, defined as a disintegration or emission per second. Bq/m3 therefore stands for one radioactive transformation per second, per cubic metre of air.

[2] As per the Canadian Guidelines for the Management of Naturally Occurring Radioactive Materials (NORM), published by Health Canada.

Precautions

The precautions which should be taken for each classification are outlined below.

Radiation protection management for radon

The NORM classification is “Radiation Protection Management” when the estimated annual average concentration of radon gas is more than 800 Bq/m3 (translating to an annual effective dose of greater than 5 milliSievert (mSv/year). A Sievert is the SI unit of dose equivalent, defined as the absorbed dose multiplied by a quality factor (biological effectiveness of the type of radiation).

A Radiation Protection Management program should be implemented. This should include the initiation of a dose monitoring program to track the annual effective dose to the worker, both estimated and measured.

The employer should inform each occupationally exposed worker of:

  • their status as a radiation worker;
  • risks associated with radiation exposure;
  • applicable limits; and
  • his or her personal measured dose levels.

The exposure reduction program should include:

  • steps to reduce the radon concentration levels to below 200 Bq/m3 through engineering controls where possible;
  • administrative controls;
  • personal protective equipment; and
  • periodic worksite assessments to measure changes in radon levels.

An occupationally exposed worker should not be exposed to an annual average concentration of radon gas exceeding 3,000 Bq/m3, which represents an annual effective dose of 20 mSv for occupationally exposed workers.

NORM management for radon

The NORM classification is “NORM Management” when the estimated annual average concentration of radon gas in an occupied area is more than 200 Bq/m3 but less than 800 Bq/m3. This translates to an annual effective dose of 1 to 5 mSv.

Steps to reduce this exposure should be taken, including:

  • introduction of access controls to prevent public and incidentally exposed worker (whose regular duties do not include exposure to NORM) access to areas with these radon levels;
  • changes in work practices; and
  • reduction of radon concentration levels to below 200 Bq/m3 where possible.

The work area radon levels should be assessed periodically to verify conditions have not changed.

Unrestricted

Based on Health Canada radon guidelines, acceptable levels of radon within buildings, including homes or public buildings such as schools, hospitals, long-term care facilities, correctional facilities, is 200 Bq/m3 in air.

This value is also the derived working limit for radon, as based on the annual limit on intake of radon a worker can ingest or inhale each year, which would result in a committed dose equal to an annual effective dose of 1 mSv. Where the annual average concentration of radon gas is expected to be above 200 Bq/m3, measurements should be made to estimate the average annual radon gas concentration.

To prevent hazardous exposure levels or reduce radon concentration, an employer should seek professional assistance from private sector consultants who specialize in radon testing and radon remediation. Health Canada recognizes the Canadian National Radon Proficiency Program (C-NRPP), which certifies radon testers.

Occupants of buildings with radon concentration levels higher than 200 Bq/m3 should be:

  • advised of the presence of radon and
  • given information on the health effects of radon exposure.

The Canadian Guidelines for the Management of Naturally Occurring Radioactive Materials (NORM Guideline) are considered the industry standard for NORM protection in workplaces.

The general duty clause of Ontario’s Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA), clause 25(2)(h), states that an employer must take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances for the protection of a worker. This includes protecting workers from the hazards associated with radon exposure. When enforcing the general duty clause, the Ontario Ministry of Labour’s Radiation Protection Service may take the NORM Guideline and its recommendations into consideration.

Regulation 854 (Mines and Mining Plants), made under the OHSA, addresses workplace responsibilities with respect to radon daughters in underground mines in sections 289 to 293.

In addition, it should be noted that various sector regulations under the OHSA have requirements regarding the establishment of measures and procedures with respect to the hazards of physical agents present in the workplace and regarding the training of workers who may be exposed to physical agents in the workplace that may endanger the worker’s health or safety.

Additionally, Ontario Regulation 332/12 (Building Code), made under the Building Code Act, addresses radon 222 and radon daughter concentration levels within specific geographic locations in section 3.1.1.2.

Further reading and references

Resources on corrective measures, radon remediation and worker training are listed below.

Health Canada:

Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC):

Canadian – National Radon Proficiency Program (C-NRPP)

Ontario Laws:

World Health Organization (WHO):

ISBN: 978-1-4606-7599-1 (HTML)

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer cette page

Radon dans les lieux de travail

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Introduction

Les travailleurs peuvent être exposés à des concentrations élevées de gaz radon dans les environnements intérieurs. En raison de la dilution dans les environnements intérieurs, la quantité de gaz radon est très petite et ne constitue pas un risque pour la santé.

Le gaz radon, connu chimiquement sous le nom de radon 222, est une matière radioactive naturelle (MRN) produite durant un processus de désintégration de l’uranium radioactif, qui peut se trouver dans le sol, le substratum rocheux et les gisements minéraux.

Le gaz radon n’a pas de goût, d’odeur et de couleur (invisible). Il émet un rayonnement ionisant sous la forme de particules alpha. Les particules alpha constituent un danger lorsqu’elles se retrouvent dans le corps, par inhalation du gaz radon, inhalation de poussière contenant des particules alpha ou ingestion de poussière contenant des particules alpha.

Effets sur la santé

Le danger pour la santé associé à l’inhalation de gaz radon est un risque accru de développer un cancer du poumon.

Emplacement du danger

Des quantités élevées de radon peuvent s’accumuler à l’intérieur dans des lieux confinés ou mal ventilés, ainsi que dans des espaces souterrains confinés. Les taux de radon sont généralement élevés dans les sous-sols et les vides sanitaires puisque le radon est plus lourd que l’air. De plus, ces zones sont souvent situées près de la source de radon et sont généralement mal ventilées.

Les industries et les lieux de travail qui sont exposés à la production de radon et dont les travailleurs sont par conséquent exposés à ce gaz comprennent notamment : les mines souterraines, les tunnels et les chantiers souterrains, ainsi que les installations de production de pétrole, de traitement de l’eau, de fabrication d’engrais, d’écloserie et de recyclage de métal.

Classification des dangers

Les lieux de travail peuvent être classifiés en fonction de leur concentration moyenne annuelle de radon. Des mesures devraient être effectuées pour estimer les concentrations annuelles moyennes de gaz radon dans les lieux de travail exposés à ce gaz.

Classifications du programme pour le radon et les MRN
Concentration moyenne annuelle de radon [Bq/m3] [1] Classification du programme pour les MRN [2]
800 – 3 000 Gestion de la radioprotection
200 – 800 Gestion des MRN
Rayonnement de fond – moins de 200 Non limité

[1] Bq signifie Becquerel, l’unité dérivée du Système international de la radioactivité, définie comme la désintégration ou l’émission par seconde. Bq/m3 signifie par conséquent une transformation radioactive par seconde, par mètre cube d’air.

[2] Conformément aux Lignes directrices canadiennes pour la gestion des matières radioactives naturelles (MRN), publiées par Santé Canada.

Précautions

Les précautions qui devraient être prises pour chaque classification sont décrites ci-dessous.

Gestion de la radioprotection pour le radon

La classification MRN porte le nom de « gestion de la radioprotection » lorsque la concentration moyenne annuelle estimée de radon est supérieure à 800 Bq/m3 (ce qui se traduit par une dose efficace annuelle supérieure à 5 millisieverts [mSv/année]). Le sievert est l’unité d’équivalent de dose du Système international, défini comme la dose absorbée multipliée par un facteur de qualité (efficacité biologique du type de rayonnement).

Un programme de gestion de la radioprotection devrait être déployé. Cela devrait comprendre un programme de surveillance de la dose visant à faire le suivi de la dose efficace annuelle du travailleur, tant estimée que mesurée.

L’employeur devrait informer chaque travailleur exposé professionnellement des éléments qui suivent :

  • leur statut de travailleur sous rayonnements;
  • les risques associés à l’exposition au rayonnement;
  • les limites applicables;
  • ses niveaux de doses personnels mesurés.

Le programme de réduction de l’exposition devrait comprendre les éléments suivants :

  • des mesures pour réduire les niveaux de concentration de radon sous le seuil de 200 Bq/m3 au moyen de mesures d’ingénierie le cas échéant;
  • des contrôles administratifs;
  • du matériel de protection individuelle;
  • des évaluations périodiques des lieux de travail afin de mesurer les changements des niveaux de radon.

Un travailleur exposé professionnellement ne devrait pas être exposé à une concentration moyenne annuelle de gaz radon supérieure à 3 000 Bq/m3, ce qui représente une dose efficace annuelle de 20 mSv pour les travailleurs exposés professionnellement.

Gestion des MRN pour le radon

La classification MRN s’intitule « gestion des MRN » lorsque la concentration moyenne annuelle estimée du gaz radon dans une occupée est supérieure à 200 Bq/m3, mais inférieure à 800 Bq/m3. Cela se traduit à une dose efficace annuelle de 1 à 5 mSv.

Des mesures devraient être prises pour réduire cette exposition, dont les suivantes :

  • la mise en œuvre d’une gestion d’accès pour empêcher le public et les travailleurs exposés occasionnellement (dont les tâches normales ne comprennent pas l’exposition à une MRN) d’accéder aux zones présentant ces niveaux de radon;
  • des changements dans les pratiques de travail;
  • la réduction des concentrations de radon sous le seuil de 200 Bq/m3 le cas échéant.

Les concentrations de radon des zones de travail devraient être évaluées régulièrement afin de vérifier si les conditions ont changé.

Non limité

Selon les lignes directrices de Santé Canada pour le radon, la concentration de radon acceptable dans les bâtiments, notamment les maisons ou les bâtiments publics comme les écoles, les hôpitaux, les établissements de soins de longue durée, les établissements correctionnels, est de 200 Bq/m3 dans l’air.

Cette valeur est également la limite pratique dérivée pour le radon, en fonction de la limite annuelle d’incorporation de radon qu’un travailleur peut ingérer ou inhaler chaque année, ce qui entraînerait une dose engagée égale à une dose efficace annuelle de 1 mSv. Dans les endroits où on s’attend à ce que la concentration moyenne annuelle de radon soit supérieure à 200 Bq/m3, des mesures devraient être effectuées afin d’estimer la concentration moyenne annuelle de radon.

Afin de prévenir des niveaux d’exposition dangereux ou de réduire la concentration de radon, un employeur devrait demander de l’aide professionnelle de consultants du secteur privé spécialisés dans les analyses de radon et les mesures d’atténuation du radon. Santé Canada reconnaît le Programme national de compétence sur le radon au Canada (PNCR-C) qui certifie les spécialistes en analyse de radon.

Les occupants de bâtiments dont les concentrations de radon sont supérieures à 200 Bq/m3 devraient :

  • être avisés de la présence de radon;
  • recevoir des renseignements concernant les effets sur la santé de l’exposition au radon.

Les Lignes directrices canadiennes pour la gestion des matières radioactives naturelles (Lignes directrices pour les MRN) sont considérées comme la norme de l’industrie pour la protection en matière de MRN dans les lieux de travail.

La disposition sur les devoirs généraux de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST), la disposition 25 (2) h), stipule que l’employeur doit prendre toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection du travailleur. Cela comprend la protection des travailleurs contre les dangers associés à l’exposition au radon. Lorsqu’il applique la disposition sur les devoirs généraux de l’employeur, les Services de radioprotection du ministère du Travail peuvent tenir compte des Lignes directrices pour les MRN et de leurs recommandations.

Le Règlement 854 (mines et installations minières), adopté aux termes de la LSST, traite des responsabilités du lieu de travail concernant les produits de filiation du radon dans les mines souterraines aux articles 289 à 293.

De plus, il faut souligner que des règlements pour différents secteurs aux termes de la LSST comportent des exigences concernant l’établissement de mesures et de procédures relatives aux dangers des agents physiques présents dans le lieu de travail et relatives à la formation des travailleurs qui peuvent être exposés aux agents physiques sur le lieu de travail qui peuvent constituer un danger pour la santé ou la sécurité du travailleur.

Qui plus est, l’article 3.1.1.2 du règlement de l’Ontario 332/12 (code du bâtiment) (en anglais seulement), adopté aux termes de la Loi de 1992 sur le code du bâtiment, traite des concentrations de radon 222 et des produits de filiation du radon dans des emplacements géographiques particuliers.

Lectures et références supplémentaires

Des ressources sur les mesures correctives, les mesures d’atténuation du radon et la formation des travailleurs sont énumérées ci-dessous.

Santé Canada

Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN)

Programme national de compétence sur le radon au Canada (PNCR-C) (en anglais seulement)

Lois de l’Ontario

Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS)

ISBN : 978-1-4606-7600-4 (HTML)

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.