Print this page

High Visibility Safety Apparel for Mines and Mining Plants

  • Issued: September 5, 2014
  • Revised: May 2016
  • Content last reviewed: May 2016
  • See also: Mining

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Purpose

This guideline provides best practice recommendations for workplace parties to consider when fulfilling their responsibilities under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and Regulation 854 (Mines and Mining Plants) regarding apparel worn by workers to improve their visibility while working on surface and in underground mining environments.

Objectives

  • To provide information on the selection, use and care of high visibility safety apparel (HVSA) for workers in different mining environments
  • To reduce the number of incidents involving vehicles and pedestrian workers in mining environments
  • To minimize the risk of injuries to workers in different mining environments

Legal requirements

Underground requirements

Section 262, Regulation 854 (Mines and Mining Plants) under the OHSA covers the important requirements.

On the surface requirements

Section 263, Regulation 854 (Mines and Mining Plants) under the OHSA covers the important requirements.

General requirements

Sub-section 12(3) of Regulation 854 (Mines and Mining Plants) under the OHSA and clause 28(1)(b) of the OHSA cover other requirements.

History

Although the first high visibility safety apparel was developed in the 1930s, it was not utilised as a safety measure for workplaces until the British railway industry adopted its use in 1964. Beginning in 1979, Ontario construction workers who directed traffic or were endangered by vehicular traffic were required to wear a vest of ‘reflective fluorescent and blaze orange or red.’ Specific provisions on HVSA were first introduced in Regulation 854 in 2000.

Fatalities, injuries and ‘close calls’ have occurred in mining workplaces because objects or equipment have come into contact with workers. In these situations, the lack of visibility of workers in the workplace may have been a contributing factor. The use of HVSA can help prevent these kinds of workplace incidents from happening in the future.

Background information

The use of barricades, signs, increased lighting, procedures and training will help to minimize the risk of worker and vehicle interactions in mines. Engineering and administrative controls should always be considered first while conducting risk assessments for workers at any mine site. However, proper personal protective equipment (PPE) and clothing that improves the visibility of workers always remains an important consideration.

The hazards in mining activities depend on the type of work being done as well as the environment in which these activities take place. Hazards related to worker visibility may be very different in a mill or refinery than those in a gravel pit or an underground mine.

HVSA allows workers to be visible to equipment operators in conditions with reduced visibility. A pedestrian worker in an area with noisy machines in operation may not be able to hear oncoming equipment due to the noise. It is very important that workers are as visible as possible to equipment operators in the area to protect their health and safety.

Canadian Standards Association standards for high visibility safety apparel

The Canadian Standards Association (CSA) has developed two separate standards on HVSA. CSA Standard Z96-09 provides guidance on the design and manufacture of high visibility safety apparel. CSA Standard Z96.1 was developed as a guide for the selection, use and care of HVSA. The specifications established in the CSA standards have been recognized as industry best practice, and should be considered for workers who work on surface in daylight hours.

As of July 1, 2016, workers who are working underground or on surface between sunset and sunrise will need to wear clothing that meets new requirements set out in Regulation 854. While the regulatory requirements are generally consistent with the CSA standard, they are slightly more restrictive. Specifically, the regulation requires that the high visibility safety apparel must be made of fluorescent or brightly coloured background material. Workplaces must comply with the new requirements set out in Regulation 854, not the CSA standard; however, the CSA standard may still be a helpful resource.

Different classes of HVSA for use in mines (as per CSA Z96)

Class 2

Class 2 garments offer full coverage of the area between the waist and the neck with retro-reflective striping on fluorescent background material. As per the CSA standard, background materials of HVSA must be fluorescent and can be yellow-green, orange-red or red. Flame resistant (FR) clothing, however, is manufactured from material that cannot hold fluorescent dyes; these garments can be bright yellow-green or orange only with no fluorescent properties.

The striping must be 50 millimetres wide and is composed of retro-reflective or combined performance materials with a Level 2 photometric performance level. Coverage on the sides of the torso area must include at least 50 per cent of the length of the entire garment. Stripes near the bottom edge of any garment must be at least 50 millimetres from the edge.

Workers at surface mines and mining plants that work during daylight hours should, as a best practice, be issued class 2 HVSA and at a minimum include workers who:

  • Work in close proximity to vehicles and without physical separation
  • Work in variable weather and light conditions where visibility can be affected
  • Work in conditions where backgrounds can be complex and changing
  • Perform tasks that may divert attention from approaching vehicles

It would be a best practice for all workers in pits and quarries and on surface areas of underground mines to be provided, at a minimum, CSA approved class 2 high visibility safety apparel for use during daylight hours.

Figure 1: Class 2 - Vest[1]

Front, back and side views are shown of a safety vest made from high-visibiity material (flourescent/bright orange or flourescent/bright yellow) with retroreflective stripes/bands or combined performance retroreflective stripes/bands.

Class 3

Class 3 garments provide a greater degree of visibility to the wearer and are recommended for workers in conditions that are dark and/or have very low light. Class 3 includes all the requirements of class 2 HVSA with the addition of retro-reflective striping on each limb. Retro-reflective stripes on the arms and legs can provide visible clues about the motion and direction of travel of the wearer of the garment. The distinctive configuration of the stripes ensures that some sections of the striping will be visible from all angles around the body (360° visibility) at all times.

Enhanced visibility

As of July 1, 2016, Regulation 854 will also require that high visibility safety apparel be made of fluorescent or bright coloured background material. This will help to provide greater visibility of workers in reduced light conditions.

Figure 2: Class 3 - Coveralls[2]

Front and side views are shown of coveralls made from high-visibility material (flourescent/bright orange or flourescent/bright yellow) with reftroreflective stripes/bands or combined performance retroreflective stripes/bands.

[1][2]Note: Diagrams were reproduced with the permission of CSA Standards from CSA Z96-09 - High-visibility safety apparel which is copyrighted by CSA Standards, 5060 Spectrum Way, Suite 100, Mississauga, ON L4W 5N6. While use of this material has been authorized, CSA shall not be responsible for the manner in which the information is presented, nor for any interpretations thereof.

Who should wear high visibility safety apparel

Workers in mines and mining plants who should be issued high visibility safety apparel as a minimum include:

  • Surface workers who work in very low light or night-time conditions (between sunset and sunrise). These times can be found at various websites such as Environment Canada Weather, The Weather Network, using a Global Positioning System (GPS) unit, or from various news agencies that provide this type of information.
  • Any workers in underground environments
  • Emergency responders

Regulatory requirements as of July 1, 2016

As of July 1, 2016, every worker in an underground mine and, between sunrise and sunset, every worker on the surface, must wear high visibility safety apparel that meets the requirements of sections 262 and 263 of Regulation 854.

Fit

For optimal safety and performance, HVSA garments should be fitted specifically to each person who will wear them, with consideration given to additional clothing. For example, space must be available inside coveralls for any additional layers of clothing that will be added and removed as temperature conditions change. Another layer of clothing should not cover high visibility safety apparel, unless it is also HVSA of the same class or better. The fit should be relaxed enough to allow for freedom of movement for all normal work activities.

Care/maintenance

  • Dirty/worn retro-reflective materials provide lower visibility than clean and well-maintained ones.
  • Machine wash HVSA alone or with like colours in warm or cold water on a delicate cycle using a mild detergent. During washing, do not use bleach or fabric softener as they can degrade the FR (flame resistant) and retro-reflective properties of the materials. Clothing should not be ironed or dry cleaned.
  • Avoid washing HVSA with rough clothing (i.e. jeans). The glass beads on the retro-reflective tape can be worn off by rough contact. If possible, turn HVSA clothing inside out for laundering.
  • Hanging HVSA to air dry rather than using a dryer will extend the life of the garment. The heat of the dryer can degrade the retro-reflective properties of the material.
  • HVSA that is heavily worn, torn, soiled or otherwise contaminated should be replaced as it may no longer provide adequate levels of visibility.
  • The Canadian Standards Association has a related guideline: CSA-Z96.1, Guideline on Selection, Use and Care of High Visibility Safety Apparel.

Other considerations

  • Workers in exceptionally cold work environments may require insulated outerwear. As of July 1, 2016, the outerwear must also meet the requirements set out in Regulation 854 for high visibility safety apparel.
  • In the case of very wet environments, appropriate HVSA rain gear can be provided.

Retro-reflective material on headgear

Retro-reflective tape/material must also be applied to head gear worn in surface and underground mines.

As of July 1, 2016 retro-reflective material must be applied on the front and back of head gear as well as both sides to provide 360˚ reflectivity. Retro-reflective material should also be applied to ear muffs to ensure that the tape on the sides of the head gear cannot be obscured. Other stickers should be placed on head gear in such a way as to not obstruct the retro-reflective tape.

Terms

Note: The following terms are not defined in the Occupational Health and Safety Act or its regulations and are provided for reference purposes in this guideline only.

High Visibility Safety Apparel (HVSA) is clothing that has colouring and retro-reflective striping that enhances the visibility of workers to others.

Approved high visibility safety apparel is clothing that complies with the CSA Z96-09 High Visibility Safety Apparel Standard. CSA Z96-09 details specifications for clothing that is (a) capable of visually signalling the wearer’s presence to others and/or (b) providing a high level of visibility under any light conditions and in a beam of illumination from vehicle lights.

Classes are categories by which the Canadian Standards Association rates high visibility safety apparel in respect of body coverage provided. Class 3 provides for the greatest amount of body coverage (360°). Class 3 therefore provides the best visibility in poor light conditions and at the greatest distances.

Photometric performance level is the level of effectiveness of retro-reflective material in returning a reflection of light to its source and appearing brighter. All class 2 and 3 rated HVSA must be provided high visibility retro-reflective striping with Level 2 photometric performance. Flame resistant (FR) rated clothing must have FR rated striping materials.

Background material is bright coloured or fluorescent material intended to be highly conspicuous, but not intended to provide retroreflective performance.

Bright coloured material is textile material that emits most of the optical radiation absorbed in a specific colour range. Using bright coloured material provides another option intended to create conspicuity against most work environments.

Fluorescent material takes a portion of invisible ultraviolet light from the sun and sends it back to a viewer as enhanced visible light. This material only works where there is a source of natural sunlight, so it would not be appropriate on its own in underground conditions. Fluorescent material appears brighter than similar coloured non-fluorescent material under low natural light (e.g., cloud cover, fog, dusk, dawn, etc.).

Retro-reflective material will return light in the direction of a light's originating source. This property of this material lets a driver or other viewer with a light source see the light reflected from the retro-reflective material on a person's clothing any time the person is standing within the light's beam. Retro-reflective materials are most effective under dark and low-light level conditions, making them suitable for underground use when there are directional light sources.

Combined performance retro-reflective material is a material that is both retro-reflective and fluorescent.

Flame resistant (FR) clothing is made of material that is formulated to self-extinguish when a source of flame or ignition is removed from contact with it.

More information

Toll-free number

Call 1-877-202-0008 any time to report critical injuries, fatalities or work refusals. Call 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday to Friday for general questions about workplace health and safety. Always call 911 in an emergency.

ISBN 978-1-4606-8070-4 (HTML)

Imprimer cette page

Vêtements de sécurité à haute visibilité pour les mines et les installations minières

  • Diffusion : 5 septembre 2014
  • Révision : mai 2016
  • Dernière mise à jour : mai 2016
  • Voir aussi : Mines

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santè et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Objet

La présente ligne directrice fournit des recommandations de pratiques exemplaires que les parties du lieu de travail doivent prendre en compte au moment d'assumer leurs responsabilités en vertu de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) et du Règlement 854 (Mines et installations minières) à l'égard des vêtements que portent les travailleurs pour améliorer leur visibilité lorsqu'ils travaillent dans les mines à ciel ouvert et les mines souterraines.

Objectifs

  • Donner des renseignements sur la sélection, l'utilisation et l'entretien des vêtements de sécurité à haute visibilité (VSHV) destinés aux travailleurs de différents milieux miniers.
  • Réduire le nombre d'incidents qui mettent en cause des véhicules et des travailleurs qui circulent à pied dans des milieux miniers.
  • Minimiser les risques de blessures auxquels sont exposés les travailleurs dans différents milieux miniers.

Exigences juridiques

Exigences dans les mines souterraines

L'article 262 du Règlement 854 (Mines et installations minières) pris en application de la LSST stipule les exigences importantes.

Exigences dans les mines à ciel ouvert

L'article 263 du Règlement 854 (Mines et installations minières) pris en application de la LSST stipule les exigences importantes.

Exigences générales

Le paragraphe 12 (3) du Règlement 854 (Mines et installations minières) pris en application de la LSST et l'alinéa 28 (1) b) de la LSST stipulent d'autres exigences.

Historique

Bien que les vêtements de sécurité à haute visibilité aient été conçus dans les années 1930, ils n'ont pas été utilisés comme mesure de sécurité dans les lieux de travail avant que l'industrie ferroviaire britannique les adopte en 1964. Depuis 1979, les travailleurs de la construction ontariens qui dirigeaient la circulation automobile ou qui étaient en danger en raison de celle-ci devaient porter une veste « rétroréfléchissante et fluorescente orangé vif ou rouge vif ». Des dispositions visant spécifiquement les VSHV ont été mises en œuvre pour la première fois en 2000 dans le Règlement 854.

Des décès, des blessures et des accidents évités de justesse ont eu lieu dans les mines parce que des objets ou du matériel sont entrés en contact avec les travailleurs. Dans ces cas, la faible visibilité des travailleurs dans le lieu de travail pouvait être un facteur ayant contribué à l'incident. L'utilisation des VSHV peut aider à éviter que de tels incidents se reproduisent à l'avenir.

Information générale

L'utilisation de barricades, de panneaux, d'éclairage supplémentaire, ainsi que l'établissement de procédures et de séances de formation contribueront à réduire les risques d'interaction entre un véhicule et un travailleur dans les mines. Il faut toujours tenir compte avant tout des mesures techniques et administratives dans le cadre d'une évaluation des risques pour les travailleurs de tout site minier. Porter des vêtements et du matériel de protection individuelle (MPI) adéquats qui améliorent la visibilité des travailleurs constitue cependant toujours un facteur à prendre en considération.

Les risques que présente l'exploitation minière dépendent du type de travail effectué ainsi que du milieu dans lequel les activités ont lieu. Les risques liés à la visibilité du travailleur peuvent être très différents dans un établissement de traitement ou de raffinage de ceux d'une gravière ou d'une mine souterraine.

Les VSHV permettent aux travailleurs d'être vus par les conducteurs des véhicules dans des conditions de visibilité réduite. Un travailleur qui circule à pied dans une zone où fonctionnent des machines bruyantes risque de ne pas entendre le véhicule qui vient vers lui en raison du bruit. Il est primordial, pour la protection de sa santé et de sa sécurité, que le travailleur soit le plus visible possible pour les conducteurs de véhicules à proximité.

Normes de l'Association canadienne de normalisation pour les vêtements de sécurité à haute visibilité

L'Association canadienne de normalisation (CSA) a publié deux normes distinctes pour les VSHV. La norme CSA Z96-09 fournit des directives sur la conception et la fabrication des vêtements de sécurité à haute visibilité. La norme CSA Z96.1 a été publiée pour servir de guide en matière de sélection, d'utilisation et d'entretien des VSHV. Les spécifications établies dans les normes de la CSA ont été reconnues comme étant des pratiques exemplaires de l'industrie et elles devraient être envisagées pour les travailleurs des mines à ciel ouvert pendant les heures de clarté.

À compter du 1er juillet 2016, le personnel qui travaille dans une mine souterraine ou à ciel ouvert entre le coucher et le lever du soleil devra porter des vêtements qui répondent aux nouvelles exigences énoncées dans le Règlement 854. Bien que les exigences réglementaires soient généralement conformes à la norme de la CSA, elles sont un peu plus restrictives. Le règlement exige plus particulièrement que le vêtement de sécurité à haute visibilité soit fait d'un matériau de base fluorescent ou de couleur éclatante. Les lieux de travail doivent se conformer aux nouvelles exigences énoncées dans le Règlement 854 et non à la norme de la CSA; cependant, cette dernière peut toujours constituer une ressource utile.

Différentes classes de VSHV utilisées dans les mines (conformément à la norme CSA Z96)

Classe 2

Les vêtements de sécurité de classe 2 offrent une couverture complète de la taille jusqu'au cou et sont dotés de bandes rétroréfléchissantes appliquées sur un matériau de base fluorescent. Conformément à la norme de la CSA, les matériaux de base des VSHV doivent être fluorescents et peuvent être de couleur jaune-vert, orangé-rouge ou rouge. Les vêtements ignifuges sont toutefois faits d'un matériau qui ne supporte pas les teintures fluorescentes et ils peuvent être de couleur jaune-vert vif ou orangé vif sans propriété fluorescente.

Les bandes doivent présenter une largeur de 50 mm et être faites d'un matériau rétroréfléchissant ou d'un matériau à rendement combiné offrant un rendement photométrique de niveau 2. La couverture des côtés du torse doit comprendre au moins 50 pour cent de toute la longueur du vêtement. Les bandes placées près du bord inférieur de tout vêtement ne doivent pas se trouver à moins de 50 mm du bord.

Les travailleurs œuvrant dans les mines à ciel ouvert et les installations minières pendant les heures de clarté devraient, comme pratique exemplaire, porter au moins des VSHV de classe 2, incluant ceux qui :

  • travaillent à proximité de véhicules sans séparation physique;
  • travaillent dans des conditions météorologiques et de luminosité qui varient et où la visibilité peut être réduite;
  • travaillent dans des conditions où les milieux peuvent être complexes et changeants;
  • accomplissent des tâches qui peuvent détourner leur attention des véhicules qui s'approchent.

Une pratique exemplaire consisterait à fournir au minimum des vêtements de sécurité à haute visibilité de classe 2 homologués par la CSA à tous les travailleurs des puits et des carrières ainsi que des zones de surface des mines souterraines, qu'ils pourront porter pendant les heures de clarté.

Figure 1 : Classe 2 – Veste[1]

Vues avant, arrière et latérale d’une veste de sécurité fabriquée d’un matériau à haute visibilité (fluorescent, orangé vif ou fluorescent/jaune vif) avec rayures/bandes rétroréfléchissantes ou rayures/bandes rétroréfléchissantes à rendement combiné.

Classe 3

Les vêtements de sécurité de classe 3 offrent une meilleure visibilité au travailleur et sont recommandés pour les conditions de très faible luminosité et (ou) les milieux sombres. Les vêtements de classe 3 satisfont aux mêmes exigences que ceux de classe 2 et sont également dotés de bandes rétroréfléchissantes autour des bras et des jambes. Les bandes rétroréfléchissantes des bras et des jambes peuvent fournir des indices visibles sur le mouvement et le sens dans lequel se déplace la personne qui porte le vêtement. La configuration distincte des bandes assure que certaines parties de celles-ci sont visibles sous tous les angles du corps (visibilité sur 360°) en tout temps.

Meilleure visibilité

À compter du 1er juillet 2016, le Règlement 854 exigera également que les vêtements de sécurité à haute visibilité soient faits d'un matériau de base fluorescent ou de couleur éclatante. Cela permettra de rendre les travailleurs beaucoup plus visibles dans des conditions de faible luminosité.

Figure 2 : Classe 3 – Combinaison[2]

Vues avant et arrière de combinaisons fabriquées d’un matériau à haute visibilité (fluorescent/orangé vif ou fluorescent/jaune vif) avec des rayures/bandes rétroréfléchissantes ou rayures/bandes rétroréfléchissantes à rendement combiné.

[1][2]Remarque : Les illustrations ont été reproduites avec l'autorisation de la CSA à partir de la norme CSA Z96-09 – Vêtements de sécurité à haute visibilité dont le Groupe CSA est titulaire des droits d'auteur. Siège social : 5060, Spectrum Way, bureau 100, Mississauga (Ontario) L4W 5N6. Bien que leur utilisation soit autorisée, la CSA se dégage de toute responsabilité relativement à la façon dont l'information est présentée ou interprétée.

Qui devrait porter des vêtements de sécurité à haute visibilité

Les travailleurs œuvrant dans les mines et les installations minières qui devraient au moins porter des vêtements de sécurité à haute visibilité incluent :

  • les travailleurs dans les mines à ciel ouvert œuvrant dans des conditions de très faible luminosité ou pendant la nuit, entre le coucher et le lever du soleil. On peut trouver les heures de coucher et de lever du soleil sur différents sites Web, notamment ceux des conditions météorologiques d'Environnement Canada et de MétéoMédia, à l'aide d'un système de positionnement global (GPS) ou auprès de diverses agences de presse qui fournissent ce genre d'information;
  • tout travailleur dans les mines souterraines;
  • les intervenants d'urgence.

Exigences réglementaires en vigueur le 1er juillet 2016

À compter du 1er juillet 2016, chaque travailleur d'une mine souterraine et, du coucher au lever du soleil, chaque travailleur d'une mine à ciel ouvert devront porter des vêtements de sécurité à haute visibilité qui respectent les exigences des articles 262 et 263 du Règlement 854.

Ajustement

Pour une sécurité et un rendement optimaux, les VSHV devraient être ajustés selon la personne qui les porte, en tenant compte des vêtements supplémentaires à porter. Par exemple, il doit il y avoir assez d'espace à l'intérieur des combinaisons pour porter d'autres vêtements qui seront ajoutés et enlevés selon les variations de température. Une autre couche de vêtements ne devrait pas couvrir les vêtements de sécurité à haute visibilité, sauf s'il s'agit également de VSHV de la même classe ou d'une classe supérieure. L'ajustement devrait être assez lâche pour assurer la liberté de mouvement nécessaire à l'exercice d'activités professionnelles normales.

Entretien

  • Les matériaux rétroréfléchissants usés ou sales offrent une moins bonne visibilité que lorsqu'ils sont propres et bien entretenus.
  • Laver les VSHV à la machine seuls ou avec des vêtements de couleurs semblables, à l'eau tiède ou froide, au cycle délicat avec un détergent doux. Ne pas utiliser de javellisant ou d'assouplisseur pendant le lavage, car ces produits peuvent altérer les propriétés ignifuges et rétroréfléchissantes des matériaux. Ne pas repasser les vêtements ni les nettoyer à sec.
  • Éviter de laver les VSHV avec des vêtements rugueux (p. ex., des jeans). Les billes de verre que comportent les rubans rétroréfléchissants peuvent s'user au contact de matériaux rugueux. Dans la mesure du possible, mettre les VSHV à l'envers pour les laver.
  • Le fait d'étendre les VSHV pour les laisser sécher à l'air plutôt que d'utiliser une sécheuse en prolonge la durée utile. La chaleur de la sécheuse peut altérer les propriétés rétroréfléchissantes du matériau.
  • Remplacer les VSHV usés, déchirés, souillés ou autrement contaminés, car ils risquent de ne plus offrir un niveau de visibilité acceptable.
  • L’Association canadienne de normalisation a élaboré des lignes directrices connexes : CSA Z96.1 « Lignes directrices relatives à la sélection, à l'utilisation et à l'entretien des vêtements de sécurité à haute visibilité ».

Autres considérations

  • Les travailleurs qui œuvrent dans des milieux exceptionnellement froids peuvent nécessiter des vêtements d'extérieur isolés. À compter du 1er juillet 2016, les vêtements d'extérieur devront respecter eux aussi les exigences énoncées dans le Règlement 854 relativement aux vêtements de sécurité à haute visibilité.
  • Dans le cas de milieux très mouillés, des VSHV imperméables appropriés peuvent être fournis.

Matériau rétroréfléchissant sur les couvre-chefs

Les casques de protection qui sont portés dans les mines à ciel ouvert et souterraines doivent également comporter du ruban/matériau rétroréfléchissant.

À compter du 1er juillet 2016, il faut appliquer un matériau rétroréfléchissant à l'avant et à l'arrière du casque, ainsi que des deux côtés pour assurer une réflectivité sur 360˚. Le matériau rétroréfléchissant doit également être appliqué sur les protecteurs antibruit pour s'assurer de ne pas cacher le ruban fixé sur les côtés du casque de protection. Appliquer les autres autocollants de façon à ne pas cacher le ruban rétroréfléchissant.

Terminologie

Remarque : La Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail ou ses règlements ne fournissent pas de définitions des termes ci-dessous. Ces définitions sont fournies à des fins de référence dans la présente ligne directrice seulement.

Vêtement de sécurité à haute visibilité (VSHV) : Vêtement doté de bandes de couleur rétroréfléchissantes qui accroissent la visibilité des travailleurs.

Vêtement de sécurité à haute visibilité homologué : Vêtement conforme aux exigences de la norme CSA Z96-09 sur les vêtements de sécurité à haute visibilité. La norme CSA Z96-09 explique en détail les spécifications relatives aux vêtements qui peuvent a) signaler visuellement la présence de la personne qui le porte aux autres et (ou) b) fournir un degré élevé de visibilité dans toute condition de luminosité et dans un faisceau lumineux de phares de véhicule.

Classes : Catégories dans lesquelles l'Association canadienne de normalisation classe les vêtements de sécurité à haute visibilité en fonction de la couverture du corps qu'ils offrent. La classe 3 offre la plus grande couverture corporelle (360°). Par conséquent, la classe 3 assure la meilleure visibilité dans des conditions de faible luminosité et sur les plus grandes distances.

Niveau de rendement photométrique : Niveau d'efficacité du matériau rétroréfléchissant lorsqu'il réfléchit la lumière vers sa source et qu'il apparaît plus lumineux. Tous les VSHV des classes 2 et 3 doivent être dotés de bandes rétroréfléchissantes offrant un rendement photométrique de niveau 2. Les vêtements ignifuges doivent être dotés de bandes de matériau ignifuge.

Matériau de base : Matériau de couleur éclatante ou fluorescent conçu pour être hautement visible, mais pas pour offrir des caractéristiques rétroréfléchissantes.

Matériau de couleur éclatante : Matériau textile qui émet la majorité du rayonnement optique absorbé dans une plage de couleurs précise. L'utilisation d'un matériau de couleur éclatante offre une autre possibilité d'assurer la visibilité des travailleurs dans la plupart des milieux de travail.

Matériau fluorescent : Matériau qui capte une partie du rayonnement ultraviolet invisible de la lumière du soleil et la retourne à l'observateur sous forme de lumière visible accrue. Ce type de matériau ne réagit toutefois qu'en présence d'une source de lumière naturelle, son utilisation ne conviendrait donc pas aux milieux souterrains. Un matériau fluorescent semble plus lumineux qu'un matériau de même couleur qui n'est pas fluorescent dans des conditions de faible luminosité naturelle (p. ex., ciel couvert, brouillard, crépuscule, aube, etc.).

Matériau rétroréfléchissant : Matériau qui retourne directement la lumière à la source lumineuse. Cette propriété permet au conducteur ou à un autre observateur ayant une source lumineuse de voir la lumière réfléchie par le matériau rétroréfléchissant fixé sur les vêtements d'une personne tant qu'elle se tient dans le faisceau lumineux. Les matériaux rétroréfléchissants sont plus efficaces dans des milieux sombres et des conditions de faible luminosité, ce qui les rend appropriés pour l'utilisation souterraine lorsqu'il y a des sources d'éclairage directionnel.

Matériau rétroréfléchissant à rendement combiné : Matériau qui est à la fois rétroréfléchissant et fluorescent.

Vêtement ignifuge : Vêtement fait d'un matériau composé de façon à s'éteindre lui-même lorsqu'il n'est plus en contact avec une source de flamme ou de chaleur.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Numéro sans frais

Composez le 1 877 202-0008 en tout temps pour signaler des blessures graves, des décès ou des refus de travailler. Pour poser des questions d'ordre général sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, veuillez appeler entre 8 h 30 et 17 h 00, du lundi au vendredi. Composez toujours le 911 en cas d'urgence.

ISBN 978-1-4606-8071-1 (HTML)

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.