Print This Page

Testing Undiluted Exhaust in Underground Mines

  • Issued: September 24, 2014
  • Content last reviewed: September 2014

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Purpose

To assist employers, workers and other workplace parties with understanding the requirements in Regulation 854 (Mines and Mining Plants) under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA), for the purpose of testing undiluted exhaust discharge from diesel powered equipment (diesel engine tailpipe testing).

Objectives

  • To provide information on performing undiluted emissions tests on diesel equipment in underground mines.
  • To control and minimize the exposure of workers to diesel emissions.
  • To conduct carbon monoxide (CO) tests under consistent conditions.

Legal requirements

Sections 181.1, 182, 183, 183.1 and 183.2 of Regulation 854 (Mines and Mining Plants) under the OHSA cover the important requirements.

History

A survey conducted by the Ministry of Labour in 2002 determined that consistent testing for tailpipe CO was not being carried out. In many cases, the results of tailpipe tests could not be used to assess the condition of engines. Changes to sections 182, 183.1 and 183.2 of Regulation 854 (Mines and Mining Plants) came into force on January 1, 2012. Among other things, the amended provisions require testing measures and procedures to be developed and implemented in consultation with the Joint Health and Safety Committee (JHSC) or health and safety representative (H&S Rep) and that each piece of diesel-powered equipment be tested under consistent conditions with the intent to help industry to achieve reproducible tailpipe testing for CO emissions.

Background

Underground workers can potentially be exposed to diesel particulate, carbon monoxide, aldehydes and oxides of nitrogen as well as other emissions at levels higher than those encountered in other occupational environments. Diesel engines can be a significant source of contaminants in the underground environment. Properly maintained engines emit less diesel emissions. Engines can be adjusted to give both low carbon monoxide and diesel particulate matter, but this can potentially increase the amount of oxides of nitrogen emitted. This is especially true of mechanically controlled engines. Engine manufacturers have designed modern engines for optimum performance and changes to fuel mixtures and engine timing may no longer be possible.

Understanding CO levels is important. The requirements that relate to undiluted exhaust emissions in Regulation 854 for Mines and Mining Plants focus on testing to reduce emissions and ensure the CO limit set out in subsection 182(5) is not exceeded.

Improved engine maintenance can reduce emissions by up to 65 per cent for gases (CO) and up to 55 per cent for diesel particulate matter.

Studies on engine maintenance and emissions have shown that:

  • CO can be used to determine if an engine may be in need of maintenance.
  • Testing CO may indicate repairs are needed for systems including engine intake, exhaust, fuel and cooling systems.
  • Untreated exhaust should be measured before any after-treatment devices are used, in order to form a base line for engine CO emissions that can be referred to for comparison of the CO levels being emitted. Maintenance programs developed to include testing CO before after-treatment devices and at the tailpipe were useful when determining engine health.
  • Levels of CO can be checked against historical readings – the data collected may indicate engine maintenance is needed.
  • Maintenance programs developed to evaluate engines and related systems against previous results have been successful in reducing emissions.

Acceptable practices for sampling CO

Application

The information in this guideline is applicable to all diesel engines in underground mines, whether stationary or mobile.

Any testing described in this guideline should be conducted by a person with experience and/or knowledge of the testing equipment and procedures.

Preparation and sampling equipment

Employers must develop and implement safe measures and procedures for testing undiluted exhaust from diesel-powered equipment in underground mines. These measures and procedures must be developed in consultation with the JHSC or H&S Rep and must take into consideration any recommendations made by the JHSC or H&S Rep. In addition, each piece of equipment must be tested under consistent conditions and testing should be carried out, as far as is practical, under a full load. (See subsection 183.2(1.1) of Reg. 854.)

If a test is carried out on equipment that is not under full load, the employer should be able to provide clear evidence demonstrating why it was not practical to do so.

Sampling equipment

  • The sampling equipment should be in good working order and designed for undiluted diesel emission testing, following manufacturer’s recommendations.
  • For consistent results, the same make/model of equipment should be used for sampling.
  • During the first 30 seconds of engine loading, CO levels are likely to spike before reaching a stable level. Samples should be taken after that.

Electronic testing equipment

The initial spike in CO levels will be evident with a real-time gas monitor. The gas monitor should be calibrated by manufacturer’s recommendations. The monitor should also perform an initial self-check procedure before use.

Stain tube testing equipment

If a stain tube system is used, sampling should begin 30 seconds after starting the load test, to avoid sampling the initial CO spike. The equipment should be tested using the manufacturer’s recommendations. Tubes should not be used past the expiry date.

Stopping the test

If for any reason there is a concern of risk to the operator or the person sampling, the test should be stopped. If the operator notices that temperature levels (engine or torque converter) are getting too high, the test should be interrupted to allow the engine systems to return to normal operating temperatures.

Test preparation

  • The area where equipment is being tested should be assessed for safety during the load test.
  • The equipment being tested should be evaluated to prevent unintended movement.
  • Vehicle testing must be performed in a properly ventilated area. (See subsection 183.1(3) of Reg. 854.)
  • Proper personal protection equipment, clothing and devices (i.e. gloves for heat protection) must be worn. (See subsection 12(3) of Reg. 854.)
  • Workers conducting the sampling should have safe and comfortable access to the exhaust sampling point.

Tailpipe testing

To ensure tailpipe tests are done under consistent conditions, tailpipe tests must be done with normal engine operating temperature and stabilized CO levels and must be conducted while the engine is under full load as far as is practical. Here are some recommended steps:

  • The engine should be at operating temperature during testing.
  • All mobile equipment brakes should be tested and functioning properly.
  • The equipment being tested should be assessed for safety during the load test.
  • The results of all testing must be recorded (See subsection 183.2(3) of Reg. 854.)

Selection of test procedures based on equipment

  • An auto transmission with hydraulic systems should be tested using a torque converter stall or hydraulic stall (e.g. load haul dump and haulage trucks). Here are the recommended steps:
    • Place the drive unit in forward at the highest gear.
    • Place the hydraulic system under a consistent stall condition (the testing measures and procedures should specify what hydraulic function is to be used to perform the test)
    • Operate the engine at full throttle.
  • A standard transmission with a hydraulic system (e.g. many articulated units such as scissor lifts and forklifts, etc.) should be tested by:
    • Operating the engine at high idle (maximum revolutions per minute or RPM)
    • Placing the hydraulic system under a consistent stall condition (the testing measures and procedures should specify what hydraulic function is to be used to perform the test)

      Note: Ensure the hydraulic system is capable of safely withstanding a stall condition.
  • An automatic/power shift or standard transmission with no hydraulic system (e.g. pickup trucks, mine mules, gators and tractors, etc.) should be tested by:
    • Operating the engine at the maximum RPM recommended by the manufacturer.
    • Having a method to verify the RPM.
  • Stationary units (e.g. welders, compressors and pumps, etc.) should be tested by operating the unit under full load as far as is practical (full load would be determined by the procedure).

    Note: the full load may have to be estimated or the use of a tachometer is recommended for reproducible results.

  • Other test protocols may need to be established for special vehicles or circumstances (example hydro-static drive).

Terms

Untreated versus undiluted

Untreated exhaust refers to the emissions that are emitted prior to any after treatment devices. Undiluted exhaust is measured at the end of the tail pipe and refers to the emissions that are released into the air of the mine.

Resources

The Canadian Mining Industry Research Organization (CAMIRO) oversees multi-sponsored research efforts, including the Diesel Emission Evaluation Program (DEEP) material. This material is available on the CAMIRO website (see Maintenance Impact on Diesel Emissions).

More information

Toll-free number

Call 1-877-202-0008 any time to report critical injuries, fatalities or work refusals. Call 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday to Friday for general questions about workplace health and safety. Always call 911 in an emergency.

ISBN 978-1-4606-4617-5 (HTML)

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer cette page

Analyse des émissions non diluées dans les mines souterraines

  • Diffusion : le 24 septembre 2014
  • Dernière mise à jour : septembre 2014

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Objet

Aider les employeurs, les travailleurs et autres parties du lieu de travail à comprendre les exigences du Règlement 854 (Mines et installations minières) pris en application de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST), en vue d'analyser les gaz d’échappement non dilués de l’équipement à moteur diesel (analyse des gaz d’échappement d'un moteur diesel).

Objectifs

  • Fournir de l'information sur l'exécution d'analyses de gaz d’échappement non dilués de l’équipement à moteur diesel dans les mines souterraines.
  • Contrôler et minimiser l'exposition des travailleurs aux émissions des moteurs diesel.
  • Effectuer des analyses de monoxyde de carbone (CO) dans des conditions uniformes.

Exigences juridiques

Les articles 181.1, 182, 183, 183.1 et 183.2 du Règlement 854 (Mines et installations minières) pris en application de la LSST stipulent les exigences importantes.

Historique

Une étude dirigée par le ministère du Travail en 2002 a déterminé qu'on n'effectuait pas d'analyses uniformes des émissions d'échappement de CO. Dans bien des cas, les résultats de ces analyses ne pouvaient servir à évaluer l'état des moteurs. Des changements aux articles 182, 183.1 et 183.2 du Règlement 854 (Mines et installations minières) sont entrés en vigueur le 1er janvier 2012. Parmi ces changements, les dispositions modifiées exigeaient d'élaborer et de mettre en œuvre des mesures et des méthodes d'analyse en consultation avec le comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité (CMSS) ou un délégué à la santé et à la sécurité pour analyser tout l'équipement à moteur diesel dans des conditions uniformes afin d'aider l'industrie à obtenir des analyses reproductibles des gaz d’échappement pour les émissions de monoxyde de carbone.

Contexte

Les travailleurs de fond sont susceptibles d'être exposés aux particules de carburant diesel, au monoxyde de carbone, aux aldéhydes, aux oxydes d'azote et à d'autres émissions à des concentrations plus élevées que celles présentes dans d'autres milieux de travail. Les moteurs diesel peuvent constituer une importante source de contaminants en milieu souterrain. Lorsqu'ils sont bien entretenus, ces moteurs émettent moins d'émissions. On peut régler ces moteurs de manière qu'ils émettent de faibles quantités de monoxyde de carbone et de particules de carburant diesel, mais au risque d'accroître les émissions d'oxydes d'azote, surtout pour les moteurs à réglage mécanique. Les fabricants de moteurs ont conçu des moteurs modernes au rendement optimal où il n'est plus possible de changer les mélanges de carburant ni le réglage à l'allumage.

Il importe de comprendre les concentrations de CO. Les exigences relatives aux émissions de gaz d’échappement non dilués du Règlement 854 (Mines et installations minières), insistent sur les analyses pour réduire les émissions et assurer que la limite de CO indiquée dans le paragraphe 182 (5) est respectée.

Un meilleur entretien des moteurs peut réduire respectivement jusqu'à 65 pour cent des gaz (CO) et jusqu'à 55 pour cent les particules de carburant diesel.

Voici les conclusions d'études sur l'entretien des moteurs et les émissions.

  • L'analyse du CO peut déterminer si un moteur a besoin d'entretien.
  • L'analyse du CO peut indiquer la nécessité de réparer des systèmes, notamment l'entrée d'air moteur, le système d'échappement ainsi que les systèmes d'alimentation et de refroidissement.
  • Analyser les gaz d'échappement non traités avant d'utiliser des dispositifs post-traitement afin d'établir une référence pour les émissions de CO du moteur aux fins de comparaison avec les concentrations de CO émises. Des programmes d'entretien mis au point et visant à analyser la concentration de CO avant les dispositifs post-traitement et au niveau de l'échappement ont permis de déterminer la santé du moteur.
  • Comparer les concentrations de CO avec des mesures antérieures. Les données recueillies peuvent indiquer la nécessité d'un entretien du moteur.
  • Des programmes d'entretien mis au point pour évaluer les moteurs et les systèmes connexes en les comparant à des résultats antérieurs ont été utiles pour réduire les émissions.

Pratiques acceptables pour l'échantillonnage de CO

Champ d'application

L'information contenue dans la présente ligne directrice est applicable à tous les moteurs diesel, stationnaires ou mobiles, utilisés dans les mines souterraines.

Les analyses décrites dans la présente ligne directrice seront réalisées par une personne qui a déjà utilisé le matériel d'essai et qui connaît les méthodes d'essai et (ou) qui possède les connaissances nécessaires en la matière.

Préparation et matériel d'échantillonnage

Les employeurs doivent élaborer et mettre en œuvre des mesures et des méthodes sécuritaires pour analyser les gaz d’échappement non dilués de l’équipement à moteur diesel dans les mines souterraines. Ces mesures et méthodes seront créées en consultation avec le CMSS ou un délégué à la santé et à la sécurité et doivent tenir compte des recommandations du CMSS ou du délégué à la santé et à la sécurité. De plus, on analysera tout l'équipement dans des conditions uniformes et, si possible, en pleine charge (paragraphe 183.2 [1.1] du Règlement 854).

Si l'on effectue une analyse sur de l'équipement qui n'est pas en pleine charge, l'employeur doit démontrer hors de tout doute l'impossibilité pratique de le faire ainsi.

Matériel d'échantillonnage

  • Le matériel d'échantillonnage doit être en bon état et conçu pour l'analyse des émissions non diluées de moteur diesel. De plus, il doit être utilisé conformément aux recommandations du fabricant.
  • Pour des résultats uniformes, utiliser du matériel de modèle et de marque identiques pour l'échantillonnage.
  • Pendant les 30 premières secondes de charge du moteur, les concentrations de CO devraient atteindre un seuil maximal avant d'atteindre un niveau stable. Prélever les échantillons après cette étape.

Matériel d'analyse électronique

Le seuil maximal initial des concentrations de CO sera évident avec un appareil de surveillance de gaz en temps réel. Cet appareil sera étalonné selon les recommandations du fabricant et soumis à une procédure d'autovérification initiale avant l'utilisation.

Tube d'analyse par coloration

Si l'on utilise un système de tube par coloration, on commence l'échantillonnage après l'essai de charge pour éviter d'échantillonner le seuil maximal de CO initial. Analyser l'équipement selon les recommandations du fabricant. Ne pas utiliser les tubes après la date de péremption.

Arrêt de l'analyse

Si pour une raison quelconque, on craint pour la sécurité de l'opérateur ou de la personne qui procède à l'échantillonnage, mettre fin à l'analyse. Si l'opérateur remarque des températures trop élevées (moteur ou convertisseur de couple), interrompre l'analyse pour permettre aux systèmes du moteur de revenir aux températures de fonctionnement normales.

Préparation de l'analyse

  • Avant d'effectuer un essai de charge, évaluer la sécurité des lieux où l'équipement est analysé.
  • Évaluer l'équipement à analyser afin de prévenir un déplacement imprévu.
  • Effectuer l'analyse du véhicule dans un endroit correctement ventilé (paragraphe 183.1 [3] du Règlement 854).
  • Porter du matériel de protection individuelle, des vêtements et des dispositifs adéquats (p. ex., gants protecteurs contre la chaleur) (paragraphe 12 [3] du Règlement 854).
  • Les travailleurs qui effectuent l'échantillonnage doivent avoir un accès sécuritaire au point d'échantillonnage du système d'échappement.

Analyse au niveau de l’échappement

Afin d'assurer l'analyse au niveau de l’échappement dans des conditions uniformes, réaliser les analyses à la température de fonctionnement normale du moteur, à des concentrations de CO stables, alors que le moteur est en pleine charge dans la mesure du possible. Voici quelques étapes recommandées.

  • Pendant l'analyse, le moteur doit tourner à sa température de fonctionnement.
  • Vérifier les freins de l'équipement mobile et s'assurer qu'ils fonctionnent normalement.
  • Évaluer le caractère sécuritaire de l'équipement à analyser pendant l'essai de charge.
  • Consigner les résultats des analyses (paragraphe 183.2 [3] du Règlement 854).

Sélection des méthodes d'analyse en fonction de l'équipement

  • Une transmission automatique avec système hydraulique sera mise à l'essai à un régime lent de convertisseur de couple ou de système hydraulique (p. ex., chargeur-transporteur et rouleur). Voici les étapes recommandées.
    • Placer le mécanisme d'entraînement en marche avant au rapport le plus élevé.
    • Placer le système hydraulique en régime lent uniforme. (Les mesures et méthodes d'analyse doivent indiquer quelle fonction hydraulique utiliser pour effectuer l'analyse.)
    • Faire tourner le moteur à plein régime.
  • Une boîte de vitesse manuelle avec système hydraulique (p. ex., nombreuses machines articulées comme les tables d'élévation à ciseaux, les chariots élévateurs, etc.) doit être testée en :
    • faisant tourner le moteur à un ralenti élevé (régime maximal);
    • plaçant le système hydraulique en régime lent uniforme. (Les mesures et méthodes d'analyse doivent indiquer quelle fonction hydraulique utiliser pour effectuer l'analyse.)

      Remarque : S'assurer que le système hydraulique peut soutenir un régime lent en toute sécurité.
  • Une boîte de vitesses automatique, à changement de vitesses sous charge ou manuelle sans système hydraulique (p. ex., pick-up, véhicules utilitaires utilisés dans les mines, véhicules utilitaires Gator, tracteurs, etc.) doit être testée en :
    • faisant tourner le moteur au régime maximal recommandé par le fabricant;
    • ayant un moyen de vérifier le régime.
  • Les machines stationnaires (p. ex., machines à souder, compresseurs et pompes, etc.) doivent être testées en faisant tourner le moteur à pleine charge dans la mesure du possible (la pleine charge serait déterminée selon la méthode).

    Remarque : Même si on peut estimer la pleine charge, on recommande d'utiliser un tachymètre pour des résultats reproductibles.

  • Il peut être nécessaire d'établir d'autres protocoles d'analyse pour des véhicules spécialisés ou des circonstances particulières (mécanisme d'entraînement hydrostatique par exemple).

Définitions

Émissions non traitées ou non diluées

Des gaz d'échappement non traités sont des gaz émis avant l'utilisation d'appareils post-traitement. Des gaz d'échappement non dilués sont des gaz mesurés à la sortie du système d'échappement et qui sont expulsés dans l'air ambiant de la mine.

Ressources

L'Organisation de recherche de l'industrie minière canadienne (CAMIRO) supervise des travaux de recherche à commanditaires multiples, notamment ceux du Programme d'évaluation des émissions de moteurs diesel (PEEMD). Ce matériel est accessible sur le site Web de la CAMIRO (volet Maintenance Impact on Diesel Emissions) (effet de l'entretien sur les émissions des moteurs diesel).

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Numéro sans frais

Composez le 1 877 202-0008 en tout temps pour signaler des blessures graves, des décès ou des refus de travailler. Pour poser des questions d'ordre général sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, veuillez appeler entre 8 h 30 et 17 h 00, du lundi au vendredi. Composez toujours le 911 en cas d'urgence.

ISBN 978-1-4606-4619-9 (HTML)

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.