Print this page

Workplace Harassment: Investigation by the Employer

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

All workers are entitled to a safe and healthy workplace. This fact sheet is designed to help employers understand some of their duties with respect to investigating complaints and incidents of workplace harassment under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA). It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. It does not cover other legal obligations that may exist such as those under Canada’s Criminal Code or Ontario’s Human Rights Code. If you need help in determining what constitutes compliance, you should obtain legal advice.

Appropriate investigation

Under section 32.0.7 of the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA), an employer must ensure that an investigation appropriate in the circumstances is conducted into incidents or complaints of workplace harassment.

A workplace harassment investigation appropriate in the circumstances should:

  • Be undertaken promptly. It would be reasonable to complete the investigation as soon as possible within 90 days or less unless there are compelling reasons why a longer investigation is needed (e.g. there are multiple witnesses, a key witness is unavailable due to illness, etc.).
  • Be objective. The person conducting the investigation should not be involved in the incident and should not be under the direct control of the alleged harasser.
  • Maintain confidentiality. Information about the incident or complaint, including information about the people involved, should not be disclosed unless the disclosure is necessary to protect workers or is needed to investigate the incident or complaint, take corrective action and/or is otherwise required by law.
  • Be thorough. Reasonable efforts should be made to interview the worker who allegedly was harassed, the alleged harasser(s) and any witnesses, as appropriate in the circumstances. When interviewing, ask specific questions about the incident or complaint. For example, what did the person see, hear or experience. Take detailed interview notes, and make sure that relevant documents from the worker, alleged harasser, witnesses and the employer are collected and reviewed.

An investigation template to help employers can be found in the Code of Practice to Address Workplace Harassment. Employers may also want to refer to Part III (Employer Duties) of the Code of Practice for more information.

Person conducting the investigation

When there is an incident or complaint of workplace harassment, the employer must ensure that an investigation appropriate in the circumstances is conducted. The person conducting the investigation can be internal to the workplace (e.g., supervisor, senior manager, human resources staff), work at another employer location (e.g. a corporate office) or may be someone external to the organization (such as a licensed private investigator, human resource professional, lawyer, or someone who holds some other professional designation).

The person conducting the investigation should know about the workplace harassment and reprisal provisions under the OHSA and should have received information and instruction on the employer’s workplace harassment policy and program.

There is no requirement under the OHSA for the person who conducts the workplace harassment investigation to have a licence. However, a person whose work primarily consists of conducting investigations into the character or actions of a person may be required to have a licence under the Private Security and Investigative Services Act, 2005. For further information visit the Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services website.

Investigation scenarios

Below are some investigation scenarios to help employers understand their duty to ensure an investigation appropriate in the circumstances is conducted.

Scenario 1

A new employee at a large construction company reports that several of the other workers at work refuse to use the worker’s name, instead calling the worker derogatory names. In addition, they isolate the worker from work activities. The worker approaches the site supervisor to report workplace harassment.

The site supervisor is not involved in the incident. The supervisor promptly interviews the worker, the alleged harassers and the other witnesses and takes detailed notes of what they say. A written summary of the results of the investigation and any corrective action is given to the worker and the alleged harassers.

Scenario 2

The manager of a pharmacy location begins to make comments about how attractive the new assistant looks in particular clothing. The assistant feels uncomfortable with these comments and tells a co-worker. The co-worker follows the employer’s program and notifies head office to report the incident. The employer now has a duty to investigate.

The alleged harasser is the manager who is the direct supervisor of the assistant. The manager cannot conduct a fair and impartial investigation as the manager supervises the assistant. A manager from head office who has knowledge of the employer’s workplace harassment program conducts an investigation appropriate in the circumstances. A written summary of the results of the investigation and any corrective action is given to the worker and the alleged harasser.

Scenario 3

A worker at a retail store contacts the company’s human resources department, stating that the worker feels harassed by the supervisor. The worker says that the area supervisor has sent the worker inappropriate e-mails and repeatedly invited the worker out for dinner even after the worker continually declined.

A person from the human resources department conducts an investigation appropriate in the circumstances. The supervisor cannot conduct the investigation because the supervisor is the alleged harasser. The person from the human resources department completes the investigation. A written summary of the results of the investigation and any corrective action is given as soon as possible to the worker and the alleged harasser (supervisor).

Other resources

Toll-free number

Ontario provides a toll free province-wide telephone number to report unsafe work practices and workplace health and safety incidents. Call the Ministry of Labour Health & Safety Contact Centre at 1-877-202-0008.

  • Call any time to report critical injuries, fatalities or work refusals.
  • Call 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday – Friday, for general inquiries about workplace health and safety.
  • In an emergency, always call 911 immediately.

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer cette page

Harcèlement au travail : Enquête par l’employeur

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Chacun devrait pouvoir compter sur la sécurité et la santé de son lieu de travail. Pour cette raison, la présente feuille de renseignements vise à informer les employeurs sur les devoirs qu’ils ont en vertu de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (« Loi ») en matière d’enquêtes sur les plaintes et les incidents de harcèlement au travail. Elle n’a aucunement pour objet de fournir des conseils juridiques et elle ne remplace pas la Loi ni ses règlements, et elle ne couvre pas les autres obligations légales qui peuvent relever du Code criminel du Canada ou du Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario. Si vous avez besoin d’aide pour déterminer ce qu’il faut faire pour être en conformité, il est recommandé d’obtenir des conseils juridiques.

Enquête appropriée

En vertu de l’article 32.0.7 de la Loi, l’employeur doit veiller à ce qu’une enquête appropriée dans les circonstances soit menée sur les incidents ou les plaintes de harcèlement au travail.

Par enquête appropriée dans les circonstances, on veut dire une enquête qui remplit les conditions suivantes.

  • Elle est réalisée rapidement : Il est raisonnable de réaliser l’enquête dès que possible, soit dans un délai de 90 jours ou moins, sauf s’il existe des motifs impérieux qui justifient une enquête de plus longue durée (p. ex. s’il y a plusieurs témoins ou si le principal témoin n’est pas libre, à cause d’une maladie ou d’une autre raison valable).
  • Elle est objective : La personne qui fait l’enquête n’est pas mêlée à l’incident et elle ne relève pas directement du prétendu harceleur.
  • Elle protège la confidentialité : Les renseignements relatifs à l’incident ou à la plainte, y compris aux personnes concernées, ne doivent être divulgués que si c’est nécessaire pour protéger les travailleurs, pour enquêter sur l’incident ou sur la plainte, pour prendre des mesures correctives ou pour remplir des obligations légales.
  • Elle est exhaustive : Des efforts raisonnables sont déployés pour interroger le travailleur qui se dit victime de harcèlement, le prétendu harceleur et tout témoin, selon les circonstances. Des questions bien précises sur l’incident ou la plainte doivent être posées. Par exemple, il faut se renseigner sur ce que la personne a vu, entendu ou ressenti et prendre des notes détaillées et recueillir les documents utiles auprès du travailleur, du prétendu harceleur, des témoins et de l’employeur et les examiner.

Un modèle indiquant comment procéder à une enquête se trouve dans le Code de pratique sur le harcèlement au travail. Les employeurs peuvent aussi consulter la partie III (Devoirs des employés) du Code de pratique.

Personne qui conduit l’enquête

En cas d’incident ou de plainte de harcèlement au travail, l’employeur doit veiller à ce qu’une enquête convenable selon les circonstances soit menée. La personne procédant à l’enquête peut faire partie du milieu de travail (p. ex. superviseur, haut gestionnaire, membre du personnel des ressources humaines) ou être un employé dans d’autres installations du même employeur (p. ex. siège social) ou il peut s’agit de quelqu’un de l’extérieur de l’organisation (comme un détective privé titulaire d’un permis, un professionnel des ressources humaines, un avocat ou un autre professionnel).

Cette personne doit être au courant des dispositions de la Loi sur le harcèlement au travail et les représailles et elle doit avoir reçu des renseignements et des directives sur la politique et le programme de l’employeur en matière de harcèlement au travail.

La Loi n’exige pas que la personne qui procède à l’enquête sur le harcèlement au travail détienne un quelconque permis. Cependant, si une personne a pour mandat principal de faire enquête sur la moralité ou les actions d’une personne, elle pourrait être tenue de détenir un permis en vertu de la Loi de 2005 sur les services privés de sécurité et d’enquête. Pour avoir plus de détails, consultez le site Web du ministère de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels.

Scénarios d’enquête

Voici quelques scénarios d’enquête destinés à aider les employeurs à comprendre en quoi consiste leur obligation de procéder à une enquête appropriée dans les circonstances.

1er scénario

Un nouvel employé dans une grande entreprise de construction importante signale que plusieurs travailleurs dans son milieu de travail refusent de l’appeler par son nom et le désignent par d’autres noms méprisants, en plus de l’isoler pour éviter qu’il participe à des activités au travail. Le travailleur s’adresse à son superviseur pour signaler qu’il est victime de harcèlement au travail.

Celui-ci n’est pas mêlé à l’incident. Il interroge sans tarder le travailleur, les prétendus harceleurs et les autres témoins et prend des notes détaillées sur ce qui est dit. Un sommaire écrit des résultats de l’enquête et des mesures correctives est remis au travailleur et aux prétendus harceleurs.

2e scénario

Le gestionnaire d’une pharmacie fait des commentaires à la nouvelle assistante pour lui faire savoir qu’il la trouve attirante dans certains vêtements, ce qui la met mal à l’aise. Elle en parle donc à une collègue. La collègue en question avise le siège social de l’entreprise de l’incident, conformément au programme de l’employeur. À ce stade, l’employeur a le devoir de faire enquête.

Le prétendu harceleur est un gestionnaire, soit le supérieur immédiat de l’assistante. Pour cette raison, il n’est pas possible de confier à celui-ci la responsabilité de faire une enquête équitable et impartiale. C’est donc un gestionnaire du siège social qui connait le programme en matière de harcèlement au travail de l’employeur qui fait une enquête appropriée dans les circonstances. Un sommaire écrit des résultats de l’enquête et des mesures correctives est ensuite remis à la travailleuse et au prétendu harceleur.

3e scénario

Un travailleur d’un commerce de détail communique avec le service des ressources humaines de l’entreprise et déclare qu’il se sent harcelé par sa superviseure. Il dit que celle-ci lui a fait parvenir des courriels déplacés et l’a invité à souper à maintes reprises malgré ses refus répétés.

Un employé des ressources humaines fait une enquête appropriée dans les circonstances La superviseure ne peut pas mener l’enquête car elle est la harceleuse présumée.L’employé des ressources humaines mène à bien l’enquête. Un sommaire écrit des résultats de l’enquête et de toute mesure corrective prise est remis dès que possible au travailleur et à la prétendue harceleuse (la superviseure).

Autre ressources

Numéro sans frais

Il existe en Ontario un numéro sans frais pour toute la province pour signaler les pratiques dangereuses au travail et les incidents relatifs à la santé et à la sécurité au travail. Appelez l’InfoCentre de santé et de sécurité au travail du ministère du Travail, au 1 877 202-0008.

  • Vous pouvez téléphoner n'importe quand pour signaler les blessures graves, les décès et les refus de travailler.
  • Pour obtenir des renseignements généraux sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, vous pouvez téléphoner du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h 30 à 17 h.
  • En cas d’urgence, composez le 911 sans tarder.

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.