Table of Contents | Print  Print This Page

Guideline No. 43: Industrial And Construction Regulations | Safety Guidelines for the Film and Television Industry in Ontario

  • ISBN: 978-1-4249-9952-1
  • Issued: June 2009
  • Content last reviewed: August 2010

Industrial And Construction Regulations

This guideline is intended to assist workers, owners, constructors, employers and producers in film and television to understand when the Industrial and/or Construction regulations may apply to their workplace(s). Refer to legislation and Regulations for legal requirements.

Construction Regulation

The Regulation for Construction Projects, Ontario Regulation 213/91, applies to all construction projects, as defined by the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) , which may include the installation of sets and stages for film and television productions.

Under the OHSA , an inspector may issue orders for compliance with the Regulation if violations are found with respect to the installation/erection and removal of stages, set, sound systems and lighting systems for film and television productions.

Examples where Construction Regulation applies:

  • The installation of a stage or a film set, which may involve the erection of a scaffold system to support the stage or film set;
  • The assembling of sets at a filming location; and
  • The installation of the structure to support the lighting for the film set.

Note: Most film sets from initial set-up to tear down are completed within a few days.

The notice requirements in section 6 of the Regulation for Construction Projects apply if the total cost of the labour and material for the project is expected to exceed $50,000.

For the above examples, section 6(4) of the Regulation for Construction Projects would apply if the project will not take more than 14 days. In these cases the constructor, may provide the relevant information to an inspector at the Ministry office located nearest to the project:

  1. by faxing the completed form to the inspector, or
  2. by providing the information that would be required to complete the form to the inspector by telephone.

For projects where the set-up of the stages and sets exceeds 14 days, then subsection 6(3) of the Regulation for Construction Projects applies. In this case the constructor should complete an approved notification form and file it at the Ministry office located nearest to the project.

Industrial Regulation

The Regulation for Industrial Establishments, Regulation 851, applies to all industrial establishments as defined by the Occupational Health and Safety Act. This includes any establishment where the moving of pre-constructed sets or stages, and the manufacturing of those sets prior to being transported to the venue, is being performed.

Under the OHSA , an inspector may issue orders for compliance with the Regulation if violations are found while filming is in progress in an industrial establishment. In addition, inspectors may also issue orders for compliance if violations are found while moving pre-constructed sets or stages related to an on-going production.

Example where Industrial Regulations applies:

  • The manufacturing of sets in a shop prior to being transported to the filming location.

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Ligne directrice nº 43 : Règlement industriel et règlement de la construction | Lignes directrices sur la sécurité dans l'industrie du cinéma et de la télévision de l'Ontario

  • ISSN : 978-1-4249-9955-2
  • Diffusion : juin 2009
  • Dernière mise à jour : août 2010

Règlement industriel et règlement de la construction

La présente ligne directrice vise à aider les travailleurs, les propriétaires, les constructeurs, les employeurs et les réalisateurs au cinéma et à la télévision à comprendre à quel moment le règlement industriel et le règlement de la construction peuvent s'appliquer à leur lieu de travail. Reportez-vous aux lois et aux règlements pour connaître les exigences juridiques.

Règlement de la construction

Le règlement relatif aux projets de construction (Règlement de l'Ontario 213/91) s'applique à tous les projets de construction définis par la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST), ce qui peut comprendre l'installation des plateaux et des scènes pour des productions cinématographiques et télévisuelles.

Aux termes de la LSST, un inspecteur peut émettre des ordonnances de conformité au règlement en cas de violation à l'égard de l'installation, du montage et du démontage des scènes, du plateau, des systèmes audio et des systèmes d'éclairage pour les productions cinématographiques et télévisuelles.

Exemples où le règlement de la construction s'applique :

  • installation d'une scène ou d'un plateau de tournage, ce qui peut inclure le montage d'un système d'échafaudage pour soutenir la scène ou le plateau;
  • assemblage des plateaux sur un lieu de tournage;
  • installation de la structure de soutien de l'éclairage pour le plateau de tournage.
  • Remarque : La plupart des plateaux de tournage sont démontés en quelques jours.

Les exigences relatives aux avis figurant à l'article 6 du règlement relatif aux projets de construction s'appliquent s'il est prévu que le coût total de la main-d'œuvre et du matériel pour le projet dépasse les 50 000 $.

Pour les exemples ci-dessus, le paragraphe 6 (4) du règlement s'applique si le projet ne doit pas nécessiter plus de 14 jours. Dans de tels cas, le constructeur peut communiquer les renseignements pertinents à un inspecteur du bureau du ministère situé le plus près du projet :

  1. en télécopiant le formulaire dûment rempli à l'inspecteur;
  2. en communiquant par téléphone à l'inspecteur les renseignements qui seraient requis pour remplir le formulaire.

En ce qui concerne les projets où le montage des scènes et des plateaux dépasse 14 jours, c'est le paragraphe 6 (3) du règlement qui s'applique. Dans ce cas, le constructeur doit remplir un formulaire d'avis approuvé et le déposer au bureau du ministère situé le plus près du projet.

Règlement industriel

Le règlement relatif aux établissements industriels (Règlement 851) s'applique à tous les établissements industriels définis par la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST). Cela comprend tout établissement où l'on procède au déplacement de plateaux ou de scènes préfabriqués et à la construction de ces plateaux avant leur transport sur les lieux d'un tournage.

En vertu de la LSST, un inspecteur peut émettre des ordonnances de conformité au Règlement en cas de violation survenant pendant le tournage dans un établissement industriel. De plus, les inspecteurs peuvent également émettre des ordonnances de conformité en cas de violation pendant le déplacement de plateaux ou de scènes préfabriqués liés à une production en cours.

Exemple où le règlement industriel s'applique :

  • fabrication des plateaux dans un atelier avant leur transport au lieu de tournage.

précédent | suivant