Table of Contents | Print This Page

Guideline No. 40: Animal Handling | Safety Guidelines for the Film and Television Industry in Ontario

  • ISBN: 978-1-4249-9952-1
  • Issued: November 1990
  • Revised: June 2009
  • Content last reviewed: August 2010

Animal Handling

The safety of working animals and the persons working with such animals should be a primary concern. This guideline is intended as safety recommendations for the cast and crew on a production when working with or around animals. Specific regulations regarding animal safety and care can be found in other sources. The American Humane Association (AHA) guidelines are not in force in Canada, but are generally accepted and observed by the Ontario Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (SPCA) , in the absence of equivalent domestic guidelines.

  1. Only designated Performers, Professional Trainers, Handlers and/or Wranglers should be allowed to work with animals on productions. Anyone not directly involved in the action involving the animals should not distract the animals. It is recommended that enough Wranglers be used to ensure that safe control of animals is maintained (i.e. 1 Wrangler/3 action horses). For each large undomesticated animal, such as a large cat or carnivore (mountain cat or larger) there should be two (2) handlers present.
  2. Notice advising that animals are working should be given on the call sheet prior to shooting. A “closed set” notice should be posted on all stages or locations, where animals are working and every effort should be made to maintain a closed set on locations where animals are working.
  3. An easily accessible area should be available for loading and unloading animals. Horses should always be given a clear path to their holding area. The Assistant Directors should clear the set of all animals first, at lunch break or wrap, at which point people will then be cleared.
  4. Once on set, at the animal handler’s discretion, all non essential personnel with the exception of any Ontario SPCA representative(s), should be removed from the set during animal stunts or animal action, or whenever wild or exotic animals are performing.
  5. Cast and crew will not be allowed to pet, fondle or play with animals off camera, if the handler or Ontario SPCA representative believes it is not in the best interest of the animal, or believes it is unsafe.
  6. As necessary for the concentration and safety of the animals, cast and crew should limit distracting motion, noise or smells, such as food, perfume or alcohol. In some cases, Craft services may need to be moved away from the animal action. Animal Handlers should provide the Producer and the Ontario SPCA representative with written pertinent instructions for each species and/or individual animal, as appropriate. These instructions should be attached to the call sheet.
  7. An opportunity should be given to the trainer and Stunt Coordinator to address the cast and crew (including the parents or guardians of any children on the set) about safety precautions while animals are on the set. Safety precautions such as, but not limited to, maintaining a safe distance from wild or exotic animals, no personal pets, no feeding, no running and provisions for escape routes may be included. In the opinion of some trainers, the presence of menstruating women may cause reaction from animals such as large cats. The Trainer/Handler should be consulted in that regard.
  8. The Trainer or person supplying the animal(s) is responsible for obtaining all necessary inoculations, permits, applicable licenses and medical safeguards.
  9. The Trainer and/or Wrangler shall ensure that all animals required to work in a film/set location are well prepared for such situations. The Trainer/Wrangler should train and acclimatize the animals to filming conditions and be satisfied that the animals will perform in a manner conducive to the safety of the cast, crew and general public.
  10. Where animals and Performers are working together in a scene which is deemed a stunt or dangerous situation, ample time should be given to allow the Handler, Stunt Coordinator, and the animals to become familiar with the routine and each other.
  11. When an animal on set poses a potential hazard (horses, livestock, etc. ), there should be a qualified first aid provider on set. Depending on the types of animals being used and the filming location, consideration should be given to providing onsite emergency medical transportation, with qualified medical personnel, up to and including life support, as necessary.
  12. Equipment operated in conjunction with working animals should be in a safe operating condition as determined by the Trainer/Wrangler in conjunction with the property master. Basic animal safety equipment such as fire extinguishers, fire hoses and nets should be readily available.
  13. All firearms, ammunition or explosives safety guidelines set out elsewhere in this document should be observed. Live ammunition should not be allowed on set. Only blank ammunition should be used. The level of blank ammunition loads and explosives should be determined in consultation with the Trainer or Wrangler, or both where necessary, and the firearms expert. All Trainers/Wranglers should be given notice prior to shots being fired or the detonation of explosions around performing animals
  14. The Canadian Federation of Humane Societies’ (CFHS) position statement on the use of animals in entertainment opposes the administration of any drug for non-therapeutic purposes in order to alter the performance or behaviours of animals. Tranquillization or sedation of performing animals should be accomplished only where circumstances warrant, upon the advice of the trainer or qualified veterinarian.
    1. Some animals, such as reptiles should never be sedated. If appropriate, advice should be sought from a qualified trainer or veterinarian.
    2. Tranquillizers should not be used for the purpose of “calming” performing animals. A tranquilized animal is unpredictable.
    3. As a safety backup, consideration should be given to the availability of tranquilizing equipment. Potentially dangerous or complicated animal action should warrant the presence of a qualified veterinarian.
  15. On any set, stage or location, best efforts shall be made to secure scenery and props where animals will perform. Objects such as ladders or pedestals that easily tip over can startle animals.
  16. When using horses on set:
    1. Horses being used on a production should be properly shod for the working surface (e.g. borium, rubber shoes, etc. )
    2. All hitch rails should be fastened in the ground so that the tugging of a frightened horse cannot pull it loose (i.e. sleeve installation). On a stage, hitch rails should be bolted or fastened in a rigid manner.
    3. Under no circumstances should horse falls be accomplished by tripping or pitfalls.
    4. No one should ride horses “off camera” except for those designated by the Trainer/Wranglers.
    5. Under no circumstances should spurs be worn by any Actor or Extra without the prior approvals of the Stunt Coordinator and or the Trainer/Wrangler.
  17. Helicopters should remain at least fifty (50) feet away from any animal. Please also refer to Guideline #27 Helicopters.
  18. In productions involving large numbers of animals (e.g. historic re-enactments), a responsible “chain of command” should be established to coordinate the work during the production. The designated “commander” (appointed by the Producer) of each unit should be directly responsible for the conduct of the people and the care of the horse/livestock under his or her care.
  19. Animal actors brought to a location can be affected by indigenous pests; this could range from distraction to life threatening situations or the transmittal of diseases between pests and animals. Notification of the potential existence of indigenous pests in the area being filmed should be provided to the Trainer/Wrangler/Supplier of animal actors.

For more information on animal handling or specific guidelines on animal safety in film and television production, please consult an organization such as the Ontario Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals(SPCA) or the American Humane Association (AHA). Please also refer to Guideline #41 Indigenous Pests, and Guideline #42 Exotic Animals, for additional recommendations.

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Ligne directrice nº 40 : Traitement des animaux | Lignes directrices sur la sécurité dans l'industrie du cinéma et de la télévision de l'Ontario

  • ISSN : 978-1-4249-9955-2
  • Diffusion : novembre 1990
  • Révision : juin 2009
  • Dernière mise à jour : août 2010

Traitement des animaux

La sécurité des personnes présentes et des animaux utilisés durant le tournage est primordiale. La présente ligne directrice vise à fournir des recommandations en vue d'assurer la sécurité des acteurs et de l'équipe de tournage lors d'une production qui met en cause des animaux. D'autres sources contiennent les règlements précis relatifs à la sécurité des animaux et aux soins qui doivent leur être prodigués. Bien que les lignes directrices de l'American Humane Association (AHA) (en anglais seulement) ne soient pas en vigueur au Canada, elles sont acceptées et appliquées de façon générale par la Société de protection des animaux de l’Ontario, en l'absence de lignes directrices nationales équivalentes.

  1. Seuls les acteurs, dresseurs professionnels et palefreniers désignés sont autorisés à travailler avec des animaux dans ce type de production. Les personnes qui ne participent pas directement au tournage avec les animaux ne doivent PAS les distraire. Il est recommandé d'engager un nombre de palefreniers suffisant pour maîtriser les animaux (p. ex., un palefrenier pour trois chevaux). Il faut prévoir deux dresseurs pour maîtriser les grands animaux non domestiqués, tels que les grands fauves ou autres carnivores de la taille du puma ou plus gros.
  2. La fiche de tournage doit mentionner que la scène à tourner comporte des animaux. Un avis de « plateau fermé » doit être affiché sur tous les plateaux où travaillent des animaux, et on doit s'efforcer de maintenir le plateau fermé tant que les animaux s'y trouvent.
  3. Prévoir une zone facile d'accès pour l'embarquement et le débarquement des animaux. L'accès aux aires d'attente des chevaux doit être complètement dégagé. Les assistants réalisateurs doivent faire sortir tous les animaux en premier, à la pause-repas ou à la fin du tournage, suivis des êtres humains.
  4. Une fois sur le plateau, l’animalier doit demander à tout le personnel non essentiel, à l'exception du (des) représentant(s) de la Société de protection des animaux de l’Ontario, de quitter le plateau lors de cascades ou de scènes comprenant des animaux, ou encore chaque fois que des animaux sauvages ou exotiques sont utilisés.
  5. Les acteurs et l'équipe de tournage ne seront pas autorisés à caresser les animaux ni à jouer avec eux hors champ si l’animalier ou le représentant de la Société de protection des animaux de l’Ontario estime que cela pose un risque et n'est pas dans l'intérêt de l'animal.
  6. Au besoin, pour assurer la concentration et la sécurité des animaux, les acteurs et l'équipe de tournage doivent éviter de faire des mouvements, du bruit ou de véhiculer des odeurs (p. ex., nourriture, parfum, alcool) afin de ne pas les distraire. Dans certains cas, il peut être nécessaire d'écarter les coursiers de production des scènes qui impliquent des animaux. Les palefreniers doivent communiquer au producteur et au représentant de la Société de protection des animaux de l’Ontario des directives écrites pertinentes pour chaque espèce et (ou) animal, selon les besoins. Ces instructions doivent être annexées à la feuille de tournage.
  7. Le dresseur et le coordonnateur des cascades doivent avoir l'occasion d'informer les acteurs et le personnel, y compris les parents ou tuteurs des enfants présents sur le plateau, des précautions à prendre en présence d'animaux sur le plateau. Il convient notamment de se tenir à bonne distance des animaux sauvages et exotiques, de ne pas les nourrir, d'exclure les animaux de compagnie, de ne pas courir et de prévoir des sorties d'urgence. Selon certains dresseurs, les femmes peuvent, durant leur période de menstruation, causer des réactions chez certains animaux tels les grands fauves. Mieux vaut consulter le dresseur ou l’animalier à ce sujet.
  8. Il incombe au dresseur ou à la personne qui fournit l'animal ou les animaux d'obtenir tous les vaccins, permis, licences et mesures de protection médicale nécessaires.
  9. Le dresseur ou l’animalier s'assure que tous les animaux devant se trouver sur le plateau ou prendre part à une séquence y sont bien préparés. Le dresseur ou l’animalier doit, dans la mesure du possible, dresser les animaux et les acclimater à l'ambiance du plateau de tournage et avoir la certitude qu'ils se conduiront de façon à ne pas compromettre la sécurité des acteurs, de l'équipe de tournage et du public.
  10. Si des animaux et des acteurs travaillent ensemble dans une scène jugée dangereuse, il faut prévoir suffisamment de temps pour que le dresseur, le coordonnateur des cascades et les animaux puissent se familiariser les uns avec les autres, ainsi qu'avec la scène à tourner.
  11. Lorsque des animaux qui se trouvent sur le plateau présentent certains risques (chevaux, bétail, etc.), un secouriste qualifié doit être présent sur les lieux. Selon les types d'animaux utilisés et le lieu de tournage, il faut envisager de fournir un transport médical d'urgence sur le site et de prévoir la présence de personnel médical qualifié, voire la possibilité de maintenir les fonctions vitales au besoin.
  12. Le matériel utilisé avec des animaux de tournage doit être en bon état, tel que déterminé conjointement par le dresseur ou l’animalier et le chef accessoiriste. Tout le matériel de sécurité courant (extincteurs, tuyaux d'incendie et filets) doit être facilement accessible sur place.
  13. Il faut tenir compte de toute autre ligne directrice portant sur les armes à feu, des munitions ou des explosifs énoncée ailleurs dans ce document. Les munitions réelles sont interdites sur le plateau de tournage. Seules des munitions à blanc doivent être utilisées. Pour déterminer les quantités d'explosifs et les charges de munitions à blanc à utiliser, il faut consulter le dresseur ou l’animalier et le spécialiste des armes à feu. Tous les dresseurs ou palefreniers doivent être avisés avant que des coups de feu ne soient tirés ou que des explosions ne soient déclenchées à proximité des animaux de tournage.
  14. L'énoncé de position de la Fédération des sociétés canadiennes d'assistance aux animaux (en anglais seulement) en ce qui a trait à l'utilisation d'animaux dans le domaine du divertissement s'oppose à ce que toute drogue leur soit administrée à des fins autres que thérapeutiques en vue de modifier leur rendement ou leur comportement. On n'administre des sédatifs ou des tranquillisants aux animaux de tournage que si les circonstances l'exigent, conformément aux conseils du dresseur et d'un vétérinaire compétent.
    1. Certains animaux, tels les reptiles, ne tolèrent pas les sédatifs. Au besoin, demander conseil à un dresseur ou à un vétérinaire qualifié.
    2. Il ne faut jamais utiliser de tranquillisants pour calmer un animal de tournage, car celui-ci devient alors imprévisible.
    3. Par mesure de sécurité, il vaut mieux se munir de matériel tranquillisant. En cas de séquence éventuellement dangereuse ou complexe tournée avec des animaux, un vétérinaire compétent doit être présent sur les lieux.
  15. Quel que soit le plateau, la scène ou le lieu de tournage, on doit veiller à fixer solidement les décors et les accessoires lorsque l'on utilise des animaux. Des objets tels les échelles et les colonnes peuvent tomber facilement et effrayer les animaux.
  16. Lorsque des chevaux sont utilisés sur le plateau :
    1. Ceux-ci doivent être ferrés en fonction de la surface de travail (p. ex., fers en caoutchouc, etc.).
    2. Les barres servant à attacher les chevaux doivent être solidement ancrées au sol de sorte que la traction d'un cheval effrayé ne puisse pas les déloger (p. ex., fixation par manchons). Sur scène, les barres d'attache doivent être vissées ou fixées solidement.
    3. Il ne faut jamais faire tomber un cheval au moyen d'un obstacle ou d'une fosse.
    4. Personne ne doit monter à cheval « hors champ » sans l'autorisation des dresseurs ou des palefreniers.
    5. Les acteurs et figurants ne doivent pas porter d'éperons sans l'autorisation préalable du coordonnateur des cascades ou du dresseur ou palefrenier.
  17. Les hélicoptères ne doivent pas s'approcher à moins de cinquante (50) pieds des animaux. Veuillez consulter également la ligne directrice nº 27 intitulée « Hélicoptères ».
  18. Dans des productions mettant en cause de nombreux animaux (p. ex., reconstitutions historiques), une « ligne hiérarchique » responsable doit être mise en place pour coordonner le travail pendant la production. Le « directeur » désigné (nommé par le producteur) de chaque unité est directement responsable de la conduite des gens et des soins prodigués aux chevaux ou au bétail dont il a la charge.
  19. Des ravageurs indigènes peuvent affecter les animaux acteurs amenés sur un lieu de tournage; ils peuvent en effet les distraire, leur transmettre des maladies ou mettre leur vie en danger. La présence potentielle de ravageurs indigènes sur les lieux du tournage doit être signalée au dresseur ou au palefrenier, ou au fournisseur d'animaux acteurs.
  20. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le traitement des animaux ou sur les lignes directrices spécifiques relatives à la sécurité des animaux utilisés dans des productions cinématographiques et télévisuelles, veuillez consulter des organismes tels la Société de protection des animaux de l’Ontario ou l'American Humane Association (AHA). Veuillez également consulter la ligne directrice nº 41, intitulée « Ravageurs indigènes » et la ligne directrice nº 42, intitulée « Animaux exotiques ».

précédent | suivant