Table of Contents | Print  Print This Page

Guideline No. 30: Underwater Stunts and Underwater Operations | Safety Guidelines for the Film and Television Industry in Ontario

  • ISBN: 978-1-4249-9952-1
  • Issued: March 1997
  • Revised: March 1, 2014
  • Content last reviewed: July 2015

Underwater Stunts And Underwater Operations

Divers employed within Ontario are required to comply with the requirements of Ontario Regulation 629/94, Diving Operations (the Regulation) and Ontario's Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) where applicable.

The Regulation applies to diving operations and functions in support of diving operations.

The Regulation sets out duties and responsibilities for various parties including employers, owners, diving supervisors, divers and diver’s tenders.

Some of the requirements of the Regulation that relate to underwater performances are summarized below. However, this guideline does not replace the requirements set out in the Regulation, and if there is a difference between this guideline and the Regulation, the Regulation will prevail.

Giving Notice Of Diving Operations

Notice must be given to the Ministry of Labour by each employer or owner associated with a diving operation at least 24 hours before the diving operation begins. A completed Notice of Diving Operation form must be submitted to the Ministry within five (5) days after the start of the diving operation.

A copy of the written notice must be available at the dive site for inspection by a Ministry inspector.

Written notice must be provided on a “Notice of Diving Operations” form.

Subsection 5(4) of the Regulation outlines the information to be included on the notice to the Ministry. The following is some of the information to be included on the form:

  • location of the dive site
  • expected starting date and duration of the diving operation;
  • dates when and times of day during which the diving operation is expected to be carried out;
  • name, mailing address and telephone number of an owner or employer who is associated with the diving operation;
  • the names of all diving supervisors for the diving operation;
  • maximum depth of any dive in the diving operation;
  • description of the tasks expected to be performed in the diving operation; and
  • breathing mixtures expected to be used during the diving operation.

Oral notice information (as required by subsection 5 of the Regulation) must include:

  • location of the dive site;
  • expected starting and duration times of the diving operation;
  • dates when and times of day during which the diving operation is expected to be carried out;
  • name, mailing address and telephone number of an owner or employer who is associated with the diving operation; and
  • statement whether the diving operation is to be offshore or onshore.

The contact numbers for the Ministry of Labour, Diving Offices are:

Eastern Region

347 Preston Street, 4th Floor
Ottawa, ON K1S 3J4
Tel: 613-228-8050 ext.3055
Toll-free: 1-800-267-1916
Fax: 613-727-2900

Central Region

17345 Leslie St, Unit 102
Newmarket ON L3Y 9A3
Tel: 905 953-3999
Toll-free: 1-888-299-3138
Fax: 905-715-7609

Northern Region

159 Cedar Street, Suite 301
Sudbury ON P3E 6A5
Tel: 705-564-7306 ext. 47306
Toll-free: 1-800-461-6325
Fax: 705-564-7437

Western Region

119 King Street West, 13th Floor
Hamilton ON L8P 4Y7
Tel: 905-577-6221
Toll-free: 1-800-263-6906
Fax: 905-577-1324

217 York Street, 5th Floor
London ON N6A 5P9
Tel: 519-439-2210
Toll-free: 1-800-265-1676
Fax: 519-672-0268

4510 Rhodes Drive, Suite 610
Windsor, ON N8W 5K5
Tel: 519-256-8277
Toll-free: 1-800-265-5140
Fax: 519-258-1321

Any changes made to the plan after the MOL notification must be provided to the Ministry. The employer and owner associated with the diving operation who provide notice to the Ministry must also ensure that a written operational plan and a written contingency plan for each diving operation must be prepared with input from one or more of the diving supervisors (see "Diving Crew" section) appointed for the diving operation. Items to be included in the plan as per section 7 of the Regulation are as follows:

An Operational Plan must:

  • describe the tasks to be performed in the diving operation;
  • state how those tasks are to be performed;
  • state how the hazards to be encountered in the diving operation, are to be identified and handled; and
  • state which agencies and facilities will be given notice under section 9 of the Regulation.

A Contingency Plan must:

  • include instructions for communicating with medical assistance in the event of an emergency
  • outline emergency procedures for the evacuation of an injured diver from the dive site
  • outline emergency procedures for responding to any significant failure of a component of any diving equipment
  • outline emergency procedures for responding to a loss of communication with a diver
  • outline emergency procedures for responding to hazardous weather or ice conditions
  • outline emergency procedures for aborting a dive
  • outline emergency procedures for responding to any inability of an offshore dive site to maintain station

All diving crew members are to be briefed on the plans and the plans must be available at the dive site for inspection by a Ministry inspector.

Section 9 of the Regulation requires notification to the law enforcement agency that has responsibilities in relation to the area in which the dive site is located.

Section 8 of the Regulation requires the following documents to be available at the dive site:

  • A copy of any written notice that has been given in respect of the diving operation under subsection 5 (1).
  • Where written notice has not yet been given in respect of the diving operation under subsection 5 (1), a written statement including the date of the oral notice given in respect of the diving operation and name of the person to whom the oral notice was given.
  • A copy of the operational plan prepared for the diving operation under section 7.
  • A copy of the contingency plan prepared for the diving operation under section 7.
  • A copy of this Regulation.
  • A copy of any standard published by the Canadian Standards Association and referred to in the Regulation that may apply to the diving operation.

In addition, there must be a diver’s log book that includes a diver’s medical certificates (see subsection 13(1) of the Regulation. The diving supervisor must have proof of training and his or her log book (daily record) available for inspection by an inspector as per subsection 12(1) of the Regulation.

If operating within the port of Toronto you must notify and receive written approval from the Harbour Master. The Toronto Police Marine Unit must also be made aware of the diving activity. If operating in the port of Thunder Bay you must notify and receive written approval from the Port Authority.

Diving Crew

The Regulation states a minimum crew requirement where Self-Contained Underwater Breathing Apparatus (SCUBA) or surface-supplied diving is used for underwater film production. The diving supervisor will determine the number of persons necessary for each dive. Section 6 of the Regulation requires that competent diving supervisors be appointed for every diving operation.

There is a minimum crew requirement for certified competent members for a basic diving team. The following roles must be filled:

  • a diving supervisor
  • a standby diver
  • a diver
  • a diver’s tender

Section 37 of the Regulation sets out minimum crew requirements where SCUBA is used and in subsection 37(2) allows that the diving supervisor may also function either as a standby diver or as a diver’s tender. Section 39 of the Regulation sets out minimum crew requirements when surface supplied diving is conducted. Adequate numbers of diver’s tenders are required for surface-supplied diving. A diving supervisor may only dive in the case of an emergency.

Subsection 4.1 (2) of the Regulations requires that an employer shall ensure that every person who participates in a diving operation meets the competency requirement applicable to the type of diving operation being participated in as set out in CSA Z275.4-12.

(Note: Recreational diving certification is not acceptable for occupational diving purposes in Ontario)

Each diver, diving supervisor, and at least one diver's tender must be certified in CPR oxygen administration and first aid. Certification documentation must be available at the dive site for inspection. Each occupational diver must be certified medically fit to dive. A physician who is knowledgeable about diving medicine and hyperbaric medicine must conduct the medical examination.

The OHSA and sections 12, 13 and 14 of the Regulation outline some of the key duties of diving supervisors, divers, standby divers and diver's tenders before, during and after the dive. Sections 4.1 to 10 include duties of constructors, employers and owners. The Divers and Diver's Tender have specific duties under sections 13 and 14.

Section 63 of the Regulation requires every diver to maintain an up-to-date logbook, which includes proof of fitness and competence. Section 64 of the Regulation requires a diving supervisor to maintain a daily record of a diving operation containing prescribed information.

No person shall dive unless he or she has undergone a diving medical examination during the twenty-four(24) month period preceding the dive and has obtained a written statement from the examining physician indicating that the diver is fit to dive. (Note: Divers aged 40 years and over must have undergone a diving medical examination in the preceding 12 months.) The examining physician must be knowledgeable about diving medicine and hyperbaric medicine as per section 32 of the Regulation.

Section 33 of the Regulation states that the employer associated with the diving operation must ensure that up-to-date certification in cardio-pulmonary resuscitation, oxygen administration and first aid is held by each of the following:

  • the diving supervisor
  • each participating diver
  • at least one diver's tender at the dive site

Equipment

Section 15 of the Regulation requires the employer and diving supervisor to ensure that all diving equipment used in the diving operation is adequately maintained and is tested and repaired by a competent person in accordance with the manufacturer's recommended procedures. All SCUBA cylinders must be hydrostatically tested every 5 years.

Specific requirements regarding personal diving equipment and dive site equipment are described in sections 16 and 17 of the Regulation.

The requirements for lifelines are outlined in section 18 of the Regulation. For example, subsection 18(1) states:

The diving supervisor for a diving operation shall ensure that an adequate lifeline or strength member is attached to each diver participating in the diving operation when the diver is in the water.

The producer (i.e. employer) and the diving supervisor must ensure that each submerged diver is connected to the dive site by a two-way communication system. This communication may be by voice or pre-arranged line signals but must meet the requirements of section 19 of the Regulation.

Sections 20-24 of the Regulation contain specific requirements for cranes and hoisting devices, fall arrest systems, stages, hyperbaric chambers and gauges and metering equipment.

Breathing Mixtures

Breathing mixtures must be suitable for the diving operation, and should not, for example, contain levels of nitrogen or oxygen that would be a hazard at the planned depth and duration of the dive. Subsection 5(3) requires the employers and owner to give notice to the Ministry if a mixed gas (i.e. breathing mixture other than air) is used.

There must be a primary supply of breathing mixture that is adequate to complete the dive as planned and a secondary supply, which in the case of SCUBA is to be one complete SCUBA unit with a fully charged cylinder. See section 26 of the Regulation.

Each diver must also be equipped with an emergency bailout or emergency reserve system, as per section 27 of the Regulation. The purity of any breathing mixture must conform to the CSA Standard Z275.2-11 (as per section 29 of the Regulation).

There are also requirements for compressors that are used in diving operations to supply breathing mixtures and oxygen systems in section 30 and section 31 of the Regulation. Any compressor and associated equipment used in the diving operation to supply a breathing mixture must conform to the CSA Standard Z275.2-11. Additional information for compressors and associated equipment may be found in CSA Z180.1 05.

Scuba And Surface – Supplied Diving

Diving in the entertainment industry will in most cases require the use of SCUBA or a surface-supplied system. There are specific provisions for both in sections 36-41 of the Regulation. Of particular relevance are the prohibitions on the use of SCUBA, in section 36. If SCUBA is prohibited, a surface-supplied system could be used instead.

SCUBA must not be used near or in an underwater intake, pipe, tunnel, duct or other confined space. SCUBA divers are prohibited from diving at a water control structure, working with power tools, hoisting devices, burning or welding equipment, or working in depths deeper than 100 feet or in contaminated environments. (See section 36 of the Regulation).

Duties Of Diving Supervisors

The person who is hired as the diving supervisor shall ensure that there are an adequate number of divers who are competent and fit for the job. Section 7 sets out the requirements for an operational plan and a contingency plan and requires input from the diving supervisor. Clause 12(3)(a) requires the diving supervisor to ensure the operational and contingency plans are followed. Clause 12(3)(b) requires the diving supervisor to brief the workers on the operational and contingency plans.

They will ensure that all standby divers are adequately dressed and equipped at all times during the operation and that no standby diver dives except in the event of a health or safety emergency.

The diving supervisor must refer to the requirements set out in the Regulation and follow the duties as listed in the Regulation.

Duties Of Divers And StandBy Divers

Divers and standby divers must be adequately trained and fit for the job. Standby divers must not dive except in the event of a health and safety emergency. Divers and standby divers must comply with section 13 of the Regulation.

Duties Of Diver's Tender

A diver's tender shall ensure that he or she does not perform any duties other than those specified in section 14 of the Regulation.

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Ligne directrice nº 30 : Cascades et prises de vue sous l'eau | Lignes directrices sur la sécurité dans l'industrie du cinéma et de la télévision de l'Ontario

  • ISSN : 978-1-4249-9955-2
  • Diffusion : mars 1997
  • Révision : 1 mars 2014
  • Dernière mise à jour : juillet 2015

Cascades et prises de vue sous l'eau

Les plongeurs employés en Ontario sont tenus de respecter les exigences du Règlement concernant les opérations de plongée de l’Ontario (Règl. de l’Ont. 629/94) (ci-après désigné le Règlement) et la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) de l'Ontario, le cas échéant.

Le Règlement s'applique à toute opération de plongée ou à toute fonction exécutée pour aider à mener celle-ci à bien.

Il énonce les tâches et les responsabilités des diverses parties, dont les employeurs, les propriétaires, les chefs de plongée, les plongeurs et les aides-plongeurs.

Les exigences du Règlement qui portent sur les activités qui se déroulent sous l'eau sont résumées ci-après. Toutefois, les présentes lignes directrices ne remplacent pas les exigences énoncées dans le Règlement. En cas de divergence, ce dernier à préséance.

Avis concernant les opérations de plongée

Au moins 24 heures avant le début de toute opération de plongée, chaque employeur ou propriétaire concerné par celle-ci doit en aviser le ministère du Travail. Un formulaire d'avis de plongée dûment rempli doit parvenir au ministère dans les cinq jours qui précèdent le début de l'opération de plongée.

Une copie de l'avis écrit doit être gardée sur le site de plongée en vue d'une inspection par le ministère.

L'opération de plongée doit être signifiée par écrit au moyen du formulaire d'avis de plongée.

Les renseignements qui doivent être inscrits dans l'avis à transmettre au ministère sont indiqués dans le paragraphe 5 (4) du Règlement. Voici quelques-uns des renseignements à inclure dans le formulaire :

  • emplacement du site de plongée;
  • date de début et durée prévues pour l'opération de plongée;
  • dates et heures d'exécution des opérations de plongée;
  • nom, adresse postale et numéro de téléphone du propriétaire ou de l'employeur concerné par l'opération de plongée;
  • nom de tous les superviseurs de plongée de l'opération de plongée;
  • profondeur maximale envisagée lors de toute activité de plongée effectuée dans le cadre de l'opération;
  • description des tâches que l'on prévoit exécuter pendant l'opération de plongée;
  • mélanges respiratoires que l'on prévoit utiliser lors de la plongée.

Conformément à l'article 5 du Règlement, un avis verbal doit comprendre les renseignements suivants :

  • emplacement du site de plongée;
  • date de début et durée prévues pour l'opération de plongée;
  • dates et heures d'exécution des opérations de plongée;
  • nom, adresse postale et numéro de téléphone du propriétaire ou de l'employeur concerné par l'opération de plongée;
  • déclaration indiquant si la plongée aura lieu au large ou sur la côte.

Voici les numéros de téléphone des bureaux responsables des opérations de plongée du ministère du Travail :

Region de l'Est

347, rue Preston, 4e étage
Ottawa ON  K1S 3J4
Tél. : 613 727-2893 ext.3055
Sans frais : 1 800 267-1916
Téléc. : 613 727-2900

Région du Centre

17345, rue Leslie, bureau 102
Newmarket ON L3Y 9A3
Tél. : 905 953-3999
Sans frais : 1 888 299-3138
Téléc. : 905 715-7609

Région du Nord

159, rue Cedar, Bureau 301
Sudbury ON  P3E 6A5
Tél. : 705 564-7306
Sans frais : 1 800 461-6325
Téléc. : 705 564-7437

Région de l'Ouest

119, rue King Ouest, 13e étage
Hamilton ON L8P 4Y7
Tél. : 905 577-6221
Sans frais : 1 800 263-6906
Téléc. : 905 577-1324

217, rue York, 5e étage
London ON N6A 5P9
Tél. : 519 439-2210
Sans frais : 1 800 265-1676
Téléc. : 519 672-0268

4510, Rhodes Drive, bureau 610
Windsor ON N8W 5K5
Tél. : 519 256-8277
Sans frais : 1 800 265-5140
Téléc. : 519 258-1321

Toute modification apportée au plan après avoir avisé le ministère du Travail doit lui être signalée. Lorsque l'employeur ou le propriétaire concerné par l'opération de plongée avise le ministère qu'il prévoit entreprendre celle-ci, il doit également s'assurer qu'un plan du déroulement de l'opération de plongée ainsi qu'un plan d'urgence écrits sont élaborés pour chaque activité de plongée prévue en s'inspirant des commentaires d'un ou de plusieurs des chefs de plongée (voir la section « Équipe de plongée ») désignés pour l'opération de plongée en question. Conformément à l'article 7 du Règlement, le plan doit comprendre les renseignements suivants :

Un plan du déroulement de l'opération qui doit :

  • décrire les tâches prévues lors de l'opération de plongée;
  • décrire la façon dont celles-ci seront exécutées;
  • décrire comment les dangers qui risquent de survenir pendant l'opération de plongée doivent être identifiés et traités;
  • indiquer les organismes et les établissements à aviser conformément à l'article 9 du Règlement.

Un plan d'urgence qui doit :

  • comprendre les directives de communication avec les services d'aide médicale en cas d'urgence;
  • indiquer les mesures d'urgence à prendre pour évacuer un plongeur blessé du site de plongée;
  • indiquer les mesures d'urgence à prendre à la suite de toute défaillance importante d'un composant du matériel de plongée;
  • indiquer les mesures d'urgence à prendre à la suite d'une perte de communication avec un plongeur;
  • indiquer les mesures d'urgence à prendre en cas de conditions météorologiques dangereuses ou de présence de glace;
  • indiquer les mesures d'urgence à prendre pour annuler une activité de plongée;
  • indiquer les mesures d'urgence à prendre lorsqu'un site de plongée situé en mer éprouve des difficultés à demeurer stationnaire.

Tous les membres des équipes de plongée doivent être informés des plans, lesquels doivent être disponibles sur le site de plongée en vue d'une inspection par le ministère.

L'article 9 du Règlement stipule que l'organisme d'application de la loi qui a autorité à l'endroit où se trouve le site de plongée doit également en être avisé.

Le Règlement et la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail sont des documents qui doivent se trouver sur le site de plongée. L'article 8 du Règlement stipule que les documents suivants y soient également disponibles :

  • une copie de tout avis écrit transmis relatif à l’opération de plongée, conformément au paragraphe 5 (1);
  • une déclaration écrite indiquant la date à laquelle l'opération de plongée a été verbalement signifiée et le nom de la personne qui en a été avisée, si aucun avis écrit n'a encore été transmis relativement à l'opération de plongée, conformément au paragraphe 5 (1);
  • une copie du plan du déroulement préparé pour l'opération de plongée, conformément à l'article 7;
  • une copie du plan d'urgence préparé pour l'opération de plongée, conformément à l'article 7;
  • une copie du présent Règlement;
  • une copie de toute norme publiée par l'Association canadienne de normalisation ou mentionnée dans le présent Règlement qui peut s'appliquer à l'opération de plongée.

De plus, un carnet de plongée où se trouvent les certificats médicaux du plongeur (voir le paragraphe 13 (1) du Règlement) doit être gardé sur le site, conformément au paragraphe 13 (1) du Règlement. Le chef de plongée doit détenir une preuve de formation dans son carnet de plongée, prête à être montrée à un inspecteur, conformément au paragraphe 12 (1) du Règlement.

Si les activités ont lieu dans le port de Toronto, vous devez aviser le directeur du port et obtenir une approbation écrite de sa part. La Toronto Police Marine Unit (disponible en anglais seulement) doit également être avisée des activités de plongée. Si celles-ci ont lieu dans le port de Thunder Bay, il faut en aviser les autorités portuaires et obtenir une approbation écrite de leur part.

Équipe de plongée

Le Règlement établit un nombre minimal de personnes requis pour constituer une équipe de plongée lorsque celle-ci est effectuée en narghilé ou à l'aide d'un appareil respiratoire autonome de plongée (ARAP) à des fins de tournage sous l'eau. Le chef de plongée détermine le nombre de personnes nécessaires pour chaque plongée. L'article 6 du Règlement exige que des chefs de plongée compétents soient désignés lors de chaque opération de plongée.

Une équipe de plongée de base doit compter un nombre minimal de membres agréés et compétents. Les rôles suivants doivent être représentés :

  • un chef de plongée;
  • un plongeur en alerte;
  • un plongeur;
  • un aide-plongeur.

L'article 37 du Règlement énonce le nombre minimal de personnes nécessaires pour constituer une équipe de plongée lorsque celle-ci est effectuée à l'aide d'un ARAP. Le paragraphe 37 (2) précise que le chef de plongée peut à la fois agir en qualité de plongeur en alerte ou d'aide-plongeur. L'article 39 du Règlement détermine le nombre minimal de personnes nécessaires pour constituer une équipe de plongée lorsque cette dernière s'effectue en narghilé. Un nombre adéquat d'aides-plongeurs doivent assister les plongeurs qui effectuent une plongée en narghilé. Le chef de plongée ne doit plonger qu'en cas d'urgence.

Le paragraphe 4.1 (2) du Règlement exige que l'employeur veille à ce que toutes les personnes qui participent à l'opération de plongée aient atteint le degré de compétence établie dans la norme CSA Z275.4-12 propre au type de plongée pratiquée.

(Remarque : Les certificats de plongée récréative ne sont pas acceptables dans le cadre d'une activité de plongée professionnelle en Ontario.)

Chaque plongeur, chef de plongée et au moins un aide-plongeur doivent être certifiés en réanimation cardio-respiratoire (RC), en administration d'oxygène et en premiers soins. Les documents attestant ces compétences doivent être disponibles sur le site de plongée aux fins d'inspection. Chaque plongeur professionnel doit avoir été déclaré apte à plonger par un médecin. L'examen médical visant à attester l'aptitude à la plongée doit être pratiqué par un médecin qui possède des connaissances dans ce domaine et en médecine hyperbare.

La LSST et les articles 12, 13 et 14 du Règlement énoncent les principales responsabilités du chef de plongée, des plongeurs, des plongeurs en alerte et des assistants-plongeurs, avant, pendant et après la plongée. Les articles 4.1 à 10 énoncent les responsabilités des constructeurs, des employeurs et des propriétaires. Les plongeurs et l'aide-plongeur ont des responsabilités précises, conformément aux articles 13 et 14 du Règlement.

L'article 63 du Règlement stipule que chaque plongeur doit tenir un carnet de plongée à jour qui comprend les documents attestant ses aptitudes physiques et ses compétences. L'article 64 du Règlement stipule que le chef de plongée doit tenir un journal quotidien des activités menées dans le cadre de l'opération de plongée dans lequel figurent les renseignements prescrits.

Personne ne devrait effectuer de plongée à moins d'avoir subi, au cours des 24 mois qui la précèdent, un examen médical visant à confirmer qu'il ou elle est apte à plonger et d'avoir obtenu un certificat écrit à cet effet du médecin qui a pratiqué l'examen. (Remarque : Les plongeurs de 40 ans et plus doivent avoir subi un examen médical pour la plongée au cours des 12 mois précédents.) Conformément à l'article 32, le médecin qui pratique l'examen doit posséder des connaissances en médecine de plongée et en médecine hyperbare.

L'article 33 du Règlement stipule que l'employeur concerné par l'opération de plongée doit s'assurer que chacune des personnes suivantes est titulaire d'un certificat à jour en réanimation cardio-respiratoire, en administration d'oxygène et en premiers soins :

  • le chef de plongée;
  • chaque plongeur participant;
  • au moins un des assistants-plongeurs présents sur le site de plongée.

Matériel

L'article 15 du Règlement stipule que l'employeur et le chef de plongée doivent s'assurer que le matériel utilisé dans le cadre de la plongée est entretenu adéquatement, mis à l'essai et réparé par une personne compétente conformément aux directives recommandées par le fabricant. Toutes les bouteilles utilisées avec un ARAP doivent faire l'objet d'un essai hydrostatique tous les cinq ans.

Les articles 16 et 17 du Règlement décrivent les exigences liées au matériel de plongée personnel et au matériel de plongée disponible sur le site.

L'article 18 du Règlement précise les exigences relatives aux cordages de sécurité. Par exemple, le paragraphe 18 (1) stipule :

Le chef de plongée doit veiller à ce qu'un cordage de sécurité de la force indiquée adéquat soit rattaché à chacun des plongeurs d'une opération de plongée en tout temps lorsqu'ils sont dans l'eau.

Le producteur (c.-à-d. l'employeur) et le chef de plongée doivent s'assurer que chaque plongeur immergé peut communiquer avec le site de plongée au moyen d'un système de communication bidirectionnel. Cette communication peut être établie de façon vocale ou au moyen de signaux de ligne prédéfinis, mais elle doit respecter les exigences de l'article 19 du Règlement.

Les articles 20 à 24 du Règlement énoncent les exigences particulières concernant les grues et les dispositifs de levage, les dispositifs de retenue en cas de chute, les cages de plongée, les caissons hyperbares et les manomètres, ainsi que le matériel de mesure.

Mélanges respiratoires

Les mélanges respiratoires doivent convenir à l'opération de plongée. Par exemple, leur concentration en azote ou en oxygène doit être suffisamment faible pour ne pas présenter de danger pour la sécurité du plongeur, quelle que soit la profondeur ou la durée de plongée prévue. Le paragraphe 5 (3) stipule que les employeurs et le propriétaire doivent aviser le ministère lorsqu'ils utilisent un gaz mélangé (c.-à-d. un mélange respiratoire non composé d'air).

Il doit y avoir une source principale d'approvisionnement en mélange respiratoire suffisante pour subvenir aux besoins prévus et une source secondaire qui, dans le cas d'une plongée à l'aide d'un ARAP, doit être constituée d'un ARAP complet et d'une bouteille d'air comprimé pleine. Consulter l'article 26 du Règlement.

Chaque plongeur doit également être équipé d'une bouteille de secours ou d'un système de réserve d'urgence, conformément à l'article 27 du Règlement. La pureté du mélange respiratoire doit être conforme à la norme CSA Z275.2-11 (article 29 du Règlement).

Les articles 30 et 31 du Règlement énoncent également les exigences ayant trait aux compresseurs utilisés pour fournir les mélanges respiratoires et l'oxygène lors d'opérations de plongée. Tout compresseur et tout matériel afférent utilisé pour fournir les mélanges respiratoires et l'oxygène lors d'opérations de plongée doivent être conformes à la norme CSA Z275.2-11. On peut trouver des renseignements supplémentaires sur les compresseurs et le matériel afférent dans la norme CSA Z180.1 05.

Plongée en narghilé ou à l'aide d'un appareil respiratoire autonome de plongée

Dans l'industrie du cinéma et de la télévision, la plupart des plongées s'effectuent en narghilé ou au moyen d'un ARAP. Les articles 36 à 41 du Règlement comportent des dispositions particulières aux deux. L'article 36 contient des interdictions particulièrement pertinentes touchant l'utilisation d'un ARAP. Si l'utilisation d'un ARAP est interdite, on pourra recourir à un système de plongée en narghilé.

Il est interdit d'utiliser un ARAP sous l'eau à proximité ou à l'intérieur d'une prise d'eau ou d'une canalisation, d'un tunnel, d'un conduit ou de tout autre espace confiné. Il est interdit d'utiliser un ARAP pour plonger près d'une installation de régulation des eaux, lorsque l'on travaille avec des outils motorisés, des appareils de levage et du matériel de brasage ou de soudage ou lorsque l'on travaille à plus de 100 pieds de profondeur ou dans des environnements contaminés (voir l'article 36 du Règlement).

Responsabilités des chefs de plongée

La personne qui est engagée comme chef de plongée doit s'assurer que le nombre de plongeurs est approprié et qu'ils sont tous compétents et adéquatement formés pour exécuter le travail. L'article 7 énonce les exigences liées au plan du déroulement de l'opération de plongée et au plan d'urgence; il exige que les commentaires du chef de plongée y soient indiqués. L'alinéa 12 (3) a) stipule que le chef de plongée doit s'assurer que le plan du déroulement de l'opération de plongée et le plan d'urgence sont respectés. L'alinéa 12 (3) b) stipule qu'il doit informer les travailleurs du contenu de ces plans.

Ces derniers devront s'assurer que tous les plongeurs en alerte sont adéquatement vêtus et équipés en tout temps pendant l'opération de plongée et qu'aucun d'entre eux ne plonge, sauf lorsqu'une urgence ayant trait à la santé ou à la sécurité survient.

Le chef de plongée consultera les exigences prescrites dans le Règlement et exécutera les tâches telles qu'elles y sont décrites.

Responsabilités des plongeurs et des plongeurs en alerte

Les plongeurs et les plongeurs en alerte doivent avoir reçu une formation adaptée et posséder les aptitudes nécessaires pour bien exécuter leur travail. Les plongeurs en alerte ne doivent plonger que si une urgence ayant trait à la santé ou à la sécurité survient. Les plongeurs et les plongeurs en alerte doivent se conformer à l'article 13 du Règlement.

Responsabilités de l'aide-plongeur

L'aide-plongeur doit veiller à n'exécuter aucune autre tâche que celles qui sont précisées à l'article 14 du Règlement.

précédent | suivant