Table of Contents | Print  Print This Page

Appendix D: Flotation Garments | Safety Guidelines for the Film and Television Industry in Ontario

  • ISBN: 978-1-4249-9952-1
  • Issued: January 1997
  • Content last reviewed: August 2010

Flotation Garments

The need for hypothermia protection varies by season. The following explains the primary characteristics of Personal Flotation Devices (PFDs), Life Jackets, Anti-Exposure Work Suits and Immersion Suits.

Personal Flotation Devices (PFDs)

A PFD, in its most basic form, is a sleeveless torso vest with a minimum level of buoyancy. It is not a life jacket, and therefore, does not guarantee self-righting or keeping the head clear of the surface in other than calm conditions. It will keep the wearer at the surface and provides a reasonable level of protection for an experienced swimmer, except in rough conditions. It is valuable to a non-swimmer in calm conditions and shallow water where rescue is close at hand.

It does not provide hypothermia protection and should not be used in water temperatures lower than 15 degrees Celsius.

Life Jackets

There are three types of life jackets in the Canadian standards: the Small Vessel Regulation Life Jacket, the Canadian Steamship Regulation Life Jacket and the SOLAS Life Jacket. The required life jacket is dependent on the size of the vessel.

By definition, a life jacket should provide an unconscious person self-righting and a guaranteed floating position which allows for breathing. The Canadian Life Jackets address these characteristics in various degrees; the Small Vessel Life Jacket, to a limited extent; the Standard Life Jacket for the most part; and the SOLAS Life Jacket in all respects.

Life jackets protect against early drowning much better than basic PFDs, particularly in heavy water. Life jackets provide no hypothermia protection at all; this is important to note because research shows that most victims who drown prior to suffering the effects of hypothermia do so within six minutes of immersion.

Anti-Exposure Work Suits

The anti-exposure work suit has the same minimum buoyancy requirements as a PFD. It has good hypothermia protection that should allow for about two hours survival in 0 degrees Celsius water and increasing to about 6 hours in 15 degree Celsius water.

Immersion Suits

Immersion suits provide the highest degree of buoyancy and hypothermia protection.

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Annexe D : Vêtements de flottaison | Lignes directrices sur la sécurité dans l'industrie du cinéma et de la télévision de l'Ontario

  • ISSN : 978-1-4249-9955-2
  • Diffusion : janiver 1997
  • Dernière mise à jour : août 2010

Vêtements de flottaison

Le besoin de protection contre l'hypothermie varie selon les saisons. On trouvera ci-dessous une description des principales caractéristiques des vêtements de flottaison individuels (V.F.I.), des gilets de sauvetage, des combinaisons protectrices et des combinaisons isothermiques.

Vêtements de flottaison individuels (V.F.I.)

Dans sa plus simple expression, un V.F.I. est un gilet sans manches assurant un minimum de flottaison. Comme ce n'est pas un gilet de sauvetage, il n'assure pas un redressement automatique et ne garde pas la tête hors de l'eau, sauf lorsque l'eau est parfaitement calme. Il garde son utilisateur à la surface et assure un degré raisonnable de protection à un nageur expérimenté, sauf lorsque l'eau est agitée. Il rend de précieux services aux personnes qui ne savent pas nager et qui se retrouvent en eau calme peu profonde à proximité d'une équipe de secours.

Il n'assure aucune protection contre l'hypothermie et ne doit pas servir lorsque la température de l'eau est inférieure à 15 °C.

Gilets de sauvetage

Il y a trois types de gilets de sauvetage selon les normes canadiennes : les gilets de sauvetage conformes au Règlement sur les petits bâtiments, ceux conformes au Règlement sur les navires à vapeur et ceux conformes à la Convention internationale pour la sauvegarde de la vie humaine en mer (Convention SOLAS). La taille du navire détermine le type de gilet à utiliser.

Par définition, un gilet de sauvetage doit permettre à une personne inconsciente de se redresser automatiquement et garder celle-ci dans une position qui lui permet de respirer. Les gilets de sauvetage canadiens répondent à ces exigences à divers degrés. Ceux conformes au Règlement sur les petits bâtiments le font de façon limitée, alors que les gilets de sauvetage standard sont conformes à la plupart des exigences et que ceux conformes à la Convention SOLAS satisfont à toutes les exigences.

Les gilets de sauvetage protègent contre une noyade rapide beaucoup mieux que ne le font les V.F.I. de base, surtout dans une mer agitée. Ils n'offrent aucune protection contre l'hypothermie. Il est important de noter que des études démontrent que la plupart des victimes qui se noient avant de souffrir des effets de l'hypothermie le font dans les six minutes qui suivent leur immersion.

Combinaisons protectrices

Une combinaison protectrice a les mêmes exigences en matière de flottaison qu'un V.F.I. Elle assure une bonne protection contre l'hypothermie. Elle devrait permettre de survivre pendant deux heures dans une eau à 0 °C et jusqu'à six heures dans l'eau à 15 °C.

Combinaisons isothermiques

Les combinaisons isothermiques assurent le plus grand degré de flottaison et de protection contre l'hypothermie.

précédent | suivant