Print This Page

Information for Farming Operations: Role of the Ontario Ministry of Labour Health and Safety Inspector

  • ISBN: 1-4249-1841-3
  • Issued: February 2006
  • This Fact Sheet is provided for your information and convenience only. It is not a legal document. For further information and the exact wording in the OHSA, please refer to the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations.
  • Content last reviewed: June 2009
  • See also: Farming Operations

Introduction

Ontario's Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) applies with some limitations and exceptions, to all farming operations that have paid workers.

The Ontario Ministry of Labour (MOL) Health and Safety Inspectors enforce the OHSA and regulations. These highly trained professionals have two main roles:

  1. Inspection

    Ministry of Labour Inspectors inspect Ontario's workplaces to ensure compliance with the OHSA and associated regulations.

    The OHSA clearly outlines the responsibilities of the workplace parties (i.e. Owner, Employer, Supervisor, Worker etc.) to keep workers safe. When a MOL Health and Safety Inspector conducts a workplace inspection, s/he may require the workplace parties to demonstrate that they have met the requirements of the OHSA and any associated regulation.

  2. Investigation

    Ministry of Labour Inspectors investigate workplace accidents, complaints and work refusals.

Investigations of Accidents

All workplaces subject to the OHSA are required to immediately report[ 1 ] any critical injury[ 2 ] or fatality to the Ontario Ministry of Labour and to preserve the accident scene until the MOL Inspector arrives[ 3 ]. Employers are also required to provide a written report (to the MOL Director) of the circumstances of the occurrence within 48 hours. Upon notification of a critical injury or fatality, a Ministry Inspector is sent to the scene to begin the investigation.

A MOL investigation may involve viewing the incident location, taking photographs and measurements, interviewing eyewitnesses, co-workers, supervisors, employers and anyone else the Inspector determines might have relevant information (e.g. equipment manufacturers) and examining and testing the equipment involved. Part of the investigation may focus on identifying preventative measures to ensure this type of incident does not repeat itself. Once risk to other workers has been reduced or eliminated, the investigation may continue to determine cause and level of compliance with the OHSA and associated regulations.

The MOL Inspector may, when necessary, be assisted by experts (ie. MOL engineers, occupational hygienists or physicians and/or OMAFRA or other representatives with knowledge of the industry).

Upon completion of an investigation, MOL inspectors may initiate prosecution when there has been a contravention related to a fatal, critical or other injury to a worker. The intent of prosecution is deterrence: deterrence specific to an offender and general deterrence for other potential offenders.

What you can expect when an MOL Inspector arrives at the farm

Identification and Authority

Upon arrival at a farming operation, a Ministry of Labour Health and Safety Inspector will introduce and identify her/himself, explain the purpose of her/his visit and inquire about specific farm protocols. S/he carries a badge and warrant card with photo ID that indicates her/his designation as a Provincial Offences Officer and appointment under the Occupational Health and Safety Act.

A Ministry of Labour Health and Safety Inspector may enter any workplace without warrant or notice[ 4 ]. However, Inspectors will do their best to accommodate farm schedules (i.e. milking time, cropping).

Adherence to Biosecurity Protocols

All MOL Inspectors receive regular training on biosecurity and respect the protocols of each individual farm.

Professionalism and Competence

Besides training in legislation, policy and procedures and technical requirements, all MOL Inspectors are trained and conduct themselves according to the MOL Code of Professionalism. The Code requires an MOL Inspector to demonstrate the following behaviours:

  • Honesty and Integrity
  • Confidentiality
  • Respect
  • Timeliness
  • Knowledge and Competence
  • Objectivity
  • Consideration to Compliance and Risk Factors when making enforcement decisions

Furthermore, MOL Inspectors who visit farms have received additional training specific to farm operations.

MOL Inspection of the Farm

During a MOL health and safety inspection, the MOL Inspector's activities on the farm may include but are not limited to:

  • Meeting with a manager/supervisor and a worker.
  • Asking questions of the manager/supervisor(s) and worker(s) to determine the farm operation's current compliance levels with the administrative requirements[ 5 ] of the OHSA.
  • Advising the workplace parties of their responsibilities should they be unaware of them.
  • Conducting an inspection (in the company of the workplace parties) to identify hazards and determine compliance with the OHSA and related regulations.
  • Identifying and discussing non-compliance issues with the workplace parties.
  • Asking questions of workers.
  • Asking for demonstrations of certain pieces of equipment.
  • Asking for the production of records (i.e. training records of workers, inspection and maintenance records of machines/equipment).
  • Preparing and providing a written "Premise Project" report.

The MOL "Premise Project" Report

The Inspector's written report is called a "Premise Project" report and generally contains information about the purpose of the visit, the people s/he met with and may include a narrative description of the visit. The narrative may include information about what was discussed and what recommendations the MOL Inspector made to the workplace parties. The employer is required to post this report in a conspicuous location in the workplace[ 6 ].

Where non-compliance is observed, the MOL Inspector may issue orders under the OHSA and/or applicable regulations. These orders may be forthwith, requiring the employer to achieve compliance before the Inspector leaves the premises; or time based, giving the employer a deadline date, on which s/he must provide written notification to the Ministry of Labour of compliance.

Where a requirement of the Act or the regulations has been contravened, and where immediate measures are required to protect the health or safety of a worker, the MOL Inspector may consult with the workplace parties to determine what can be done to provide immediate protection for workers. The MOL Inspector may issue a forthwith or time based order under the appropriate section of the legislation, directing the employer or worker to correct the contravention where there may be immediate and/or interim measures that are possible or adequate to address the hazard.

In addition to any other orders, there may be situations as well where the Inspector will write a Stop Use/Stop Work order requiring specific work or specific use of equipment to stop until compliance with the OHSA and associated regulations has been achieved. For example where a contravention poses an immediate hazard to workers with no immediate interim measures possible to protect the workers, a Stop Use/Stop Work order may be issued. Once the Inspector is satisfied that compliance has been achieved, s/he would withdraw or cancel the Stop Use/Stop Work order.

In Summary

In Ontario, the Occupational Health and Safety Act outlines the responsibilities of workplace parties to keep workers safe and healthy. The role of the MOL Health and Safety Inspector is to ensure compliance with the OHSA and associated regulations. MOL Inspectors carry identification, conduct themselves according to the MOL Code of Professionalism, and provide the farm operation with a detailed written premise project report at the conclusion of their visit. When MOL Inspectors observe non-compliance with the legislation, orders may be issued and recommendations may be provided.

[ 1 ] Section 51(1) of the OHSA.

[ 2 ] Critical injury means an injury of serious nature that places life in jeopardy; produces unconsciousness; results in substantial loss of blood; involves the fracture of a leg or arm but not a finger or toe; involves the amputation of a leg, arm, hand or foot but not a finger or toe; consists of burns to a major portion of the body; or causes the loss of sight in an eye. R.R.O. 1990 Regulation 834.

[ 3 ] Section 51(2) of the OHSA .

[ 4 ] Section 54 of the OHSA sets the powers of the MOL Inspector. Entering any workplace at anytime without warrant or notice is one of them. Inspectors will do their best to accommodate farming schedules (ie. milking time, cropping) and may pre-arrange their visits when necessary.

[ 5 ] Part II of the Occupational Health and Safety Act.

[ 6 ] Section 57(10) of the Occupational Health and Safety Act.

Imprimer cette page

Information pour les opérations agricoles : Rôle de l'inspecteur de la santé et de la sécurité du ministère du Travail de l'Ontario

  • ISBN : 1-4249-1842-1
  • Diffusion : février 2006
  • Dernière mise à jour : juin 2009
  • Voir aussi : Opérations agricoles

Cette feuille de renseignements est fournie uniquement à titre de référence et de commodité. Elle ne constitue pas un document juridique. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements et consulter le libellé exact de la loi, se reporter à la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) et aux règlements d'application.

Introduction

La Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail s'applique aux opérations agricoles qui emploient des travailleurs rémunérés, avec certaines limites et certaines exceptions.

Les inspecteurs de la santé et de la sécurité du ministère du Travail de l'Ontario veillent au respect de la LSST et des règlements d'application. Ces professionnels spécialement formés ont deux attributions principales :

  1. Inspection

    Les inspecteurs du ministère du Travail inspectent les lieux de travail de l'Ontario pour veiller au respect de la LSST et des règlements d'application. La LSST définit les responsabilités de toutes les parties en présence sur le lieu de travail (propriétaire, employeur, superviseur, travailleur, etc.) au regard de la sécurité des travailleurs. Lorsqu'un inspecteur de la santé et de la sécurité du ministère du Travail inspecte un lieu de travail, il peut obliger les parties à démontrer qu'ils ont répondu aux exigences de la loi et des règlements d'application.

  2. Enquête

    Les inspecteurs du ministère du Travail font enquête sur les accidents au lieu de travail, les plaintes et les refus de travailler.

Enquêtes sur les accidents

Tous les lieux de travail assujettis à la LSST sont tenus de signaler immédiatement[ 1 ] les blessures critiques ou les décès[ 2 ] au ministère du Travail de l'Ontario et de protéger le lieu de l'accident jusqu'à l'arrivée de l'inspecteur du ministère[ 3 ]. Au cours des quarante-huit heures qui suivent, les employeurs doivent également envoyer à un directeur du ministère du Travail un rapport écrit sur l'événement. Sur réception de l'avis d'une blessure critique ou d'un décès, le ministère envoie un inspecteur sur place pour commencer l'enquête.

Une enquête du ministère du Travail peut comporter ce qui suit : un examen du lieu de l'accident, la prise de photos et de mesures, des entrevues des témoins, collègues de travail, superviseurs, employeurs et autres personnes susceptibles, d'après l'inspecteur, d'avoir de l'information pertinente (p. ex. fabricants de matériel) ainsi qu'un examen et une mise à l'essai du matériel en cause. L'enquête peut commencer par l'établissement de mesures de prévention pour que ce genre d'incident ne se reproduise plus. Une fois que le risque aux autres travailleurs a été réduit ou éliminé, l'inspecteur poursuit l'enquête afin de déterminer la cause de l'accident et le taux de conformité à la LSST et aux règlements d'application.

L'inspecteur peut, au besoin, obtenir l'aide d'experts (ingénieurs du ministère du Travail, hygiénistes du travail ou médecins et/ou représentants du MAAARO ou autres représentants qui connaissent l'industrie).

Lorsque l'enquête a pris fin, les inspecteurs du ministère du Travail peuvent entamer des poursuites s'ils estiment qu'une contravention est liée à une blessure mortelle, critique ou autre survenue à un travailleur. L'objet de la poursuite est la dissuasion : la dissuasion du contrevenant (dissuasion d'une personne en particulier) et des contrevenants éventuels (dissuasion générale).

À quoi s'attendre lorsqu'un inspecteur du ministère du Travail arrive à la ferme

Identification et autorité

En arrivant à la ferme, un inspecteur de la santé et de la sécurité du ministère du Travail se présente, explique le motif de sa visite et se renseigne sur les protocoles utilisés à la ferme. Il porte sur lui un porte-nom et une carte d'autorisation comportant sa désignation d'agent des infractions provinciales et sa nomination au titre de la LSST.

Un inspecteur de la santé et de la sécurité du ministère du Travail peut pénétrer sans mandat ou avis dans un lieu de travail[ 4 ]. Cependant, les inspecteurs font tout leur possible pour tenir compte des horaires des opérations agricoles (p. ex. heure de la traite, culture).

Respect des protocoles en matière de biosécurité

Tous les inspecteurs du ministère du Travail reçoivent une formation régulière axée sur la biosécurité et le respect des protocoles de chaque ferme individuelle.

Professionnalisme et compétence

En plus de recevoir une formation axée sur les lois, politiques et procédures et les exigences techniques, les inspecteurs du ministère connaissent et respectent le code of professionnalisme du ministère du Travail. Le code oblige un inspecteur à agir selon les principes suivants :

  • Honnêteté et intégrité
  • Confidentialité
  • Respect
  • Rapidité d'exécution
  • Savoir et compétence
  • Objectivité
  • Prise en compte des facteurs de conformité et de risque dans l'application de la loi.

Les inspecteurs qui rendent visite aux fermes reçoivent également une formation axée sur les opérations agricoles.

Inspection de la ferme du ministère du Travail

Durant une inspection de la santé et de la sécurité, les activités de l'inspecteur du ministère du Travail peuvent inclure, sans toutefois s'y limiter :

  • Rencontrer un gestionnaire/superviseur et un travailleur.
  • Poser des questions au gestionnaire, au(x) superviseur(s) et au(x) travailleur(s) pour déterminer le taux de conformité des opérations agricoles aux exigences administratives[ 5 ] de la LSST de l'Ontario.
  • Aviser les parties présentes au lieu de travail de leurs responsabilités au cas où elles ne les connaîtraient pas.
  • Mener une inspection (en compagnie des parties présentes au lieu de travail) en vue de repérer les dangers et de déterminer s'il y a conformité à la LSST et aux règlements d'application.
  • Cerner les problèmes de non-conformité avec les parties présentes au lieu de travail et en discuter.
  • Poser des questions aux travailleurs.
  • Demander des démonstrations de certains appareils.
  • Demander des dossiers (c.-à-d. dossiers de formation des travailleurs, dossiers d'inspection et d'entretien des machines ou de l'équipement).
  • Préparer et fournir un Formulaire d'inspection des locaux/du chantier.

Formulaire d'inspection des locaux/du chantier du ministère du Travail

Le rapport écrit de l'inspecteur s'intitule Formulaire d'inspection des locaux/du chantier et renferme généralement des renseignements sur le but de la visite, les personnes rencontrées et, parfois, une description de la visite. La description peut inclure des renseignements sur les sujets abordés et les recommandations présentées par l'inspecteur aux parties présentes au lieu de travail. L'employeur est tenu d'afficher ce rapport dans un endroit bien en vue au lieu de travail6 ].

S'il relève une infraction à la loi, l'inspecteur du ministère du Travail peut donner des ordres en vertu de la LSST et/ou des règlements d'application. Il peut s'agir d'un ordre de se conformer immédiatement, appelant l'employeur à se conformer avant que l'inspecteur ne quitte le lieu de travail; ou d'un ordre de se conformer dans un délai prescrit, précisant la date à laquelle l'employeur doit envoyer un avis de conformité écrit au ministère du Travail.

Si l'inspecteur relève une infraction à une prescription de la loi et des règlements et estime qu'il faut agir immédiatement pour protéger la santé ou la sécurité d'un travailleur, il peut consulter les parties présentes au lieu de travail pour déterminer les mesures à prendre. Il peut donner un ordre de se conformer immédiatement ou dans un délai prescrit en vertu de l'article approprié de la loi, enjoignant l'employeur ou le travailleur de corriger l'infraction si des mesures immédiates et/ou intérimaires pratiques peuvent éliminer le danger.

Outre les autres ordres, l'inspecteur rendra, dans certaines circonstances, un ordre d'arrêt de l'utilisation/des travaux ordonnant l'interruption d'un travail ou de l'usage d'un appareil particulier jusqu'à ce que l'employeur se conforme à la loi et aux règlements d'application. Cela peut survenir, par exemple, lorsqu'une infraction pose un danger imminent aux travailleurs et qu'aucune mesure de protection intérimaire ne peut être prise. L'ordre est retiré lorsque l'inspecteur est d'avis que l'employeur se conforme à la loi.

Sommaire

En Ontario, la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail définit les responsabilités de toutes les parties en présence sur le lieu de travail au regard de la sécurité des travailleurs. Il incombe à l'inspecteur de la santé et de la sécurité du ministère du Travail de veiller au respect de la LSST et des règlements d'application. Les inspecteurs du ministère du Travail portent des pièces d'identité, obéissent au code de professionnalisme du ministère du Travail et fournissent à l'opération agricole un Formulaire d'inspection des locaux détaillé à l'issue de leur visite. S'ils relèvent une infraction à la loi, les inspecteurs émettent des ordres et présentent des recommandations.

[ 1 ] Paragraphe 51(1) de la LSST de l'Ontario.

[ 2 ] Blessure critique s'entend d'une blessure de nature grave qui, selon le cas; fait perdre connaissance; entraîne une perte importante de sang; comporte la fracture d'une jambe ou d'un bras, mais pas d'un doigt ni d'un orteil; comporte l'amputation d'une jambe, d'un bras, d'une main ou d'un pied, mais pas d'un doigt ni d'un orteil; comporte des brûlures sur une grande surface du corps; provoque la perte de la vue dans un oeil. R.R.O. 1990, Règlement 834.

[ 3 ] Article 51(2) de la LSST de l'Ontario

[ 4 ] L'article 54 de la LSST de l'Ontario énonce les pouvoirs de l'inspecteur, dont celui de pénétrer en tout temps, sans mandat ou avis, dans un lieu de travail. Les inspecteurs font tout leur possible pour tenir compte des horaires des opérations agricoles (p. ex. heure de la traite, culture) et peuvent prendre rendez-vous à l'avance au besoin.

[ 5 ] Partie II de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail.

[ 6 ] Paragraphe 57(10) de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail.