Table of Contents | Print This Page

Section 7: Hazardous atmospheres and confined spaces : Occupational Health and Safety Guidelines for Farming Operations in Ontario

Introduction

The Occupational Health and Safety Guidelines for Farming Operations in Ontario were developed to highlight specific, and sometimes unique and unusual hazards on farms. They were jointly prepared by representatives of the farming community, the Farm Safety Association (now Workplace Safety and Prevention Services), the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs and the Ministry of Labour.

The purpose of the guidelines is to help employers, supervisors and workers on farms recognize hazards and determine the ways they may best comply with their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA), and the relevant regulations. The guidelines provide general information to those in the workplace to help them identify specific hazards and dangerous situations. The guidelines may also provide the workplace parties with suggestions to consider in determining how to protect worker health and safety and to prevent injuries.

It is important to understand that the guidelines do not replace the laws that are in place. Employers, supervisors and workers on farms have responsibilities and rights under the Occupational Health and Safety Act and the following three regulations under the Act: Regulation for Farming Operations, O. Reg. 414/05, Critical Injury Defined, R.R.O. 1990, Reg. 834 and Occupational Health and Safety Awareness and Training, O. Reg. 297/13. The requirements in the OHSA and these three regulations must be complied with.

Employers have a legal obligation to take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances for the protection of workers; and, supervisors and workers must take appropriate steps to identify and address all workplace hazards. The guidelines are a starting point for the workplace parties to think about how to fulfill their obligations under the OHSA. Following the recommendations suggested in these guidelines does not relieve the workplace parties of their obligations to comply with the OHSA.

This is the first edition of the guidelines. They will be reviewed and updated on an ongoing basis, as needed, and expanded as new production methods and technologies emerge.

There are many examples of potentially dangerous confined spaces on a farm, including silos, grain bins, manure pits and spreaders, mixing or holding tanks, cisterns, valve pits and pump houses. Farmers and workers who enter a confined space, and those who attempt a rescue in an emergency, could quickly be overcome by a hazardous atmosphere, resulting in injury or death. For example, even a few seconds of oxygen depletion can impair brain cell function. This in turn may result in confusion and poor judgement and may compromise a worker's ability to exit the space.

This section covers the following topics:

Definitions

Hazardous Atmosphere:
An atmosphere is hazardous when:
  • it has too much or too little oxygen; or,
  • it contains flammable, combustible or explosive agents; or,
  • it contains contaminants (for example, fumes, dusts, mists) that could pose an immediate threat to life or interfere with a person's ability to escape unaided from a confined space.
Confined Space:
A fully or partially enclosed space that is not designed and not built for continuous human occupancy and, which may contain a hazardous atmosphere because of its construction, location, contents, or because of work that is done in it. Entry to, and exit from a confined space may be difficult or restricted. A confined space may be part of a structure or may be mobile or portable such as a manure spreader tank.

General responsibilities

  1. The employer shall provide information and instruction to workers on potentially hazardous confined spaces and work areas that may contain hazardous gases, and the appropriate procedures when working in these areas.
  2. For each area where a hazardous atmosphere or confined space may exist, the employer should develop a written plan to protect workers and shall communicate the plan to workers.
  3. The supervisor shall ensure that a worker uses or wears any personal protective equipment that the employer requires to be worn; and, that workers follow any written plans and procedures developed by the employer.
  4. Workers should not enter confined spaces or hazardous atmospheres when there are no written plans or procedures for working in these areas.
  5. A worker should not enter or remain in a building or structure adjoining a liquid manure tank while the manure is being agitated. Following agitation of the manure, any adjoining building or structure should be thoroughly ventilated before a worker is permitted to re-enter it.
  6. A worker should not enter a grain bin or silo where grain is stored while the grain is being unloaded. The greatest danger of death in this situation is from becoming trapped in flowing grain. By locking out the unloader before entering a grain bin or silo with grain, the hazard of entrapment is greatly reduced.
  7. When a worker is required to enter a controlled atmosphere storage warehouse that cannot be purged, the worker must be informed of the risk of entering such a facility without respiratory protection and be properly equipped with a breathing apparatus that allows safe entry.

Factors to consider when working around manure storage and silos

Manure Storage Entry Procedures

  1. Avoid entering manure storage areas if at all possible. Many deaths have occurred when people entered manure storage areas without proper safety precautions. Even small amounts of manure can produce toxic gases. A pit may not be safe even if it has only a foot of liquid in it.
  2. If you must enter a manure storage area, wear a self-contained air supply like those fire fighters use. (Dust masks or other cartridge respirators will not filter out the toxic gases nor will they provide the oxygen requirement to work in confined spaces such as manure pits.)
  3. Never enter a manure pit during or just after agitation because there is always the possibility of deadly concentration of gases. Plumbing and pumping equipment should be installed so that it can be easily removed for repairs.
  4. Before agitation, workers and animals should be a safe distance away.
  5. Remove all people and animals if possible. If animals cannot be removed, maximize ventilation and agitate slurry very slowly at first. Monitor the condition of the animals. If the animals are restless, agitated or behaving abnormally, stop the agitation immediately and ventilate the area.
  6. Always keep at least one foot of space between the highest manure level and the slats. This protects animals that lie on the slats and inhale the gases that accumulate at the surface of the pit. The greater the space between the surface of the manure and the slats, the lower the risk of animals inhaling the gases.

Working Safely in and Around Silos

  1. Be alert for silo gas odours and/or yellowish-brown or reddish fumes in or near the silo. Silo gas is heavier than air and will displace oxygen.
  2. The greatest danger from nitrogen dioxide gas from silage is during the first 12 to 60 hours after filling. However, take care to avoid possible exposure for 10 days after filling the silo and when opening the silo for feeding.
  3. If gases are detected, do not enter the silo for up to 6 weeks after filling stops.
  4. Workers should not enter a silo without a self-contained breathing apparatus and a safety harness attached to a life-line, especially during the danger period when gases may still be forming. Gases can form in the silo for up to 6 weeks after filling.
  5. If a worker has to enter a silo, there should be another person/attendant outside to help if needed. Keep a hatch door open near the level of the silage within the silo.
  6. Post all appropriate warning signs. Oxygen-limiting silos require a sign that warns people of the absence of oxygen. People need to be told to stay away from these areas and to only enter them with appropriate training and personal protective equipment.

Background

1. Characteristics of Manure Gases

The four main gases produced from decomposing manure are hydrogen sulfide, methane, ammonia and carbon dioxide. In high concentrations, each of these gases may pose an immediate threat to life or health of humans and livestock.

In animal housing facilities, where the manure pit is often located below the facility floor, manure gases may always be present in low concentrations. When pits are agitated for pumping, some or all of these gases are rapidly released from the manure and may reach toxic levels or displace oxygen, increasing the risk to humans and livestock.

The primary hazards of these gases are toxic or poisonous reactions in people or animals, oxygen depletion that can result in asphyxiation, and explosions that can occur when oxygen mixes with gases such as methane.

Hydrogen Sulfide

Hydrogen sulfide is considered the most dangerous of the by-products of manure decomposition. It has a distinct rotten egg smell.

At low concentrations, hydrogen sulfide irritates the eyes and respiratory tract while at moderate levels, it causes headache, nausea, and dizziness.

At high concentrations, hydrogen sulfide paralyzes the nerve cells of the nose to the point where the person can no longer smell the gas.

Hydrogen sulfide is heavier than air and will tend to settle to the lower areas of a storage facility. It can remain in high concentrations even after ventilation.

Ammonia

Ammonia has a distinct, sharp, penetrating odour detectable at very low concentrations. It is heavier than air and can irritate the eyes and respiratory tract at moderate concentrations. At high concentrations, it can cause ulceration of the eyes and severe irritation of the respiratory tract.

Carbon Dioxide

Carbon dioxide is a by-product of manure decomposition and livestock respiration. It is heavier than air and difficult to detect. It replaces oxygen in air and can act as an asphyxiate. At moderate concentrations, it causes shortness of breath and dizziness.

It is a major contributing factor to animal deaths by asphyxiation when animals are housed in buildings with faulty ventilation.

Methane

Methane is odorless and lighter than air, so it tends to accumulate at the top of covered manure pits. It is considered to be an asphyxiate at extremely high concentrations. Another key hazard associated with methane is its flammable, explosive nature. Methane is extremely difficult to detect without gas detection instruments but it should be anticipated as being present in all manure storage areas.

2. Characteristics of Silo Gases

Silo gas is formed by the natural fermentation of chopped silage shortly after it is placed in the silo.

Though a variety of gases are released during this process, the type of silo in which the forage is stored is important in determining which gas will be predominant. For instance, in sealed silos both nitrogen dioxide and carbon dioxide are created but carbon dioxide is produced in far greater amounts. This is desirable because high carbon dioxide levels help to maintain high quality silage.

At the same time, however, this odorless and colorless gas is dangerous. This gas replaces the silo's oxygen and, in high concentrations, it gives a person little warning that he or she is about to be overcome. Because of this hazard, sealed silos are designed in such a way that entering them is unnecessary.

Nitrogen Dioxide

A variety of gases are also formed in conventional or open-top silos but nitrogen dioxide is found more abundantly. This highly toxic gas is characterized by a strong bleach-like odour and low lying yellow, red, or dark brown fumes.

Unlike carbon dioxide, nitrogen dioxide levels reach a peak about three days after harvesting and rapidly begin to decrease thereafter, particularly if the silo is ventilated. After two weeks, it is unlikely that more gas will be produced, although some hazard remains if the gas has not been able to escape the silo.

Nitrogen dioxide is harmful because it causes severe irritation to the nose and throat and may lead to inflammation of the lungs. What makes this gas especially dangerous is that low level exposure to it is accompanied by only a little immediate pain or discomfort, yet death can occur immediately.

A farmer might breathe the gas without noticing any serious ill effects and then die in his sleep hours later from fluid collecting in his lungs.

Also, many victims suffer relapses with symptoms similar to pneumonia two to six weeks after the initial exposure. For these reasons, it is extremely important for anyone who is exposed to this gas, even for a short time, to seek immediate medical attention.

Like carbon dioxide, nitrogen dioxide is heavier than air. As it is produced, it tends to settle right on top of the silage or flow down the silo chute and collect in the adjoining feed rooms or other low lying areas near the base of the silo.

Gas may even flow into the barn itself and become trapped in corners, under feed bunks, or lie low against the floor. The threat that this poses to livestock is a serious one.

For more information about the health effects of manure and silo gases, visit the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS) web site at www.ccohs.ca.

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Atmosphères dangereuses et espaces exigus

  • ISBN : 1-4249-0805-1
  • Diffusion : juin 2006
  • Dernière mise à jour : juillet 2015
  • Voir aussi : Opérations agricoles

Introduction

Les Directives concernant la santé et la sécurité au travail à l'intention des opérations agricoles en Ontario visent à souligner les dangers particuliers, parfois uniques et inhabituels, inhérents aux exploitations agricoles. Elles ont été élaborées conjointement par des représentants du milieu agricole, de la Farm Safety Association (maintenant Services de prévention et de sécurité au travail [en anglais seulement]), du ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales et du ministère du Travail.

Les directives entendent aider les employeurs, superviseurs et travailleurs des exploitations agricoles à reconnaître les dangers et à déterminer la meilleure façon de respecter leurs obligations en vertu de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) et des règlements d'application. Les directives renferment des renseignements généraux destinés à aider les personnes présentes au lieu de travail à repérer des dangers particuliers et des situations dangereuses. Elles suggèrent également diverses mesures à envisager pour protéger la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et prévenir les blessures.

À noter que les directives ne remplacent pas les lois en vigueur. Les employeurs, superviseurs et travailleurs des exploitations agricoles ont des responsabilités et devoirs en vertu de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les trois règlements d'application suivants : le Règl. de l’Ont. 414/05, Opérations agricoles; R.R.O. 1990 Règl. 834, Blessure critique -- définition, et Règl. de l’Ont. 297/13, Sensibilisation à la santé et à la sécurité au travail et formation . Ils doivent obéir aux exigences de la LSST et de ces trois règlements.

Les employeurs sont légalement tenus de prendre toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection des travailleurs; pour leur part, les superviseurs et travailleurs doivent prendre les mesures appropriées pour repérer et éliminer tous les dangers au lieu de travail. Les directives constituent un point de départ pour les parties du lieu de travail; elles les aideront à déterminer la meilleure façon de respecter leurs obligations en vertu de la LSST. Toutefois, la conformité aux recommandations présentées dans les présentes directives ne dégage pas les parties du lieu de travail de l'obligation de respecter la LSST.

La présente est la première édition des directives. Celles-ci seront révisées et actualisées, au besoin, et élargies pour tenir compte des nouvelles technologies et méthodes de production.

Une exploitation agricole contient un grand nombre d'espaces exigus potentiellement dangereux. Mentionnons, à titre d'exemple, les silos, les compartiments à grains, les fosses à fumier et les épandeurs de fumier, les réservoirs de malaxage ou de retenue, les citernes, les fosses à valves et les stations de pompage. Les agriculteurs et les travailleurs qui pénètrent dans un espace exigu, et ceux qui tentent un sauvetage en cas d'urgence, peuvent rapidement succomber à une atmosphère dangereuse menant à des blessures ou à la mort. Par exemple, un manque d'oxygène durant quelques secondes peut entraver le fonctionnement des cellules du cerveau. La confusion et le manque de jugement qui s'ensuivent peuvent empêcher un travailleur de quitter l'espace.

La présente section aborde les sujets suivants :

Définitions

Atmosphère dangereuse :
Une atmosphère dangereuse :
  • est trop riche ou trop pauvre en oxygène;
  • contient des agents inflammables, combustibles ou explosifs; ou
  • renferme des contaminants (par exemple, vapeurs, poussières, gouttelettes) susceptibles de poser un danger mortel immédiat ou d'empêcher une personne de s'enfuir sans aide d'un espace exigu.
Espace exigu :
Un espace entièrement ou partiellement clos qui n'est pas aménagé ni construit à des fins d'occupation humaine continue et pourrait contenir une atmosphère dangereuse de par sa construction, son emplacement, son contenu ou le travail qui y est accompli. L'entrée et la sortie peuvent en être difficiles ou restreintes. Un espace exigu peut faire partie d'une structure ou être mobile ou portable comme la citerne d'un épandeur de fumier.

Responsabilités générales

  1. L'employeur fournit aux travailleurs de l'information et des instructions relatives aux espaces exigus potentiellement dangereux et aux lieux de travail pouvant contenir des gaz dangereux, ainsi qu'aux procédures de travail appropriées à ces endroits.
  2. L'employeur rédige pour chaque aire renfermant une atmosphère dangereuse ou un espace exigu un plan de protection des travailleurs et communiquer ce plan à ces derniers.
  3. Le superviseur veille à ce que les travailleurs utilisent ou portent l'équipement de protection individuelle requis par l'employeur et se conforment aux plans et aux procédures écrits de l'employeur.
  4. Les travailleurs doivent rester éloignés des espaces exigus ou des atmosphères dangereuses lorsqu'il n'y a pas de plans ou de procédures de travail écrits pour ces endroits.
  5. Un travailleur doit éviter de pénétrer ou de rester dans un bâtiment adjacent à une fosse à fumier lorsque le brassage est en cours. Suite au brassage du fumier, on doit ventiler les bâtiments adjacents avant d'autoriser un travailleur à y pénétrer de nouveau.
  6. Un travailleur doit éviter de pénétrer dans un compartiment à grains ou un silo pendant la décharge du grain. Une personne immobilisée dans les grains court un risque mortel. En verrouillant le déchargeur avant de pénétrer dans le compartiment ou le silo à grains, on réduit considérablement le risque d'engloutissement.
  7. Le travailleur appelé à pénétrer dans un entrepôt d'emmagasinage à atmosphère contrôlée que l'on ne peut purger doit être informé du risque qu'il court en entrant sans porter un appareil respiratoire.

Facteurs à envisager dans le travail à proximité des fosses à fumier et des silos

Procédures d'entrée dans les fosses à fumier

  1. Il faut autant que possible éviter de pénétrer dans les aires d'emmagasinage du fumier. De nombreux décès sont survenus lorsque des personnes ont pénétré dans ces aires sans suivre les précautions de sécurité appropriées. Des quantités minimes de fumier peuvent produire des gaz toxiques. Une fosse pose un danger même si elle contient seulement un pied de liquide.
  2. Le travailleur appelé à pénétrer dans une aire d'emmagasinage du fumier doit porter une source d'oxygène autonome semblable à celle qu'utilisent les pompiers. (Les masques antipoussières ou autres respirateurs à cartouche ne filtrent pas les gaz toxiques et ne fournissent pas la quantité d'oxygène requise pour travailler dans les espaces exigus comme les fosses à fumier.)
  3. Éviter de pénétrer dans une fosse à fumier durant ou immédiatement après le brassage, car le fumier peut contenir une concentration de gaz mortelle. Le matériel de plomberie et de pompage doit être installé de manière à pouvoir le retirer facilement pour le réparer.
  4. Les travailleurs et les animaux doivent se tenir à distance de sécurité avant le brassage.
  5. Éloigner tous les gens et les animaux, dans la mesure du possible. S'il est impossible de retirer les animaux, maximiser la ventilation et brasser la boue liquide très lentement au début. Surveiller l'état des animaux. Si ces derniers sont nerveux, agités ou se comportent anormalement, interrompre le brassage immédiatement et ventiler l'endroit.
  6. Veiller à ce qu'il y ait toujours au moins un pied d'espace entre le niveau maximum du fumier et les plaques, afin de protéger les animaux qui s'étendent sur les plaques et inhalent les gaz accumulés à la surface de la fosse. Plus il y a d'espace entre la surface du fumier et les plaques, moins le risque d'inhalation des gaz est élevé.

Sécurité du travail à l'intérieur et à proximité des silos

  1. On doit être à l'affût des odeurs des gaz de silo et des vapeurs brun jaunâtre ou rougeâtre à l'intérieur ou à proximité du silo. Le gaz de silo est plus lourd que l'air et supplantera l'oxygène.
  2. Le pire danger associé au dioxyde d'azote dégagé par les produits d'ensilage survient dans les 12 à 60 heures suivant l'ensilage. On doit cependant éviter d'être exposé dans les dix jours suivant l'ensilage et lorsque l'on ouvre le silo pour l'alimentation animale.
  3. Si l'on détecte des gaz, éviter de pénétrer dans le silo pendant jusqu'à six semaines suivant l'interruption de l'ensilage.
  4. Les travailleurs doivent éviter de pénétrer dans un silo sans être munis d'un appareil respiratoire autonome et d'un harnais de sécurité attaché à un cordage de sécurité, particulièrement durant la période de formation des gaz. Les gaz peuvent se former pendant jusqu'à six semaines suivant l'ensilage.
  5. Lorsqu'un travailleur doit pénétrer dans un silo, quelqu'un doit se tenir à l'extérieur pour l'aider au besoin. Garder une trappe ouverte au niveau des produits d'ensilage.
  6. Afficher les mises en garde appropriées. Les silos hermétiques doivent être dotés d'un panneau avertissant les gens de l'absence d'oxygène. Il faut également avertir les gens de s'éloigner de ces endroits et d'y pénétrer seulement s'ils ont reçu une formation et portent l'équipement de protection individuelle approprié.

Contexte

1. Caractéristiques des gaz de fumier

Les quatre principaux gaz produits par la décomposition du fumier sont : l'hydrogène sulfuré, le méthane, l'ammoniaque et le dioxyde de carbone. En concentration élevée, chacun de ces gaz pose une menace immédiate à la vie ou à la santé de l'humain et du bétail.

Dans les refuges pour animaux, où la fosse à fumier est souvent située sous le plancher, on constate souvent une faible concentration de gaz de fumier. Lorsque les fosses sont agitées à des fins de pompage, une partie ou la totalité de ces gaz est dégagée et peut atteindre des niveaux toxiques ou supplanter l'oxygène, accroissant ainsi le risque à l'humain et au bétail.

Les principaux dangers associés à ces gaz sont : les réactions toxiques ou l'empoisonnement chez les personnes et les animaux, le manque d'oxygène menant à l'asphyxie et les explosions pouvant survenir lorsque l'oxygène se mêle aux gaz comme le méthane.

Hydrogène sulfuré

L'hydrogène sulfuré est considéré comme étant le sous-produit de la composition du fumier le plus dangereux. Il a une odeur particulière d'ouf couvi.

En faible concentration, l'hydrogène sulfuré irrite les yeux et les voies respiratoires et, en concentration modérée, il cause la céphalée, la nausée et des étourdissements. En concentration élevée, l'hydrogène sulfuré paralyse les cellules nerveuses du nez au point de devenir imperceptible.

L'hydrogène sulfuré est plus lourd que l'air et tend à se déposer au niveau inférieur d'une installation d'emmagasinage. Il peut rester une concentration élevée du gaz même après la ventilation.

Ammoniaque

L'ammoniaque a une odeur distincte, forte, pénétrante détectable même à faible concentration. Il est plus lourd que l'air et, en concentration modérée, il peut irriter les yeux et les voies respiratoires. En concentration élevée, il peut causer une ulcération des yeux et une irritation grave des voies respiratoires.

Dioxyde de carbone

Le dioxyde de carbone est un sous-produit de la décomposition du fumier et de la respiration du bétail. Il est plus lourd que l'air et difficile à détecter. Il remplace l'oxygène dans l'air et peut agir en tant qu'asphyxiant. En concentration modérée, il cause de l'essoufflement et des étourdissements.

Le dioxyde de carbone est un facteur contributif majeur des décès d'animaux logés dans des bâtiments mal ventilés.

Méthane

Le méthane est inodore et plus léger que l'air, par conséquent il a tendance à s'accumuler sur le dessus des fosses à fumier recouvertes. Il est considéré comme un asphyxiant à des concentrations extrêmement élevées. Le méthane est un gaz dangereux parce qu'il est inflammable et explosif. Il est extrêmement difficile à détecter sans instruments de détection de gaz, mais on doit s'attendre à ce qu'il soit présent dans toutes les aires d'emmagasinage du fumier.

2. Caractéristiques des gaz de silo

Les gaz de silo proviennent de la fermentation naturelle des produits d'ensilage broyés.

Divers gaz sont dégagés durant ce processus, mais le genre de silo servant à l'emmagasinage du fourrage détermine en grande partie quel gaz prédominera. Par exemple, dans les silos hermétiques, le dioxyde d'azote et le dioxyde de carbone sont créés, mais ce dernier est produit en plus grande quantité, ce qui est désirable, parce que les niveaux élevés de dioxyde de carbone contribuent à la production de produits d'ensilage de qualité.

En même temps, ce gaz inodore et sans couleur est dangereux. En effet, il remplace l'oxygène du silo et, en concentration élevée, il empêche la personne de se rendre compte qu'elle est sur le point de succomber. À cause de ce danger, les silos hermétiques sont conçus de sorte qu'il n'est pas nécessaire d'y pénétrer.

Dioxyde d'azote

Divers gaz se forment dans les silos conventionnels ou à dessus ouvert, mais le dioxyde d'azote est le plus abondant. Ce gaz hautement toxique est caractérisé par une odeur forte semblable à celle des agents de blanchiment et par des vapeurs basses de couleur jaune, rouge ou brun foncé.

Contrairement au dioxyde de carbone, le dioxyde d'azote atteint un niveau maximum environ trois jours après la récolte puis il commence rapidement à diminuer, particulièrement si le silo est ventilé. Deux semaines plus tard, il est peu probable que le gaz continue à se produire, bien qu'un certain danger persiste si le gaz n'a pu s'échapper du silo.

Le dioxyde d'azote est nuisible parce qu'il cause une irritation grave du nez et de la gorge et peut entraîner une inflammation des poumons. Par ailleurs, il est particulièrement dangereux parce que l'exposition de faible intensité cause très peu de douleur ou d'inconfort alors que le décès peut survenir immédiatement.

Un exploitant agricole peut respirer le gaz sans constater d'effets nocifs graves et mourir dans son sommeil quelques heures plus tard à cause de l'accumulation de liquide dans ses poumons.

En outre, de nombreuses victimes ont une rechute et présentent des symptômes semblables à ceux d'une pneumonie entre deux et six semaines après l'exposition initiale. Pour ces raisons, toute personne exposée à ce gaz, même pour une brève période, doit consulter immédiatement un médecin.

À l'instar du dioxyde de carbone, le dioxyde d'azote est plus lourd que l'air. À mesure qu'il est produit, il tend à s'accumuler au-dessus des produits d'ensilage et à se répandre dans la chute du silo et dans les salles d'alimentation adjacentes ou autres aires basses à proximité de la base du silo.

Le gaz peut même pénétrer dans l'étable et devenir emprisonné dans les coins, sous les chariots à aliments ou se déposer sur le plancher. Il pose donc une menace grave au bétail.

Pour un complément d'information sur les effets pour la santé des gaz de fumier et de silo, consulter le site Web du Centre canadien d'hygiène et de sécurité au travail (CCHST) à l'adresse www.cchst.ca.

précédent | suivant