• Issued: September 2005
  • Content last reviewed: June 2009

On February 28, 2005, the previous Minister of Labour, Christopher Bentley, announced the formation of a special ergonomics advisory panel to recommend ways to reduce musculoskeletal disorders in the manufacturing sector. The Sub-Committee continued its work under the direction of the current Minister of Labour, Steve Peters, subsequent to his appointment on June 29, 2005.

The panel was a Sub-Committee of the Manufacturing Panel of the Health and Safety Action Group. The Sub-Committee was chaired by the Minister's Parliamentary Assistant, MPP Kevin Flynn, and consisted of three labour and three employer members:

  • John Macnamara
    President
    Business Council on Occupational Health and Safety

  • Mark Nantais
    President
    Canadian Vehicle Manufacturers' Association

  • Maureen Shaw
    President and CEO
    Industrial Accident Prevention Association

    (Alternate: Ian Howcroft, Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters)

  • Nancy Hutchison
    District Six Safety, Health and Environment Co-ordinator
    United Steelworkers of America, Canadian National Office

  • Wayne Samuelson
    President
    The Ontario Federation of Labour

  • Cathy Walker
    National Health and Safety Director
    Canadian Auto Workers

    (Alternate: Cam Sherk, United Food and Commercial Workers) 4

The Sub-Committee met seven times, from March to September 2005. It examined a variety of means for reducing musculoskeletal disorders (MSD) in Ontario, including best practices, educational resources, policies and enforcement. Researchers and other experts in the field of ergonomics made presentations to the Sub-Committee (for more information, please refer to the presentations included in the report).

The following report to Minister Peters contains recommendations on strategies to reduce workrelated MSD in Ontario. Although the Sub-Committee focused on the manufacturing sector, many of the recommendations will have relevance for other sectors. September

Previous | Next

• Diffusion : septembre 2005
  • Dernière mise à jour : juin 2009

Le 28 février 2005, l'ancien ministre du Travail, Christopher Bentley, a annoncé la formation d'un comité consultatif spécial sur l'ergonomie chargé de recommander des moyens de réduire les troubles musculo-squelettiques dans le secteur de la fabrication. Ce sous-comité a poursuivi son travail sous la direction de l'actuel ministre du Travail, Steve Peters, après sa nomination le 29 juin 2005.

Le comité était un sous-comité du Comité du secteur de la fabrication du Groupe d'action pour la santé et la sécurité. Le Sous-comité d'ergonomie était présidé par l'adjoint parlementaire au ministre, le député provincial Kevin Flynn, et se composait de trois membres représentant les syndicats et de trois membres représentant les employeurs :

  • John Macnamara
    Président
    Business Council on Occupational Health and Safety
  • Mark Nantais
    Président
    Association canadienne des constructeurs de véhicules
  • Maureen Shaw
    Présidente et directrice générale
    Association pour la prévention des accidents industriels
    (remplaçant : Ian Howcroft, Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters)
  • Nancy Hutchison
    Coordonnatrice de la sécurité, de la santé et de l'environnement pour le district six
    Métallurgistes unis d'Amérique, bureau national du Canada
  • Wayne Samuelson
    Président
    Fédération du travail de l'Ontario
  • Cathy Walker
    Directrice nationale de la santé et de la sécurité
    Travailleurs et travailleuses canadien(ne)s de l'automobile
    (remplaçant : Cam Sherk, Union internationale des travailleurs et travailleuses unis de l'alimentation et du commerce)

Le Sous-comité s'est réuni sept fois, entre mars et septembre 2005. Il a examiné diverses options de réduction des troubles musculo-squelettiques en Ontario, en se penchant sur les meilleures pratiques, les ressources éducatives, les politiques et le respect des règles. Des chercheurs et d'autres experts du domaine de l'ergonomie ont fait des présentations devant le Sous-comité (pour de plus amples renseignements, voir les présentations jointes au rapport).

Le rapport à l'attention du ministre Peters contient des recommandations sur des stratégies de réduction des troubles musculo-squelettiques liés au travail en Ontario. Bien que le Sous-comité ait mis l'emphase sur le secteur de la fabrication, bon nombre de ses recommandations s'appliquent aussi à d'autres secteurs.

précédent | suivant