Print Print This Page

Fixed Access Ladders: Engineering Data Sheet 2–04

  • Revised: July 2014
  • Content last reviewed: July 2014

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

1. Introduction

Where a fixed access ladder is used, it is a good practice that the ladder should be designed, constructed, installed and maintained to ensure the health and safety of workers and should be capable of withstanding all loads to which they may be subjected.

This document sets out examples of good engineering practices related to the design and construction of fixed access ladders. When complying with Section 18 of Regulation 851, employers in industrial establishments may have regard to the following practices.

2. Definitions

For the purposes of this data sheet, the following terms shall be defined as:

Cage
A barrier, which may be referred to as a cage guard or basket guard, that is an enclosure mounted on the side rails of the fixed ladder or fastened to the structure to enclose the climbing space of the ladder in order to safeguard the employee climbing the ladder.
Landing
Any area such as the ground, roof, or a platform that provides access/egress for a fixed ladder.
Platform
A landing surface that is used as a working or standing location.
Power grip
The individual’s ability to wrap the fingers around an object and oppose the base of the thumb. In this grip, the force exerted by the fingers is approximately equal and opposite to that exerted by the thumb.

3. Engineering best practices

3.1 General

  • Structural design, including attachment methods should be performed by a Professional Engineer.
  • The minimum design live load imposed by persons should be two loads of 1.1 kN each concentrated between any two consecutive attachments. Each rung in the ladder should be designed for a single concentrated live load of 1.1 kN minimum.
  • Other loads, such as concentrated loads, loads due to ice, wind, rigging or impact, and dead loads, must be considered in the design.
  • The design of the ladder components shall use the following load factors using the Limit States Design Methodology in the Ontario Building Code:
    • Live Load Factor αL = 4.0, and
    • Dead Load Factor αD = 1.25
    If the ladder is supporting a fall arrest system, then the design of the fall arrest suspension cable should be capable of supporting at least ten times the maximum load to which it is likely to be subjected using Working Stress Methodology.
  • All parts and surfaces of fixed ladder installations must be free of sharp edges, burrs, or other details that may be hazardous to the person using the ladder.
  • Prevention of unauthorized access may be achieved only by methods which do not compromise the safety or structural integrity of the ladder. For example:
    1. A smooth panel may be locked over the lower rungs.
    2. The bottom portion of an installed ladder must not be cut off for security purposes.
  • Design, condition and surface finish of rungs and side rails should permit secure foothold and handhold. Avoid highly polished surfaces which may become slippery, especially when wet. Avoid designs having rungs with sloping upper surfaces (a condition which may occur when a step-ladder is converted into a fixed ladder).
  • Where access is required to Heating, Ventilating and Air Conditioning (HVAC) or other equipment mounted on a roof or slung under a ceiling, the building design should ensure safe means of access for service or other personnel.
  • Roof access hatches served by fixed ladders shall be at least 550 mm by 900 mm on buildings of more than 3 storeys where the slope of the roof is less than 1-in-4. (Requirement of Ontario Building Code (OBC) in Division A Compliance, Objectives and Functional Statements under clause 3.2.5.3(1)(b) of Part 3 Fire Protection, Occupant Safety and Accessibility)
  • When oversized clothing or equipment is anticipated (e.g., self-contained breathing apparatus), the ladder design should take such needs into consideration. However, dimensional extremes should be avoided to ensure that the ladder remains suitable for normal use.
  • Materials of construction should be compatible with intended conditions of use. For example:
    1. Aluminium ladders must not be used in caustic environments.
    2. Ladders made of dissimilar metals should be protected against deterioration due to galvanic or electrolytic corrosion.
    3. If wooden ladders are used, they should not be used in humid environments, or should be protected against deterioration from exposure to moisture.
  • If the distance from the top of a parapet to the roof-top exceeds one rung-space (i.e, max. 300 mm) a means of climbing to and from the top of the parapet should be provided.
  • Fixed ladders should not be located in areas where the atmosphere creates or contributes to unsafe conditions. For example:
    • where ice may build up or steam may condense on a ladder, or
    • where oil-or grease-laden air is present, such as cooking areas in commercial kitchens.

3.2 Rungs

  • The top of the uppermost rung of a ladder should be level with the top of the access/egress level or landing platform served by the ladder. Where there is a parapet, the access/egress level would be the roof if the parapet is cut to permit passage through the parapet. However, if the parapet is continuous, the access/egress level would be the top of the parapet.
  • Rungs should have a non-slip surface.
  • To accommodate functional or additional safety requirements, dimensions which exceed the minimum specified dimensions in Figures 1, 2, 3 and 4 may be used provided sizes are increased from the minimum specified sizes to maintain the same factor of safety. In the design example attached (Fig. 1, "Typical Steel Access Ladder"), increasing the inside clear width of rungs from 400 mm to 600 mm would require an increase in the rung diameter from 20 mm to 25 mm).

3.3 Side Rails

  • Any shape of side rail may be used that provides an uniform gripping surface for the hands of workers using the ladder, as long as the shape permits a power grip.
    1. Side rail shapes that do not permit a power grip should not be used.
    2. The same shape of side rails should be maintained for all ladders in the same length of climb.
  • The minimum size (cross-section) of side rails is dependent upon the material the side rails are construction from, and section properties adequate to support the design loads specified in section 4.2 and on the maximum spacing of supports specified in section 5.2.4 of the ANSI standard for fixed ladders.
    1. For different design loads or support spacing, the minimum size of side rails must be adjusted in accordance with good engineering practice.
    2. The same size (cross-section) of side rails should be maintained for all ladders in the same length of climb.
    3. The minimum size (cross-section) recommended for a steel ladder (subject to normal atmospheric exposures) is 10 mm × 65 mm solid flat-bar stock.
    4. For different materials the minimum recommended size must be adjusted in accordance with good engineering practice.
  • Where it is not practicable to have fixed extensions of side rails above a landing, equivalent provisions must be arranged. Extensions integrated into guardrails, telescoping side rails, extensions incorporated into roof hatches, etc., may be accepted by this Ministry. Post extensions are not considered acceptable.

3.4 Safety Cages

  • With an elevated access, a cage shall be provided where the top of the ladder is greater than 5 metres above ground level, roof or floor and where there is a danger of a worker falling from the ladder to the ground level, roof or floor, even if the length of the climb is less than 5 metres. (See Fig. 3 and 4. and also clause 18(1)(d) of Reg. 851)
    1. An elevated access from a platform having 1.2 metres clearance between the ladder and any adjacent guard or rail, may utilize a standard cage (as per (Figure 3).
    2. An elevated access from a platform having less than 1.2 metres clearance between the ladder and any adjacent guardrail should have a cage continuous with the guardrail on the side(s) with clearance less than 1.2 metres (Figure 4).
  • Cages should be provided with horizontal hoops or bands to help impede the fall of a worker.
  • Cages should not be less than 680 mm wide and should extend not less than 680 mm and not more than 760 mm from the centre-line of the rung (measured on the climbed side of the ladder, horizontally and perpendicular to the rung). These restrictions do not apply to the bottom flare of cages.
  • The inside of cages must be free of obstructions.
  • Cages must be designed to withstand all loads to which they may be subjected.

3.5 Attachments and Anchorages

  • Structural soundness of the wall, member or piece of equipment to which the ladder is to be attached must be confirmed by a competent person, prior to installation of the ladder.
  • Attachment method (e.g: through-bolting, anchoring, welding, etc.) must be rated for the intended structural service and for the type of wall, member or piece of equipment.
    1. Expansion anchors of all descriptions should be avoided with masonry walls, since anchor manufacturers' pull-out ratings are invariably given for poured concrete walls, and cannot be reliably attained in masonry walls.
    2. Through-bolted connections (or equivalent) should be used for masonry walls, and other walls for which there is no anchor manufacturers' pull-out rating. Generally, through-bolted connections should be used wherever practicable.
    3. Attachment and anchor bolts should have a minimum diameter of 12 mm.
    4. Maximum spacing of attachment points for a steel ladder with side rails should be 3 m. For different materials or extra loads, this maximum spacing should be adjusted in accordance with good engineering practice.
  • To provide an improved margin of safety, there should be two means of anchoring the top of the ladder. This may be accomplished by fastening the side rail extension above the top of the access/egress level to the structure, building or equipment.
  • Modifications to the attachment of the ladder to the structure, building or equipment should be approved by a Professional Engineer.

3.6 Platforms

  • Suitable platforms should be provided along a ladder where worker activity is anticipated and where lack of such a platform will incur significant additional hazard to workers. For example:
    1. At the top of a ladder on a tower or similar structure, where work of extended duration can be anticipated (such as gathering of emissions information), a work platform should be provided.
    2. On a roof access ladder, just under the roof hatch, where it can be anticipated that workers encumbered with tools and/or supplies need to unlock a roof hatch, a rest or landing platform should be provided.
  • Rest platforms (per sub-section 18 (1)(b) in section 4 below) may be used for this purpose, where practicable.
  • Minimum total depth of the platform (from climbed side of ladder to guardrail) should be 760 mm and the minimum width of the platform should be 760 mm.
  • Self-closing safety gates should be provided on platforms next to a ladder, whenever worker activity near the ladder can be foreseen.

4. Inspection

  • Fixed access ladder installations must be periodically inspected by a competent person for rust, corrosion and structural integrity, and must be maintained in a good condition, not likely to endanger any worker. These inspections should be conducted at least once per year.
  • Records of inspections and maintenance to fixed access ladder systems should be maintained.

5. Regulatory requirements

Section 19 of the Regulation for Industrial Establishments, O. Reg. 851/90 (“the regulation”) under the Occupational Health and Safety Act states:

  • Where frequent access is required to equipment elevated above or located below floor level, permanent platforms shall be provided with access by a fixed stair or access ladder.

Subsection 18(1) of the regulation states:

  • An access ladder fixed in position shall:
    • (a) be vertical;
    • (b) have rest platforms at not more than 9-metre intervals;
    • (c) be offset at each rest platform;
    • (d) where the ladder extends over 5 metres above grade, floor or landing, have a safety cage commencing not more than 2.2 metres above grade and continuing at least 90 centimetres above the top landing with openings to permit access by a worker to rest platforms or to the top landing;
    • (e) have side rails that extend 90 centimetres above the landing; and
    • (f) have rungs which are at least 15 centimetres from the wall and spaced at regular intervals.

Section 18 (2) of the regulation also states that:

  • Subsection (1) does not apply to an access ladder on a tower, water tank, chimney or similar structure which has a safety device which will provide protection should a worker using the ladder fall.

6. References

ANSI ASC A14.3 - 2008, American National Standard for Ladders, Fixed – Safety Requirements

USDOL – OSHA, 1910.27 Fixed Ladders

O.B.C. – 2006, Ontario Building Code

Figure 1: Typical steel access ladder
General arrangement – cage not required


Figure 1

Text description of figure 1

Return to top

Figure 2: Typical steel access ladder
General arrangement – cage required


Figure 2

Text description of figure 2

Return to top

Figure 3: Typical steel access ladder – elevated access
General arrangement – cage requirement for wide landings


Figure 3

Text description of figure 3

Return to top

Figure 4: Typical steel access ladder – elevated access
General arrangement – cage requirement for narrow landings


Figure 4

Text description of figure 4

Return to top

Disclaimer: Mention of any organization (other than the Ministry of Labour) or tool does not constitute endorsement by the Ministry of Labour (MOL). In addition, citations to Web sites external to MOL do not constitute MOL endorsement of the organizations or their programs or products as OHSA compliant. Furthermore, MOL is not responsible for the content of those Web sites or products.

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Échelles d'accès fixes : Fiche technique 2–04

  • Révision : juillet 2014
  • Dernière mise à jour : juillet 2014

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santè et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

1. Introduction

Lorsqu'on utilise une échelle d'accès fixe, il convient qu'elle soit conçue, construite, installée et entretenue de façon à protéger la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et qu'elle puisse supporter toutes les charges auxquelles elle est susceptible d'être soumise.

Le présent document contient des exemples de bonnes pratiques d'ingénierie en matière de conception et de construction des échelles d'accès fixes. Pour se conformer à l'article 18 du Règlement 851, les employeurs des établissements industriels pourraient tenir compte des pratiques indiquées ci-dessous.

2. Définitions

Pour les besoins de la présente fiche technique, les termes ci-dessous sont définis comme suit :

Cage
Barrière, qui peut être appelée enceinte de protection ou grille de protection, que l'on fixe aux montants de l'échelle fixe ou à la structure pour délimiter l'espace dans lequel l'employé escalade l'échelle afin de le protéger.
Palier
Toute surface, comme le sol, le toit ou une plate-forme, qui permet d'accéder à une échelle fixe ou de la quitter.
Plate-forme
Surface qui sert d'emplacement de travail ou de repos.
Prise de force
Capacité d'une personne d'enrouler ses doigts autour d'un objet en opposition à la base de son pouce. Dans le cas d'une telle prise, la force qu'exercent les doigts est opposée et pratiquement égale à celle qu'exerce le pouce.

3. Pratiques d'ingénierie exemplaires

3.1 Généralités

  • La conception structurelle, y compris les méthodes de fixation, doit être exécutée par un ingénieur.
  • La surcharge de calcul minimale exercée par des personnes doit correspondre à deux charges de 1,1 kN chacune concentrées entre deux fixations consécutives. Chaque barreau de l'échelle doit être conçu pour pouvoir supporter une surcharge concentrée unique d'au moins 1,1 kN.
  • Dans le cadre de la conception, il faut tenir compte d'autres charges, comme les charges concentrées, les charges attribuables à la glace, au vent, au câblage ou aux impacts, ainsi que les charges permanentes.
  • La conception des composants de l'échelle doit tenir compte des facteurs de charge ci-dessous, à l'aide de la méthode de calcul aux états limites du code du bâtiment de l'Ontario.
    • Facteur de surcharge αL = 4,0
    • Facteur de charge permanente αD = 1,25
    Si l'échelle supporte un dispositif antichute, le câble de suspension de ce dispositif doit être conçu de manière à pouvoir supporter au moins dix fois la charge maximale à laquelle il est susceptible d'être soumis, à l'aide de la méthode de calcul aux contraintes admissibles.
  • Les pièces et les surfaces d'une échelle fixe doivent être exemptes de bords tranchants, de bavures et d'autres éléments pouvant être dangereux pour l'utilisateur.
  • Les méthodes utilisées pour prévenir l'accès non autorisé à l'échelle ne doivent pas compromettre la sécurité ni l'intégrité structurale de celle-ci. Par exemple :
    1. on peut fixer un panneau lisse par-dessus les barreaux inférieurs;
    2. pour des raisons de sécurité, on ne doit pas couper la partie inférieure de l'échelle.
  • La conception, l'état et la surface des barreaux et des montants doivent permettre une prise solide des mains et des pieds. Il faut éviter les surfaces trop polies, car elles peuvent être glissantes, surtout lorsqu'elles sont mouillées. De plus, il faut éviter les échelles dont la surface supérieure des barreaux est inclinée (ce qui peut être le cas d'un escabeau qui a été transformé en échelle fixe).
  • S'il faut accéder à du matériel de chauffage, de ventilation et de climatisation ou à un autre type de matériel installé sur le toit ou au plafond, l'immeuble doit être conçu de manière à fournir un mode d'accès sûr au personnel d'entretien ou autre.
  • Dans les immeubles de plus de trois étages, les trappes qui donnent accès au toit à partir d'échelles fixes doivent mesurer au moins 550 x 900 mm aux endroits où la pente du toit est inférieure à 1:4. (Exigence énoncée à l'alinéa 3.2.5.3 (1) (b) de la partie 3 – Fire Protection, Occupant Safety and Accessibility [protection contre le feu, sécurité des occupants et accessibilité] de la division A – Compliance, Objectives and Functional Statements [conformité, objectifs et énoncés fonctionnels] du code du bâtiment de l'Ontario).
  • Si l'on prévoit que les utilisateurs de l'échelle porteront des vêtements très amples ou utiliseront du matériel surdimensionné (p. ex., un appareil de protection respiratoire autonome), il faut en tenir compte dans le cadre de la conception de l'échelle. Toutefois, il faut éviter de donner à l'échelle des dimensions excessives afin qu'elle demeure adaptée à un usage courant.
  • Les matériaux constitutifs de l'échelle doivent être compatibles avec les conditions d'utilisation prévues. Ainsi :
    1. on ne doit utiliser aucune échelle en aluminium dans un milieu corrosif;
    2. on doit protéger les échelles qui sont composées de différents métaux contre la détérioration attribuable à la corrosion galvanique ou électrolytique;
    3. on ne doit utiliser aucune échelle en bois dans un milieu humide, sauf si on la protège contre la détérioration causée par l'humidité.
  • Si la distance entre le dessus d'un parapet et le toit est supérieure à la distance entre deux barreaux (soit une distance d'au plus 300 mm), il faut fournir un moyen de grimper sur le parapet et de descendre sur le toit depuis le parapet.
  • Il faut éviter de placer une échelle fixe dans un endroit où les conditions atmosphériques posent un danger ou contribuent à une telle situation. Par exemple, dans un endroit où :
    1. de la glace peut se former ou de la vapeur peut se condenser sur l'échelle;
    2. l'air est chargé d'huile ou de graisse, comme les aires de cuisson d'une cuisine commerciale.

3.2 Barreaux

  • Le dessus du barreau le plus élevé de l'échelle doit être de niveau avec le dessus du palier d'accès / de sortie ou de la plate-forme auquel l'échelle donne accès. En présence d'un parapet, le palier d'accès / de sortie se trouve au niveau du toit si une ouverture a été pratiquée dans le parapet. Toutefois, si aucune ouverture n'a été pratiquée dans le parapet, le palier d'accès / de sortie se trouve de niveau avec le dessus du parapet.
  • La surface des barreaux doit être antidérapante.
  • Pour répondre à des exigences fonctionnelles ou à d'autres exigences de sécurité, on peut utiliser des dimensions supérieures aux dimensions minimales indiquées dans les illustrations 1, 2, 3 et 4, pourvu que cela ne modifie pas le coefficient de sécurité. Dans l'illustration 1 ci-jointe (« Échelle d'accès type en acier »), si l'on fait passer de 400 à 600 mm la largeur libre intérieure des barreaux, il faut faire passer leur diamètre de 20 à 25 mm.

3.3 Montants

  • Il n'y a aucune restriction quant à la forme des montants, pourvu que leur surface de prise manuelle soit uniforme et que les travailleurs qui utilisent l'échelle puissent effectuer une prise de force.
    1. Il faut éviter d'utiliser des montants qui, en raison de leur forme, ne permettent pas d'effectuer une prise de force.
    2. Il faut utiliser des montants de forme identique pour toutes les échelles faisant partie d'un même tronçon de montée.
  • Les dimensions minimales (section) des montants dépendent du matériau constitutif de ces derniers, des propriétés de section permettant de supporter les charges de calcul prévues à l'article 4.2 de la norme ANSI relative aux échelles fixes ainsi que de l'espacement maximal des supports prévu à l'article 5.2.4 de cette norme.
    1. Si les charges de calcul ou l'espacement des supports diffèrent de ce qui est indiqué dans la norme ANSI, il faut modifier les dimensions minimales recommandées pour les montants conformément aux bonnes pratiques d'ingénierie.
    2. Les dimensions (section) des montants doivent être les mêmes pour toutes les échelles faisant partie d'un même tronçon de montée.
    3. Il est recommandé que les montants d'une échelle en acier (soumise à une exposition atmosphérique normale) soient fabriqués en acier plat plein et mesurent au moins 10 × 65 mm (section).
    4. Si l'échelle est faite d'un matériau autre que l'acier, il faut modifier les dimensions minimales recommandées conformément aux bonnes pratiques d'ingénierie.
  • Lorsqu'il est impossible de prolonger les montants au-dessus d'un palier et de les fixer en place, on doit prendre des mesures de remplacement équivalentes. Le ministère peut accepter les rallonges intégrées aux garde-corps et aux trappes d'accès au toit, les montants télescopiques, etc. Il est interdit de prolonger un montant central.

3.4 Cages de protection

  • Dans le cas d'un accès surélevé, il faut aménager une cage de protection si le haut de l'échelle se trouve à plus de 5 mètres au-dessus du sol, du toit ou du plancher; il faut également aménager une telle cage si un travailleur risque de tomber sur le sol, le toit ou le plancher depuis l'échelle, même si la distance de montée est inférieure à 5 mètres. (Voir les illustrations 3 et 4 et l'alinéa 18 (1) (d) du Règlement 851.)
    1. Dans le cas d'un accès surélevé à partir d'une plate-forme où l'espace entre l'échelle et le garde-corps ou le montant adjacent est de 1,2 mètre ou plus, on peut utiliser une cage de protection standard (comme indiqué dans l'illustration 3).
    2. Dans le cas d'un accès surélevé à partir d'une plate-forme où l'espace entre l'échelle et le garde-corps adjacent est inférieur à 1,2 mètre, la cage de protection doit être contiguë au garde-corps sur le ou les côtés où l'espace est inférieur à 1,2 mètre (voir l'illustration 4).
  • Pour pouvoir ralentir la chute d'un travailleur, une cage de protection doit être munie de bandes ou de cerceaux horizontaux.
  • Une cage de protection doit mesurer au moins 680 mm de largeur et se prolonger d'au moins 680 mm et d'au plus 760 mm à partir de l'axe du barreau (cette mesure étant prise du côté où l'on monte dans l'échelle, à l'horizontale et perpendiculairement au barreau). Cependant, ces restrictions ne s'appliquent pas à la partie évasée au bas de la cage.
  • L'intérieur d'une cage doit être exempt d'obstructions.
  • Une cage de protection doit être conçue de manière à pouvoir supporter toutes les charges auxquelles elle est susceptible d'être soumise.

3.5 Fixations et ancrages

  • L'intégrité structurale du mur, de l'élément ou de la pièce d'équipement auquel ou à laquelle l'échelle sera fixée doit être confirmée par une personne compétente avant l'installation de l'échelle.
  • La méthode de fixation (p. ex. assemblage à l'aide de boulons, ancrage, soudure, etc.) doit être approuvée en tenant compte des conditions structurelles prévues et du type de mur, d'élément ou de pièce d'équipement.
    1. Il faut éviter d'installer des coquilles d'expansion de quelque type que ce soit dans les murs en maçonnerie, car la cote d'arrachement indiquée par les fabricants de pièces d'ancrage s'applique invariablement aux murs de béton coulé et ne peut être atteinte de façon fiable si les pièces sont placées dans des murs en maçonnerie.
    2. Il faut utiliser des boulons d'assemblage (ou l'équivalent) dans les murs en maçonnerie et dans tout autre mur pour lequel le fabricant de pièces d'ancrage n'indique pas de cote d'arrachement. En règle générale, on devrait utiliser ce type de boulons chaque fois que cela s'avère faisable.
    3. Les boulons de fixation et d'ancrage devraient mesurer au moins 12 mm de diamètre.
    4. Les points de fixation d'une échelle en acier munie de montants doivent être espacés d'au plus 3 mètres. Toutefois, si l'échelle est faite d'un matériau autre que l'acier ou si elle est soumise à des charges supplémentaires, il faut modifier cet espacement conformément aux bonnes pratiques d'ingénierie.
  • Pour une sécurité accrue, il faut pouvoir ancrer la partie supérieure de l'échelle de deux façons. On peut y arriver en fixant la partie des montants qui se prolonge au-delà du palier d'accès / de sortie qui dessert la structure, le bâtiment ou le matériel.
  • Toute modification apportée à la fixation de l'échelle à la structure, au bâtiment ou au matériel doit être approuvée par un ingénieur.

3.6 Plates-formes

  • Il faut installer des plates-formes adéquates le long d'une échelle, aux endroits où l'on prévoit que des travaux auront lieu et là où l'absence de telles plates-formes posera un risque supplémentaire pour les travailleurs. Ainsi :
    • il faut installer une plate-forme de travail au haut d'une échelle placée contre une tour ou une structure semblable si l'on prévoit effectuer de longs travaux (p. ex., la collecte de données sur les émissions);
    • il faut installer une plate-forme de repos ou un palier le long d'une échelle donnant accès au toit, tout juste sous la trappe d'accès, si l'on prévoit que les travailleurs en auront besoin pour déposer leurs outils et (ou) leurs fournitures avant de déverrouiller la trappe.
  • À cette fin, on peut installer des plates-formes de repos conformément à l'alinéa 18 (1) (b) présenté au point 5 ci-dessous, lorsque cela s'avère possible.
  • Une plate-forme doit avoir une profondeur totale (mesurée du côté où l'on monte dans l'échelle jusqu'au garde-corps) d'au moins 760 mm et il en est de même de sa largeur.
  • Il faut installer des barrières de sécurité à fermeture automatique sur les plates-formes installées le long d'une échelle, lorsqu'on prévoit que des travaux auront lieu à proximité de celle-ci.

4. Inspection

  • Une personne compétente doit inspecter périodiquement les échelles d'accès fixes pour s'assurer qu'elles ne sont pas rouillées et que leur intégrité structurelle n'a pas été compromise. De plus, il faut maintenir celles-ci en bon état afin qu'elles ne mettent pas en péril la sécurité des travailleurs. Ces inspections doivent avoir lieu au moins une fois par année.
  • Il faut documenter l'inspection et l'entretien des échelles d'accès fixes.

5. Exigences réglementaires

En vertu de l'article 19 du Règlement de l'Ontario 851 (« le règlement ») sur les établissements industriels, pris en application de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail :

  • s’il est nécessaire d’accéder fréquemment à du matériel situé au-dessus ou au-dessous du niveau du sol, il faut installer des plates-formes permanentes auxquelles on accède soit par un escalier fixe, soit par une échelle d’accès fixe.

Le paragraphe 18 (1) du règlement précise que :

  • toute échelle d’accès fixe doit réunir les conditions suivantes :
    • (a) elle est verticale,
    • (b) elle est munie d’une plate-forme de repos au moins tous les neuf mètres,
    • (c) elle est décalée à chaque plate-forme de repos,
    • (d) si elle dépasse de plus de cinq mètres le niveau du sol, du plancher ou du palier, elle comprend une cage de sécurité qui commence à 2,2 mètres au plus au-dessus du niveau du sol, du plancher ou du palier et se continue jusqu’à 90 centimètres au moins au-dessus du palier supérieur et qui comporte des ouvertures permettant au travailleur d’accéder aux plates-formes de repos ou au palier supérieur,
    • (e) ses montants dépassent le palier de 90 centimètres,
    • (f) elle comporte un espace libre d’au moins 15 centimètres entre les barreaux et le mur, les barreaux étant espacés à intervalles réguliers.

De plus, le paragraphe 18 (2) du règlement précise que :

  • le paragraphe (1) ne s’applique pas à l’échelle d’accès fixée sur une tour, un réservoir d’eau, une cheminée ou une structure similaire muni d’un dispositif de sécurité pour protéger le travailleur en cas de chute.

6. Références

ANSI ASC A14.3-2008, America National Standard for Ladders, Fixed - Safety Requirements

Département du travail des États-Unis - OSHA, Norme relative aux échelles fixes (norme 1910.27)

CBO - 2006, Code du bâtiment de l'Ontario

Illustration 1 : Échelle d'accès type en acier
Disposition générale : cage non requise

Illustration 1

Description textuelle de l'illustration 1

Retour en haut

Illustration 2 : Échelle d'accès type en acier
Disposition générale : cage requise

Illustration 2

Description textuelle de l'illustration 2

Retour en haut

Illustration 3 : Échelle d'accès type en acier-accès surélevé
Disposition générale : cage requise pour paliers larges

Illustration 3

Description textuelle de l'illustration 3

Retour en haut

Illustration 4 : Échelle d'accès type en acier - accès surélevé
Disposition générale : cage requise pour paliers étroits

Illustration 4

Description textuelle de l'illustration 4

Retour en haut

Avis de non-responsabilité : Les références à des organismes (autres que le ministère du Travail) ou à des outils ne signifient pas que le ministère du Travail (MTR) les approuve. En outre, les références à des sites Web externes au MTR ne signifient pas que le MTR entérine ces organismes ou leurs programmes ou produits comme étant conformes à la LSST. De plus, le MTR n'assume aucune responsabilité en ce qui concerne le contenu de ces sites Web ou ces produits.

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.