Table of Contents | Print  Print This Page

Appendix A: Constructor Guideline

Constructor’s Duties under the Occupational Health and Safety Act,
R.S.O. 1990, c. O.1

The following chart sets out a summary of the duties of a constructor. While efforts have been made to ensure accuracy and completeness, the chart is intended for general guidance and assistance only. It does not constitute legal advice and does not replace the legislative provisions. In the event of any inconsistency between the chart and the Occupational Health and Safety Act and applicable regulations, the latter prevails. For the purpose of determining the precise duties of a constructor, reference should always be made to the official volumes of the Occupational Health and Safety Act and applicable regulations.

Duty Section of Act
To cause the workers to select at least one health and safety representative at a project or other workplace where no committee is required under section 9 and where the number of workers regularly exceeds five. 8(1)
To agree upon a schedule of health and safety inspections, allowing the health and safety representative to inspect the physical conditions of the workplace at least once a year, inspecting part of the workplace each month--if a health and safety inspection cannot be completed at least once a month. 8(8)
To provide a health and safety representative with information and assistance as the member may require for the purpose of carrying out an inspection of the workplace. 8(9)
To respond in writing within 21 days to written recommendations from a health and safety representative (H&S Rep) based on a worksite health and safety inspection. 8(12)
To ensure that the written response required in section 8(12) contains a timetable for the implementation of the recommendations that the constructor agrees with, and an explanation for the recommendations he/she does not agree with. 8(13)
To cause the selection and maintenance of a Joint Health and Safety Committee (JHSC) for a workplace where and as required 9(3)and 9(4)
To select the members of the JHSC that exercise managerial functions and, to the extent possible, do so at the workplace 9(9)
To ensure that at least one of the JHSC members representing Management and at least one of the members representing workers are certified when the project has 50 or more workers that are regularly employed and is expected to last more than three months. 9(12)(13)
If there is more than one certified JHSC member representing Management, the constructor shall designate one or more of them who then becomes solely entitled to exercise the rights and required to perform the duties under this Act, of a certified member representing a constructor. 9(16)
If a certified member resigns from the JHSC or is unable to act in his or her functions, the constructor shall take all steps necessary to ensure that the requirements for certified members are met. 9(17)
The constructor is to provide the JHSC with the following information upon request;
  1. (i) the identification of potential or existing hazards of materials, processes or equipment, and
  2. (ii) health and safety experience and work practices and standards in similar or other industries of which the constructor has knowledge.
9(18)(d)
Provide the JHSC with any information concerning the conducting or taking of tests of any equipment, machine, device, article, thing, material or biological, chemical or physical agent in or about a workplace, and consult with the JHSC and have them represent the workers and be present while such testing is conducted 9(18)(e) & 9(18)(f)
A constructor who receives written recommendations from the JHSC must respond within 21 days 9(20)
The constructor will ensure that the written response required in section 9(20), contains a timetable for the implementation of the recommendations that the constructor agrees with, and an explanation for the recommendations the constructor does not approve of. 9(21)
The constructor will provide the JHSC member with any information required for them to perform their workplace inspections 9(29)
The constructor is responsible for posting the names and work locations of all JHSC members in a conspicuous location where they will come to the attention of most workers 9(32)
The constructor is responsible for consulting with a JHSC member, or health and safety rep, regarding proposed testing strategies for investigating industrial hygiene in workplaces; and providing the representative with information on these strategies. 11(1) & 11(2)
The constructor shall ensure, on a project undertaken by the constructor that,
  1. (a) the measures and procedures prescribed by this Act and the regulations are carried out on the project;
  2. (b) every employer and worker performing work on the project complies with this Act and the regulations; and
  3. (c) the health and safety of workers on the project is protected.
23(1)
Where so prescribed, a constructor shall, before commencing any work on a project, give to a Director notice in writing of the project containing the presribed information. 23(2)
The constructor for a project shall ensure that each prospective contractor and subcontractor for the project has received a copy of the list of designated substances that are present on the job site, before the prospective contractor or subcontractor enters into a binding contract. 30(4)
If certified members of the JHSC determine that a dangerous circumstance exists and direct the constructor to stop work or stop the use of the equipment, machine or thing, the constructor must immediately comply with this request in a manner that will not endanger a person. (Bilateral work stoppage) 45(5)
After taking steps to remedy the dangerous circumstances, the constructor may request the certified members or an MOL inspector to cancel the direction 45(7)
The constructor must comply immediately with a direction from a certified member to sop work or stop the use of any equipment, machine or thing if the certified member finds that dangerous circumstances exist and ensure that compliance is effected in a way that does not endanger a person 47(3)
After complying with the direction, the constructor must promptly investigate the matter in the presence of the certified member 47(4)
The constructor shall notify an inspector, JHSC/health and safety rep, and trade union (if any), where a person is killed or critically injured from any cause at a workplace. This is to be done immediately by telephone, or other direct means. 51(1)
Where a notice or report is not required under section 51 or 52, the constructor who has an accident, explosion, fire, flood, failure of any equipment or machine, cave-in, or other incident as prescribed occur at a project site, shall within two days provide notice in writing of the occurrence to a Director, committee, health and safety rep and trade union (if any). 53
If required in writing by an inspector, the constructor is to provide a report bearing the seal and signature of a professional engineer stating,
  1. (i) load limits of a floor, roof or temporary work or part of a building, structure or temporary work,
  2. (ii) that a floor, roof or temporary work is capable of supporting or withstanding the loads being applied to it or likely to be applied to it, or
  3. (iii) that a floor, roof or temporary work, or part of a building, structure or temporary work is capable of supporting or withstanding all loads to which it may be subjected without causing the materials to be stressed beyond the allowable unit stresses established under the Building Code Act or established by regulation.
54(1)(M)
Where an inspector makes an inspection under the powers conferred by the Act, the constructor shall afford a JHSC member, a health and safety representative or a knowlegeable worker selected by the trade union(s), an opportunity to accompany an inspector during his/her physical inspection of the workplace or parts thereof. 54(3)
Where an inspector finds a contravention of the Act or the regulations, he or she may order the constructor (among others) to comply with the provision and may require the order to be carried out (forthwith, or within the specified time frame). Failure to comply with an order constitutes an offence 57(1), 66
To post a copy or copies of orders or reports issued by an Inspector in a conspicuous place at the workplace where it is most likely to come to the attention of the workers and shall provide the JHSC or health and safety rep. with a copy; and if the order resulted from a complaint of a contravention of the Act or regulations, provide a copy of it to the person who made the complaint if the complainant requests it. 57(10)
Where an order has been made under section 57(6)(c), not allow a worker to enter the workplace except for the purpose of doing the work necessary or required to remove the danger or hazard and only where the worker is protected from the danger or hazard. 58
To submit a notice of compliance to the Ministry within three days of receiving an order, if the constructor believes compliance with the inspector’s order has been achieved. 59(1)
The constructor shall sign the notice and ensure the following information accompanies it,
  1. (a) a statement of agreement or disagreement with the contents of the notice, signed by a member of the JHSC or by a health and safety representative, or
  2. (b) a statement that the member or representative has declined to sign the statement.
59(2)
The constructor must post the notice and the order for a period of fourteen days following its submission to the Ministry in a place or places in the workplace where it is most likely to come to the attention of workers. 59(3)

Previous | Next

• ISBN: 978-1-4249-6193-1
  • Diffusion : mars 2009
  • Dernière mise à jour : juin 2009

Le tableau ci-dessous résume les devoirs d'un constructeur. Malgré les efforts fournis pour assurer leur exactitude et leur exhaustivité, le tableau ne sert qu'à donner un aperçu général et à guider le lecteur. Il ne constitue nullement des conseils juridiques et ne remplace pas les dispositions législatives. En cas de divergence entre le tableau et la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements applicables, la Loi et les règlements l'emportent. Lorsqu'il s'agit de déterminer exactement les devoirs d'un constructeur, il faut toujours consulter les textes officiels de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et des règlements applicables.

Devoir Extrait de la Loi
Faire choisir par les travailleurs au moins un délégué à la santé et à la sécurité sur un chantier ou dans un autre lieu de travail pour lesquels l’article 9 ne prévoit pas de comité, mais où le nombre de travailleurs est régulièrement supérieur à cinq. 8(1)
Convenir d'un calendrier pour permettre au délégué à la santé et à la sécurité d'inspecter, au moins une fois par mois, les conditions matérielles qui existent dans le lieu de travail, ou, si ce n'est pas possible, d'inspecter, au moins une fois par année, les conditions matérielles du lieu de travail et, chaque mois, au moins une partie du lieu de travail. 8(8)
Fournir au délégué à la santé et à la sécurité les renseignements et l’aide dont il peut avoir besoin pour inspecter le lieu de travail. 8(9)
Répondre par écrit dans les vingt et un jours qui suivent la réception des recommandations écrites du délégué à la santé et à la sécurité résultant de l'inspection. 8(12)
Veiller à ce que la réponse écrite prévue au paragraphe 8(12) inclue un délai de mise en œuvre des recommandations acceptées et justifier le refus dans le cas des autres recommandations. 8(13)
Assurer la création et le fonctionnement d'un comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (CMSS) pour un lieu de travail, suivant ce qui est prescrit. 9(3) et 9(4)
Choisir les membres du CMSS parmi les personnes qui exercent des fonctions de direction et, dans la mesure du possible, dans le lieu de travail même. 9(9)
Veiller à ce que, parmi les membres du CMSS, au moins un membre représentant la direction et au moins un membre représentant les travailleurs soient membres agréés lorsqu'au moins cinquante travailleurs sont régulièrement employés dans un chantier d’une durée prévue d'au moins trois mois. 9(12) et 9(13)
S’il existe parmi les membres représentant la direction plus d’un membre agréé, le constructeur désigne parmi eux un ou plusieurs membres agréés qui sont dès lors les seuls habilités à exercer les droits et les seuls tenus à exercer les fonctions de membre agréé représentant le constructeur que leur confère la présente loi. 9(16)
En cas de démission ou d’empêchement d’un membre agréé, le constructeur doit prendre toutes les mesures nécessaires pour que les exigences relatives aux membres agréés soient remplies. 9(17)
Le constructeur doit fournir au CMSS les renseignements suivants sur demande :
  1. (i) la façon dont sont signalés les risques éventuels ou réels que présentent des matériaux, des procédés ou du matériel
  2. (ii) l’expérience, les méthodes de travail et les normes en matière de santé et de sécurité qui existent dans des industries, similaires ou non, et dont le constructeur a connaissance.
9(18)(d)
Fournir au CMSS tous les renseignements sur la réalisation d’essais sur le matériel, une machine, un appareil, un article, un objet, un matériau ou un agent biologique, chimique ou physique qui se trouvent dans le lieu de travail ou près de celui-ci, consulter le CMSS, et le faire assister à ces essais en tant que représentant des travailleurs. 9(18)(e) et 9(18)(f)
Le constructeur qui reçoit les recommandations écrites du comité lui répond par écrit dans les 21 jours qui suivent. 9(20)
Le constructeur doit s'assurer que la réponse visée au paragraphe 9(20) inclut un délai de mise en œuvre des recommandations qu’il accepte et justifie son refus dans le cas des recommandations qu’il n’accepte pas. 9(21)
Le constructeur doit fournir au membre du CMSS les renseignements et l’aide dont il peut avoir besoin pour inspecter le lieu de travail. 9(29)
Le constructeur est responsable de l'affichage du nom et du lieu d’emploi des membres du comité à un endroit bien en vue du lieu de travail où les travailleurs sont le plus susceptibles d’en prendre connaissance. 9(32)
Le constructeur est responsable de consulter un membre du CMSS ou le délégué à la santé et à la sécurité sur les programmes d’essais qui sont projetés en vue d’examiner les conditions d’hygiène du travail dans le lieu de travail et de lui fournir les renseignements sur ces programmes d’essais. 11(1) et 11(2)

Sur le chantier qu’il a entrepris, le constructeur veille à ce que :

  1. a) les mesures et les méthodes prescrites par la présente loi et les règlements soient observées;
  2. b) les employeurs et les travailleurs qui exécutent un travail se conforment à la présente loi et aux règlements;
  3. c) la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs soient protégées.
23(1)
Avant d’entreprendre des travaux sur un chantier, le constructeur donne à un directeur, si cela est prescrit, un préavis écrit comprenant les renseignements qui peuvent être prescrits. 23(2)
Le constructeur du chantier veille à ce que tous les entrepreneurs ou sous-traitants éventuels du chantier aient reçu une copie de la liste des substances désignées présentes sur le chantier avant qu’ils ne concluent un contrat exécutoire portant sur l’exécution de travaux dans le cadre du chantier. 30(4)
Si des membres agréés du CMSS constatent que des circonstances dangereuses existent et enjoignent au constructeur d’arrêter le travail ou d’arrêter l’utilisation de tout matériel, de toute machine ou de tout objet, le constructeur doit se conformer immédiatement à la directive de façon à ne mettre personne en danger. (Arrêt de travail par directive bilatérale) 45(5)
Après avoir pris les mesures nécessaires pour éliminer les circonstances dangereuses, le constructeur peut demander aux membres agréés ou à l’inspecteur du MTR d’annuler la directive. 45(7)
Le constructeur doit se conformer immédiatement à la directive d'un membre agréé d’arrêter l’utilisation de toute partie d’un lieu de travail ou de tout matériel, de toute machine, de tout appareil, article ou objet s’il constate que des circonstances dangereuses existent, et doit veiller à ce que l’exécution de la directive ne mette personne en danger. 47(3)
Après s’être conformé à la directive, le constructeur ou l’employeur fait enquête sans tarder en présence du membre agréé. 47(4)
Si une personne est tuée ou gravement blessée de quelque façon que ce soit dans le lieu de travail, le constructeur en avise immédiatement un inspecteur et le CMSS, le délégué à la santé et à la sécurité et le syndicat, le cas échéant, par téléphone ou par un autre moyen de communication directe. 51(1)
Si l’avis ou le rapport n’est pas exigé aux termes de l’article 51 ou 52, et qu’un accident, une explosion, un incendie, une inondation, une panne de matériel ou de machine, un effondrement ou un autre événement prescrit survient sur un chantier, le constructeur, dans les deux jours qui suivent, en avise par écrit un directeur et le comité, le délégué à la santé et à la sécurité et le syndicat, le cas échéant. 53
Si un inspecteur l'exige par écrit, le constructeur doit fournir, à ses frais, un rapport, portant le sceau et la signature d’un ingénieur, qui certifie :
  1. (i) la charge limite d’un plancher, d’un toit, d’un ouvrage temporaire ou d’une partie d’un bâtiment, d’une structure ou d’un ouvrage temporaire;
  2. (ii) qu’un plancher, un toit ou un ouvrage temporaire peuvent supporter les charges placées ou susceptibles d’être placées sur leurs surfaces ou résister à de telles charges;
  3. (iii) qu’un plancher, un toit ou un ouvrage temporaire, ou une partie d’un bâtiment, d’une structure ou d’un ouvrage temporaire, peuvent supporter les charges placées sur leurs surfaces ou y résister, sans que les contraintes appliquées aux matériaux qui les composent soient supérieures aux taux de contrainte admissibles fixés par la Loi sur le code du bâtiment ou par règlement.
54(1)(m)
Si l’inspecteur examine un lieu de travail en vertu des pouvoirs que lui confère la Loi, le constructeur accorde à un membre du CMSS, à un délégué à la santé et à la sécurité ou à un travailleur choisi par un ou plusieurs syndicats pour les représenter à cause de ses connaissances, la possibilité d’accompagner l’inspecteur pendant son examen des conditions matérielles qui existent dans l’ensemble ou une ou plusieurs parties du lieu de travail. 54(3)
Si un inspecteur conclut qu’une disposition de la présente loi ou des règlements est enfreinte, il peut ordonner au constructeur (parmi d'autres) de se conformer à la disposition. Il peut exiger que son ordre soit exécuté sans délai ou dans le délai qu’il fixe. L'omission de respecter un ordre constitue une infraction. 57(1), 66
Faire afficher une ou plusieurs copies à un ou plusieurs endroits bien en vue du lieu de travail où les travailleurs sont le plus susceptibles d’en prendre connaissance et en remettre une copie au délégué à la santé et à la sécurité ou au CMSS, le cas échéant; si l’ordre ou le rapport fait suite à une plainte concernant une contravention à la présente loi ou aux règlements et que l’auteur de la plainte en demande une copie, lui en remettre une. 57(10)
Si un ordre est donné en vertu de l’alinéa 57(6) c), ne pas permettre qu’un travailleur entre dans le lieu de travail sauf pour y exécuter un travail nécessaire à l’élimination du danger ou du risque présent et seulement si le travailleur est à l’abri de ce danger ou de ce risque. 58
Présenter au ministère un avis d’exécution dans les trois jours suivant la date de réception de l'ordre d'un inspecteur, si le constructeur croit l'avoir exécuté. 59(1)
Le constructeur doit signer l'avis et y joindre les pièces suivantes :
  1. a) une déclaration signée par le membre du CMSS ou par le délégué à la santé et à la sécurité, selon le cas, indiquant l’accord ou le désaccord du signataire avec le contenu de l’avis;
  2. b) une déclaration indiquant que le membre ou le délégué en question a refusé de signer la déclaration.
59(2)
Le constructeur doit afficher l'avis et l’ordre pendant quatorze jours après avoir présenté l’avis au ministère dans un ou plusieurs endroits du lieu de travail où les travailleurs sont le plus susceptibles d’en prendre connaissance. 59(3)

précédent | suivant