Table of Contents | Print This Page

Frequently Asked Questions: Constructor Guideline

  • ISBN: 978-1-4249-6190-0
  • Revised: March 2009
  • Content last reviewed: June 2009

Who is a constructor?

The intent of the Occupational Health and Safety Act is to have one person with overall authority for health and safety matters on a project. This person is the constructor of the project.

Section 1 of the Act defines “constructor” as “a person who undertakes a project for an owner and includes an owner who undertakes all or part of a project by himself or by more than one employer”. The dictionary definition for “undertake” is “make oneself responsible for”, which means a constructor is a person who is responsible for a project. The definition of “employer” in section 1 of the Act includes contractors and subcontractors. “Project” is also defined in section 1 of the Act.

The constructor is the party with the greatest degree of control over health and safety at the entire project and is ultimately responsible for the health and safety of all workers. The constructor must ensure that all the employers and workers on the project comply with the Act and its regulations.

Who is an owner?

Section 1 of the Act defines “owner” as including “a trustee, receiver, mortgagee in possession, tenant, lessee, or occupier of any lands or premises used or to be used as a workplace, and a person who acts for or on behalf of an owner as an agent or delegate”.

Does every construction project have an owner and a constructor?

Every project that is governed by the Act has both an owner and a constructor. The constructor will either be the owner of the project or a third party contracted by the owner to undertake the project for the owner.

However, an owner who engages an architect, professional engineer or other person solely to oversee the quality control of the work at a project does not necessarily become a constructor (subsection 1(3) of the Act). Such an owner could engage a third party as a constructor as well as the person engaged only to oversee the quality control of the project.

The following examples illustrate some common situations for all owners of projects, including homeowners. Work in or about a private residence, performed solely by the homeowner or occupant (or a servant of either), is not subject to the Act. However, where the homeowner hires anyone to do the work, the Act applies in respect of that work. Who the constructor would be would depend on the circumstances.

  • When an owner hires only one employer (contractor) to do all the work on a project, then that contractor is undertaking the work and is the constructor. This contractor is often referred to as the general contractor.
    • In the situation above, the general contractor may, in turn, subcontract some or all of the work to another party. He or she remains the constructor for the project, as long as he or she is the only party with whom the owner contracts to undertake the project.
    • In the situation above, if the owner is an employer who assigns his or her workers to work on the same project as the general contractor, he or she may become the constructor if the general contractor was not informed of and did not agree to the presence of the owner’s workers and does not exercise control over them. However, if the general contractor agrees to use the owner’s workers and to direct their work, he or she will remain the constructor.
  • When an owner undertakes a project by contracting with more than one employer (contractor), the owner is undertaking the project and is the constructor.
  • When an owner contracts with more than one employer (contractor), the owner may enter into a contractual agreement with one of these employers or a third party to undertake the project on behalf of the owner. Provided the owner has relinquished control over the project and the employer or third party has assumed control, that employer or third party is the constructor, even if the owner is paying the other contractors on the project. The owner may also engage the services of a professional engineer, an architect, or another person solely to oversee the quality control of the project without becoming the constructor.
  • Generally, when an owner of a project is an employer and uses his or her own workers to carry out that project, the owner is undertaking the project and is the constructor.

In summary, on all projects, either the owner or someone hired by the owner is the constructor. However, if the work is being performed by a homeowner or occupant (or a servant of either) in or about a private residence the Act does not apply in respect of that work.

Everyone involved with a construction project should be clear on who is undertaking the project, who the constructor is, and the responsibilities of all of the parties associated with the project. It is important to put this information in writing.

What are the key duties of a constructor?

Constructors have the following key responsibilities, on the projects that they undertake:

  • ensure that the measures and procedures prescribed by the Act and its regulations are carried out on the project,
  • ensure that every employer and every worker performing work on the project complies with the Act and its regulations,
  • ensure that the health and safety of workers on the project is protected,
  • ensure that a health and safety representative or a joint health and safety committee is selected or established, when and as required,
  • ensure that the Ministry of Labour is notified of a project, when and as required,
  • ensure that the Ministry of Labour is notified of an accident or occurrence, when and as required,
  • ensure that every contractor or subcontractor receives a list of all designated substances present at the project before the prospective contractor or subcontractor enters into a binding contract for the supply of work on the project,
  • ensure that written emergency procedures are established for the project and posted, and
  • appoint a supervisor for every project at which five or more workers will work at the same time.

For a more detailed list of constructor duties, see the appendices. Constructors who are also employers, and constructors who are also project owners, have other duties under the Act and its regulations that must be fulfilled.

What is the relationship of the constructor to the other parties on a project?

The constructor has overall responsibility on a project for compliance with the Act, the Regulation for Construction Projects (O. Reg. 213/91) and other applicable regulations. The constructor may also have duties as an employer or as an owner.

What is the extent of a project?

Individual projects are typically identified by their location, the owner of the project, and the time frame for construction activities to be undertaken by the identified constructor at that particular location.

The owner of an industrial establishment, a factory, a hospital, a production plant or municipal premises may decide to undertake the project by himself/herself (and thus become the constructor); alternatively, that owner may contract the construction activities on their premises to one general contractor, who would be in charge of undertaking the construction activities for the owner (and thus would be the constructor of the project).

Typically, construction activities taking place at the premises of one address owned by a person (individual, group of individuals, partnership, or corporation) during a determined period of time with an identified goal – of erecting a new building or conducting repairs, structural maintenance, addition or demolition of an existing structure – are deemed to be part of a single project, which would have an owner and constructor (who may or may not be the same as the owner).

Pursuant to section 4 of O. Reg. 213/91, the owner of such a project may request a Director at the Ministry of Labour to designate part of a project as a project for the purposes of the Act and the regulation. Each designated project would have its own separate constructor. The Director, in considering such a request, would look at the possibility for separating the construction activities being undertaken, either in space or in time.

Space considerations would include independent access and egress, toilets and wash-up facilities. Clear boundaries should exist among the various projects requested to be identified as separate. The extent to which each potential constructor for each project would have control over the construction activities carried out on that project and over the health and safety of the workers on that project, independently from the other projects, would be instrumental in the Director’s decision. Each one of the separate projects would have its own Joint Health and Safety Committee or Health and Safety Representative, when and as required, independently from the other project or projects.

Construction activities taking place at the same address, with one owner, may be considered separate projects when the activities are clearly separated in time. For instance, demolishing an old structure and erecting a new one could be undertaken as two separate projects: Project A (consisting of demolishing the old building and removing the resulting debris) would be undertaken by constructor C1, and Project B (consisting of erecting a new structure) would be undertaken by constructor C2. In this instance, Project B starts only after the completion of Project A. If there were to be any overlap in time between the two projects, the owner would have to apply to a Director of the Ministry of Labour to designate them as separate projects.

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Questions fréquentes

  • ISBN: 978-1-4249-6193-1
  • Diffusion : mars 2009
  • Dernière mise à jour : juin 2009

L'objectif de la Loi est de donner à une personne l'autorité globale concernant les questions de santé et de sécurité sur un chantier. Cette personne est le constructeur du chantier.

L'article 1 de la Loi définit le « constructeur » comme suit : « Personne qui entreprend un chantier pour le compte d’un propriétaire. S’entend en outre du propriétaire qui entreprend lui-même la totalité ou une partie d’un chantier, soit seul ou avec l’aide de plus d’un employeur » . Le verbe « entreprendre » sous-entend « prendre en charge » , ce qui signifie qu'un constructeur est une personne responsable d'un chantier. La définition d'« employeur » de l'article 1 de la Loi comprend les entrepreneurs et les sous-traitants. L'article 1 de la Loi définit également le mot « chantier » .

Le constructeur est la partie qui exerce le plus haut degré de contrôle à l'égard de la santé et de la sécurité sur l'ensemble du chantier et qui est ultimement responsable de la santé et de la sécurité de tous les travailleurs. Le constructeur doit s'assurer que tous les employeurs et travailleurs présents sur le chantier se conforment à la Loi et à ses règlements.

Qu’est-ce qu’un propriétaire?

D'après l'article 1 de la Loi, le « propriétaire » est une personne qui « S’entend en outre du fiduciaire, du séquestre, du créancier hypothécaire en possession du bien grevé, du locataire, du preneur à bail ou de l’occupant d’un bien-fonds ou de locaux utilisés ou devant être utilisés comme lieu de travail, ainsi que de la personne qui agit pour le compte du propriétaire ou en son nom à titre d’agent ou de délégué » .

Chaque chantier a-t-il un propriétaire et un constructeur?

Chaque chantier régi par la Loi a un propriétaire ainsi qu'un constructeur. Le constructeur est soit le propriétaire du chantier, soit un tiers engagé par ce dernier pour entreprendre le chantier à sa place.

Cependant, un propriétaire qui engage un architecte, un ingénieur ou une autre personne uniquement pour superviser la qualité du travail sur le chantier ne devient pas pour autant un constructeur (paragraphe 1 (3) de la Loi). Un tel propriétaire pourrait engager un tiers constructeur ainsi qu'une personne qui n'aura pour mandat que de superviser la qualité du travail sur le chantier.

Les exemples ci-dessous présentent certaines situations courantes pour tous les propriétaires de chantiers, y compris les propriétaires de résidence privée. Les travaux effectués à l'intérieur ou à l’extérieur d'une résidence privée, lorsqu'ils sont exécutés uniquement par son propriétaire ou son occupant (ou l'employé de l'un ou de l'autre), ne sont pas assujettis à la Loi. Cependant, lorsque le propriétaire engage quelqu'un pour exécuter des travaux, la Loi s'applique à ces travaux. Les circonstances déterminent alors qui est le constructeur.

  • Lorsqu'un propriétaire engage un seul employeur (entrepreneur) pour exécuter tous les travaux sur un chantier, l'entrepreneur entreprend alors les travaux et devient le constructeur. Cet entrepreneur est souvent appelé « entrepreneur général » .
    • Dans la situation ci-dessus, l'entrepreneur général peut, à son tour, sous-traiter la totalité ou une partie des travaux à une autre partie. Il demeure le constructeur du chantier tant et aussi longtemps qu'il est la seule partie dont le propriétaire retient les services pour entreprendre le chantier.
    • Dans la situation ci-dessus, si le propriétaire est un employeur qui affecte ses propres travailleurs au même chantier que celui de l’entrepreneur général, il peut alors devenir le constructeur si l'entrepreneur général n'en a pas été avisé, n'était pas d'accord avec la présence des employés du propriétaire et n'a aucune autorité sur eux. Cependant, si l'entrepreneur général accepte d'avoir recours aux employés du propriétaire et de diriger leur travail, il demeure le constructeur.
  • Lorsqu'un propriétaire entreprend un chantier en retenant les services de plus d'un employeur (entrepreneur), le propriétaire est alors le constructeur.
  • Lorsqu'un propriétaire retient les services de plus d'un employeur (entrepreneur), il peut conclure une entente contractuelle avec l'un de ces employeurs ou un tiers, qui entreprendra le chantier pour le compte du propriétaire. Si le propriétaire a confié la direction du chantier à l'employeur ou à un tiers qui en a assumé le contrôle, cet employeur ou ce tiers est le constructeur, même si le propriétaire paie les autres entrepreneurs sur le chantier. Le propriétaire peut également retenir les services d'un ingénieur, d'un architecte ou d'une autre personne uniquement pour superviser la qualité du travail sur le chantier sans devenir le constructeur.
  • En règle générale, lorsque le propriétaire d'un chantier est un employeur et qu'il utilise ses propres travailleurs pour mener à bien ce chantier, il entreprend ce chantier et est donc le constructeur.

Bref, sur tous les chantiers, le constructeur est soit le propriétaire, soit quelqu'un engagé par le propriétaire. Cependant, si les travaux sont exécutés à l'intérieur ou à l’extérieur d'une résidence privée par le propriétaire ou l'occupant (ou l'employé de l'un ou de l'autre), la Loi ne s'applique pas à ces travaux.

Quiconque est engagé sur un chantier de construction doit savoir clairement qui l'entreprend, qui est le constructeur et quelles sont les responsabilités de toutes les parties en cause. Il est important de mettre ces renseignements par écrit.

Quels sont les principaux devoirs d’un constructeur?

Les principales responsabilités des constructeurs sur les chantiers qu'ils entreprennent sont les suivantes :

  • veiller à ce que les mesures et les méthodes prescrites par la Loi et ses règlements soient observées sur le chantier;
  • veiller à ce que tous les employeurs et travailleurs exécutant des travaux sur le chantier se conforment à la Loi et à ses règlements;
  • protéger la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs sur le chantier;
  • s'assurer qu'un délégué à la santé et à la sécurité est choisi ou qu'un comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité au travail est créé, suivant ce qui est prescrit;
  • veiller à aviser le ministère du Travail lorsqu’un chantier est entrepris, suivant ce qui est prescrit;
  • veiller à aviser le ministère du Travail des accidents ou des incidents qui ont lieu sur le chantier, suivant ce qui est prescrit;
  • s'assurer que chaque entrepreneur ou sous-traitant reçoit une liste des substances désignées qui se trouvent sur le chantier avant de passer un contrat irrévocable pour l'exécution de travaux sur le chantier;
  • veiller à établir par écrit des procédures d'urgence et à les afficher sur le chantier;
  • nommer un superviseur pour chaque chantier où cinq travailleurs ou plus travaillent en même temps.

Pour une liste plus détaillée des devoirs du constructeur, consulter les annexes. Les constructeurs qui sont également l'employeur ou le propriétaire d’un chantier ont d'autres devoirs dont ils doivent s’acquitter en vertu de la Loi et de ses règlements.

Quelles sont les relations entre le constructeur et les autres parties associées à un chantier?

Le constructeur assume l'entière responsabilité sur le chantier de la conformité à la Loi, au règlement régissant les chantiers de construction (Règlement de l'Ontario 213/91) (en anglais seulement) et aux autres règlements applicables. Le constructeur peut également avoir des obligations en tant qu'employeur ou propriétaire.

Dans quelle mesure se définit un chantier?

Les chantiers se définissent individuellement par leur emplacement, leur propriétaire et le calendrier des travaux de construction à entreprendre par le constructeur à cet emplacement particulier.

Le propriétaire d'un établissement industriel, d'une usine, d'un hôpital, d'installations de fabrication ou de locaux municipaux peut décider d'entreprendre lui-même le chantier (et donc de devenir le constructeur); sinon, ce propriétaire peut confier par contrat les travaux de construction dans ses locaux à un entrepreneur général, qui aurait la responsabilité d'entreprendre les travaux de construction pour le compte du propriétaire (et qui deviendrait donc constructeur du chantier).

Habituellement, les travaux de construction exécutés dans des lieux qui portent la même adresse et qui sont la propriété d'une personne (un particulier, un groupe de particuliers, une société en nom collectif ou une personne morale) pendant une période de temps déterminée avec un but précis – construire un bâtiment, effectuer des réparations, entretenir des structures, ajouter ou démolir une structure existante – sont réputés faire partie d'un seul chantier, ayant un propriétaire et un constructeur (qui peut ou non être le propriétaire).

En vertu de l'article 4 du Règlement de l'Ontario 213/91 (en anglais seulement), le propriétaire d'un tel chantier peut demander à un directeur du ministère du Travail de désigner une partie d'un chantier en tant que chantier aux fins de la Loi et de ses règlements. Chaque chantier ainsi désigné aurait alors son propre constructeur. Le directeur, face à une telle requête, examinera la possibilité de séparer les travaux de construction entrepris, soit dans l'espace, soit dans le temps.

Sur le plan de la séparation dans l'espace, il faut prévoir des points d'accès et de sortie, des toilettes et des salles d'eau distincts. Des délimitations claires doivent être en place entre les différents chantiers dont la séparation est demandée. La décision du directeur dépendra de l'autorité dont disposera le constructeur éventuel de chaque chantier sur les travaux de construction qui y sont effectués et à l'égard de la santé et de la sécurité des travailleurs qui y sont présents, indépendamment des autres chantiers. Chaque chantier devra avoir son propre comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité au travail ou son propre délégué à la santé et à la sécurité, suivant ce qui est prescrit, indépendamment des autres chantiers.

Les travaux de construction entrepris à la même adresse où il y a un seul propriétaire peuvent être divisés en chantiers distincts lorsque les travaux sont nettement séparés dans le temps. Par exemple, la démolition d'une ancienne structure et la construction d'une nouvelle pourraient être entreprises en deux chantiers distincts : le chantier A (la démolition de l'ancienne structure et l'enlèvement des décombres) serait entrepris par le constructeur C1, tandis que le chantier B (la construction de la nouvelle structure) le serait par le constructeur C2. Dans ce cas, le chantier B ne débute qu'après l'achèvement du chantier A. En cas de chevauchement dans le temps entre les deux chantiers, le propriétaire devra demander à un directeur du ministère du Travail de les désigner comme chantiers distincts.

précédent | suivant