Table of Contents | Print This Page

5. The Program | Confined Spaces Guideline

  • Issued: September 2006
  • Revised: July 2011
  • Content last reviewed: July 2011

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Section 5 - Confined Spaces Regulation (O. Reg. 632/05)

  • 5 (1)  If a workplace includes a confined space that workers may enter to perform work, the employer shall ensure that a written program for the confined space is developed and maintained in accordance with this Regulation before a worker enters the confined space.
  • (2)  A program described in subsection (1) may apply to one or more confined spaces.
  • (3)  In the case of a workplace that is not a project, the program described in subsection (1) shall be developed and maintained in consultation with the joint health and safety committee or the health and safety representative, if any.
  • (4)  A program described in subsection (1) shall be adequate and shall provide for,
    • (a)  a method for recognizing each confined space to which the program applies;
    • (b)  a method for assessing the hazards to which workers may be exposed, in accordance with section 6;
    • (c)  a method for the development of one or more plans, in accordance with section 7;
    • (d)  a method for training of workers, in accordance with section 8 or section 9.1, as the case may be; and
    • (e)  an entry permit system that sets out the measures and procedures to be followed when work is to be performed in a confined space to which the program applies.
  • (5)  In the case of a workplace that is not a project, the employer shall provide a copy of the program to the joint health and safety committee or the health and safety representative, if any.
  • (6)  In the case of a workplace that is a project, the employer shall provide a copy of the program to the constructor, who shall provide a copy of it to the project's joint health and safety committee or health and safety representative, if any.
  • (7)  The employer or constructor, as the case may be, shall ensure that a copy of the program is available to,
    • (a)  any other employer of workers who perform work to which the program relates; and
    • (b)  every worker who performs work to which the program relates, if the workplace has no joint health and safety committee or health and safety representative.

What does a confined space program include?

A confined space program is a written document that includes: a method for recognizing each confined space to which the program applies; a method for assessing the hazards to which workers may be exposed; a method for the development of confined space entry plans; a method for training workers; and, an entry permit system.

A method is a process which the employer will use to implement the various elements of the program.

Does ‘workplace’ include a construction project?

Yes, a project is also a workplace. The OHSA defines a workplace as any land, premises, location or thing at, upon, in or near which a worker works [Section 1 of the OHSA]. A workplace could be a building, mine, construction site, vehicle, open field, road or forest. The general test is: is the worker being directed and paid to be there or to be near there? If the answer is “yes”, then it is a workplace.

May I have an outside contractor develop a confined space program in order for workers to enter my confined space?

Yes, you may have an outside contractor develop a confined space program for your workplace; however, as an employer or a contractor, you retain your responsibilities under the OHSA, and are ultimately accountable for the health and safety of all workers at your workplace.

All employers who have a confined space into which workers may enter to perform work are required to develop and maintain a confined space program. Where there are multiple employers of workers in a space, then the multi-employer provisions would apply.

When a confined space is part of a construction project, which employer is responsible for developing and maintaining the program?

Each employer of workers entering the confined space or each employer who contracts out entry to a confined space is responsible for ensuring compliance with the confined space requirements. A copy of the program or programs for the confined space must be developed by the employer(s) and provided to the constructor.

Where there are multiple employers of workers who will enter a confined space see Section 8 of this Guideline.

May I have one program for all confined spaces in my workplace?

Yes, the program is intended for all confined spaces in the workplace and as such it is important to adequately address all confined spaces in that workplace. For employers with multiple locations, the Regulation does not prohibit the development of one program as long as it adequately addresses the confined spaces in each location. For all workplaces other than projects, the employer must consult with the joint health and safety committee (JHSC) or health and safety representative, if any, on the development and maintenance of the program for each specific workplace to which it applies.

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4435-6842-5 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4435-6841-8 (PRINT)

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

5. Programme | Directives concernant les espaces clos

  • Diffusion : septembre 2009
  • Révision : juillet 2011
  • Dernière mise à jour : juillet 2011

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

    Article 5 - Règlement concernant les espaces clos (Règl. de l’Ont. 632/05)

  • 5. (1)  Si un lieu de travail comprend un espace clos où des travailleurs peuvent entrer pour exécuter un travail, l’employeur veille à ce qu’un programme écrit visant cet espace clos soit élaboré et maintenu conformément au présent règlement avant qu’un travailleur y entre.
  • (2)  Le programme visé au paragraphe (1) peut s’appliquer à un ou à plusieurs espaces clos.
  • (3)  Dans le cas d’un lieu de travail autre qu’un chantier, le programme visé au paragraphe (1) est élaboré et maintenu en consultation avec le comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité au travail ou le délégué à la santé et à la sécurité, s’il y en a un.
  • (4)  Le programme visé au paragraphe (1) doit être adéquat et prévoir ce qui suit :
    • a)  une méthode permettant d’identifier tous les espaces clos visés par le programme;
    • b)  une méthode permettant d’évaluer, conformément à l’article 6, les risques auxquels les travailleurs peuvent être exposés;
    • c)  une méthode permettant d’élaborer un ou plusieurs plans, conformément à l’article 7;
    • d)  une méthode permettant d’assurer la formation des travailleurs, conformément à l’article 8 ou 9.1, selon le cas;
    • e)  un système de permis d’entrée qui précise les mesures et les procédures à appliquer lorsqu’un travail doit être exécuté dans un espace clos visé par le programme.
  • (5)  Dans le cas d’un lieu de travail autre qu’un chantier, l’employeur remet une copie du programme au comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité au travail ou au délégué à la santé et à la sécurité, s’il y en a un.
  • (6)  Dans le cas d’un lieu de travail qui est un chantier, l’employeur remet une copie du programme au constructeur, qui en remet à son tour une copie au comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité au travail ou au délégué à la santé et à la sécurité, s’il y en a un.
  • (7)  L’employeur ou le constructeur, selon le cas, veille à ce qu’une copie du programme soit mise à la disposition des personnes suivantes :
    • a)  tout autre employeur de travailleurs qui exécutent un travail visé par le programme;
    • b)  chaque travailleur qui exécute un travail visé par le programme, si le lieu de travail n’a pas de comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité au travail ni de délégué à la santé et à la sécurité.

Que comprend un programme sur les espaces clos?

Il s’agit d’un document écrit qui comprend les éléments suivants : une méthode pour reconnaître chaque espace clos auquel s’applique le programme; une méthode pour évaluer les dangers auxquels les travailleurs peuvent être exposés; une méthode pour l’élaboration de plans d’entrée dans un espace clos; une méthode pour la formation des travailleurs; et un système de permis d’entrée.

Une méthode est un processus dont l’employeur fera usage pour implanter les divers éléments du programme.

Le terme lieu de travail concerne-t-il également les chantiers de construction?

Oui, un chantier est également un lieu de travail. La Loi définit le lieu de travail ainsi : « biens-fonds, local ou endroit où le travailleur est employé ou près duquel il travaille ou objet sur lequel ou près duquel il travaille » [article 1 de la Loi]. Un lieu de travail pourra être un immeuble, une mine, un chantier de construction, un champ ouvert, une route ou une forêt. De façon générale, le test consiste à se demander si on a demandé au travailleur d’être à cet endroit et si on le paye pour y être. Dans l’affirmative, il s’agit d’un lieu de travail.

Puis-je demander à un entrepreneur de l’extérieur de mettre au point un programme sur les espaces clos afin de permettre à ses travailleurs de s’introduire dans mes espaces clos?

Oui, cela est possible, mais vous conservez, à titre d’employeur ou d’entrepreneur, toutes vos responsabilités en vertu de la Loi, et c’est donc vous qui devrez rendre compte de la santé et de la sécurité de toutes les personnes qui travaillent dans votre lieu de travail.

Tous les employeurs qui disposent d’espaces clos dans lesquels devront s’introduire les travailleurs doivent élaborer et actualiser un programme sur les espaces clos. Si le personnel qui s’affaire dans un espace clos relève de plusieurs employeurs, les dispositions sur la pluralité d’employeurs s’appliquent.

Lorsqu’un espace clos fait partie d’un chantier de construction, quel est l’employeur qui a la responsabilité de l’élaboration et de l’actualisation du programme?

Il incombe à chaque employeur de personnes qui entrent dans un espace clos ou à chaque employeur qui sous-traite ce genre de travail de s’assurer du respect des exigences en matière d’espaces clos. Le ou les employeurs doivent élaborer leur programme et en remettre un exemplaire au constructeur.

En cas de pluralité d’employeurs pour le personnel qui entre dans un espace clos, se reporter à la section 8 des présentes directives.

Puis-je me doter d’un programme unique pour tous les espaces clos de mon lieu de travail?

Oui, le programme a été prévu pour tous les espaces clos dans le lieu de travail. À ce titre, il importe de bien s’attarder à tous les cas d’espace clos qui existent dans le lieu de travail. Pour les employeurs dont les installations présentent plusieurs espaces de ce genre, le Règlement n’interdit pas la mise au point par l’employeur d’un seul programme comme document de base, dans la mesure où celui-ci est révisé de manière à satisfaire les attentes propres à chaque emplacement. Dans le cas de tous les lieux de travail autres que les chantiers, l’employeur doit consulter le comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (CMSST) ou le délégué à la santé et à la sécurité, s’il y en a un, sur l’élaboration et l’actualisation du programme pour chaque lieu de travail particulier auquel il s’applique.

précédent | suivant

ISBN 978-1-4435-6845-6 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4435-6844-9 (Version imprimé)

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.