Table of Contents | Print This Page

3. Application | Confined Spaces Guideline

  • Issued: September 2006
  • Revised: July 2011
  • Content last reviewed: July 2011

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Who is covered by the new and amended confined spaces provisions?

The confined space requirements provide for the protection of most workers in Ontario covered by the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA). Confined space provisions previously found in the sector regulations under the OHSA (Regulation for Industrial Establishments, Regulation for Construction Projects, Regulation for Health Care and Residential Facilities, and Regulation for Mines and Mining Plants) have been consolidated into one regulation, O. Reg. 632/05 (Confined Spaces Regulation or Regulation).

In addition, the Confined Spaces Regulation continues to apply to most other workplaces that are covered by the OHSA but not by one of the specific sector regulations. The MOL generally refers to these types of workplaces as “extended workplaces”, meaning that although the OHSA applies to them, there is no specific sector regulation that applies. Some examples of workers in extended workplaces are provincially regulated truck drivers when on the road, sewer service workers and teachers in educational facilities.

Several of the confined space provisions in the Regulation that apply on construction projects vary slightly from those that apply to other workplaces. This guideline will highlight these variations, where they exist.

The OHSA and its regulations can be found at ontario.ca/laws and on the Ministry of Labour web site.

Who is not covered by these provisions?

Workers in federally regulated workplaces, such as federal public servants, railway workers and airline workers are covered by federal labour legislation.

The Confined Spaces Regulation also does not apply to divers during a diving operation as defined in O. Reg. 629/94 (Diving Operations).

Although the OHSA, with certain limitations and three regulations made under it apply to farming operations, the Confined Spaces Regulation does not. However, the MOL has worked with farming stakeholders to develop health and safety guidelines to help employers, supervisors and workers on farms to recognize hazards. The “Occupational Health and Safety Guidelines for Farming Operations in Ontario” address hazardous atmospheres and confined spaces. Notably, separate activities on a farm that are not part of the farming operation (e.g., construction of a building) would be subject to the Confined Spaces Regulation if there is a confined space that workers may enter to perform work.

Why are there exceptions for some emergency work?

Only a firefighter as defined in the Fire Protection and Prevention Act, 1997 and a person who holds a certificate under the Technical Standards and Safety Act, 2000 working under the direction of a fire department are exempt from parts of the Regulation while performing emergency work. Hazard recognition and other general training requirements continue to apply.

“Emergency work”, as defined in the Regulation, means “work performed in connection with an unforeseen event that involves an imminent danger to the life, health or safety of any person.”

There may be situations in which these workers must enter a confined space in order to perform emergency work, and it would not be reasonable to require that all of the administrative steps be taken prior to entry. In order for the exception to apply, the employer of the firefighter or gas technician must provide written procedures and other measures, confined space training, and personal protective equipment, clothing and devices to protect the workers during the emergency work.

Do workplaces have to comply with the national standard issued by the Canadian Standards Association (CSA), “Z1006-10, Management of Work in Confined Spaces”?

No. CSA standards are voluntary standards and have been developed by committees with multiple stakeholders. It is up to a workplace to determine whether a standard would assist with compliance with legislative or regulatory requirements. Unless otherwise required by legislation or regulation to comply with a CSA standard, a CSA standard is a best practice standard that does not legally need to be complied with. The CSA confined space standard is not incorporated by reference into the Confined Spaces Regulation.

I am an employer and my workplace has a confined space. I contract out work to be done in the confined space. Do these provisions apply to me?

Yes. You are still an employer, as defined under the OHSA, when you contract out work for services. The general duties of the employer under the OHSA would apply, regardless of the situation. Therefore you have to ensure that workers who you have hired comply with the confined spaces provisions.

Refer to the multiple employer section when there are workers of more than one employer required to work in the same confined space.

Constructor duties, as defined under the OHSA would apply on construction projects.

I am a provincially regulated employer, who often is contracted by a federally regulated business, for federal business. Sometimes, we may also work with federal companies but for our own business. How would the Confined Spaces Regulation apply?

Provincially regulated workers, who occasionally work at or on a federal undertaking, are generally still subject to the authority of the OHSA. However, jurisdiction is determined on a case-by-case basis, and employers may wish to contact the Ministry of Labour for further information pertaining to their specific situations: Ministry of Labour Health & Safety Contact Centre: 1-877-202-0008.

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4435-6842-5 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4435-6841-8 (PRINT)

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

3. Application | Directives concernant les espaces clos

  • Diffusion : septembre 2009
  • Révision : juillet 2011
  • Dernière mise à jour : juillet 2011

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Qui est touché par les nouvelles dispositions en matière d’espaces clos et aux dispositions modifiées?

Les exigences en matière d’espaces clos visent la protection de la plupart des travailleurs de l’Ontario qui sont couverts par les dispositions de la Loi. Les dispositions en matière d’espaces clos que l’on retrouvait auparavant dans les réglementations sectorielles aux termes de la Loi (Règlement sur les établissements industriels, Règlement sur les chantiers de construction, Règlement sur les soins de santé et les établissements résidentiels et Règlement sur les Mines et installations minières ont été réunies en un seul règlement : Règlement de l’Ontario 632/05 (Règlement concernant les espaces clos ou Règlement).

En outre, le Règlement concernant les espaces clos continue de s’appliquer à la plupart des autres lieux de travail couverts par la Loi, mais pas par l’un des règlements sur un secteur spécifique. Le ministère considère généralement ces types de situations comme des lieux de travail élargis, ce qui revient à dire que même si les dispositions de la Loi s’y appliquent, nul règlement sectoriel spécifique ne les concerne vraiment. Voici quelques exemples de personnes exerçant leurs fonctions dans des lieux de travail élargis : les camionneurs placés sous réglementation provinciale lorsqu’ils sont sur la route, les égoutiers et les enseignants dans les salles de classe.

Plusieurs des dispositions réglementaires liées aux espaces clos qui s’appliquent aux chantiers de construction varient légèrement de celles qui s’appliquent à d’autres lieux de travail. Les présentes directives mettent en évidence ces variantes, le cas échéant.

La Loi et les règlements y afférents peuvent être consultés à l’adresse suivante ontario.ca/laws et sur le site web du ministère du Travail.

Qui n'est pas touché par ces dispositions?

Les personnes actives dans des lieux de travail régis par le gouvernement fédéral, notamment les fonctionnaires fédéraux, les cheminots et le personnel des compagnies aériennes, sont couvertes par la législation fédérale du travail.

Le Règlement concernant les espaces clos ne s’applique pas au Règlement de l’Ontario 629/94 (Diving Operations) (en anglais seulement).

Bien que la Loi, avec certaines limites et trois règlements créés en vertu de la Loi, s’applique aux opérations agricoles, le Règlement concernant les espaces clos ne s’y applique pas. Toutefois, le ministère du Travail a œuvré de concert avec des intervenants dans le domaine agricole pour mettre au point des directives concernant la santé et la sécurité afin d’aider les employeurs, les superviseurs et les travailleurs agricoles à reconnaître les dangers. Les Directives concernant la santé et la sécurité au travail à l’intention des opérations agricoles en Ontario traitent des dangers liés aux atmosphères dangereuses et aux espaces exigus. Notamment, les activités distinctes qui se déroulent dans une ferme et qui ne font pas partie des opérations agricoles (p. ex., la construction d’un bâtiment) seraient assujetties au Règlement concernant les espaces clos s’il existait un espace clos auquel les travailleurs ont accès dans le cadre de leur travail.

Pourquoi existe-t-il des exceptions dans certains cas de travail d’urgence?

Seuls un pompier, au sens de la Loi de 1997 sur la prévention et la protection contre l’incendie, et un titulaire de certificat qui lui a été délivré en vertu de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes techniques et la sécurité, travaillant sous la direction d’un service d’incendie, sont exemptés de certains articles du Règlement pendant l’exécution d’un travail d’urgence. L’identification des risques et les autres exigences en matière de formation générale continueront de s’appliquer.

Selon la définition du Règlement, on entend par travail d’urgence un travail exécuté dans le cadre d'un événement imprévu qui présente un danger imminent pour la vie, la santé ou la sécurité de quiconque.

Il pourrait y avoir un certain nombre de situations où les travailleurs devront s’introduire dans un espace clos afin de procéder à un travail d’urgence. Il serait alors déraisonnable de demander le respect de toutes les étapes administratives avant l’entrée dans l’espace clos. Pour que la situation d’exception puisse s’appliquer, l’employeur du pompier ou du technicien gazier doit prévoir une marche à suivre écrite et d’autres mesures, une formation dans des espaces clos, ainsi qu’un équipement, des tenues et des dispositifs de protection individuelle afin de protéger les travailleurs pendant le travail d’urgence.

Les lieux de travail doivent-ils respecter la norme nationale « Z1006-10 Gestion du travail dans les espaces clos » établie par l’Association canadienne de normalisation (CSA)?

Non. Les normes de la CSA sont des normes facultatives établies par des comités auxquels participent de nombreux intervenants. Il incombe aux lieux de travail de décider si une norme peut aider à respecter les exigences réglementaires ou les exigences prévues par la loi. À moins qu’une loi ou un règlement en exige spécifiquement le respect, une norme de la CSA constitue une norme déterminant les meilleures pratiques, et aucune loi n’exige de la respecter. La norme relative aux espaces clos de la CSA n’est pas incorporée par référence au Règlement concernant les espaces clos.

Je suis un employeur. Mon lieu de travail présente un certain nombre d’espaces clos. Je sous-traite des travaux à effectuer dans de tels espaces. Ces dispositions me concernent-elles?

Oui. Aux termes de la Loi, vous êtes considéré comme étant un employeur même lorsque vous utilisez les services d’un sous-traitant. Il en ressort que les obligations générales de l’employeur s’appliquent, indépendamment de la situation. Vous devez donc vous assurer que les travailleurs dont vous avez retenu les services respectent les dispositions en place relativement aux espaces clos.

Consultez l’article qui traite de la pluralité d’employeurs lorsque des travailleurs de plus d’un employeur exécutent un travail dans le même espace clos.

Les devoirs du constructeur, tels que définis par la Loi, s’appliquent aux chantiers de construction.

Je suis un employeur placé sous réglementation provinciale, qui travaille souvent en sous-traitance pour une entreprise sous réglementation fédérale, pour des contrats relevant des instances fédérales. Parfois, nous pouvons aussi collaborer avec des entreprises sous réglementation fédérale, mais pour notre propre compte. De quelle façon s’applique le Règlement concernant les espaces clos?

Les travailleurs sous réglementation provinciale exécutant à l’occasion des tâches pour une entreprise sous réglementation fédérale ou dans le cadre d’un travail à caractère fédéral continuent généralement de relever de la Loi. Toutefois, la juridiction sera établie au cas par cas; les employeurs gagneraient donc à communiquer avec le ministère du Travail pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet de leur situation particulière : InfoCentre de santé et de sécurité au travail du ministère du Travail : 1 877 202-0008.

précédent | suivant

ISBN 978-1-4435-6845-6 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4435-6844-9 (Version imprimé)

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.