Table of Contents

Rear-loading compacting equipment

  • ISBN: 978-1-4249-6190-0
  • Issued: May 2004
  • Content last reviewed: June 2009
Photo of a rear-loading compacting vehicle

A worker(s) shall be protected from any pinch point at the point-of-operation during the packing cycle either by:

  1. A movable guard that is interlocked so that it is in place before the packer panel is within 150 mm (six inches) of the pinch point. The movable guard shall be designed so that it shall not be hazardous in itself and so that the hazard from projectiles during the packing cycle is eliminated. For guard interlocking see Appendix "A".

    Or by all of the following safety features:

    1. A control that provides an interrupted cycle. Actuation of the control shall cause the packer panel to stop not less than 150 mm (six inches) or more than 406 mm (sixteen inches) from any pinch point. The control shall require re-actuation by a subsequent motion of the worker to complete the packing cycle.
    2. Actuation of the control to complete the packing cycle shall be by sustained manual pressure. The control shall be located so that the worker actuating the control:
      1. cannot reach any pinch point at the point-of-operation; and
      2. has a clear view of the point-of operation.
    3. Either:
      1. An additional set of sustained manual pressure controls for each additional worker shall be provided. The actuation of the controls shall take place concurrently in order to complete the packing cycle. The controls shall be located so that a worker cannot reach any pinch point and that the worker cannot operate more than one set of controls. All controls should be located on the side of the vehicle opposite the normal traffic side.

        Or

      2. A presence-sensing device shall be provided that will stop the motion to prevent access to the projectile hazard zone and the pinch-point. The installation of suitable presence sensing devices shall be subject to a formal risk assessment and such presence sensing devices shall be in compliance with IEC 61496 (for application/installation see IEC TS 62046).

Figure 1 - Rear-loading compacting equipment

Figure 1: Photo of a rear-loading compacting vehicle identifying specific  mechanisms (as listed).
  1. Packer panel
  2. Packer panel in interrupted cycle position
  3. Packer controls
  4. Sustained manual pressure controls

Figure 2 - Rear-loading compacting equipment

Figure 2: Photo of a rear-loading compacting vehicle identifying specific  mechanisms (as listed)
  1. Packer controls
  2. Provision for "clear view" & preventing worker from reaching the point-of-operation
  3. Sustained manual pressure control

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Équipement de compactage à chargement arrière

  • ISBN: 0-7794-6177-0
  • Diffusion : mai 2004
  • Dernière mise à jour : juin 2009
Photo d'équipement de compactage à chargement arrière

On doit protéger les travailleurs au point d'opération à l'égard de tout point de pincement pendant le cycle de compression.

  1. Cela doit être fait au moyen d'un protecteur mobile interverrouillé se mettant en place avant que le panneau de la benne soit à 150 mm (6 po) du point de pincement. Le protecteur mobile doit être conçu de manière à ne pas présenter de danger par lui?même et à éliminer tout danger présenté par des projectiles pendant le cycle de compression.
    Pour le dispositif de verrouillage du protecteur, consulter l'annexe A.

    Ou au moyen de tous les dispositifs de protection ci-dessous.

  2.  
    1. Commande à interruption de cycle. L'activation de la commande provoquera l'arrêt du panneau de la benne à une distance se situant entre 150 mm (6 po) et 406 mm (16 po) de tout point de pincement. La commande devra être réactivée par un mouvement ultérieur du travailleur pour que le cycle de compression se poursuive.
    2. Commande fonctionnant par pression manuelle continue pour terminer le cycle de compression. La commande doit être située de sorte que le travailleur qui l'actionne :
      1. ne puisse atteindre un point de pincement au point d'opération;
      2. puisse voir clairement le point d'opération.
    3. Soit
      1. Faire en sorte que chaque travailleur additionnel dispose d'un jeu de commandes additionnel fonctionnant par pression manuelle continue. Les commandes doivent être activées simultanément pour que le cycle de compression se poursuive. Les commandes doivent être placées de sorte qu'un travailleur ne puisse pas atteindre un quelconque point de pincement ni faire fonctionner plus qu'un jeu de commandes. Toutes les commandes doivent être placées sur le côté du véhicule opposé au côté de circulation normal. Ou
      2. Un capteur de présence pouvant arrêter le mécanisme pour empêcher l'accès à la zone exposée aux projectiles et au point de pincement. L'installation de capteurs de présence convenables doit faire l'objet d'une évaluation formelle des risques et les dispositifs en question doivent être conformes à la norme CEI 61496 (pour l'application et l'installation, consulter la norme CEI TS 62046).

Figure 1 - Équipement de compactage à chargement arrière

Figure 1 - Photo d'équipement de compactage à chargement arrière identifiant des mécanismes précis.
  1. Panneau de compression
  2. Panneau de compression en position de cycle interrompu
  3. Commandes de compression
  4. Commandes fonctionnant par pression manuelle continue

Figure 2 - Équipement de compactage à chargement arrière

Figure 2 - Photo d'équipement de compactage à chargement arrière identifiant des mécanismes précis.
  1. Commandes de la benne de compression
  2. Disposition offrant une bonne visibilité et empêchant les travailleurs d'atteindre le point d'opération
  3. Commande fonctionnant par pression manuelle continue