• ISBN: 978-1-4249-6190-0
  • Issued: May 2004
  • Content last reviewed: March 2011

Application

This guideline was developed to primarily deal with point-of-operation guarding but also addresses lock-out, blocking and fall arresting systems. There are many other hazards that must be considered in order to ensure worker health and safety while operating mobile compacting equipment. Some of the other important issues (not covered in this guideline) include:

  • Personal protective equipment
  • Hygiene issues
  • Ergonomics
  • Traffic control
  • Reflective vests

Requirements as set out in the Occupational Health and Safety Act (the Act) and regulations will be referenced where appropriate.

This guideline is intended to provide general assistance where potential hazards are encountered. It is not intended to provide an all-inclusive list of hazards and controls. The Act and regulations should be consulted for the proper application of the law. Inspectors appointed under the Act have the discretion to enforce the Act and regulations and may refer to this guideline for assistance.

For further information on the Act or regulations, you should call the Ministry of Labour Health & Safety Contact Centre. An occupational health and safety inspector or other person will provide additional guidance as required.

Acknowledgements

The Ministry of Labour wishes to thank the employer and worker members of the task force, which developed this guideline. Their contributions and co-operation resulted in a product that will improve worker health and safety when operating mobile compacting equipment.

Contributors

Some of the task force members included the Ontario distributor of mobile compacting equipment and representatives from large municipalities. The organizations represented included the following:

  • Municipal Engineers Association (MEA)
  • Ontario Waste Management Association (OWMA)
  • Municipal Waste Integration Network (MWIN)
  • Municipal Health and Safety Association of Ontario (MHSAO)
  • Ontario Municipal Health and Safety Representatives Association (OMHSRA)
  • Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE)

The Ontario Ministry of Labour was represented by Walter Schilke (Regional Engineer) and Don Brown (Provincial Specialist).

Previous | Next

• ISBN: 0-7794-6177-0
  • Diffusion : mai 2004
  • Dernière mise à jour : mars 2011

Application

Les présentes directives visent principalement à protéger le personnel sur les lieux de travail, mais s'appliquent aussi aux systèmes de verrouillage, de blocage et de protection contre les chutes. Il faut également tenir compte de nombreux autres dangers afin de protéger la santé et d'assurer la sécurité des travailleurs utilisant l'équipement de compactage mobile. Parmi les autres aspects importants (non abordés aux présentes), citons :

  • le matériel de protection individuelle,
  • l'hygiène,
  • l'ergonomie,
  • le contrôle de la circulation,
  • les gilets réfléchissants.

Nous ferons référence aux prescriptions et aux règlements de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (la Loi) dans les cas appropriés.

Ces directives ont pour but de servir de guide d'ordre général en cas de danger potentiel. Elles ne visent pas à établir une liste exhaustive des dangers et des moyens d'y parer. On doit consulter la Loi et les règlements pour les appliquer de manière appropriée. Les inspecteurs nommés en vertu de la Loi ont le pouvoir discrétionnaire de faire respecter la Loi et les règlements et peuvent consulter ces directives à titre de référence.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la Loi et les règlements, veuillez appeler l’InfoCentre de santé et de sécurité au travail du ministère du Travail. Un inspecteur de la santé et de la sécurité au travail vous fournira l'aide additionnelle voulue.

Remerciements

Le ministère du Travail désire remercier les membres des organismes ayant constitué le groupe de travail qui a élaboré ces directives. Leur collaboration et leur coopération ont permis de créer un document qui protégera la santé et améliorera la sécurité des travailleurs utilisant de l'équipement de compactage mobile.

Membres du groupe de travail

Le groupe de travail comprenait notamment un distributeur ontarien d'équipement de compactage mobile et des représentants de grandes municipalités. Citons les suivantes parmi les organisations représentées.

Municipal Engineers Association (MEA) (association des ingénieurs municipaux)

Société ontarienne de gestion des déchets

Municipal Waste Integration Network (MWIN) (réseau d'intégration des déchets municipaux)

Municipal Health and Safety Association of Ontario (MHSAO) (association municipale ontarienne pour la santé et la sécurité)

Ontario Municipal Health and Safety Representatives Association (OMHSRA) (association des représentants des municipalités de l'Ontario en matière de santé et de sécurité)

Syndicat canadien de la fonction publique (SCFP)

Le ministère du Travail de l'Ontario était représenté par Walter Schilke (ingénieur régional) et Don Brown (spécialiste provincial).

précédent | suivant