Table of Contents | Print This Page

Part II: Protecting Child Performers Act, 2015

  • Revised: February 5, 2016
  • Content last reviewed: February 2016

See also: Performance Industry

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Pursuant to section 26 of the Protecting Child Performers Act, 2015 (PCPA), which incorporates by reference Parts VIII and IX of the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA), Ministry of Labour occupational health and safety inspectors enforce sections 4, 6 (1), 6 (2), 6 (3), 10, 14, 15, 17, and 20 to 25 of the PCPA, using their powers under the OHSA. This guideline does not deal with sections enforced by employment standards officers, using their powers under the Employment Standards Act, 2000.

Disclosure

Before employing or contracting for the services of a child performer, an employer must hold a meeting with the child performer’s parent or guardian. This meeting could be held in person, by telephone, or by electronic conferencing. The child performer is also entitled to be present (subsection 4(1) and 4(2) of the PCPA).

The information to be disclosed by the employer at the meeting includes:

  • A general description of the role
  • The location and hours of rehearsals and performances
  • Any health or safety hazards, as well as the precautions that will be taken to prevent injury
  • Any special skills that the child performer will be expected to perform
  • Any special effects to which the child performer may be exposed (subsections 4(1) and (2))

The employer must disclose any proposed changes to the matters dealt with in the meeting, and may not implement any of the proposed changes without the written agreement of the child performer’s parent or guardian (subsection 4(3)).

In addition, the employer must provide the child performer with the relevant portions of the script before the production begins (subsection 4(4)).

Travel to and from Work

Child performers under 16 years old must be accompanied by a parent, guardian or authorized chaperone when travelling to or from the workplace (subsection 6(1)):

An authorized chaperone, for the purposes of travelling to and from work, is a person who is at least 18 years of age and is authorized in writing by the child performer’s parent or guardian to travel to or from the workplace with the child performer (subsection 6(2)).

It is recommended that the employer and parent or guardian confirm arrangements for transportation of the child performer to and from the workplace in writing before the engagement begins.

Overnight Travel

If an employer requires a child performer to be away from home overnight, a parent or guardian of the child performer must accompany the child at all times (subsection 6(3)).

Minimum Age

No child under the age of 15 days may work in the recorded entertainment industry (section 10). No child less than 2.5 years of age may work in the live entertainment industry (section 17).

Adults in the Workplace

Recorded Entertainment Industry

In the recorded entertainment industry, if a child performer is under 16 years of age, then the employer must ensure that there is a parent, guardian, or authorized chaperone present at the workplace and accessible to the child performer at all times (subsection 14(1)).

Where the parent, guardian or authorized chaperone is at the workplace, it is recommended that the parent, guardian or authorized chaperone accompanies the child performer to hair, makeup and wardrobe.

If two or more child performers have the same parent or guardian, are under the age of 3, and are at the same workplace, the employer must ensure that there is one parent, guardian or authorized chaperone per child (subsection 14(2)):

For the purposes of adult accompaniment at a recorded entertainment industry workplace, an authorized chaperone is a person who is at least 18 years of age, is designated in writing by a child performer’s parent or guardian to be the child performer’s chaperone, does not employ or contract for the services of the child performer, and is not the child performer’s tutor (subsection 14(3)).

In addition to a parent, guardian, or chaperone being present and accessible, an employer must designate a child performers’ co-ordinator, who is responsible for co-ordinating matters related to the welfare, safety and comfort of child performers. If six or more child performers work at a particular workplace, the child performers’ co-ordinator may not also be the child performers’ tutor (section 15).

Live Entertainment Industry

The parent or guardian of a child performer may designate a chaperone to be available to the child performer while the child performer is at the workplace.

For the purposes of adult accompaniment at a live performance workplace, a chaperone may be:

  • the parent or guardian of the child performer, if the parent or guardian is not working on the same production (paragraph 1 of subsection 20(2)); or
  • a person who has reached 18 years of age, is not working on the same production or project as the child performer and, is not the child performer’s tutor (paragraph 2 of subsection 20(2)).

An employer must designate a child attendant to be responsible for monitoring child performers at the workplace, while the child performers are not rehearsing or performing (subsection 21 (1)):

A person may be designated as a child attendant if that person, is at least 18 years old, is not working in the same production or project as the child performer(s), does not tutor any of the child performers in the production or project, and possesses a clean criminal record, as defined by the regulations (subsection 21(2)).

Where possible, the same child attendant should be appointed for the length of the production to monitor the child performers. When the child attendant is on a break or otherwise unavailable, there must be a suitable replacement, who meets the criteria in subsection 21(2).

An employer must ensure the following ratios are met:

  1. where the youngest child performer at the work-place is under six years of age, there is at least one child attendant for every six child performers present;
  2. where the youngest child performer at the work-place is six years of age or over but under 10 years of age, there is at least one child attendant for every 10 child performers present; and
  3. where the youngest child performer at the work-place is 10 years of age or over, there is at least one child attendant for every 15 child performers present (subsection 21(3)).

Training

In addition to the information and instruction, and training required under the OHSA, an employer must provide information and instruction to a child performer and for the parent, guardian, or chaperone of the child performer on the following matters with respect to each location where he or she works (subsection 23(1)):

  • Emergency procedures, including health and safety precautions specific to the location
  • Restricted areas
  • Safe waiting areas
  • Location of washrooms, makeup areas, and other areas relevant to the child performer’s work
  • The procedure for identifying and reporting unsafe working conditions.

The training for the child performer must be appropriate to his or her developmental stage (subsection 23(2) of the PCPA).

Healthy Food

An employer who provides food to child performers must provide the child performers with healthy snacks and meals at the workplace as close to the child performer’s regular snack and meal times as possible (subsection 25(1)).

All meals, snacks and beverages should meet the recommendations set out in the Health Canada documents “Eating Well with Canada’s Food Guide,” “Eating Well with Canada's Food Guide - First Nations, Inuit and Métis,” or “Nutrition for Healthy Term Infants,” as amended from time to time.

The employer must ensure that the food provided meets the child performer’s needs in respect of food allergies and special dietary requirements (subsection 25(2)).

An employer who provides food to child performers should consider posting menus detailing the healthy snacks and meals provided, such that child performers (and their parents, guardians and chaperones) can be informed about the food available, for those child performers with food allergies and special dietary requirements or restrictions.

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4249-3968-8

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Partie II : Loi de 2015 sur la protection des enfants artistes

  • Révision : 5 février 2016
  • Dernière mise à jour : février 2016

Voir aussi: Industrie du domaine du spectacle

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Conformément à l'article 26 de la Loi de 2015 sur la protection des enfants artistes (LPEA), qui incorpore par renvoi les parties VIII et IX de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST), les inspecteurs de la santé et de la sécurité au travail du ministère du Travail appliquent les articles 4, 10, 14, 15, 17 et 20 à 25, ainsi que les paragraphes 6 (1), 6 (2) et 6 (3) de la LPEA, en utilisant leurs pouvoirs en vertu de la LSST. La présente ligne directrice ne traite pas des articles appliqués par les agents des normes d'emploi, qui utilisent leurs pouvoirs en vertu de Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi.

Divulgation

Avant d'employer un enfant artiste ou de l'engager à contrat, un employeur doit tenir une réunion avec le père, la mère ou le tuteur légal de l'enfant. Cette réunion peut être tenue en personne, par téléphone ou par voie électronique. L'enfant artiste a aussi le droit d'être présent (paragraphes 4 [1] et 4 [2] de la LPEA).

Au cours de la réunion, l'employeur doit divulguer les renseignements suivants :

  • une description générale du rôle;
  • le lieu et les heures des répétitions et des représentations;
  • tout danger pour la santé ou la sécurité et les précautions qui seront prises pour éviter les blessures;
  • toute habileté particulière à laquelle on s’attend de l’enfant artiste;
  • les effets spéciaux auxquels l’enfant artiste pourrait être exposé (paragraphes 4 [1] et [2]).

L’employeur divulgue tout changement envisagé à l’égard des questions discutées lors de la réunion, et ne doit pas mettre en œuvre les changements envisagés sans l’accord écrit du père, de la mère ou du tuteur légal de l’enfant (paragraphe 4 [3]).

De plus, avant le début de la production, l’employeur fournit à l’enfant artiste les parties du scénario qui se rapportent à son rôle (paragraphe 4 [4]).

Déplacements pour se rendre au travail et en repartir

Les enfants artistes de moins de 16 ans doivent être accompagnés par le père, la mère, un tuteur légal ou un accompagnateur autorisé lorsqu’ils se rendent au lieu de travail ou en reviennent (paragraphe 6 [1]).

Un accompagnateur autorisé, aux fins des déplacements pour se rendre au lieu de travail et en revenir, est une personne qui a atteint l’âge de 18 ans et qui est autorisée par écrit par le père, la mère ou le tuteur légal de l’enfant artiste à accompagner l’enfant lorsqu’il se rend au lieu de travail ou en revient (paragraphe 6 [2]).

Il est recommandé que l'employeur et le père, la mère ou le tuteur légal confirment par écrit les ententes concernant le moyen de transport qu'utilisera l'enfant artiste pour se rendre au lieu de travail et en repartir.

Déplacements durant plus de 24 heures

Si l’employeur exige que l’enfant artiste passe la nuit à l’extérieur de chez lui, le père, la mère ou le tuteur légal de l’enfant artiste l’accompagne en tout temps (paragraphe 6 [3]).

Âge minimum

Aucun enfant de moins de 15 jours ne peut travailler dans l'industrie du spectacle enregistré (article 10). Aucun enfant de moins de deux ans et demi ne peut travailler dans l'industrie du spectacle vivant (article 17).

Adultes sur le lieu de travail

Industrie du spectacle enregistré

Dans l'industrie du spectacle enregistré, si un enfant artiste a moins de 16 ans, l'employeur veille à ce que le père, la mère, un tuteur légal ou un accompagnateur autorisé soit présent sur le lieu de travail et accessible à l'enfant en tout temps (paragraphe 14 [1]).

Lorsque le père, la mère, le tuteur légal ou l'accompagnateur autorisé est présent sur le lieu de travail, il est recommandé que cette personne accompagne l’enfant lorsqu’il se fait coiffer, maquiller et habiller.

Si deux enfants artistes ou plus de moins de 3 ans sur le même lieu de travail ont le même père, la même mère ou le même tuteur légal, leur employeur veille à ce que chaque enfant soit accompagné par une personne qui est son père, sa mère, son tuteur légal ou son accompagnateur autorisé (paragraphe 14 [2]).

Pour les besoins de l'accompagnement d'un adulte à un lieu de travail de l'industrie du spectacle enregistré, un accompagnateur autorisé est une personne qui a atteint l’âge de 18 ans, est désignée par écrit comme accompagnateur de l’enfant artiste par le père, la mère ou le tuteur légal de l’enfant, n’emploie pas l’enfant artiste ou ne l’engage pas à forfait et n’est pas le tuteur de l’enfant artiste (paragraphe 14 [3]).

En plus du père, de la mère, d'un tuteur légal ou d'un accompagnateur présent sur le lieu de travail et accessible à l'enfant, l'employeur désigne un coordonnateur des enfants artistes chargé de coordonner les questions liées au bien-être, à la sécurité et au confort des enfants artistes. Si au moins six enfants artistes travaillent sur un lieu de travail donné, le coordonnateur des enfants artistes ne doit pas également agir en qualité de tuteur des enfants (article 15).

Industrie du spectacle vivant

Le père, la mère ou le tuteur légal d'un enfant artiste peut désigner un accompagnateur qui soit disponible pour l'enfant lorsque celui-ci se trouve sur le lieu de travail.

Pour les besoins de l'accompagnement d'un adulte dans l'industrie du spectacle vivant, un accompagnateur peut être

  • le père, la mère ou le tuteur légal de l'enfant artiste, s’il ne travaille pas dans le cadre de la même production ou du même projet que celui dans le cadre duquel l’enfant artiste travaille (disposition 1 du paragraphe 20 [2]);
  • quiconque a atteint l’âge de 18 ans, ne travaille pas dans le cadre de la même production ou du même projet que celui à l’égard duquel l’enfant artiste travaille et n’est pas le tuteur de l’enfant artiste (disposition 2 du paragraphe 20 [2]).

L’employeur désigne un surveillant d’enfants chargé de surveiller les enfants artistes sur le lieu de travail lorsqu’ils ne sont pas en répétition ou en représentation (paragraphe 21 [1]).

Une personne peut être désignée comme surveillant d'enfants si elle a atteint l’âge de 18 ans, elle ne travaille pas dans le cadre de la même production ou du même projet que celui dans le cadre duquel les enfants artistes travaillent, n’offre pas de tutorat aux enfants artistes dans le cadre de la production ou du projet et a un casier judiciaire vierge au sens des règlements (paragraphe 21 [2])

Dans la mesure du possible, le même surveillant d’enfants doit être désigné pour la durée de la production pour surveiller les enfants artistes. Si le surveillant d'enfants prend une pause ou n’est pas disponible, une autre personne convenable, qui satisfait aux mêmes critères du paragraphe 21 (2), doit être prête à prendre la relève.

L'employeur veille à respecter les ratios suivants :

  1. lorsque l’enfant artiste le plus jeune sur le lieu de travail a moins de six ans, il y a au moins un surveillant d’enfants pour chaque groupe de six enfants artistes présents;
  2. lorsque l’enfant artiste le plus jeune sur le lieu de travail a 6 ans ou plus mais moins de 10 ans, il y a au moins un surveillant d’enfants pour chaque groupe de 10 enfants artistes présents;
  3. lorsque l’enfant artiste le plus jeune sur le lieu de travail a 10 ans ou plus, il y a au moins un surveillant d’enfants pour chaque groupe de 15 enfants artistes présents (paragraphe 21 [3]).

Formation

Outre les renseignements et les directives, ainsi que la formation requis en vertu de la LSST, l'employeur donne des renseignements, des directives et une formation à l'enfant artiste et à son père, à sa mère, à son tuteur légal ou à son accompagnateur à l’égard de chaque lieu de travail de l’enfant, une formation portant sur les questions suivantes (paragraphe 23 [1]) :

  • les mesures d’urgence, y compris les précautions à prendre en matière de santé et de sécurité spécifiques au lieu de travail;
  • les zones d’accès restreint;
  • les aires d'attente sécuritaires;
  • l’emplacement des salles de toilettes, des aires de maquillage et d’autres zones utiles au travail de l’enfant artiste;
  • la procédure permettant de relever les conditions de travail dangereuses et de les signaler.

La formation donnée à l'enfant artiste doit être adaptée à son développement (paragraphe 23 [2] de la LPEA).

Aliments sains

L’employeur qui fournit des aliments aux enfants artistes doit leur fournir des collations et des repas sains sur le lieu de travail en respectant le plus possible l’horaire habituel de leurs collations et de leurs repas (paragraphe 25 [1]).

Tous les repas, les collations et les boissons doivent respecter les recommandations énoncées dans les documents de Santé Canada Bien manger avec le Guide alimentaire canadien, Bien manger avec le Guide alimentaire canadien – Premières Nations, Inuit et Métis, ou La nutrition du nourrisson né à terme et en santé, modifiés de temps à autre.

L’employeur veille à ce que les aliments fournis répondent aux besoins de l’enfant artiste en matière d’allergies et d’exigences alimentaires particulières (paragraphe 25 [2]).

L'employeur qui fournit des aliments aux enfants artistes doit envisager d'afficher les menus décrivant les collations et les repas sains fournis, afin que les enfants artistes (et son père, sa mère, ses tuteurs légaux et ses accompagnateurs) soient informés des aliments disponibles, pour les enfants artistes qui ont des allergies, des exigences ou des restrictions alimentaires particulières.

précédent | suivant

ISBN 978-1-4249-3968-8

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.