Table of Contents | Print This Page

Appendix 2 – Sample List of Suspect Asbestos-Containing Building Materials

  • Issued: November 2007
  • Content last reviewed: May 2011

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

There are an estimated 3000 products that contain asbestos. In Ontario asbestos was widely used in sprayed-on material and in pipe and boiler insulation until 19733 ] . The use of many other asbestos containing materials continued until the mid 1980's. Asbestos is still used in the manufacture of a limited number of products, including some floor tiles, cement products, friction materials and textiles. The following list was adapted from the United States Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) Sample List of Suspect Asbestos Containing Materials4 ]. It is not an all inclusive list but is intended as a general guide to show which types of building materials may contain asbestos.

Possible Asbestos-Containing Materials in Buildings

  • Acoustical Plaster
  • Adhesives
  • Asphalt Floor Tile
  • Base Flashing
  • Blown-in (Loose fill) Insulation
  • Boiler Insulation
  • Breaching Insulation
  • Caulking/Putties
  • Ceiling Tiles and Lay-in Panels
  • Cement Pipes
  • Cement Siding
  • Cement Wallboard
  • Construction Mastics (floor tile, carpet, ceiling tile, etc.)
  • Cooling Towers
  • Decorative Plaster
  • Ductwork Flexible Fabric Connections
  • Electrical Cloth
  • Electrical Panel Partitions
  • Electrical Wiring Insulation
  • Elevator Brake Shoes
  • Elevator Equipment Panels
  • Fire Doors
  • Fireproofing Materials
  • Flooring Backing
  • Heating and Electrical Ducts
  • High Temperature Gaskets
  • HVAC Duct Insulation
  • Joint Compounds
  • Pipe Insulation (corrugated air-cell, block, etc.)
  • Roofing Felt
  • Roofing Shingles
  • Spackling Compounds
  • Sprayed-on Insulation
  • Taping Compounds (thermal)
  • Textured Paints/Coatings
  • Thermal Paper Products
  • Vinyl Floor Tile
  • Vinyl Sheet Flooring
  • Vinyl Wall Coverings
  • Wallboard

[ 3 ] J.S. Dupre, J.F. Mustard & R.J. Uffin, Report of the Royal Commission on Matters of Health and Safety Arising from the Use of Asbestos in Ontario, Ontario Ministry of the Attorney General, Toronto, Ontario, 1984, page 12.

Previous | Next

ISBN 1-4249-1226-1 (HTML)
ISBN 1-4249-1226-1 (PRINT)
ISBN 1-4249-1226-1 (PDF)

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Annexe 2 – Liste d’exemples de matériaux de construction susceptibles de contenir de l’amiante

  • Diffusion : novembre 2007
  • Dernière mise à jour : mai 2011

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Selon les estimations, il existe quelque 3 000 produits contenant de l’amiante. En Ontario, l’amiante était couramment utilisé dans le matériau projeté et dans l’isolation de chaudières et de tuyaux jusqu’en 1973[ 3 ] . L’usage de nombreux autres matériaux contenant de l’amiante s’est poursuivi jusqu’au milieu des années 1980. L’amiante continue d’être utilisé dans la fabrication d’un nombre limité de produits, comme certains carreaux de sol, produits en ciment, matériaux de friction et textiles. La liste suivante a été adaptée d’une liste de la Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) des États-Unis (en anglais seulement) intitulée Sample List of Suspect Asbestos Containing Materials[ 4 ]. Il ne s’agit pas d’une liste exhaustive, mais d’un guide général montrant les genres de matériaux de construction pouvant contenir de l’amiante.

  • Plâtre acoustique
  • Adhésifs
  • Carreaux d’asphalte pour planchers
  • Solin de base
  • Isolant soufflé (en vrac)
  • Isolant de chaudière
  • Isolant de générateur d’air chaud
  • Calfeutrage et mastics de vitrier
  • Carreaux de plafond et panneaux de plafond suspendu
  • Tuyaux de ciment
  • Parements en ciment
  • Panneaux de revêtement en ciment
  • Mastics de construction (carreaux de plancher, tapis, carreaux de plafond, etc.)
  • Tours de refroidissement
  • Plâtre décoratif
  • Raccords de conduits en tissu flexible
  • Toile pour câblage électrique
  • Cloisons de panneaux électriques
  • Isolation de câblage électrique
  • Patins de freins d’ascenseur
  • Panneaux d’équipement d’ascenseur
  • Portes coupe-feu
  • Matériaux ignifuges
  • Endos de plancher
  • Conduits électriques et de chauffage
  • Joints statiques pour hautes températures
  • Isolant de conduits de chauffage, ventilation et climatisation
  • Pâtes à joints
  • Isolant de tuyaux (ondulé à alvéoles d’air, en panneaux, etc.)
  • Carton bitumé pour toiture
  • Bardeaux de toiture
  • Plâtre à reboucher
  • Isolant projeté
  • Pâtes à joint (thermique)
  • Revêtements et peintures structurées
  • Produits en papier thermique
  • Carreaux de plancher en vinyle
  • Feuilles de revêtement de sol en vinyle
  • Revêtements muraux en vinyle
  • Panneaux muraux

[ 3 ] J.S. Dupre, J.F. Mustard et R.J. Uffin, Report of the Royal Commission on Matters of Health and Safety Arising form the Use of Asbestos in Ontario, ministère du Procureur général de l’Ontario, Toronto (Ontario), 1984, page 12.

[ 4 ] Environmental Protection Agency, États-Unis (en anglais seulement)

précédent | suivant

ISBN 978-1-4435-6557-8 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4435-6556-1 (Version imprimé)

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.