Table of Contents | Print This Page

3. Overview of the Regulation

  • Issued: November 2007
  • Updated: May 2011
  • Content last reviewed: May 2011

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

This Regulation differs from the Designated Substances Regulation, O. Reg. 490/09 by prescribing the methods and procedures that are to be used to protect workers rather than prescribing exposure limits.

Definition of Asbestos and Asbestos-Containing Material

The Regulation defines asbestos as any of six fibrous silicates named in subsection 1(2) of the Regulation. In addition, it defines asbestos-containing material, also known as ACM, as material that contains 0.5 per cent or more asbestos by dry weight.

Application of the Regulation

The application of the Regulation is discussed in Chapter 4.

Analysis of ACM

The Regulation requires that U.S. EPA Test Method EPA/600/R-93/116 be used to determine:

  • whether a material is ACM,
  • the type of asbestos in the material, and
  • the content of asbestos in the material.

Table 1 of the Regulation sets out the minimum number of bulk material samples to be collected from an area of homogeneous material based on the area and type of material. If it is established that a bulk material sample contains 0.5 per cent or more asbestos by dry weight, it is not necessary to analyze other bulk material samples from the same area and the entire homogeneous material from which the sample was taken should be deemed to be ACM.

Restrictions on Sprayed Material, Thermal Insulation and Application of Sealants

Material that contains 0.1 per cent or more asbestos by dry weight must not be applied by spraying if the material can become friable. In addition, material that contains 0.1 or more per cent asbestos by dry weight must not be used as thermal insulation if it can become friable.

Subsection 4(3) of the Regulation prohibits the application of a liquid sealant to friable ACM under certain conditions.

Asbestos Management Programs in Buildings

An important part of the Regulation deals with the requirement for asbestos management programs in buildings. These provisions which specify an owner's duties regarding asbestos management are dealt with in detail in Chapter 8.

The asbestos management program will include both friable and non-friable ACM. The requirements of the asbestos management program are set out in section 8 of the Regulation.

Demolitions, Alterations and Repairs

Before requesting tenders or arranging or contracting for the demolition, alteration or repair work to be carried out on a building, machinery, equipment, aircraft, locomotive, railway car, ship or vehicle, the owner must determine if any friable or non-friable material that is likely to be handled, dealt with, disturbed or removed during the work meets the definition of ACM or else treat it as if it does in accordance with this Regulation.

Notification

There are several circumstances which require a constructor or employer to give written and oral notice to a Ministry of Labour inspector at the office nearest the workplace, as well as the owner, contractor and the joint health and safety committee (JHSC) or health and safety representative. These include:

Notice to all parties:

  • discoveries of material not referred to in the owner's report that may be ACM during the course of demolition, alteration or repair of machinery, equipment, or a building, aircraft, locomotive, railway car, vehicle or ship.

Notice to Ministry of Labour inspector:

  • before beginning any Type 3 operation, and
  • before beginning a glove bag operation in which one square metre or more of insulation is to be removed.

Notice to the JHSC or Health and Safety Representative:

  • variations from methods and procedures set out in the Regulation.

Classification

The Regulation requires that all work that may expose a worker to asbestos be classified as a Type 1, Type 2, or Type 3 operation. The procedures for carrying out Type 1, Type 2, and Type 3 operations are outlined in sections 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18 of the Regulation.

Glove Bag Operations

All glove bag operations (such as the removal of insulation that is ACM from a pipe or duct or similar structure) are now defined as Type 2 operations by paragraph 9 of section 12(3). The Ministry of Labour must be notified of glove bag removal operations involving the removal of one square metre or more of insulation.

Respirators

In the Regulation, section 13 sets out the general requirements for respirators while Table 2 lists the required types of respirators for specific Type 1, Type 2, and Type 3 operations.

Enclosures

The Regulation sets out the requirements for enclosures where enclosures are used for some Type 2 and Type 3 operations.

Clearance Air Testing

The Regulation requires that clearance air testing be carried out inside the enclosures used on indoor Type 3 operations described in paragraph 1, 2, 3, 4 or 6 of subsection 12(4) in buildings that will not be demolished.

Training

Training for all workers who carry out asbestos operations must be delivered by a "competent person", as defined by the Act. These training requirements are set out in section 19.

In addition, any worker or supervisor who works in a Type 3 operation must successfully complete the Asbestos Abatement Worker Training Program or the Asbestos Abatement Supervisor Program approved by the Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities. These training requirements are set out in section 20. Training is discussed in more detail in Chapter 10 of this Guide.

Asbestos Work Reports

Section 21 sets out the requirement for an asbestos work report which must be completed at least once in each 12 month period for each worker involved in Type 2 or Type 3 operations or upon termination of employment. The report must be submitted to the Provincial Physician of the Ministry of Labour. Each worker must be given a copy of his or her own report. Form 1, the Asbestos Work Report, is available from each local Ministry of Labour office.

Asbestos Register

Section 22 requires the Provincial Physician to establish an Asbestos Workers Register using the data obtained from Asbestos Work Reports submitted by employers. This section also deals with the requirements for voluntary medical surveillance of asbestos-exposed workers on the recommendation of the Provincial Physician.

Use of Equivalent Measures and Procedures

Section 23 allows employers or constructors to vary from the methods and procedures required by the Regulation provided that the varied method or procedure provides protection for the health and safety of workers that is at least equal to the protection that would be provided by adhering to the specific measures and/or procedures specified in the Regulation. The joint health and safety committee(s) or the health and safety representative in a workplace must be notified of the changes.

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4435-6554-7 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4435-6553-0 (PRINT)

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

3. Aperçu du Règlement

  • Diffusion : novembre 2007
  • Révision : mai 2011
  • Dernière mise à jour : mai 2011

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Ce Règlement diffère du Règlement de l’Ontario 490/09 concernant les substances désignées du fait qu’il stipule les méthodes et procédures à suivre pour protéger les travailleurs au lieu de prescrire des limites d’exposition.

Définition de l'amiante et du terme « matériau contenant de l'amiante »

Le Règlement définit l'amiante comme l'un des six silicates fibreux désignés au paragraphe 1(2) du Règlement. Il définit par ailleurs le terme matériau contenant de l'amiante (ou MCA) comme du matériau qui renferme 0,5 p. 100 ou plus d'amiante par poids sec.

Application du Règlement

L'application du Règlement est abordée au chapitre 4.

Analyse des MCA

Le Règlement exige que la méthode d'analyse EPA/600/R-93/116 de l'Environmental Protection Agency des États-Unis (EPA) soit utilisée pour déterminer :

  • si un matériau est un MCA;
  • le genre d'amiante que contient le matériau;
  • la concentration d'amiante dans le matériau.

Le tableau 1 du Règlement indique le nombre minimal d'échantillons de matériaux en vrac à prélever à partir d'une aire de matériau homogène en fonction de la taille et du genre de matériau. S'il est établi qu'un échantillon de matériaux en vrac contient 0,5 p. 100 ou plus d'amiante par poids sec, il n'est pas nécessaire d'analyser d'autres échantillons de matériaux en vrac provenant de la même aire; l'ensemble du matériau homogène dont provient l'échantillon devrait être réputé être du MCA.

Restrictions relatives aux matériaux projetés, l'isolant thermique et l'application de produits d'étanchéité

Les matériaux contenant 0,1 p. 100 ou plus d'amiante par poids sec ne doivent pas être appliqués par projection s'ils peuvent devenir friables. Par ailleurs, les matériaux contenant 0,1 p. 100 ou plus d'amiante par poids sec ne doivent pas être utilisés comme isolant thermique s'ils peuvent devenir friables.

Le paragraphe 4(3) du Règlement interdit dans certaines conditions l'application d'un liquide d'étanchéité sur du MCA friable.

Plans de gestion de l'amiante dans les édifices

Une part importante du Règlement est consacrée aux plans de gestion de l'amiante qui doivent être exécutés dans les édifices. Les dispositions précisant les obligations d'un propriétaire en matière de gestion de l'amiante sont traitées en détail au chapitre 8.

Le plan de gestion de l'amiante portera à la fois sur les MCA friables et les MCA non friables. Les exigences concernant le plan de gestion de l'amiante sont stipulées à l'article 8 du Règlement.

Démolition, transformation et réparation

Avant de lancer des appels d'offre, de prendre des dispositions ou de passer des contrats en vue de la réparation, la transformation ou la réparation d'un édifice, d'une machine, d'un équipement, d'un aéronef, d'une locomotive, d'un wagon de chemin de fer, d'un navire ou d'un véhicule, le propriétaire doit déterminer si un ou plusieurs des matériaux friables ou non friables qui seront probablement manipulés, perturbés, enlevés ou touchés d'une autre façon dans le cadre du travail répondent à la définition des MCA ou seront traités comme tels conformément au Règlement en question.

Avis

Dans certaines circonstances, le constructeur ou l'employeur doit donner un avis oral et écrit à un inspecteur du ministère du Travail au bureau le plus proche du lieu de travail, ainsi qu'au propriétaire, à l'entrepreneur et au comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité (CMSS) ou au délégué à la santé et à la sécurité. Ces circonstances sont les suivantes :

Avis à toutes les parties :

  • découverte de matériaux qui n'étaient pas indiqués dans le rapport du propriétaire et qui peuvent être des MCA pendant la démolition, la transformation ou la réparation de machines, d'équipement ou d'un édifice, d'un aéronef, d'une locomotive, d'un wagon de chemin de fer, d'un véhicule ou d'un navire.

Avis à l'inspecteur du ministère du Travail :

  • avant de commencer tout opération de type 3;
  • avant de commencer une opération qui sera réalisée l'aide d'un sac à gants et au cours de laquelle on prévoit retirer un mêtre carré d'isolant ou plus.

Avis au CMSS ou au délégué à la santé et à la sécurité :

  • en cas d'utilisation de méthodes et procédures autres que celles énoncées dans le Règlement.

Classification

Le Règlement exige que toutes les tâches qui peuvent exposer un travailleur à l'amiante soient classées comme une opération de type 1, 2 ou 3. Les procédures à suivre pour exécuter des opérations de types 1, 2 et 3 sont décrites aux articles 14, 15, 16, 17 et 18 du Règlement.

Opérations réalisées à l'aide d'un sac à gants

Toutes les opérations réalisées à l'aide d'un sac à gants (comme l'enlèvement d'un isolant fait d'un MCA d'un tuyau, d'un conduit ou d'une structure du même genre) se définissent désormais comme des opérations de type 2 en vertu de la disposition 9 du paragraphe 12(3). Le ministère du Travail doit être informé des opérations d'enlèvement réalisées à l'aide d'un sac à gants en vue de retirer un mètre carré d'isolant ou plus.

Appareils respiratoires

Dans le Règlement, l'article 13 énonce les exigences générales relatives aux appareils respiratoires tandis que le tableau 2 indique les genres d'appareils respiratoires exigés pour des opérations précises de types 1, 2 et 3.

Enceintes

Le Règlement énonce les exigences relatives aux enceintes qui sont utilisées pour certaines opérations de types 2 et 3.

Analyse de l'air après le retrait d'amiante

Le Règlement exige que des analyses de l'air après le retrait d'amiante soient effectuées à l'intérieur des enceintes utilisées à l'occasion des opérations intérieures de type 3 décrites à la disposition 1, 2, 3, 4 ou 6 du paragraphe 12(4) dans les édifices qui ne seront pas démolis.

Formation

La formation à l'intention de tous les travailleurs qui réalisent des opérations liées à l'amiante doit être exécutée par une personne compétente, au sens de la Loi. Les exigences se rattachant à cette formation sont énoncées à l'article 19.

Par ailleurs, tout travailleur ou contremaître qui participe à une opération de type 3 doit avoir achevé avec succès le Programme de formation des désamianteurs ou le Programme de formation des contremaîtres des travaux de désamiantage approuvé par le ministère de la Formation et des Collèges et Universités. Les exigences se rattachant à cette formation sont énoncées à l'article 20. La formation est abordée plus en détail au chapitre 10 du présent Guide.

Rapports sur le travail avec l'amiante

L'article 21 établit l'obligation de remplir pour chaque travailleur participant à des opérations de type 2 ou 3 un rapport sur le travail avec l'amiante au moins une fois tous les 12 mois ou à la cessation de l'emploi. Le rapport doit être présenté au médecin provincial du ministère du Travail. Chaque travailleur doit recevoir un exemplaire du rapport le concernant. Le Rapport sur le travail avec l'amiante--Formule 1 est disponible dans chaque bureau local du ministère du Travail.

Registre des travailleurs exposés à l'amiante

L'article 22 exige que le médecin provincial établisse un registre des travailleurs exposés à l'amiante à partir des données communiquées dans les rapports sur le travail avec l'amiante présentés par les employeurs. Cet article traite également des exigences en matière de surveillance médicale volontaire des travailleurs exposés à l'amiante sur recommandation du médecin provincial.

Recours à des mesures et procédures équivalentes

L'article 23 prévoit que les employeurs ou les constructeurs peuvent appliquer des méthodes et procédures autres que celles imposées par le Règlement dans la mesure où la méthode ou procédure de substitution assure une protection de la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs qui est pour le moins égale à la protection que procurerait l'application des mesures ou procédures précises indiquées dans le Règlement. Le ou les comités mixtes sur la santé et la sécurité ou le délégué à la santé et à la sécurité au travail désigné pour le lieu de travail doivent être avisés de ces changements.

précédent | suivant

ISBN 978-1-4435-6557-8 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4435-6556-1 (Version imprimé)

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.